Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “in claim 2 a female section of each column is movable between a first position, in which a lower end thereof is located at a vertical height greater than a vertical height of the top portion of the wheel” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gove (US 3348711 A) in view of Zukerman et al. (US 20190322204 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gove discloses a variable footprint handling apparatus (FIG. 1) for handling containers (120) comprising:
a first column (5) adapted to be associated with the fifth wheel (2) of a tractor (1)
a second column (89, right side) to which a first idle ground support wheel, wheel (100) is idly associated,
a third column (89, left side) to which a second idle ground support wheel, wheel (100) is idly associated,
a lifting arrangement (37, 85) for lifting the container (120, see column 4, lines 42 through column 5, lines 32 and column 6, lines 53-61 and figure 7)
a connection arrangement (7, 8 and 9) that connects the second column and the third column to the first column and is configured to move at least one of the three columns with respect to another of the three columns between a first position, and a second position, wherein a footprint in plan of the apparatus in said second position is smaller than a footprint in plan of the apparatus in said first position (see column 3, lines 15-35 and figure 5.),
wherein the third column and the second column are of the telescopic type (Column 6, lines 69 through column 7 line 4).
Gove explicitly fails to disclose the first idle wheel and the second idle wheel of the apparatus are rotatably associated with a male section respectively, of the second column and of the third column that are telescopic and are completely in an external position and adjacent to the respective column.
Zukerman et al. teaches the first idle wheel (1a) and the second idle wheel (1b) of the apparatus are rotatably associated with a male section (2a) respectively, of the second column (see attached annotated FIG. 1A) and of the third column (see attached annotated FIG. 1A) that are telescopic (it can be seen in FIG. 3B to 3D) and are completely in an external position and adjacent to the respective column (It can be seen in FIG.1A that wheel 1a and 1b are completely in an external position and adjacent to the respective column).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Gove by incorporating the first idle wheel and the second idle wheel of the apparatus are rotatably associated with a male section respectively, of the second column and of the third column that are telescopic and are completely in an external position and adjacent to the respective column in view of Zukerman et al. in order to allow fully extended telescopic movement to male section and reduce the friction during footprint variation.
Regarding claim 2, Gove dose not disclose a female section of each column is movable between a first position, in which a lower end thereof is located at a vertical height greater than a vertical height of the top portion of the wheel and a second position, in which the lower end of the female section is located at a vertical height lower than the vertical height of the top portion of the wheel.
Zukerman et al. teaches a female section of each column is movable between a first position (FIG. 3B), in which a lower end thereof is located at a vertical height greater than a vertical height of the top portion of the wheel (It can be seen in FIG. 3B, a lower end thereof is located at a vertical height greater than a vertical height of the top portion of the wheel) and a second position (FIG. 3C), in which the lower end of the female section is located at a vertical height lower than the vertical height of the top portion of the wheel (it can be seen in FIG. 3C, the lower end of the female section is located at a vertical height lower than the vertical height of the top portion of the wheel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Gove by incorporating a female section of each column is movable between a first position, in which a lower end thereof is located at a vertical height greater than a vertical height of the top portion of the wheel and a second position, in which the lower end of the female section is located at a vertical height lower than the vertical height of the top portion of the wheel in view of Zukerman et al. in order to allow mobility during positioning and rigidity during lifting or handling container.
Regarding claim 3, Gove does not disclose each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that a top portion of the wheel is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end of the male section.
Zukerman et al. each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that a top portion of the wheel is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end of the male section (it can be seen in FIG. 3B -3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Gove by incorporating each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that a top portion of the wheel is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end of the male section in view of Zukerman et al. in order to transfer the load from wheel to column to improve the life of wheel.
Regarding claim 4, Gove does not disclose each wheel is rotatably associated with the male section of the respective column with respect to a horizontal axis of rotation at a lower end portion of said male section.
Zukerman et al. teaches each wheel is rotatably associated with the male section of the respective column with respect to a horizontal axis of rotation at a lower end portion of said male section (it can be seen in FIG. 3B -3C, also see above attached annotated FIG. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Gove by incorporating each wheel is rotatably associated with the male section of the respective column with respect to a horizontal axis of rotation at a lower end portion of said male section in view of Zukerman et al. in order to improve the durability of the structure and allow smooth horizontal rolling of variable footprint apparatus while columns are moving horizontally.
Regarding claim 5, Gove does not disclose each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that the axis of rotation is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end.
Zukerman et al. teaches each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that the axis of rotation (see above attached annotated FIG. 1A) is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end (it can be seen in FIG. 3B -3C, also).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the applicant’s claim to modify Gove by incorporating each wheel is associated with the male section of the respective column in such a way that the axis of rotation is located at a vertical height equal to or greater than a vertical height of a lower end in view of Zukerman et al. in order to allow the vertical load is being transferred to the column not to the wheel.
Regarding claim 6, Gove discloses the connection arrangement (FIG. 10, 9, 107-11, 113) is configured to move at least one between the second column (89, right side) and the third column (89, left side) between a first position (FIG. 3), in which the distance of the third column from the second column is maximum, and a second position (FIG. 2) in which said distance is minimum.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other variable footprint handling apparatus.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652