DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8, lines 2-3 recites the limitation "the adjustable colors of the LED segments”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear how the “adjustable colors” would be adjusted. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arlinsky (US Pub. No. 2007/0193046).
Regarding claim 1, Arlinsky discloses: a digital spirit level 10 comprising: an at least substantially cuboid or prismatic housing 11 having at least one surface 12 designed as a supporting surface configured for placing the digital spirit level on a workpiece which is to be oriented with respect to the earth's gravitational field; and a digital display unit 22 controlled by an electronic control device 17 and arranged at least in a region of a further surface of the housing, the display unit being configured to display to a user an orientation of the housing with respect to the earth's gravitational field in an intuitively perceivable manner.
Regarding claim 2, 27 is at least one digital display which is in the longitudinal direction of the housing and which displays a target angle specified by a user (see [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, the at least one digital display is a bar display (27 in FIG 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arlinsky.
Regarding claim 3, Arlinsky discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Arlinsky does not disclose at least two longitudinally spaced apart digital displays as claimed. Arlinsky does disclose two displays 27 and 28. It would be obvious to shift one of the displays from an overlapping position to a spaced apart position to take different measurements. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to alter the digital displays of Arlinsky in the manner as claimed based on end user and/or manufacturer preferences.
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Arlinsky discloses that the arrays 27, 28 are seven segments (see [0026]).
Claims 5, 6, 9, 10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arlinsky in view of Leidel et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0226845).
Arlinsky discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Arlinsky does not disclose differently colored LEDs (claims 5, 6, 15 and 16), the acoustic signal transmitter (claim 9) or the accelerometer (claims 10 and 17) as claimed.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 15 and 16, Leidel et al. discloses how red, green and yellow lights may be used to distinguish different ranges with a level (see [0008]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use colored lights as taught by Leidel et al. in conjunction with the Arlinsky device for the purpose of more clearly distinguishing levels with the Arlinsky device.
Regarding claim 9, Leidel et al. discloses that acoustic transmitters may be used with a digital level (see [0075]) for the purpose of indicating a level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use an acoustic transmitter as taught by Leidel et al. in conjunction with the Arlinsky device for the purpose of indicating a level with the Arlinsky device.
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Leidel et al. discloses how at least one accelerometer (which could be a well-known MEMS accelerometer) 62, 72 may be used to measure levelness in a digital spirit level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use accelerometers as taught by Leidel et al. in conjunction with the Arlinsky device for the purpose of measuring levelness with the Arlinsky device.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arlinsky and Leidel et al. as applied to claim 5, above, and in further view of Zhuang (US Pub. No. 2016/0084648).
Arlinsky and Leidel et al. disclose the invention substantially as claimed. However, neither Arlinsky nor Leidel et al. disclose the scale as claimed. Zhuang discloses a scale with angle values to easily interpret a display (see FIG 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a scale taught by Zhuang et al. in conjunction with the combination of Arlinsky and Leidel et al. for the purpose of more easily determining measurements with the combined device.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arlinsky in view of Ludlow et al. (US Pat. No. 4,182,046).
Arlinsky discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Arlinsky does not disclose the specific input unit as claimed. Ludlow et al. discloses a input unit that uses a rotary knob to specify a target angle (col. 4, ll. 34-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use an input unit with a knob in conjunction with the device of Arlinsky for the purpose specifying a target angle with a level device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GEORGE B BENNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855
gbb
18 DEC 2025