DETAILED ACTION
Claims 30-33, 35, 40, 41, 43, 51, 52, 56, 59, 63, 75, 76, 79, 80, 82, 83 and 88 are pending in the application. Claims 30-33, 35, 40, 41, 43, 51, 52, 56, 59, 63, 75, 76, 79, 80, 82, 83 and 88 are rejected.
Priority
This application is a 35 U.S.C. § 371 National Stage Filing of International Application No. PCT/US2022/026920, filed on April 29, 2022, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/298,601, filed on January 11, 2022, which claims benefit of Provisional Application Nos. 63/289,520 and 63/289,506, filed on December 14, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/285,812, filed on December 3, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/239,096, filed on August 31, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/210,810, filed on June 15, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/197,025, filed on June 4, 2021, which claims benefit of Provisional Application No. 63/181,743, filed on April 29, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on October 15, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS documents and signed copies of the 1449 forms are attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30-33, 35, 40, 41, 52, 56, 59, 63, 75, 76, 79, 80, 83 and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kanes et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2020/0113917 A1; April 16, 2020).
Regarding instant claims 30, 59, 63 and 88, Kanes et al. teach “Compound 1” in paragraph [0016] (shown below) which corresponds to the instantly claimed Compound (1).
.
Kanes et al. further teach the following in paragraph [0109]:
Note: the instant specification (paragraph [0018]) defines major depressive disorder with “elevated anxiety” as being characterized by a Hamilton Rating Scale for Depression (HAM-D) Anxiety/Somatization subscale score of 7 or greater, prior to the administration of Compound (1).
Regarding instant claim 31, Kanes et al. teach a pharmaceutically acceptable salt of the prior art “Compound 1.” See e.g., paragraph [0006].
Regarding instant claims 32, 33, 35, 59, 63, 75 and 76, Kanes et al. teach “the subject is administered about 30 mg of Compound 1 once a day during the 2 week period (or about 14 days).” See e.g., paragraph [0009].
Regarding instant claims 40 and 79, Kanes et al. teach administering Compound 1 to a subject orally. See e.g., paragraph [0057].
Regarding instant claims 41 and 80, Kanes et al. teach “Compound 1 is administered with food.” See e.g., paragraph [0022].
Regarding instant claims 52 and 83, Kanes et al. teach the following in paragraph [0153]:
.
Regarding instant claim 56, Kanes et al. teach “the reduction in depression-related symptoms is characterized by a reduction in HAM-D score from baseline.” See e.g., paragraph [0026].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43, 51 and 82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kanes et al. (U.S. PGPub. No. 2020/0113917 A1; April 16, 2020) in view of Watson et al. (PCT Publication No. WO 2018/039378 A1; March 1, 2018)
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art (See MPEP § 2141.01)
Kanes et al. teach “Compound 1” in paragraph [0016] (shown below) which corresponds to the instantly claimed Compound (1).
.
Kanes et al. further teach the following in paragraph [0109]:
Ascertainment of the differences between the prior art and the claims (See MPEP § 2141.02)
Regarding instant claim 43, Kanes et al. does not teach crystalline Compound 1. However, Watson et al., in the same field of endeavor, teach crystalline “Compound 1” in paragraph [0006] (reproduced below), wherein “Compound 1” corresponds to both the “Compound 1” of Kanes et al. and the instantly claimed Compound (1).
Watson et al. further teach polymorph Form A of “Compound 1” having the following 2Ɵ (degrees) values that coincide with the XRPD pattern peak limitations recited in instant claim 43:
Regarding instant claims 51 and 82, Kanes et al. does not specifically teach the subject is treatment naïve. The limitation “treatment naïve” is defined in the instant specification in paragraph [00139] (reproduced below).
Kanes et al. does, however, teach “[s]ubject was willing to delay start of any antidepressant, anxiolytic, insomnia, psychostimulant, or presecription opioid regimens until after study completion.” See e.g., paragraph [0226].
Finding of prima facie obviousness --- rationale and motivation (See MPEP § 2142-2143)
Regarding instant claim 43, it would, therefore, have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a crystalline form of the instantly claimed Compound (1) in the treatment of a patient with postpartum depression (PDD). Considering that both Kanes et al. and Watson et al. teach the instantly claimed Compound (1) in relation to the treatment of postpartum depression (PDD), it would be within the ability of a skilled artisan to administer either the crystalline form of Compound (1), as taught by Watson et al., or the non-crystalline form of Compound (1), as taught by Kanes et al. to a PDD patient. See e.g., paragraph [0109] of Kanes et al. and paragraph [00199] of Watson et al. MPEP § 2144(II) states:
An “obvious to try” rationale may support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious where one skilled in the art is choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. “[A] person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007).
Therefore, at least in the interest of administering Compound (1) having various physical parameters, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to employ the instantly claimed method.
Regarding instant claims 51 and 82, it would, therefore, have been obvious to administer Compound (1) to subjects suffering from PDD, including those that are treatment naïve. At least in the interest of studying the effects of Compound (1) in a wider patient population and to obtain baseline data, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to employ the instantly claimed methods.
Double Patenting
The analysis employed for an obviousness-type double patenting rejection parallels the analysis for a determination of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 30-33, 35, 40, 41, 43, 51, 52, 56, 59, 63, 75, 76, 79, 80, 82, 83 and 88 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of copending U.S. Application No. 19/407,758 (‘758) as evidenced by Gauld et al. (Progress in Neuro-psychopharmacology and Biological Psychiatry, 2023, 121(110671): 1-5). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of ‘758 are drawn towards methods of treating major depressive disorder- a type of which is postpartum depression as evidenced by Gauld et al. [e.g., see page 1 which states “[p]ostpartum depression (PPD) is defined as a major depressive disorder”]- comprising administering the instantly claimed Compound (1). In addition, claims 16-19 of ‘758 recite HAM-D score requirements that read on the instantly claimed expression “elevated anxiety” as defined in paragraph [0018] of the instant specification.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/D.M.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/REBECCA L ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626