DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim 5, 9, and 19-20 are withdrawn from examination as being drawn to a nonelected species.
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-18 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, it has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits. See attached copy of the PTO-1449.
Priority
This application claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/181,747 filed on 04/29/2021, U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/313,968 filed on 02/25/2022, and PCT Application No. PCT/US2022/026795 filed on 04/28/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Compound 1 (Pociredir), and β-thalassemia in the reply filed on 05/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 9, and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sufficient to decrease expression of BCL11A” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sufficient to decrease expression of BCL11a” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to the threshold for the amount of inhibitor required to be sufficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (In Vivo Characterization of Ftx-6058, a Novel Small Molecular Fetal Hemoglobin Inducer for Sickle Cell Disease, Blood, 2020, Supp. 1, 26, pg. 1, as disclosed in IDS).
Xie et al. id drawn towards the activity of compound FTX-6058 (i.e. pociredir) in the treatment of sickle cell disease (1st paragraph). Xie et al. teaches “FTX-6058 was demonstrated to inhibit the novel biological target and elevate the expression of HBγ, resulting in induction of fetal hemoglobin (HbF) tetramer in differentiated human primary CD34+ cells.” (1st paragraph).
When the composition recitations are met, the desired properties are met, as any component that materially affects the composition and its properties would have to be present in the claim to be commensurate in scope (e.g. claim 3). Additionally, when the composition is delivered in the same manner as claimed, the effects of the composition would be the same such as the therapeutic profile, as they are a direct result of the components of the composition and the mode of administration which are met by the art, whereby the resulting properties and effects would intrinsically be met. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the instant claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (In Vivo Characterization of Ftx-6058, a Novel Small Molecular Fetal Hemoglobin Inducer for Sickle Cell Disease, Blood, 2020, Supp. 1, 26, pg. 1, as disclosed in IDS) as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-8 above, and further in view of Basak (Regulation of the fetal hemoglobin silencing factor BCL11A, Ann. N.Y. Acad. Sci., 2016, 1368, pp. 25-30).
The teachings of Xie et al. are presented above.
Xie et al. does not teach further treating β-thalassemia.
Basak is drawn towards the regulation of the fetal hemoglobin silencing factor BCL11A (see abstract). Basak teaches that “The clinical severity of sickle cell disease and -thalassemia, the major disorders of -globin, can be ameliorated by increased production of fetal hemoglobin (HbF).” (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further treat β-thalassemia, as suggested by Basak, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since Xie et al. teaches that FTX-6058 can induce HbF production, which would ameloriate β-thalassemia as taught by Basak, with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality of the particular steps.
When the composition recitations are met, the desired properties are met, as any component that materially affects the composition and its properties would have to be present in the claim to be commensurate in scope (e.g. claim 14). Additionally, when the composition is delivered in the same manner as claimed, the effects of the composition would be the same such as the therapeutic profile, as they are a direct result of the components of the composition and the mode of administration which are met by the art, whereby the resulting properties and effects would intrinsically be met. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01.
Conclusion
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-18 are rejected.
/ANDREW P LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691