Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, page 8 whole page, filed 06/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Leistner discloses no axial slot gap channels on each side of the conductor 2 between support points, and discloses that lateral channels 12 are only on the left and right side of the conductor 2. Although there are no explicit reference characters shown for the axial cooling channels 15 in Leistner Fig. 3, Leistner c. 3, l. 61 – 66 discloses individual axial cooling channels 15 are formed partly overlapped in the individual partial stacks that are twisted. Since there are four partial stacks, 17, 18, 19, and 20, that are reversibly packed, there are four axial cooling channels 15 such that there are two on the left side that are interconnected for partial stacks 17 and 19, and two on the right side that are interconnected for partial stacks 18 and 20.
In addition, as previously suggested in the Examiner Interview Summary, Applicant should amend the claims such that it shows the axial slot gap channels are located in the axial ends of the conductor bundle, as shown in Applicant’s Fig. 2 to overcome the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 4, 6 – 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoll et al. in view of Leistner.
Regarding Claim 1, Stoll et al. discloses a stator (30) of an electric machine having a stator axis (inherently shown in Stoll et al. Fig. 5) and having a laminated core (20) (Stoll et al. Fig. 5) on which stator teeth (inherently shown in Stoll et al. Fig. 1) and stator slots (2) (Stoll et al. Fig. 1) located between the stator teeth are formed and which has a large number of laminations (Stoll et al. Para [0028] lines 1 – 3),
wherein the stator teeth are interconnected via an annular stator yoke (inherently shown in Stoll et al. Fig. 1),
wherein a single conductor or a conductor bundle comprising a plurality of conductors (41 to 44) is provided in each of the stator slots in order to form an electrical stator winding (40) (Stoll et al. Fig. 6),
wherein a plurality of support points (clamping projections 11 to 17 provided on clamping stator lamination 8 and clamping projections 35, 36 provided on stator lamination 28) which are spaced apart from one another in an axial direction with respect to the stator axis are formed in each of the stator slots in order to clamp the conductor or conductor bundle in each stator slot (Stoll et al. Fig. 3 and Fig. 4),
wherein at least one axial slot gap (48) is formed between walls of each stator slot and the conductor or conductor bundle arranged in the stator slot (Stoll et al. Fig. 6),
wherein a respective support point is formed by at least two laminations (Stoll et al. Fig. 5).
Stoll et al. does not disclose:
wherein the support points are each formed by twisting individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core,
wherein a respective support point is formed by at least two laminations,
wherein each of the stator slots between adjacent support points of the plurality of support points includes two axial slot gap channels extending in the axial direction and through which a cooling medium can flow,
one axial slot gap channel disposed on a first side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle and one axial slot gap channel disposed on a second side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle,
the second side being on an opposite side from the first side.
Leistner discloses:
wherein the support points (see below in annotated Leistner Fig. 4) are each formed by twisting individual or a plurality of laminations (partial stacks 17 – 20) of the laminated core (Leistner Fig. 4),
wherein a respective support point is formed by at least two laminations (below in annotated Leistner Fig. 4 one support point is formed by partial stacks 18 and 20, and the other respective point is formed by partial stacks 17 and 19),
wherein each of the stator slots (1) (Leistner Fig. 1) between adjacent support points of the plurality of support points includes two axial slot gap channels (15) extending in the axial direction and through which a cooling medium can flow (Leistner c. 3, l. 61 – 66 discloses individual axial cooling channels 15 are formed partly overlapped in the individual partial stacks that are twisted. Since there are four partial stacks, 17, 18, 19, and 20, that are reversibly packed, there are four axial cooling channels 15 such that there are two on the left side that are interconnected for partial stacks 17 and 19, and two on the right side that are interconnected for partial stacks 18 and 20),
one axial slot gap channel disposed on a first side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle (2) and one axial slot gap channel disposed on a second side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle (Leistner c. 3, l. 61 – 66 discloses individual axial cooling channels 15 are formed partly overlapped in the individual partial stacks that are twisted. Since there are four partial stacks, 17, 18, 19, and 20, that are reversibly packed, there are four axial cooling channels 15 such that there are two on the left side that are interconnected for partial stacks 17 and 19, and two on the right side that are interconnected for partial stacks 18 and 20),
the second side being on an opposite side from the first side (Leistner Fig. 4).
Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose laminated stator cores therefore, Leistner constitutes prior art. Leistner discloses a plurality of stator laminations that are axially stacked and reversibly packed in the circumferential direction. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the support points are each formed by twisting individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core, wherein a respective support point is formed by at least two laminations, wherein each of the stator slots between adjacent support points of the plurality of support points includes two slot gap channels, one slot gap channel disposed on a first side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle and one slot gap channel disposed on a second side of the single conductor or the conductor bundle, and the second side being on an opposite side from the first side of Leistner for the purpose of effectively fastening the conductors in the slots and
creating a plurality of in-slot cooling paths between the conductors and of the laminated stator core.
Regarding Claim 3, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 14.
Stoll et al. does not disclose:
wherein by twisting the laminations in opposite directions to form the respective support point, support sections of the laminations are formed which project into the respective stator slot from opposite sides of the stator slot to clamp the conductor or conductor bundle between the support sections at clamping surfaces of the conductor or conductor bundle.
Leistner discloses:
wherein by twisting the laminations in opposite directions to form the respective support point (see above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4), support sections of the laminations are formed which project into the respective stator slot from opposite sides of the stator slot to clamp the conductor or conductor bundle between the support sections at clamping surfaces of the conductor or conductor bundle (above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4 and Leistner c. 2, l. 26 – 32).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein by twisting the laminations in opposite directions to form the respective support point, support sections of the laminations are formed which project into the respective stator slot from opposite sides of the stator slot to clamp the conductor or conductor bundle between the support sections at clamping surfaces of the conductor or conductor bundle of Leistner for the purpose of having multiple points of circumferential support points to fix conductors in the stator slots.
Regarding Claim 4, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 3, wherein the conductor or the conductor bundle of the respective stator slot has at least one raised protective layer (32) at least on the clamping surfaces of the respective support point (Stoll et al. Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1, wherein the respective slot gap channel is interrupted or narrowed at the support points in each case (Stoll et al. Fig. 6 and Para [0032] whole paragraph discloses the respective intermediate spaces accommodate a cooling medium passage),
additional passages being provided in the laminations (Stoll et al. Fig. 6 discloses intermediate spaces 48 that accommodate a cooling medium passage are provided in between surfaces of clamping lamination 8 and conductors 41 to 44) and/or in a protective layer and/or in the conductor or conductor bundle and/or between the conductors of the conductor bundle in order to cancel or reduce the respective interruption or narrowing (Stoll et al. Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 7, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1, wherein the respective stator slot can be flowed through continuously in the axial direction (Stoll et al. Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1.
Stoll et al. do not disclose:
wherein a respective support point is formed by two groups of laminations, which are twisted in opposite directions by a certain angle of twist (φ) about the stator axis.
Leistner discloses:
wherein a respective support point is formed by two groups of laminations (above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4 one respective support point has one group of 2 partial stacks projected into slot 1 and the other group of 1 partial stack not projected into slot 1), which are twisted in opposite directions by a certain angle of twist (φ) (180°) about the stator axis (above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4 and Leistner c. 2, l. 26 – 32).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a respective support point is formed by two groups of laminations, which are twisted in opposite directions by a certain angle of twist (φ) about the stator axis of Leistner for the purpose of having multiple points of circumferential support points to fix conductors in the stator slots.
Claims 5, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoll et al. in view of Leistner and further in view of Takahashi et al.
Regarding Claim 5, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 4.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein several protective layers of the same conductor or conductor bundle are interconnected via a web running in a direction of the conductor or conductor bundle.
Stoll et al. and Takahashi et al. structurally disclose:
wherein several protective layers (45) of the same conductor or conductor bundle (41 to 44) (of Stoll et al. Fig. 6) are interconnected via a web (see below in annotated Takahashi et al. Fig. 5A) running in a direction of the conductor or conductor bundle (of Takahashi et al. Fig. 5A).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Takahashi et al. disclose conductors therefore, Takahashi et al constitutes prior art. Takahashi et al. discloses a stator having flat slot coils inserted in an insulation member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein several protective layers of the same conductor or conductor bundle are interconnected via a web running in a direction of the conductor or conductor bundle of structurally disclosed Stoll et al. and Takahashi et al. for the purpose of connecting the protective layers together to insulate the conductors of the stator.
Regarding Claim 12, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the conductor bundle includes a stack of flat-wire conductors.
Takahashi et al. discloses:
wherein the conductor bundle (25) includes a stack of flat-wire conductors (26, 27) (Takahashi et al. Fig. 5A).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Takahashi et al. disclose conductors therefore, Takahashi et al constitutes prior art. Takahashi et al. discloses a stator having flat slot coils inserted in an insulation member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the conductor bundle includes a stack of flat-wire conductors of Takahashi et al. for the purpose of having higher current capacity of the stator.
Regarding Claim 15, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 4.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the protective layer is formed in the shape of a cuff, is sleeve-shaped, tubular, clamp shaped, U-shaped, strip-shaped, or flat strip-shaped.
Takahashi et al. discloses:
wherein the protective layer is formed in the shape of a cuff, is sleeve-shaped, tubular, clamp shaped, U-shaped, strip-shaped, or flat strip- shaped (Takahashi et al. Fig. 5A discloses an insulation member 28 that is tubular).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Takahashi et al. disclose conductors therefore, Takahashi et al constitutes prior art. Takahashi et al. discloses a stator having flat slot coils inserted in an insulation member. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the protective layer is formed in the shape of a cuff, is sleeve shaped, tubular, clamp-shaped, U-shaped, strip-shaped, or flat strip- shaped for the purpose of having effective insulative coverage to increase service life of the conductors.
Claims 8, 11, 16, and 18 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoll et al. in view of Leistner and further in view of Imamura.
Regarding Claim 8, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting.
Imamura discloses:
wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting (Imamura Para [0037] lines 1 – 6 discloses multiple split stator cores that are shifted from one another circumferentially are fixed via welds).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura disclose laminated stator cores therefore, Imamura constitutes prior art. Imamura discloses a stator core with a plurality of stator laminations that are shifted in one circumferential direction compared to another plurality of stator laminations located axially shifted in the opposite circumferential direction. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting of Imamura for the purpose of ensuring functionality of the twisted laminations in the laminated.
Regarding Claim 11, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose a method of manufacturing a stator according to claim 1, comprising the steps of:
a) Stacking of laminations to form the laminated core (Stoll et al. Para [0009] lines 1 – 2),
b) Axial insertion of the conductors or conductor bundles into the respective stator slots (Stoll et al. Para [0009] lines 3 – 4).
Stoll et al. does not disclose:
c) Twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core to form several support points per stator slot,
d) Fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting,
e) Setting conductor ends of the conductors and connecting the conductors to the stator winding.
Leistner disclose:
c) Twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core to form several support points per stator slot (above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4).
Imamura discloses:
d) Fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting (Imamura Para [0037] lines 1 – 6),
e) Setting conductor ends of the conductors and connecting the conductors to the stator winding (Imamura Para [0037] line 7).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura disclose laminated stator cores therefore, Imamura constitutes prior art. Imamura discloses a stator core with a plurality of stator laminations that are shifted in one circumferential direction compared to another plurality of stator laminations located axially shifted in the opposite circumferential direction. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core to form several support points per stator slot of Leistner and fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting, and setting conductor ends of the conductors and connecting the conductors to the stator winding of Imamura for the purpose of 1) having multiple points of circumferential support points to fix conductors in the stator slots and 2) reducing manufacturing costs for the production of the laminated stator core.
Regarding Claim 16, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura disclose the stator according to claim 8.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting by welding. Imamura discloses:
wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting by welding (Imamura Para [0037] lines 1 – 6).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the twisted laminations are fixed in the laminated core against further twisting by welding of Imamura for the purpose of ensuring functionality of the twisted laminations in the laminated.
Regarding Claim 18, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura disclose the method according to claim 11, further comprising providing the conductors or conductor bundles with protective layers (45) (Stoll et al. Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura disclose the method according to claim 11.
Stoll et al. does not disclose:
wherein twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core includes twisting one group or several groups of adjacent laminations.
Leistner discloses:
wherein twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core includes twisting one group or several groups of adjacent laminations (above in annotated Leistner Fig. 4 one respective support point has one group of 2 partial stacks projected into slot 1 and the other group of 1 partial stack not projected into slot 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein twisting of individual or a plurality of laminations of the laminated core includes twisting one group or several groups of adjacent laminations of Leistner for the purpose of having multiple points of circumferential support points to fix conductors in the stator slots.
Regarding Claim 20, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Imamura the method according to claim 11.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting, includes joining the laminations to form a torsionally rigid laminated core.
Imamura discloses:
wherein fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting, includes joining the laminations to form a torsionally rigid laminated core (Imamura Para [0037] lines 1 – 6 discloses multiple split stator cores that are shifted from one another circumferentially are fixed via welds).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein fixing the twisted laminations in the laminated core to prevent further twisting, includes joining the laminations to form a torsionally rigid laminated core of Imamura for the purpose of ensuring functionality of the twisted laminations in the laminated.
Claims 9 – 10, 13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoll et al. in view of Leistner and further in view of Kaneko et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose a stator according to claim 1.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
an electric machine having a housing in which a stator according to claim 1 is arranged,
wherein the stator winding forms a winding head on each end face of the stator,
a winding head cooling chamber,
which accommodates the respective winding head is provided inside the housing on each end face of the stator for cooling the respective winding head, it being possible for the flow to pass through the stator slots, starting from one of the two winding head cooling chambers, into the other winding head cooling chamber.
Stoll et al. and Kaneko et al. structurally discloses:
an electric machine (Kaneko et al. Para [0044] lines 2 – 3) having a housing (1) (of Kaneko et al. Fig. 1) in which a stator according to claim 1 is arranged (of Stoll et al. Fig. 1).
Kaneko et al. discloses:
wherein the stator winding (14) forms a winding head on each end face of the stator (5) (Kaneko et al. Fig. 10),
a winding head cooling chamber (annular spaces of cooling jackets 6A and 6B) (Kaneko et al. Fig. 10),
which accommodates the respective winding head is provided inside the housing on each end face of the stator for cooling the respective winding head (Kaneko et al. Fig. 10), it being possible for the flow to pass through the stator slots (10), starting from one of the two winding head cooling chambers, into the other winding head cooling chamber (Kaneko et al. Para [0050] lines 12 – 19 discloses a cooling medium being flowed to inlet 7A -> cooling jacket 6A -> cooling passage 18 formed in slot 10 -> cooling jacket 6B -> to discharge 7B).
Stoll et al., Leistner, and Kaneko et al. disclose stator windings therefore, Kaneko et al. constitutes prior art. Kaneko et al. discloses an electric machine with a housing that has two cooling jackets with annular spaces to flow cooling around to coil ends of the stator windings. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an electric machine having a housing in which a stator according to claim 1 is arranged of structurally disclosed Stoll et al. and Kaneko et al., and wherein the stator winding forms a winding head on each end face of the stator, a winding head cooling chamber, which accommodates the respective winding head is provided inside the housing on each end face of the stator for cooling the respective winding head, it being possible for the flow to pass through the stator slots, starting from one of the two winding head cooling chambers, into the other winding head cooling chamber of Kaneko et al. for the purpose of 1) ensuring lower manufacturing cost of the stator for the electric machine and 2) ensuring cooling is being provided on the winding heads of the stator winding to dissipate heat.
Regarding Claim 10, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Kaneko et al. disclose the electric machine according to claim 9.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein a respective winding head cooling chamber is bounded radially inwards with respect to the stator axis by an annular wall.
Kaneko et al. discloses:
wherein a respective winding head cooling chamber is bounded radially inwards with respect to the stator axis by an annular wall (19) (Kaneko et al. Fig. 10).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein a respective winding head cooling chamber is bounded radially inwards with respect to the stator axis by an annular wall of Kaneko et al. for the purpose of ensuring cooling does not leak to other components of the electric machine.
Regarding Claim 13, Stoll et al. and Leistner disclose the stator according to claim 1.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the cooling medium is oil.
Kaneko et al. discloses:
wherein the cooling medium is oil (Kaneko et al. Para [0050] line 12).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the cooling medium is oil of Kaneko et al. for the purpose of reducing friction and dissipate heat away from the electric machine.
Regarding Claim 17, Stoll et al., Leistner, and Kaneko et al. discloses the electric machine according to claim 10.
Stoll et al. and Leistner do not disclose:
wherein the annular wall is a sealing sleeve.
Kaneko et al. discloses:
wherein the annular wall is a sealing sleeve (Kaneko et al. Para [0057] lines 3 – 6 discloses a cylindrical section 19 and rubber seal 20 that act together as a sealing sleeve).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the annular wall is a sealing sleeve of Kaneko et al. for the purpose of ensuring cooling does not leak to other components of the electric machine.
Conclusion
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834