DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 13 August 2026, in which claims 1, 4, 5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51, 52, 54, 65 have been amended, and claims 8, 23, 39, 43, 62, 63 have been cancelled, is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 54-55, 65 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 54-55 are withdrawn, as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are examined herein.
Response to arguments of 13 August 2026
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, all the objections and rejections to claims 8, 23, 39, 43, 62, 63 are herein withdrawn. Claims 8, 23, 39, 43, 62, 63 have been cancelled.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the objection to claims 54-55 is herein withdrawn. The status indicators have been corrected.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the objections to claim 1 are herein withdrawn. Applicant has deleted the structures on pages 3-5, claim 1.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 52, 65 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is herein withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite
. New rejections to the claims are made under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based on Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejection of claims 5, 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is herein withdrawn. Applicant’s argument (Remarks of 13 August 2026, page 17, paragraph 4) that the term “C1-C6 alkyl encompasses -CD3” is not persuasive. A modified rejection to claim 5 is made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejection of claim 51 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite, is herein withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that R7a is selected from
.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26, 37 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Abo-Ghalia; the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26, 45, 52 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Slusher (WO 2017/023774); and the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26, 45, 52 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Slusher (WO 2019/071110), are herein withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that R7a is selected from
.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejection of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 51-52, 65 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Slusher (WO 2017/023774) is herein withdrawn. Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite that R7a is selected from
. New/modified rejections are made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026.
In view of Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026, the rejections of claims 1, 4-5, 23, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 51-52, 65 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims of U.S. patent 10,336,778; over claims of U.S. patent 10,738,066; and over claims of U.S. patent 12,195,419, are herein withdrawn. New/modified rejections are made below, based on Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026.
Applicant’s amendment of 13 August 2026 necessitated the following new and/or modified objections and rejections below.
Claim objection
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are objected to because they recite a stereoisomer of a compound of formula I. It is noted that the general definition of a “stereoisomer” ([0319] Specification) encompasses all isomers of individual molecules “that differ only in the orientation of their atoms in space”. Since the dependent claims specifically recite enantiomers, for clarity, it is strongly suggested that the claims recite enantiomers or diastereomers of a compound of formula I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-5, 26, 33, 35, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because it recites different substituents without indicating the point of attachment to the molecule. The point of attachment makes a clear difference because it generates different structures. Claim 1, as written, fails to specify points of attachment for
in the definition of R5a.
Similarly, there is ambiguity in the definition for R5a in claims 33, 35 regarding the point of attachment of group R5a to the rest of the molecule.
It is noted [0050] that R5a (heteroaryl)C1-C4 alkyl is
, which is consistent with R5a being -C1-C4alkyl(heteroaryl), which is consistent with the alkyl being the point of attachment.
Appropriate clarification of the claim language is required.
Claims 1, 4-5, 26, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation R5a is “optionally substituted C1-C6 alkyl, optionally substituted aryl”, and the claim also recites “(heterocyclo)C1-C4 alkyl, (aryl)C1-C4 alkyl, (heteroaryl)C1-C4 alkyl” which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Appropriate clarification of the claim language is required.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is drawn to
; yet claim 4, which depends on claim 1, and claim 1 recite that R2 is selected from C1-6 alkyl, C1-C6 haloalkyl, C1-C6 alkenyl, C3-C20 heteroalkyl and C3-C6 cycloalkyl. As such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation R2 is -CD3, of claim 5, in claim 4 or in claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slusher et al. (WO 2017/023774, corrected version, cited in PTO-892 of 13 May 2026).
Slusher (WO 2017/023774) teaches (page 2, lines 17-30) prodrugs of glutamine antagonists, and salts thereof, and compositions thereof, said prodrugs having a structure of formula (I)
where
X is, for example, -CH2-;
R1 is, for example, a straight chain alkyl C1-6, or a C1-6 branched alkyl (page 24, lines 1-3); R1 is methyl, or ethyl, or isopropyl (page 24, lines 9-11);
R2 is
(page 38, lines 6-8)
where R2’ is, for example, H (page 21, lines 8-9);
each R3 or R4 is, for example, H, alkyl, substituted alkyl (page 28, lines 32-33);
and R5 and R6 are each, for example, H or alkyl (page 29, lines 1-2).
Slusher teaches (page 40, lines 3-6) R2 of formula (I) is
wherein: Y is a bond; m is l; each R3 is independently H, C1-C6 alkyl, or substituted alkyl; each R4 is H; each R5 is independently H, or
each R6 is H, and Slusher exemplifies the following compounds (page 39, first two structures; page 40, line 10)
.
These compounds correspond to compounds of instant formula (I)
for which the following definitions apply:
R1 is -OR2, where R2 is C3 alkyl; and
R4 is
; where R5a is substituted alkyl; R6a = H, and
R7a is -C1-C4alkyl(amino).
Slusher does not teach compounds of instant formula (I) where R7a is
, as in the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to prepare a compound from the genus taught by Slusher, with the expectation that the compound is a prodrug of glutamine antagonists.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized a compound from the genus of compounds of formula (I) taught by Slusher where R2 is
wherein: Y is a bond; m is l; each R3 is independently H, C1-C6 alkyl, or substituted alkyl; each R4 is H; R6 is H; and R5 is
where within R5, R3 = R4 = H and R5 = R6 = methyl or ethyl, with a reasonable expectation that said compounds would retain biological properties as prodrugs of glutamine antagonists. Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the -CH2-CH(CH3)2 substituent or the
–(CH2)3-NH-CO-NH2 substituent (corresponding to R5a in instant formula I) in the compounds above taught by Slusher (on pages 39-40), with any other moiety present in an amino acid, such as for example H, or imidazole, or aryl, to arrive at a compound of instant claims 27, 33, 35, because Slusher teaches (page 24, lines 16-28) that R2 comprises an amino acid, natural or non-natural.
Further, regarding claim 65, preparing a kit comprising a compound from the genus of Slusher is well within the skill of the artisan. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
As such, claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 4-5, 26, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slusher et al. (WO 2019/071110, cited in IDS).
Slusher (WO 2019/071110) discloses [0057] the following compounds, and composition (as in instant claim 52) comprising said compounds, as glutamine antagonists effective to treat oncological, immunological or neurological diseases,
,
or [0058]
and where R6 is, for example, one substituted or unsubstituted amino acid [0066], such as, for example, glycine ([0067], Table 2). A substituted amino acid has an amino group which is mono- or disubstituted [0070], such as N-alkyl amino acids, e.g. C1-6 N-alkyl amino acids [0071].
Slusher specifically discloses [0066] the following compounds
, in which R6 is an unsubstituted or substituted amino acid which is tryptophan, phenylalanine, valine or tyrosine (all amino acids in Table 2, [0067]).
These compounds correspond to compounds of instant formula (I)
for which the following definitions apply:
R1 is -OR2, where R2 is C3 alkyl; and
R4 is
; where R5a is substituted alkyl; R6a = H, and
R7a is -C1-C4alkyl(amino).
Slusher does not teach compounds of formula (Ig) or (Ih) where R6 is dimethyl glycine, or is diethyl glycine, which correspond to R7a being
in a compound of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to prepare a compound from the genus taught by Slusher, with the expectation that the compound is a prodrug of glutamine antagonists.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the amino acid moieties R6 tryptophan, phenylalanine, valine or tyrosine in the compounds specifically disclosed in [0066] with glycine, or a dimethyl glycine or a diethyl glycine, because Slusher teaches compounds (Ig) or (Ih) where R6 is an unsubstituted or substituted amino acid, such as glycine, tryptophan, phenylalanine, valine or tyrosine (amino acids in Table 2), unsubstituted or disubstituted, such as C1-6 N-alkyl amino acids. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized compounds in which R6 is dimethyl glycine or diethyl glycine, with a reasonable expectation that said compounds have similar biological properties.
Further, regarding claim 65, preparing a kit comprising a compound from the genus of Slusher is well within the skill of the artisan. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
As such, claims 1, 4-5, 26, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double patenting
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1-5, 8, 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066 (cited in PTO-892 of 13 May 2026, reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1-5, 8, 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066 are drawn to a compound of formula
where X is -CH2-;
R1 is, for example, methyl, ethyl, isopropyl;
R2′ is, for example, H;
R2 is, for example, —C(═O)—Y—(CR3R4)m—NR5R6; Y is a bond; m is 1; each R3 and R4 is, for example, H, C1-C6 alkyl, substituted alkyl, each R5 and R6 is, for example, H, alkyl,
or —C(═O)—(CR3R4)m—NR5R6.
Claim 8 is drawn to the compound of claim 1, where R5 is H and R6 is
—C(═O)—(CR3R4)m—NR5R6.
Claim 16 is drawn to compounds:
, which are compounds of claim 1, where X is -CH2-;
R1 is ethyl, or isopropyl;
R2′ is H;
R2 is —C(═O)—Y—(CR3R4)m—NR5R6; Y is a bond; m is 1; each R3 = H; and R4 is C4 alkyl; R5 is H; and R6 is —C(═O)—(CR3R4)m—NR5R6, wherein within R6, R3 is H, R4 is C4 alkyl, R5 = R6 = H.
These compounds correspond to compounds of instant formula (I)
for which the following definitions apply:
R1 is -OR2, where R2 is C2 or C3 alkyl; and
R4 is
; where R5a is substituted alkyl; R6a = H, and
R7a is -C1-C4alkyl(amino).
Claims 1-5, 8, 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066 do not teach a compound of the instant claims where R7a is
.
It would have been obvious to prepare a compound from the genus taught by claims 1-5, 8, 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066 to arrive at the instant invention.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized a compound from the genus of compounds of formula (I) taught by claims 1-5, 8, 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066 where R2 is
wherein: Y is a bond; m is l; each R4 is independently H, C1-C6 alkyl, or substituted alkyl; each R3 is H; R6 is H; and R5 is
where within R5, R3 = R4 = H and R5 = R6 = methyl or ethyl, with a reasonable expectation that said compounds would retain biological properties as prodrugs of glutamine antagonists. Further, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the R4 = -CH2-CH(CH3)2 substituent
(corresponding to R5a in instant formula I) in the compounds of claim 16 of U.S. patent 10,738,066, with H, with C1-C6 alkyl or substituted alkyl, because such compounds are within the genus of claim 1 of U.S. patent 10,738,066.
Further, regarding claim 65, preparing a kit comprising a compound from the genus of Slusher is well within the skill of the artisan. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
As such, claims 1, 4-5, 26, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 4-5, 26, 37, 45, 52, 65 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable at least over claims 1, 20, 21, 23, 24 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 (cited in PTO-892 of 13 May 2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims anticipate or render obvious the instant claims.
Claims 1, 20, 21, 23, 24 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 are drawn to a compound of formula below and a composition (as in instant claim 52) comprising said compound,
, where R6 is one or more substituted or unsubstituted amino acids, wherein the one or more substituted or unsubstituted amino acids is bound to the nitrogen atom adjacent to R6 through a carboxyl moiety of the one or more substituted or unsubstituted amino acids; claim 21 lists
,
in which R6 is an unsubstituted or substituted amino acid which is tryptophan, phenylalanine, valine or tyrosine.
These compounds correspond to compounds of instant formula (I)
for which the following definitions apply:
R1 is -OR2, where R2 is C3 alkyl; and
R4 is
; where R5a is substituted alkyl; R6a = H, and
R7a is -C1-C4alkyl(amino).
Claims 1, 20, 21, 23, 24 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 do not teach compounds of formula (Ih) of claim 1 where R6 is dimethyl glycine, or is diethyl glycine, which correspond to R7a being
in a compound of the instant claims.
It would have been obvious to prepare a compound from the genus taught by claim 1 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 to arrive at the instant invention, to arrive at the instant invention.
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have replaced the amino acid moieties R6 tryptophan, phenylalanine, valine or tyrosine in the compounds specifically disclosed in claim 21 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 with glycine, or a dimethyl glycine or a diethyl glycine, because claim 1 of U.S. patent 12,195,419 teaches compounds (Ih) where R6 is an unsubstituted or substituted amino acid. Thus, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have synthesized compounds in which R6 is dimethyl glycine or diethyl glycine, with a reasonable expectation that said compounds retain biological properties.
Further, regarding claim 65, preparing a kit comprising a compound from the genus of Slusher is well within the skill of the artisan. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336, 1339, 70 USPQ2d 1862, 1864 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
As such, the instant claims are rendered obvious by claims 1, 20, 21, 23, 24 of U.S. patent 12,195,419.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 4-5, 26-27, 33, 35, 37, 45, 51-52, 65 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IRINA NEAGU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1629