DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Fig.2) in the reply filed on 04/13/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant further indicated that claims 1-3,5-11, 13 reads on the elected species. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “…Most of the claims of the application are not method/process claims, so Applicant believes that this Election of Species requirement is not proper”. This is not found persuasive because as discussed in the restriction requirement the species lack unity of invention. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/15/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3,5-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mark et al. (WO 2015/009938).
Regarding claim 1, Mark et al teaches a printing apparatus comprising:
a platen to hold a media thereon, the media moveable along a media path direction (paragraphs 0017, figs.1,2,4,10);
a displacement mechanism to move the media over the platen and along the media path direction, wherein the media displacement mechanism is to provide a tension to the media (paragraphs 0014,0018);
a media advancement sensor to measure the displacement of the media (paragraphs 0018,0011-013,0091);
a controller to: control the displacement mechanism to move the media over the platen at a tension (paragraphs 0018, fig.4);
determine, through the media advancement sensor, media advancement data indicative of the displacement of the media (paragraphs 0018,0011-013);
determine a deformation factor based on the tension and the media advancement data (paragraphs 0108,0160,0165); and
modify a printing parameter based on the deformation factor (paragraphs 0108,0160,0165; figs.1,2,4,10-13).
Regarding claim 2, Mark et al further teaches wherein the controller is to control the displacement mechanism and to determine the media advancement data in an iterative manner (paragraphs 0018), the controller is further to: compare the media advancement data of a plurality of the iterations with an advancement threshold (paragraphs 0166); and determine that the media is a rigid media and that no printing parameter modification is needed if the plurality of media advancement data are lower than the advancement threshold (paragraphs 0164,0166).
Regarding claim 3, Mark et al further teaches wherein the controller is to control the displacement mechanism to move the media over the platen at an increasing tension in the different iterations (paragraphs 0018).
Regarding claim 5, Mark et al further teaches wherein the displacement mechanism is a media input roller and/or a media output roller (paragraphs 0104,0105).
Regarding claim 6, Mark et al further teaches wherein the media advancement sensor comprises a mechanical or an optical sensor (paragraphs 0100).
Regarding claim 7, Mark et al further teaches wherein the controller is to modify a printing parameter based on the deformation factor after a media loading and before a print job execution (paragraphs 0109,0168,0202).
Regarding claim 8, Mark et al further teaches wherein the printing parameter is a print job image, the controller to modify the print job image based on the deformation factor (paragraphs 0038,0177,0216).
Regarding claim 9, Mark et al further teaches wherein the printing parameter is a printhead alignment, the controller to: determine a division of a printhead into different areas; and apply a different correction to at least two of the areas based on the deformation factor (paragraphs 0174,0177).
Regarding claim 10, Mark et al further teaches wherein the printing parameter is a printhead alignment, the controller to: determine a division of the printing area on the platen into different zones; and apply, based on the deformation factor, a different correction to the printhead while printing into at least two of the different zones (paragraphs 0174,0177).
Regarding claim 11, Mark et al further teaches wherein the printing parameter is the advancement of the media (paragraph 0018), the controller to: determine a nominal advancement of the media based on the media advancement data and the deformation factor, wherein the nominal advancement of the media is the un-deformed advancement of the media; input the nominal advancement of the media to an advance calibration equation (paragraphs 0018); and
determine a subsequent advancement of the media through the advance calibration equation (paragraphs 0108,0130,0160,0165).
Regarding claim 13, Mark et al further teaches a method comprising:
loading a media to a printer (paragraphs 0018,0150,0205,0216);
moving, through a displacement mechanism, the media over along a media path direction of a printer platen at a tension (paragraphs 0018);
measuring, through the media advancement sensor, media advancement data indicative of the displacement of the media (paragraphs 0018,0011-013);
determining a deformation factor based on the tension and the media advancement data (paragraphs 0108,0160,0165); and
modifying a printing parameter based on the deformation factor (paragraphs 0108,0160,0165; figs.1,2,4,10-13).
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853