Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the moisture barrier component of claims 15 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The use of the term Merino wool which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "at least a portion of the floating liner" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 12 is interpreted to be dependent from claim 9.
Claim 23 recites multiple elements that are already recited in claim 1 which instant claim 23 is dependent from. For example, the parts which include but not limited to the introduction of “a pant body” and leg openings” and “crotch panels” are all already introduced in claim 1. In an effort to compact prosecution, the limitations of claim 23 is interpreted as the same as the ones already introduced in claim 1.
Claim 26 contains the trademark/trade name Merino wool. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe wool and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. In an effort to compact prosecution, the limitation is interpreted as wool.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 11, 13-15, 17-19 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaudet (US 4981480) in view of Roe (US 2012/0022481).
Regarding claim 1, Gaudet discloses a launderable moisture management pant undergarment comprising:
(a) a pant body (10, figure 4) comprising leg openings (figure 4, leg openings in the diaper) having a crotch panel (12) disposed therebetween (figures 1 and 3), wherein a surface of at least the crotch panel are lined with a first moisture wicking fabric comprising a brushed or otherwise textured surface having fibers displaced from the fabric knit (col 2, lines 50-65, “a rectangular panel 12 made of double layers of soft woven material such as felt or flannelette, with an intermediate absorbent layer of woven or nonwoven material therebetween. The material may be a batting of rayon, polyester, cotton or a mixture of these materials which have high absorbency”), and
(b) a removeable moisture management booster pad (44, figure 3 shows the pad being removed) for positioning over the lined crotch panel (col 3, lines 38-48), the booster pad comprising:
an external covering (first layer made of felt or flannelette, col 3, lines 38-48) surrounding a fluid trapping core component (absorbent layer, col 3, lines 38-48) of the booster pad, the external covering comprising a second moisture wicking fabric comprising a brushed or otherwise textured surface having fibers displaced from the fabric knit (col 3, lines 38-48 “a separate absorbent panel 44 which is formed of two layers of soft woven material, such as felt or flannelette, with an absorbent layer, preferably a batting woven or nonwoven rayon, or polyester, cotton or other mixtures thereof, therebetween”), and
wherein the fluid trapping core component of the booster pad traps bodily fluid wicked away from the wearer's skin by the second moisture wicking fabric of the booster pad (col 3, lines 38-48, absorbent portions generally traps fluid, materials such as cotton wicks fluid);
Gaudet does not teach wherein physical contact between a first surface of the moisture wicking fabric lined crotch panel of the pant undergarment and a second surface of the moisture wicking fabric of the external covering of the booster pad, results in a friction, non-slip or interference fit between the booster pad and the moisture wicking fabric lined crotch panel.
Roe discloses absorbent articles in the same field of endeavor as the Applicant. Roe teaches an absorbent pad (14, figure 1) which is attached to the crotch portion of the article through the use of press-fit ([0017]) resulting in the absorbent pad being friction fit to the crotch panel).
Roe utilizes press-fit as a functionally equivalent means of fitting the pad to the crotch ([0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Gaudet which attaches the pad to the panel with the functionally equivalent means of attachment taught by Roe (press-fit) in order to attach the pad to the crotch panel. Doing so would yield the predictable result of attaching two portions of the absorbent article.
Regarding claim 2, Gaudet does not disclose wherein the removeable moisture management booster pad is free of fastener devices for releasably attaching the booster pad to the pant body.
Roe discloses absorbent articles in the same field of endeavor as the Applicant. Roe teaches an absorbent pad (14, figure 1) which is attached to the crotch portion of the article through the use of press-fit ([0017]) resulting in the absorbent pad being friction fit to the crotch panel), this means the booster pad is free of fastener devices for releasably attaching the booster pad to the pant body.
Roe utilizes press-fit as a functionally equivalent means of fitting the pad to the crotch ([0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the loop strips of Gaudet which attaches the pad to the panel with the functionally equivalent means of attachment taught by Roe (press-fit) in order to attach the pad to the crotch panel. Doing so would yield the predictable result of attaching two portions of the absorbent article.
Regarding claim 3, Gaudet discloses wherein the first moisture wicking fabric lining the crotch portion and the second moisture wicking fabric of the covering of the booster pad are the same fabric or are different fabrics (col 2, lines 50-65 and col 3, lines 38-48).
Regarding claim 7, Gaudet discloses wherein an optional second fluid trapping core component is attached to the floating liner or to an upper side of the crotch portion or wherein an optional second fluid trapping core component is attached to the underside of the floating liner or is removably attached to the floating liner (“optional” is recited as not required as being part of the invention, and Gaudet and Roe already teaches the limitations of claim 1 and meets the limitations of the instant claim).
Regarding claim 11, Gaudet discloses wherein edges of the pant body at the leg openings are elasticated (30).
Regarding claim 13, Gaudet discloses wherein the fluid trapping core component comprises one or more layers of one or more layers of an absorbent, quick drying fabric (col 3, lines 38-42).
Regarding claim 14, Gaudet discloses wherein one or more of the first and second fluid trapping core components comprise an absorbent, quick drying fabric manufactured from a cellulosic material (col 3, lines 38-42).
Regarding claims 15 and 17, Gaudet discloses wherein at least a portion of the crotch panel includes a moisture barrier component to prevent moisture leaking outside the pant during use, the moisture barrier component is a fabric (col 4, lines 35-45).
Regarding claim 18, Gaudet discloses the pant undergarment is in the form of a lauderable (reusable underwear, col 2, lines 65-68).
Regarding claim 19, Gaudet disclose a foldable configuration of the underwear (figure 4).
Regarding claim 23, Gaudet discloses a kit including the material of claim 1 comprising:
(i) one or more removeable moisture management booster pads (44, figure 3 shows the pad being removed) for positioning over the lined crotch panel (col 3, lines 38-48), the booster pad comprising:
an external covering (first layer made of felt or flannelette, col 3, lines 38-48) surrounding a fluid trapping core component (absorbent layer, col 3, lines 38-48) of the booster pad, the external covering comprising a second moisture wicking fabric comprising a brushed or otherwise textured surface having fibers displaced from the fabric knit (col 3, lines 38-48 “a separate absorbent panel 44 which is formed of two layers of soft woven material, such as felt or flannelette, with an absorbent layer, preferably a batting woven or nonwoven rayon, or polyester, cotton or other mixtures thereof, therebetween”), and
wherein the fluid trapping core component of the booster pad traps bodily fluid wicked away from the wearer's skin by the second moisture wicking fabric of the booster pad (col 3, lines 38-48, absorbent portions generally traps fluid, materials such as cotton wicks fluid);
one or more moisture management pant undergarment each comprising (a) a pant body (10, figure 4) comprising leg openings (figure 4, leg openings in the diaper) having a crotch panel (12) disposed therebetween (figures 1 and 3), wherein a surface of at least the crotch panel are lined with a first moisture wicking fabric comprising a brushed or otherwise textured surface having fibers displaced from the fabric knit (col 2, lines 50-65, “a rectangular panel 12 made of double layers of soft woven material such as felt or flannelette, with an intermediate absorbent layer of woven or nonwoven material therebetween. The material may be a batting of rayon, polyester, cotton or a mixture of these materials which have high absorbency”), and
Gaudet does not teach wherein physical contact between a first surface of the moisture wicking fabric lined crotch panel of the pant undergarment and a second surface of the moisture wicking fabric of the external covering of the booster pad, results in a friction, non-slip or interference fit between the booster pad and the moisture wicking fabric lined crotch panel.
Roe discloses absorbent articles in the same field of endeavor as the Applicant. Roe teaches an absorbent pad (14, figure 1) which is attached to the crotch portion of the article through the use of press-fit ([0017]) resulting in the absorbent pad being friction fit to the crotch panel).
Roe utilizes press-fit as a functionally equivalent means of fitting the pad to the crotch ([0017]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify Gaudet which attaches the pad to the panel with the functionally equivalent means of attachment taught by Roe (press-fit) in order to attach the pad to the crotch panel. Doing so would yield the predictable result of attaching two portions of the absorbent article.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaudet in view of Roe further in view of Brownlee (US 5360422).
Regarding claims 5-6, Gaudet and Roe do not teach wherein one or more of the first and second moisture wicking fabrics comprises brushed polyester.
Brownlee discloses an absorbent article and teaches an absorbent insert (32) made of brushed polyester (col 3, lines 64-67).
Brownlee provides materials and select materials based on material properties ({col 3, lines 64-67 and col 4, lines 10-20). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the material of Gaudet with the materials disclosed by Brownlee to achieve desirable material properties such as selecting brushed polyester for stay dry properties.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaudet in view of Roe further in view of Deerin (US 2008/0015538).
Regarding claims 9-10, and 12, Guadet and Roe do not teach wherein at least a portion of the crotch panel is overlaid with a floating liner fixedly attached to the pant body and adapted to accommodate the optional second fluid trapping core component which traps bodily fluid wicked away from the wearer's skin, wherein at least one or more portions of the floating liner and the crotch panel can be physically separated from each other to expose the optional second fluid trapping core component to aid drying (claim 9), wherein at least one or more portions of the floating liner are unattached to the pant body allowing physical separation of the optional second fluid trapping core component from the crotch portion (claim 10), wherein at least a portion of the floating liner comprises the first moisture wicking fabric comprising a brushed or otherwise textured surface (claim 12).
Deerin discloses a pant garment and teaches wherein at least a portion of the crotch panel is overlaid with a floating liner (40) fixedly attached to the pant body and adapted to accommodate an absorbent (140, [0025-0026]), wherein at least one or more portions of the floating liner and the crotch panel can be physically separated from each other to expose the optional second fluid trapping core component to aid drying ([0025], pocket can have an open end to allow the interior to be removed), wherein at least one or more portions of the floating liner are unattached to the pant body allowing physical separation of the optional second fluid trapping core component from the crotch portion ([0025]). In this case the optional second absorbent is optional and the pocket is capable of holding a second absorbent until removal, the floating liner can be made from textured surface material ([0022]).
Deerin provides a pocket with an opening to remove the absorbent ([0025]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the cited prior art with Deerin arrangement in order to facilitate easy removal of the absorbent.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaudet in view of Roe further in view of Siriwardena (US 20210282469).
Regarding claim 26, Gaudet does not disclose wherein one or more of the first and second moisture wicking fabrics comprises brushed Merino wool.
Siriwardena discloses an incontinence underwear and teaches the fabric of the underwear be made from wool ([0035]). While Siriwardena does not specifically state the wool is brushed, the “brushed” limitation is interpreted as a product by process limitation wherein the end product is a Merino wool made with a brushed process. Since the patentability for product claims are based on the product itself, Sirirwardena discloses the product of the wool.
Siriwardena provides the use of wool for desirable material properties ([0035]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filling date to modify the cited prior art with the wool in order to obtain desired material properties.
Claim(s) 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaudet in view of Roe further in view of Mullen (US 2006/0247599).
Regarding claim 27, Guadet does not disclose wherein the absorbent, quick drying fabric is a polyester microfibre fabric (claim 27), wherein the absorbent, quick drying fabric is a microfibre towelling comprising about 80% polyester and about 20% polyamide (claim 28).
Mullen discloses an absorbent garment wherein the absorbent, quick drying fabric is a polyester microfibre fabric (meltblown polyester fabric ([0085], [0018], [0125]), but does not disclose wherein the absorbent, quick drying fabric is a microfibre towelling comprising about 80% polyester and about 20% polyamide.
Mullen discloses (pp. [0042]) that material percentages are contemplated and tested for best results for friction ([0041-0042]), thus the percentages of material is disclosed to be a result effective variable in changing the material composition effects the material property of the fabric. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying the Mullen to have a length within the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the device of the cited prior art by making the material composition as claimed a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/KAI H WENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781