Status of Claims
This Action is in response to the amendment filed on June 30, 2026.
As directed by the amendment: Claims 1 and 8 were amended. Claims 1-16 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-7 and 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 30, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference character “24” in Figure 2.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a force application system operatively coupled with the engagement mechanism, and configured to apply a force to the engagement mechanism, thereby providing the abduction or flexion assistance to the arm about the shoulder” in claim 1. The corresponding structure described in the specification is a rotary actuator (“an abduction rotary actuator”, “an external/internal rotary actuator”, “a lower rotary actuator” see para. [0010]-[0012] of the published application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069).
Regarding claim 1, Branch discloses a device for manipulating an arm of a user (Fig. 1), thereby providing abduction or flexion assistance to a shoulder of the user (at least abduction assistance as seen in Fig. 3; “user 5 demonstrating the apparatus as it provides abduction to, in this instance, the right shoulder of the user 5” see para. [0017]), the device comprising:
(a) an engagement mechanism (arm carriage 50, Fig. 1) configured to operatively couple with the user's arm (see Fig. 3) and configured to pivot about an axis (axis associated with pivot-fixing pin 89, Fig. 5) defined by the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder as the shoulder abducts or flexes (see Fig. 3 and para. [0017], the engagement mechanism 50 pivots about an axis associated with the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder as the shoulder abducts; see also para. [0195]-[0196]);
(b) a scapular restriction mechanism comprising a pad (anti-scapular elevation pad assembly 84, Fig. 3) configured to restrict movement of a scapula of the user's shoulder during a first phase of abduction or flexion (“provides an acromial counterpoint by maintaining the shoulder in place preventing vertical elevation of the scapula during the abduction process” see the first sentence of [0111]. The first phase is considered the first thirty to sixty degrees of abduction) and to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction or flexion (“This element is part of and moves along with the arm carriage 50” see the second sentence of [0111] and see the range R in Fig. 3, the arm carriage 50 moves at least in an “approximately” anatomically correct manner of natural abduction in range R. This abduction range relies on gleno-humeral motion. The second phase is considered from sixty degrees to the maximum abduction in Fig. 3); and
(c) a force application system (power unit 90 with pivoting pump handle 95 and hydraulic cylinder 98, see Figs. 1-3. This is considered an equivalent structure of the force application system under 112(f) because it applies a rotary force to the arm) operatively coupled with the engagement mechanism (power unit 90 helps drive movement of the engagement mechanism 50, see Fig. 3; see “The movement of the apparatus from the position within range "R" is provided by use of a hydraulic cylinder 98, and the use of associated hydraulics … powered by the power unit 90” see para. [0113]), and configured to apply a force to the engagement mechanism (hydraulic force is applied to engagement mechanism 50 via hydraulic cylinder 98, see para. [0113]), thereby providing the abduction or flexion assistance to the arm about the shoulder (abduction assistance as the engagement mechanism 50 moves through a substantially natural abduction range R, see Fig. 3).
Branch is silent regarding the pad being operatively connected to a gear mechanism, wherein the gear mechanism is configured to cause the pad to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during the second phase of abduction or flexion.
Marti teaches a related shoulder rehabilitation device for improving the end range of motion (see Fig. 1, Abstract) which allows a user to perform abduction exercises (see Figs. 8-9). The device includes a rotating joint adjacent the shoulder joint (second link member axis 118, Fig. 1, Fig. 8) that includes a gear mechanism (polycentric gear system 138, Fig. 4; “The one or more link member axes may be polycentric gear systems to provide rotation of the link members. FIG. 4 shows an example of such a polycentric gear system 138” see lines 1-6 of [0040]. Thus, the second link member axis 118 includes a polycentric gear system 138), wherein the gear mechanism (138) is configured to cause an arm link (second link member 108, Fig. 1, Figs. 8-9) to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during (at least) a second phase of abduction (“Such a polycentric gear system 138 anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040]. Referring to Applicant’s anatomical diagram in Figures 1A-1B of the instant application, the movement of clavicle 101 is connected to and moves with the scapula 105 as they rotate upward, and substantially matches the rotation of the gleno-humeral joint 102. Thus, the gear mechanism 138 is expected to be able to perform the recited function of moving in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with the gleno-humeral motion as the shoulder is abducted in a second, latter phase). Marti additionally states that the polycentric gear mechanism (138, Fig. 4) “may reduce arm migration when an arm is rotated through a range of motion, reducing risk of further injury” (see lines 13-15 of [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivoting connection of the arm carriage (50, Figs. 2-3 of Branch; see annotated Figure A below) of Branch to have a polycentric gear mechanism as taught by Marti so the movement of the arm carriage and scapular restriction pad will anatomically imitate or match a rotating shoulder joint which may reduce arm migration when the arm is rotated through a range of motion, reducing risk of further injury.
Annotated Fig. A (from Fig. 8 of Marti, and Fig. 2 of Branch): In the proposed modification, the polycentric gear mechanism (circled on the left, also depicted at 138, Fig. 4 of Marti) has been provided at the pivoting location (circled on the right) of the arm carriage (50) of Branch. Thus, in the modified device, when the user’s shoulder undergoes abduction movement, the polycentric gear mechanism (138, Fig. 4 of Marti) will cause the arm carriage (50, Branch) and the attached scapular pad (84, Branch) to anatomically imitate or match the rotating shoulder joint.
In the modified device, when the user’s shoulder undergoes abduction movement (as in Fig. 3 of Branch; see also Figs. 8-9 of Marti), the polycentric gear mechanism (138, Fig. 4 of Marti) will cause the arm carriage (50, Figs. 2-3 of Branch) to anatomically imitate or match the rotating shoulder joint. The scapular restriction pad (84, Fig. 3 of Branch) is stated to “move[] along with the arm carriage 50” (see the second sentence of [0111] of Branch). Thus, the pad (84, Branch) is operatively connected to the gear mechanism (138, Marti), wherein the gear mechanism (138, Marti) is configured to cause the pad (84, Branch) to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction (the gear mechanism “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Branch/Marti device discloses wherein the approximately anatomically correct ratio is approximately 1:2 scapular to gleno-humeral motion during the second phase of abduction or flexion (see Fig. 3 of Branch, the range R includes movement in the second phase of abduction. It is well known that during this second phase, there is approximately 1:2 scapular to gleno-humeral motion. For example, Applicant’s own specification in para. [0041] states that “a number of studies have indicated that glenohumeral motion dominates in the first 30-60 degrees of flexion and abduction and that the 2:1 ratio of glenohumeral motion to scapular motion represents natural shoulder motion.” Branch’s carriage 50 is shown to undergo abduction over 90 degrees in the range R, and has been modified to include Marti’s polycentric gear mechanism which “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040]. Thus, the modified device will move at least “approximately” with this portion of abduction).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Branch/Marti device discloses wherein the force application system (90, 95, 98 of Branch) comprises an abduction rotary actuator (power unit 90 ultimately produces rotational power, to cause arm carriage 50 to rotate through an abduction range R, see Fig. 3; see para. [0113] of Branch) configured to apply rotational force to the engagement mechanism (50 of Branch) to cause the engagement mechanism to move in abduction (the power unit 90 causes the arm carriage 50 to rotate through abduction range R, see Fig. 3; see para. [0113] of Branch).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Branch/Marti device discloses wherein the force application system (90, 95, 98 of Branch) comprises an external/internal rotary actuator (power unit 90 ultimately produces rotational power, to cause carriage 50 to rotate through an external/internal rotation range R, see Fig. 4; see para. [0018] and [0113] of Branch) configured to apply rotational force to the engagement mechanism (50, see Fig. 4 of Branch) to cause the engagement mechanism to move in external rotation or internal rotation (“providing external rotation to the user’s right shoulder within a range R” see para. [0018] and Fig. 4 of Branch, the rotation is provided by hydraulic cylinder 98).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Branch/Marti device discloses wherein the force application system (90, 95, 98 of Branch) comprises a lower rotary actuator (hydraulic cylinder 98, Fig. 1, Fig. 4 of Branch, is located at a relatively lower point of the apparatus), configured to apply rotational force to the engagement mechanism (external rotation is provided to arm carriage 50, see Fig. 4 of Branch) to cause the engagement mechanism to move in external rotation or internal rotation (providing external rotation to the user’s right shoulder within a range R” see para. [0018] and Fig. 4 of Branch, the rotation is provided by hydraulic cylinder 98).
Regarding claim 8, Branch discloses a method for manipulating a user's arm, thereby providing abduction or flexion assistance to a shoulder of the user (providing abduction or external rotation as seen in Fig. 3, Fig. 4; “user 5 demonstrating the apparatus as it provides abduction to, in this instance, the right shoulder of the user 5” see para. [0017]), the method comprising:
(a) engaging the arm of the user with an engagement mechanism (arm carriage 50, see Fig. 3, Fig. 4) configured to pivot about an axis (axis associated with pivot-fixing pin 89, Fig. 5) defined by the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder as the arm extends or flexes about the shoulder (see Fig. 3, the engagement mechanism 50 pivots about an axis defined by the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder as the shoulder abducts; see also para. [0195]-[0196]);
(b) restricting movement of a scapula of the shoulder during a first phase of movement using a scapular restriction mechanism comprising a pad (anti-scapular elevation pad assembly 84, Fig. 3; The first phase is considered the first thirty to sixty degrees of abduction) positioned to inhibit scapular motion (the pad 84 restricts at least the vertical elevation movement of the scapula, as it “provides an acromial counterpoint by maintaining the shoulder in place preventing vertical elevation of the scapula during the abduction process” see the first sentence of [0111]. The first phase is considered the first thirty to sixty degrees of abduction) and allowing movement of the scapula during a second phase of movement in an approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion (the pad 84 “is part of and moves along with the arm carriage 50” see the second sentence of [0111] and see the range R in Fig. 3. The scapula is allowed to move to at least some degree in order to allow the abduction range R to exceed 90 degrees as seen in Fig. 3. This movement is considered at least an “approximately” anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion because the arm moves in a natural abduction range R. This abduction range relies on approximately normal gleno-humeral motion. The second phase is considered from sixty degrees to the maximum abduction in Fig. 3); and
(c) activating a force application mechanism (the user activates power unit 90 with pivoting pump handle 95 and hydraulic cylinder 98, see Figs. 1-3) to apply an incremental force to the engagement mechanism (the “pivoting pump handle 95” moves in increments based upon pivoting, see Fig. 3 and para. [0112]-[0113]), thereby creating a torque about the axis through the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder and causing abduction or flexion of the user's arm about the shoulder of the user (the user creates torque about the axis through the gleno-humeral joint of the shoulder by pivoting pump handle 95 to cause the arm carriage 50 to move through abduction range R, Fig. 3; see para. [0112]-[0113]).
Branch is silent regarding the causing the pad to move via a gear mechanism operatively coupled to the pad (to allow the approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion).
Marti teaches a related shoulder rehabilitation device for improving the end range of motion (see Fig. 1, Abstract) which allows a user to perform abduction exercises (see Figs. 8-9). The device includes a rotating joint adjacent the shoulder joint (second link member axis 118, Fig. 1, Fig. 8) that includes a gear mechanism (polycentric gear system 138, Fig. 4; “The one or more link member axes may be polycentric gear systems to provide rotation of the link members. FIG. 4 shows an example of such a polycentric gear system 138” see lines 1-6 of [0040]. Thus, the second link member axis 118 includes a polycentric gear system 138), wherein the gear mechanism (138) is configured to cause an arm link (second link member 108, Fig. 1, Figs. 8-9) to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion during (at least) a second phase of movement (“Such a polycentric gear system 138 anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040]. Referring to Applicant’s anatomical diagram in Figures 1A-1B of the instant application, the movement of clavicle 101 is connected to and moves with the scapula 105 as they rotate upward, and substantially matches the rotation of the gleno-humeral joint 102. Thus, the gear mechanism 138 is expected to “allow” the scapula to move during a second phase of movement in an approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion as the shoulder is abducted in a second, latter phase of movement). Marti additionally states that the polycentric gear mechanism (138, Fig. 4) “may reduce arm migration when an arm is rotated through a range of motion, reducing risk of further injury” (see lines 13-15 of [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pivoting connection of the arm carriage (50, Figs. 2-3; see annotated Figure A above) of Branch to have a polycentric gear mechanism as taught by Marti so the movement of the arm carriage and scapular restriction pad will anatomically imitate or match a rotating shoulder joint which may reduce arm migration when the arm is rotated through a range of motion, reducing risk of further injury.
In the modified method, when the user’s shoulder undergoes abduction movement (as in Fig. 3 of Branch; see also Figs. 8-9 of Marti), the polycentric gear mechanism (138, Fig. 4 of Marti) will cause the arm carriage (50, Figs. 2-3 of Branch) to anatomically imitate or match the rotating shoulder joint (see Fig. 9 of Marti). The scapular restriction pad (84, Fig. 3 of Branch) “is part of and moves along with the arm carriage 50” (see the second sentence of [0111] of Branch and see the carriage movement in Fig. 3). Thus, the method allows movement of the scapula during a second phase of movement (the scapula is “allowed” to move as the user abducts to a maximum range as seen in range R in Fig. 3 of Branch and in Fig. 8 of Marti) in an approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion (the gear mechanism “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti) by causing the pad (84, Branch) to move via the gear mechanism (138, Marti, by moving the arm carriage 50 of Branch) operatively coupled to the pad (the gear mechanism 138 of Marti is operatively coupled to the pad 84 via the arm carriage 50 of Branch. The gear mechanism 138 is mounted at the pivoting location of the arm carriage 50, and the scapular restriction pad 84 “is part of and moves along with the arm carriage 50”).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Branch/Marti method discloses wherein the approximately anatomically correct ratio is approximately 2:1 gleno-humeral to scapular motion (see Fig. 3 of Branch, the range R includes approximately anatomically correct abduction motion. It is well known that during the second phase, there is approximately 2:1 gleno-humeral to scapular motion. For example, Applicant’s own specification in para. [0041] states that “a number of studies have indicated that glenohumeral motion dominates in the first 30-60 degrees of flexion and abduction and that the 2:1 ratio of glenohumeral motion to scapular motion represents natural shoulder motion.” Branch’s carriage 50 and the user’s arm is shown to undergo abduction over 90 degrees in the range R, and has been modified to include Marti’s polycentric gear mechanism which “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040]. Thus, the modified method will allow movement of the scapula at least “approximately” with this portion of abduction).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 30, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that claim 1 has been amended to recite structural features of the scapular restriction mechanism, specifically “a scapular restriction mechanism comprising a pad operatively coupled to a gear mechanism” … and thus overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) (see the last paragraph of page 6 of the Remarks, through the third paragraph of page 7), this argument is persuasive and the 112(b) rejection(s) are withdrawn in light of the amendment(s).
Regarding the argument that claim 1 is not anticipated by Branch based upon the claim 1 amendments (see the last line of page 7 of the Remarks, through the first paragraph of page 8), this argument is persuasive in light of the amendment(s). However, claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069).
Regarding the argument that Branch’s anti-scapular elevation pad assembly (84) is structurally and functionally distinct from Applicant’s claimed scapular restriction mechanism, because Branch’s pad assembly moves along with the arm carriage throughout the abduction process and prevents vertical elevation of the scapula throughout the entire abduction process rather than being configured to operate in two distinct phases: (1) restricting scapular motion during a first phase, and then (2) allowing controlled scapular motion in an anatomically correct ratio during a second phase. Rather, Branch’s pad prevents vertical elevation of the scapula throughout the entire abduction process (see the second and third paragraphs of page 8 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, it is noted that claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069) so the modified device will “anatomically imitate[] or match[] a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti).
Second, the claims do not require the scapular restriction mechanism to be stationary at any time. Thus, it is immaterial that Branch’s scapular restriction mechanism moves throughout the abduction process. Branch’s scapular restriction pad (84) still satisfies the claim 1 requirement(s) of: (1) restricting movement of a scapula (vertical elevation is restricted) of the user’s shoulder during (at least) a first phase of abduction, and (2) the gear mechanism (138, as taught by Marti) is configured to cause the pad to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction because the gear mechanism (138) “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” (see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti).
Regarding the argument that Branch does not disclose a gear mechanism operatively coupled to a pad that is configured to cause the pad to move in an anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction or flexion (see the last paragraph of page 8 of the Remarks), this argument is persuasive. However, claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069). Marti has been relied upon for the feature of the gear mechanism.
Regarding the argument that the Examiner’s analysis reads the concept of “moving along with the arm carriage” as meeting the claim requirement that the mechanism “move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction or flexion” but this conflates passive movement of the pad being carried along with the arm carriage, with the active, controlled movement achieved by Applicant’s gear mechanism that is specifically configured to cause the pad to move (see the first paragraph of page 9 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069). Marti provides the gear mechanism (138) that actively moves the carriage (50, Branch) and the attached pad (84, Branch) to “anatomically imitate[] or match[] a rotating shoulder joint” (see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti) as described in the rejection statement(s) above.
Regarding the argument that as described in Applicant’s specification, the gear mechanism (including gears 14, 18, 20, and 22, along with associated chains and linkages) translates rotational motion in a “substantially 2:1 ratio, thereby representing anatomically correct gleno-humeral to scapular motion” (see the first paragraph of page 9 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the gear mechanism including a plurality of gears with associated chains and linkages, translating rotational motion in a substantially 2:1 ratio) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding the argument that Branch does not teach this two-phase approach, and instead Branch maintains the shoulder in place to prevent vertical elevation of the scapula “during the abduction process” as a whole, without distinguishing between a first phase where scapular motion is restricted and a second phase where controlled scapular motion is permitted in an anatomically correct ratio, which the claimed invention is specifically engineered to accommodate (see the second paragraph of page 9 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
First, it is reiterated that Branch is no longer relied upon to anticipate claim 1. Claim 1 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069) so the modified device will “anatomically imitate[] or match[] a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti).
Second, it is reiterated that the claims do not require the scapular restriction mechanism to be stationary at any time. Thus, it is immaterial that Branch’s scapular restriction mechanism moves throughout the abduction process. Branch’s scapular restriction pad (84) still satisfies the claim 1 requirement(s) of: (1) restricting movement of a scapula (vertical elevation is restricted) of the user’s shoulder during (at least) a first phase of abduction, and (2) the gear mechanism (138, as taught by Marti) is configured to cause the pad to move in an approximately anatomically correct ratio with gleno-humeral motion during a second phase of abduction because the gear mechanism (138) “anatomically imitates or matches a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” (see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti).
Regarding the argument that claims 2-5 depend from independent claim 1 and thus are believed to be allowable (see the penultimate paragraph of page 9 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive because claim 1 is not allowable.
Regarding the argument that claim 8 has been similarly amended to include structural recitations distinguishing the claimed method over Branch, such as “restricting movement of a scapula of the shoulder during a first phase of movement using a scapular restriction mechanism comprising a pad positioned to inhibit scapular motion and allowing movement of the scapula during a second phase of movement in an approximately anatomically correct ratio of gleno-humeral motion to scapular motion by causing the pad to move via a gear mechanism operatively coupled to the pad” and Branch does not teach this method step for the same reasons discussed above (see the first paragraph of page 10 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive.
Branch is no longer relied upon to anticipate claim 8. However, claim 8 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branch (2003/0130600) in view of Marti et al. (2015/0360069) so the modified method will “anatomically imitate[] or match[] a rotating shoulder joint where the humeral head during arm elevation causes the clavicle to rotate upward” see lines 10-13 of [0040] of Marti). See the 35 USC 103 rejection(s) above. The arguments with respect to claim 1 were not found persuasive (see above), and thus the argument that claim 8 is allowable for the same reasons is not persuasive.
Regarding the argument that claim 9 depends from independent claim 8 and thus is believed to be allowable (see the second paragraph of page 10 of the Remarks), this argument is not persuasive because claim 8 is not allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lan et al. (10,512,581) discloses a related shoulder joint rehabilitation device that allows the upper limb to move freely and has a linear actuator to move the mechanism up/down to follow the shoulder joint. Deshpande et al. (2020/0030173) discloses a related exoskeleton with shoulder actuation joints that permit natural anatomic motion during flexion. Kim et al. (2021/0154081) discloses a related exoskeleton with a mechanism that allows the rotation center of the shoulder to be moved up and down during flexion/extension. Chang et al. (KR 20120015704 A) discloses a shoulder joint rehabilitation device that has a screw-nut actuator to move the mechanism up/down to follow the center of the rotation axis of the shoulder joint.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E MILLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785