DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot based upon the new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-3,6-23, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0212972 A1 by Zhang et al. (hereafter referred to as Zhang), in view of US 2017/0302419 A1 by Liu et al. (hereafter referred to as Liu).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (see at least Fig. 3 (120)), comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (see at least Fig. 3 (120, 110)), UE capability information (see at least Fig. 3 (305)) including a first indication of a first capability of the UE for downlink reception in a plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a first radio frequency receive chain and a second indication of a second capability of the UE for uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a second radio frequency transmit chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation.”); and
receiving at least one of a measurement configuration associated with downlink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands or a transmission configuration associated with uplink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 (325), Fig. 4 (420) and ¶ [0078]; “Receive, from the base station, a transmission mode configuration”).
Yang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain (see at least ¶ [0107]-[0109]; Tx and Rx chains).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang with Liu in order to increase the overall throughput provided to mobile devices in a wireless network (Liu ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the downlink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands (see at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 3, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1,
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 6. Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes, for each of one or more different combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, a respective indication of a capability of the UE for downlink reception in that combination of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain (see at least Fig. 3 (305) and ¶ [0051], [0053]-[0059]; [0051] In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station. If the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T≠R, then the UE may need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation of all of the downlink channels for the UE).
Regarding claim 7, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the second indication includes, for each of one or more different combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, a respective indication of a capability of the UE for uplink transmission in that combination of frequency spectrum bands using the second chain (see at least Fig. 3 (305) and ¶ [0051], [0053]-[0059]; [0051] In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station. If the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T≠R, then the UE may need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation of all of the downlink channels for the UE).
Regarding claim 8, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the measurement configuration jointly schedules measurements of the downlink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 (325); Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 8.
In addition, Yang teaches based at least in part on the first indication indicating that the UE is capable of downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain, the measurement configuration jointly schedules the measurements of the downlink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands with no measurement gap between the downlink reference signals on different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration and at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 10, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 8.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the measurement configuration includes a same reference signal configuration for a first downlink reference signal scheduled on a first frequency band of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands and a second downlink reference signal scheduled on a second frequency band of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration and at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 11, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the transmission configuration jointly schedules transmissions of the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 11.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein, based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the UE is capable of uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the second chain, the transmission configuration jointly schedules the transmissions of the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands with no switching gap between the uplink reference signals on different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration and at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 13, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 11.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the measurement configuration configures the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands to be associated with a same antenna port (see at least ¶ [0060]; “A virtualized antenna port may refer to combining, by the UE 120, transmit signals from more than one transmit chain and transmitting the combined transmit signals via a single (virtualized) antenna port.”).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a base station, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), UE capability information including a first indication of a first capability of the UE for downlink reception in a plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a first radio frequency receive chain and a second indication of a second capability of the UE for uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a second radio frequency transmit chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”); and
transmitting, to the UE and based at least in part on the UE capability information, at least one of a measurement configuration associated with downlink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands or a transmission configuration associated with uplink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 (325), Fig. 4 (420) and ¶ [0078]; “Receive, from the base station, a transmission mode configuration”).
Yang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain (see at least ¶ [0107]-[0109]; Tx and Rx chains).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang with Liu in order to increase the overall throughput provided to mobile devices in a wireless network (Liu ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 14.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the downlink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands (see at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 16, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 14.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 17, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 14.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the measurement configuration jointly schedules measurements of the downlink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 18, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 17.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein, based at least in part on the first indication indicating that the UE is capable of downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain, the measurement configuration jointly schedules the measurements of the downlink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands with no measurement gap between the downlink reference signals on different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration and at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 19, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 14.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the transmission configuration jointly schedules transmissions of the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 20, Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 19.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein, based at least in part on the second indication indicating that the UE is capable of uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the second chain, the transmission configuration jointly schedules the transmissions of the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands with no switching gap between the uplink reference signals on different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration and at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 21, Yang teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0114]), comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 9 (908)); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 9 (906, 908)), configured to:
transmit, to a base station, UE capability information including a first indication of a first capability of the UE for downlink reception in a plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a first radio frequency receive chain and a second indication of a second capability of the UE for uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a second radio frequency transmit chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”); and
receive at least one of a measurement configuration associated with downlink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands or a transmission configuration associated with uplink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 (325), Fig. 4 (420) and ¶ [0078]; “Receive, from the base station, a transmission mode configuration”).
Yang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain (see at least ¶ [0107]-[0109]; Tx and Rx chains).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang with Liu in order to increase the overall throughput provided to mobile devices in a wireless network (Liu ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 22, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the downlink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands without a switching gap between the uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands (see at least ¶ [0061]-[0063]; overlap).
Regarding claim 23, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously receive downlink communications in different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, and wherein the second indication includes an indication of a capability of the UE to simultaneously transmit uplink communications in the different frequency spectrum bands of the plurality of frequency spectrum bands channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 26, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the first indication includes, for each of one or more different combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands, a respective indication of a capability of the UE for downlink reception in that combination of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain (see at least Fig. 3 (305) and ¶ [0051], [0053]-[0059]; [0051] In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station. If the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T≠R, then the UE may need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation of all of the downlink channels for the UE).
Regarding claim 27, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the second indication includes, for each of one or more different combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency 53spectrum bands, a respective indication of a capability of the UE for uplink transmission in that combination of frequency spectrum bands using the second radio frequency transmitchain (see at least Fig. 3 (305) and ¶ [0051], [0053]-[0059]; [0051] In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station. If the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T≠R, then the UE may need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation of all of the downlink channels for the UE).
Regarding claim 28, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21. In addition, Yang teaches wherein the measurement configuration jointly schedules measurements of the downlink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]-[0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 29, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the transmission configuration jointly schedules transmissions of the uplink reference signals on the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0047]- [0055]; Indication of transmission mode configuration).
Regarding claim 30, Yang teaches a base station for wireless communication (see at least Fig. 9 and ¶ [0114]), comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 9 (908)); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 9 (906, 908)), configured to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE), UE capability information including a first indication of a first capability of the UE for downlink reception in a plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a first radio frequency receive chain and a second indication of a second capability of the UE for uplink transmission in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using a second radio frequency transmit chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”); and
transmit, to the UE and based at least in part on the UE capability information, at least one of a measurement configuration associated with downlink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands or a transmission configuration associated with uplink reference signals for the plurality of frequency spectrum bands (see at least Fig. 3 (325), Fig. 4 (420) and ¶ [0078]; “Receive, from the base station, a transmission mode configuration”).
Yang does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches wherein the first chain is a radio frequency receive (RF RX) chain and the second chain is a radio frequency transmit (RF TX) chain (see at least ¶ [0107]-[0109]; Tx and Rx chains).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang with Liu in order to increase the overall throughput provided to mobile devices in a wireless network (Liu ¶ [0003]).
7. Claim(s) 4, 5, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Liu as applied to claims 1 and 21 above, in view of US 2023/0088518 A1 by HU.
Regarding claim 4. Yang in view of Liu teaches the method of claim 1.
Yang does not appear to specifically teach wherein the first indication includes an inter-frequency measurement indication that indicates a capability of the UE for performing inter- frequency synchronization signal block (SSB) based measurements without measurement gaps for SSBs within an active bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication further indicates the capability of the UE for downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain.
In the same field of endeavor, HU teaches wherein the first indication includes an inter-frequency measurement indication that indicates a capability of the UE for performing inter- frequency synchronization signal block (SSB) based measurements without measurement gaps for SSBs within an active bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication further indicates the capability of the UE for downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain (see at least ¶ [0052]; “Condition 1: a neighbor cell synchronization signal block (SSB) is within an UE serving cell active bandwidth part (BWP), or a current BWP of the serving cell where the UE is located is an initial BWP.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang in view of Liu with HU in order to provide an effective measurement method for user equipment.
Regarding claim 5, Yang in view of Liu and HU teaches the method of claim 4.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication indicates that the UE is capable of downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain, and wherein the first indication further includes at least one of:
an indication of one or more combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands for which the UE is capable of downlink reception using the first radio frequency receive chain, or an indication of a frequency range for frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands for which the UE is capable of downlink reception using the first radio frequency receive chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”).
Regarding claim 24, Yang in view of Liu teaches the UE of claim 21.
Yang in view of Liu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the first indication includes an inter-frequency measurement indication that indicates a capability of the UE for performing inter- frequency synchronization signal block (SSB) based measurements without measurement gaps for SSBs within an active bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication further indicates the capability of the UE for downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain.
In the same field of endeavor, HU teaches wherein the first indication includes an inter-frequency measurement indication that indicates a capability of the UE for performing inter- frequency synchronization signal block (SSB) based measurements without measurement gaps for SSBs within an active bandwidth part (BWP), and wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication further indicates the capability of the UE for downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain (see at least ¶ [0052]; “Condition 1: a neighbor cell synchronization signal block (SSB) is within an UE serving cell active bandwidth part (BWP), or a current BWP of the serving cell where the UE is located is an initial BWP.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Yang in view of Liu with HU in order to provide an effective measurement method for user equipment.
Regarding claim 25, Yang in view of Liu and HU teaches the UE of claim 24.
In addition, Yang teaches wherein the inter-frequency measurement indication indicates that the UE is capable of downlink reception in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands using the first chain, and wherein the first indication further includes at least one of:
an indication of one or more combinations of frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands for which the UE is capable of downlink reception using the first chain, or an indication of a frequency range for frequency spectrum bands in the plurality of frequency spectrum bands for which the UE is capable of downlink reception using the first chain (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0051], [0059]-[0060]; “In some cases, the UE may signal, to a base station, the maximum output power of the UE and the MIMO capability of the UE (e.g., a number of Tx chains supported by the UE, such as single Tx, 2 Tx, 4 Tx, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, the UE may signal a sounding reference signal (SRS) port switching capability of the UE, such as whether the UE needs to perform antenna switching (e.g., also referred to as antenna port switching or port switching) to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation. For example, if the UE indicates an SRS port switching capability of T=R (e.g., indicating that the number of Tx chains and the number of Rx chains of the UE are equal), then the UE may not need to perform antenna switching to transmit SRS for downlink channel estimation by the base station.”).
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATASHA W COSME whose telephone number is (571)270-7225. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465