DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected, without traverse, Group I (Claims 1-11), drawn to a compound, for examination. In addition, Applicant elected the following species for examination: Formula (XII); claims 1-10 read on the elected species. Claims 1-11 are hereby examined on the merits. Claims 12-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 13th April 2026.
Priority
This application filed 10/27/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/US22/26504 , International Filing Date: 04/27/2022, Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63270777, filed 10/22/2021, Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63180348 , filed 04/27/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2025 is in compliance with the
provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the
examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon (natural product) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the judicial exception of a compound represented by Formula (I). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no difference in substance from the claimed composition of Formula (I) and Colistin. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. See the following analysis.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes, the claim is directed to a composition.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon (product of nature) or
abstract idea?
Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature or natural phenomenon? Yes,
the claim recites a composition. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed
compound of Formula (I), is Colistin, a naturally occurring antibiotic isolated from strains of Paenibacillus polymyxa (Velkov et al).
Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a
practical application? No, the additional elements in the claim do not integrate the judicial exceptions
into a practical application. The claim is directed only to the composition and to the function
incorporated by the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tony Velkov et al., hereinafter Velkov (Tony Velkov et al., J. Med. Chem. 2010, 53, 1898–1916).
Regarding claim 1, Velcov teaches the chemical structure of Colistin, (i.e. Formula (I) which meets the limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pamela Brown et al., hereinafter Brown (Pamela Brown et al., Development of new polymyxin derivatives for multi-drug resistant Gram-negative infections, The Journal of Antibiotics (2017) 70, 386–394) as evidenced by JUN’ICHI SHOJI et al., hereinafter Shoji (JUN’ICHI SHOJI et al., The Journal of Antibiotics, 1977, 30 (12), 10351041).
The teachings of Velkov have been set forth above.
Applicant elected species of Formula (XII) i.e. biphenyl macrolacin (see below)
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches that members of the polymyxin family are isolated from strains of Paenibacillus polymyxa, and the Polymyxins contain a heptapeptide core (see page 386, ‘Natural Polymyxins and related natural products’, lines 1-4). Embodiments of the specification disclose Macrolacin to comprise Ser at position 3, Leu at position 6, Ile at position 7 and Leu at position 10 (see Fig 2D). Brown teaches Polymyxin E, characterized by D-Leu at position 6 (page 387, 1st paragraph); at position 7, in place of L-leucine, the isoleucine-7 variant, and D-Ser at position 3. Brown teaches that in thevariant of Polymyxin T, Thr-10 is replaced by Leucine (see Table 1, page 387). Notably, Brown teaches that biphenylacyl N-terminus (Figure 8; FADDI-003) show increased activity compared with Colistin against Polymyxin-resistant strains of Pseudomonas and FADDI-003 shows lower clearance, and volume of distribution, and longer half-lives compared with Colistin (see Monash lipopeptides, 1st paragraph, page 392).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to
produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re
Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (discussing rationale underlying the
motivation-suggestion-teaching test as a guard against using hindsight in an obviousness analysis).
Consequently, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clinically used Polymyxin E (Colistin) to generate variants, drawing from structurally related polymyxins (see structurally related polymyxins in Table 1, page 387)to generate the compound that is instantly claimed. One motivated to do so, would have a reasonable expectation of success, as Brown specifically teaches substitutions at positions 3, 6, 7 and 10 in the core heptapeptide and biphenylacyl N-terminus (Figure 8; FADDI-003) for increased anti-microbial activity (see Monash lipopeptides, 1st paragraph, page 392).
. Thus, one would have recognized, that applying the teaching of Brown would have yielded predictable results and improved the anti-microbial function of the composition. See MPEP §2143.
Regarding claims 2-10, the obviousness rationale has been noted above.
Regarding claim 11, embodiments of the specification disclose pharmaceutical composition as comprising at least one compound of the invention (see page 16, last line). Accordingly, the rejection under claims 1-10, apply to the instant claim.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/ARCHANA VARADARAJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658