CTFR 18/557,665 CTFR 86210 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Applicant’s Submission of a Response Applicant’s submission of a response on 2/25/2026 has been received and considered. In the response, Applicant amended claims 1 and 3 - 23. Therefore, claims 1 - 23 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Zimring et al. (WO 2019/194953 A1) . As per claim 1, Zimring et al. discloses a method for cloud-based streaming (cloud gaming, see [0004]) comprising: communicatively coupling at least one physical controller to a bridge device the bridge device configured to pair the at least one physical controller with at least one cloud-based streaming server (interface device is a bridge device, see Fig. 1A:106 and is configured to pair simultaneously with multiple game controllers 102 and to communicate with the cloud-based game server 118 / streaming server 120, see FIG. 1A and [0007], [0044], [0058]), the interface device connects simultaneously (e.g., pairs with) with multiple game controllers and/or multiple electronic devices on the same network, see Fig.1A and [0007]); transmitting, by the bridge device and to the at least one cloud-based streaming server, a device pair request to establish the at least one physical controller as an input device for an application running on the at least one cloud-based streaming server and associated with a client session ( the interface device 106 issues a handshake offer / device pair request to the server system 114 to pair the game controller 102 with the cloud-based gaming/streaming session see Fig. 2A and [0094] – [0107] and [0121]); and in response to receiving a linking code associated with the cloud-based streaming server, maintaining, by the bridge device and for at least a portion of the client session, a connection between the at least one physical controller and the at least one cloud-based streaming server so that data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller is provided to the at least one cloud-based streaming server for use as inputs to the application ( using the handshake offer associated with the linking code identifying the streaming servers, the interface device 106 establishes (242A) a direct link with the server system 114, e.g., with the game server 118 and the streaming server 120; the game controller 102 is correspondingly paired (242B) with the server system 114 by way of the interface device's handshake; the interface device 106 thereafter receives "other messages" from the game controller 102 and "processes the messages and sends (248B) a subset of the messages to the game server 114" , thereby providing data representing one or more interactions with the physical game controller to the cloud-based streaming server for use as inputs to the gaming application; see Fig.2A and 2B, 242a, 242b, 248A, 248B, [0121] –[0126]). As per claim 2, Zimring et al. discloses the bridge device includes a smartphone (the bridge device can be a casting or streaming device like a smartphone, tablet, computer, Chromecast by Google, see Fig. 1A and [0004], [0044], [0058]). As per claim 3, Zimring et al. discloses communicatively coupling a client system associated with the client session to the bridge device (local network, see Fig. 1A). As per claim 4, Zimring et al. discloses transmitting data representing an interaction with the at least one physical controller to the client system associated with the client session (see Fig. 1A and 2A). As per claim 5, Zimring et al. discloses in response to receiving the interaction with the at least one physical controller, modifying a graphical user interface displayed on the client system (see Fig. 6A and [00152]). As per claim 6, Zimring et al. discloses determining one or more client system inputs based on the interaction with the at least one physical controller (see Fig. 6A). As per claim 7, Zimring et al. discloses receiving, by the bridge device, the linking code associated with the at least one cloud-based streaming server; and establishing the connection between the at least one physical controller and the at least one cloud-based streaming server based on the linking code (the interface device 106 receives the linking code/handshake offer identifying the streaming servers and uses the same to establish (242A) the link with the server system and correspondingly pair the game controller 102 (242B), see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]). As per claim 8, Zimring et al. discloses receiving data representing an interaction with the at least one physical controller indicating the linking code (the controller's pairing message is associated with and indicates the linking code, see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]). As per claim 9, Zimring et al. discloses identifying, based on the device pair request and by a device discovery engine of a cloud-based streaming system (see [0004] – [0008]), one or more servers of the cloud-based streaming system running the application to support the client session (see Fig. 1A and 2A- 2B). As per claim 10, Zimring et al. discloses in response to identifying the one or more servers, the device discovery engine generates the linking code identifying the one or more servers and allowing access to at least a portion of the one or more servers (see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]). As per claim 11, Zimring et al. discloses determining one or more application inputs based on the data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller; and providing the application inputs to the at least one cloud-based streaming server (the interface device 106 receives messages from the controller 102 and forwards a subset to the game server 114 as inputs to the cloud-based gaming application, see Fig. 2B, 248a, 248b and [0121] – [0126]). As per claim 12, Zimring et al. discloses a method for cloud-based streaming (cloud gaming, see [0004]), comprising: receiving, at least one cloud-based streaming server, a device pair request associated with a client session from a bridge device communicatively coupled to at least one physical controller (the interface device 106 is the bridge device and pairs with one or more physical controllers, see Fig. 1A:106 and [0007]); identifying at least one server running an application to support the client session (see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]); and pairing the at least one server with the at least one physical controller such that data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller is provided by the bridge device to the at least one server for use as inputs to the application running on the at least one server (the interface device 106 processes messages received from the game controller 102 and sends (248B) a subset of those messages to the game server 114 to serve as inputs to the cloud-based application, see Fig. 2B, 248a, 248b and [0121] – [0126]). As per claim 13, Zimring et al. discloses in response to receiving a client session request, launching the client session (see [0050]). As per claim 14, Zimring et al. discloses launching the client gaming session includes running the application on the at least one server (see Fig.2A and [0050]). As per claim 15, Zimring et al. discloses rendering a plurality of frames associated with the application; and encoding the plurality of frames to produce a stream (see [0063]). As per claim 16, Zimring et al. discloses transmitting the stream to a client system associated with the client session (see 2A and 2B). As per claim 17, Zimring et al. discloses modifying the application running on the at least one server based on the data from the bridge device representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller (the interface device 106 forwards controller-originating messages to the game server 114, which uses those messages to update/modify the cloud-based game; see FIG. 2B, 248a, 248b, and [0121] – [0126]). As per claim 18, Zimring et al. discloses modifying the application comprises providing data representing an interaction received by the at least one physical controller as an input to a calculation of the application (see Fig. 6A and [00152]). As per claim 19, Zimring et al. discloses in response to receiving data representing an interaction with the at least one physical controller, suspending the application (pausing the game, see [0045]). As per claim 20, Zimring et al. discloses rendering a plurality of modified frames based on the data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller; and encoding the plurality of modified frames to produce a modified stream (see [0063], [0069]). As per claim 21, Zimring et al. discloses transmitting the modified stream to a client system associated with the client session (see Fig. 6A and [00152]). As per claim 22, Zimring et al. discloses generating a linking code based on the at least one server (see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]). As per claim 23, Zimring et al. discloses pairing the at least one server with the at least one physical controller is based on the linking code (see Fig.2A, 242a and 242b and [0121]) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 2/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on p. 7 – 8 that the cited portions of Zimring et al. disclose “a controller that directly connects to a server, rather than a bridge device that maintains a connection between a controller and the server” and that Zimring purportedly teaches away from “using a bridge device to maintain a connection between the controller and the server”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Applicant emphasizes that the game controller 102 establishes (242B) a direct link with the server system 114 and sends (246) gaming inputs to the game server 118, Zimring expressly further discloses that "the game controller 102 sends (248A) other messages to the interface device 106, which processes the messages and sends (248B) a subset of the messages to the game server 114" (see [0123]). The applicant’s claim language requires "data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller" be provided to the cloud-based streaming server and not as Applicant appears to argue, that all controller data, or that gaming inputs specifically, must traverse the bridge device. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the Specification, the recited "data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller" reads on the "other messages" originating from interactions with the game controller 102 that are routed by the interface device 106 (i.e., the bridge device) to the game server 114, as disclosed in Zimring (see [0123]). These "other messages" are inputs that the gaming application uses (e.g., to control user-interface state, session state, account state, pairing state, and etc). Applicant argues that Zimring teaches a controller directly connecting to the server "rather than" using a bridge device incorrectly characterizes Zimring as disclosing mutually exclusive architectures. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zimring discloses that both the interface device 106 and the game controller 102 are part of the same architecture, in which the interface device 106 (the bridge device) is what initiates and mediates pairing of the controller with the server. Zimring describes, "Using the handshake offer, the interface device 106 establishes (242A) a direct link with the server system 114 . . . similarly, the game controller 102 establishes (242B) a direct link with the server system 114" ([0121]). The handshake offer that enables the controller's link with the server originates from, and is propagated by, the interface device 106. The interface device 106 thereby maintains the connection between the controller and the server as claimed in claim 1. Without the interface device issuing and managing the handshake/linking code association, no controller-to-server link exists. Claim 1 does not require that the bridge device be the exclusive channel for controller-originated data, it requires only that the bridge device maintain the connection "so that" controller-interaction data is provided to the streaming server. Therefore, the claim rejection is maintained. Applicant argues on p.8 that Zimring fails to disclose "pairing the at least one server with the at least one physical controller such that data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller is provided by the bridge device to the at least one server” as amended in claim 12. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As mentioned above, Zimring [0123] expressly discloses that the interface device 106 (the bridge device) receives messages originating from the game controller 102 and forwards a subset of those messages to the game server 114 . These messages constitute "data representing one or more interactions with the at least one physical controller" that are "provided by the bridge device to the at least one server." The pairing of the server with the controller is performed by the interface device 106 via the handshake/linking code mechanism described in [0121] and FIG. 2A (242a and 242b). Therefore, the claim rejection is maintained. Applicant argues on p.8 – 9 that "neither feature 242a or 242b of FIG. 2A disclose or suggest a bridge device receiving a linking code then establishing a connection between a controller and a server based on the linking code received by the bridge device" as mentioned in claim 7 and that Zimring shows the controller and the interface device each independently establishing a direct connection. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above with respect to claim 1, the handshake offer in Zimring is keyed to the linking code identifying the servers, that is received and used by the interface device 106 (the bridge device) to establish (242A) the link with the server system 114, which in turn enables the corresponding controller link (242B). Therefore, the interface device receives the linking code associated with the streaming servers and uses that linking code as the basis for establishing the connection between the physical controller and the cloud-based streaming server. Therefore, the claim rejection is maintained. Further, the amendments have overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection and the claim objection to claim 5. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANKIT B DOSHI whose telephone number is (571)270-7863. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri. ~8:30 - ~5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Dmitry Suhol can be reached at 571-272-4430. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANKIT B DOSHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 2 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 3 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 4 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 5 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 6 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 7 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 8 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 9 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 10 Art Unit: 3715 Application/Control Number: 18/557,665 Page 11 Art Unit: 3715