DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “each of a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). It is unclear where in the drawings there are openings “on each of the side walls”, as openings #131 appear to be formed by a space between adjacent wall elements that form cavities #13, but there do not appear to be any openings “on each of the side walls” as claimed. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-15, 17-18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, claim 11 requires wherein “each of the silencing cavity cavities comprise an opening facing the silencing channel; the silencing device comprises a plurality of side walls enclosing the silencing channel, and a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas;” and claim 26 similarly requires “wherein the silencing device comprises a plurality of side walls enclosing the silencing channel, and a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas,” both of which are indefinite.
It is unclear from the disclosure where there are openings “on each of the side walls”, as openings #131 appear to be formed by a space between adjacent wall elements that form cavities #13, but there do not appear to be any openings “on each of the side walls” as claimed. Additionally, it is not even clear what the sidewalls are as they are not labeled in the drawings. Are the sidewalls the unlabeled interior grid of walls that form cavity spaces, or are the side walls that outer walls of silencing body #11, both of which enclose the silencing channel as claimed, while neither includes “a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls having different areas,” as claimed. Applicant should clarify or amend the claims do properly claim the openings #13, as well as make clear which components of the disclosure show side walls as claimed.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas " in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas " in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-17, 19 and 21-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 109708388 A – see translation provided by Examiner on 9/2/25).
With respect to claim 11, Chen teaches an air duct assembly (Figures 1-5), comprising an air flow passage (defined by air flow passage flowing from inlet #231, through fan #10, channel #60 and out through outlet #232 – [0048]), wherein the air duct assembly further comprises a silencing device (defined by receiving space #220 and silencing assembly #20 within receiving space #220 and including enclosing wall 230 forming one of walls of silencing device) provided on the air flow passage, the silencing device comprises a silencing body (defined by outer walls of #210/230 forming receiving space #220 for silencing assembly #20), a silencing channel (60) penetrating through the silencing body and a plurality of silencing cavities (23/26) arranged in the silencing body, the silencing channel (60) is communicated with the air flow passage, and each of the silencing cavity cavities (23/26) comprise an opening (unlabeled openings into cavities #23/26 are clearly seen, and openings could be referring to the entire opening/cavity #23/26 depth #L, or the opening space at the upstream end of the cavities #23/26 extending between two adjacent sidewalls #22/25) facing the silencing channel (60); the silencing device comprises a plurality of side walls (22/25) enclosing the silencing channel (60), and a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas (note that that the different sized cavities have different areas, and the upstream end opening formed by two adjacent sidewalls #22/25 will have different areas depending on the angle between the two adjacent sidewalls #22/25 at the opening).
With respect to claim 22, Chen teaches an air duct assembly (Figures 1-5), comprising an air flow passage (defined by air flow passage flowing from inlet #231, through fan #10, channel #60 and out through outlet #232 – [0048]), wherein the air duct assembly further comprises a silencing device (defined by receiving space #220 and silencing assembly #20 within receiving space #220 and including enclosing wall 230 forming one of walls of silencing device) provided on the air flow passage, the silencing device comprises a silencing body (defined by outer walls of #210/230 forming receiving space #220 for silencing assembly #20), a silencing channel (60) penetrating through the silencing body and a plurality of silencing cavities (23/26) arranged in the silencing body, the silencing channel (60) is communicated with the air flow passage, and each of the silencing cavity cavities (23/26) comprise an opening (unlabeled openings into cavities #23/26 are clearly seen, and openings could be referring to the entire opening/cavity #23/26 depth #L, or the opening space at the upstream end of the cavities #23/26 extending between two adjacent sidewalls #22/25) facing the silencing channel (60); the silencing channel (60) comprises ports (231/232) formed on two sides of the silencing body (defined by outer walls of #210/230 forming receiving space #220 for silencing assembly #20), and the air duct assembly further comprises a protective net (note that Figure 5 depicts a net-like structure on at least port #232) provided on at least one of the ports (232).
With respect to claims 12 and 23, Chen teaches wherein the air flow passage (defined by air flow passage flowing from inlet #231, through fan #10, channel #60 and out through outlet #232 – [0048]) comprises an air inlet (231), an air duct (defined by any or all of the passage between inlet #231 and outlet #232) and an air outlet (232), and the silencing device (defined by receiving space #220 and silencing assembly #20 within receiving space #220 and including enclosing wall 230 forming one of walls of silencing device) is provided at the air inlet, and/or in the air duct (defined by any or all of the passage between inlet #231 and outlet #232), and/or at the air outlet.
With respect to claims 13 and 24, Chen teaches wherein an upstream position (position adjacent inlet #231) and a downstream position (position adjacent outlet #232) of the silencing device (defined by receiving space #220 and silencing assembly #20 within receiving space #220 and including enclosing wall 230 forming one of walls of silencing device) are formed along an air circulation direction, and parts of the air flow passage upstream and downstream of the silencing device are communicated only through the silencing channel (60).
With respect to claims 14 and 25, Chen teaches an air duct bottom plate (defined by floor of receiving space #220 in Figure 5) and an air duct cover plate (defined by upper-most wall defining receiving space #220), wherein the air duct (defined by any or all of the passage between inlet #231 and outlet #232, including within portions of channel #60) is formed between the air duct bottom plate and the air duct cover plate, and a cross sectional area of the air duct is gradually increased (seen in Figure 6) in a direction from the air inlet (231) towards the air duct. Note Figure 6 shows a gradual cross-sectional increase from an area adjacent the right-most end of #300 toward the left most end, which gradual increase is occurring in a direction (right to left direction in Figure 6) from the air inlet (231) towards the air duct (defined by any or all of the passage between inlet #231 and outlet #232, including within portions of channel #60)
With respect to claim 15, Chen teaches wherein the silencing channel (60) comprises ports (231/232) formed on two sides of the silencing body (defined by outer walls of #210/230 forming receiving space #220 for silencing assembly #20), and the air duct assembly further comprises a protective net (note that Figure 5 depicts a net-like structure on at least port #232) provided on at least one of the ports (232).
With respect to claims 17 and 27, Chen teaches wherein at least two of the silencing cavities (23/26) have different volumes (clearly seen in Figure 4, note different heights #L, which define different volumes).
With respect to claim 21, Chen teaches wherein the silencing device (defined by receiving space #220 and silencing assembly #20 within receiving space #220 and including enclosing wall 230 forming one of walls of silencing device) is configured to have a cubic structure, and the silencing channel (60) penetrates through the silencing body (defined by outer walls of #210/230 forming receiving space #220 for silencing assembly #20) in a direction from the air inlet (231) to the air duct (defined by any or all of the passage between inlet #231 and outlet #232).
With respect to claim 26, Chen teaches the silencing device comprises a plurality of side walls (22/25) enclosing the silencing channel (60), and a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas (note that that the different sized cavities have different areas, and the upstream end opening formed by two adjacent sidewalls #22/25 will have different areas depending on the angle between the two adjacent sidewalls #22/25 at the opening).
Claims 11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (CN 209875570 U – see translation provided by Examiner on 9/2/25).
With respect to claim 11, Sun teaches an air duct assembly (Figures 4 and 6-7), comprising an air flow passage (defined by air flow passage flowing from inlet #23 and out through smoke hole outlet #24), wherein the air duct assembly further comprises a silencing device (1, best seen in Figures 1-3) provided on the air flow passage, the silencing device comprises a silencing body (11/12/13 – [0031]), a silencing channel (113) penetrating through the silencing body and a plurality of silencing cavities (15/151- note various sized cavities separated by walls #16/17/18) arranged in the silencing body, the silencing channel (113) is communicated with the air flow passage, and each of the silencing cavity cavities comprise an opening (openings clearly seen in Figure 1 between various side walls #16/17/18) facing the silencing channel (113); the silencing device comprises a plurality of side walls (16/17/18) enclosing the silencing channel (113), and a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls (16/17/18) have different areas (note that that the different sized cavities have different areas as seen in Figure 1)
With respect to claim 17, Sun teaches wherein at least two of the silencing cavities (15/151) have different volumes (See #S1 and S2 in Figure 3).
With respect to claim 18, Sun teaches wherein at least some of the silencing cavities (15/151) are provided in a labyrinth shape (clearly see in Figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 109708388 A – see translation provided by Examiner on 9/2/25) in view of Sun (CN 209875570 U – see translation provided by Examiner on 9/2/25).
With respect to claim 28, Chen teaches the air duct assembly of claim 22. Chen further teaches silencing cavities (23/26).
Chen fails to teach wherein at least some of the silencing cavities are provided in a labyrinth shape.
Sun teaches a similar silencing device (1) for an air duct assembly having silencing cavities, wherein it is known to provide wherein at least some of the silencing cavities are provided in a labyrinth shape (clearly see in Figures 2-3, defined by lengths #S1/S2, see translation [0032]), such that the silencing cavities can be formed into sub-silencing chambers having different channel lengths to meet a quarter wavelength of noise of different wavelengths, which can absorb and eliminate noise of different frequency bands (see [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Chen, with the apparatus of Sun, so as to absorb and eliminate noise of different frequency bands, by providing the labyrinth/sub-silencing chambers having different channel lengths to meet a quarter wavelength of noise of different wavelengths (see Sun translation, [0032]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner still considers Chen and Sun to teach all of the limitations as claimed by Applicant.
Regarding Applicant arguments against claim 11 (previously claim 16), It is unclear what Applicant is arguing, as Applicant has merely stated that “Applicant respectfully submits that Chen (CN 109708388 A) does not disclose at least the feature that "a plurality of the openings on each of the side walls have different areas". Applicant notes that the following rejection of claim 16 is improper as these features recited in claim 16 have not been disclosed by Chen.” Applicant has not clearly communicated any evidence or argument regarding this rejection; therefore, this argument is unpersuasive.
Regarding claim 15 and new claim 22, the Examiner notes that the above rejection includes a different interpretation of the claimed silencing device and silencing body, rendering Applicant’s argument moot with respect to the previous rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837