Detailed Action
This action is responsive to the amendment filed 6/11/2026, in which:
Claims 6-7, 15-20 were amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are independent claim(s).
Note Regarding Prior Art
Examiner cites particular columns, paragraphs, figures and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Note Regarding AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6, 9, 10, 15, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 reads: “an access device, wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device” it is unclear what encompasses a ”mechanical connection” since it is known in the art that NFC devices only require a touch or a very close proximity to initiate communication. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “mechanical connection” as a touch.
Claims 15, 17 19 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 6 above.
Claim 9 reads: “establishing a mechanical connection between the valve control device and the access device”. it is unclear what encompasses a ”mechanical connection” since it is known in the art that NFC devices only require a touch or a very close proximity to initiate communication. For purposes of examination, the Examiner interprets “mechanical connection” as a touch.
Claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew R. Burrows (US PG Pub No. 2017/0218601; Published: 08/3/2017)(hereinafter: Burrows) in view of Michihiro Matsumoto et al.(US PG Pub No. 2012/0178367; Published: 07/12/2012)(hereinafter” Matsumoto).
Note: Burrows was cited in the IDS filed 10/27/2023.
Claim 1:
As per independent claim 1, Burrows discloses a valve control device, comprising:
a switching stage [[0103] The valve member serves to control flow through an orifice 53 connecting the upstream and downstream pipes 46 and 48. A passage 54 connects the upstream pipe 46 to the inlet opening 122 of the pilot valve 102 and to the PRV control chamber 52 via a conduit 58. [0104] A motor 62, for example a stepper or other suitable motor, is connected by a drive-belt 66 to a gearwheel 64. This gearwheel is attached to an adjuster 136 so as to cause rotation of the valve member 134 on activation of the motor 62 and adjust the flow cross section through apertures 130. The motor 62 is connected to an output of the control unit 8];
control electronics for controlling the switching stage [[0116] FIG. 6 shows a schematic diagram of the control unit 8. Externally, it has an antenna 20 for wireless communication, a manual user interface for engineers comprising buttons 39, and ports for connecting to various sensors. Internally, the control unit 8 has a central processing unit 21 and memory 23, which may include some non-volatile memory.] and
a bus interface for communicating with a system controller of a processing plant [[0119] Two wireless communication modules are provided: GPRS 34 for long-range communication to the central server 13, and Bluetooth 35 for local connections. Various wired connections are also possible, using the USB module 33, an I2C serial module 37 and an RS232 serial module 36. Four 20 mA wired connections 38 are provided.].
Burrows discloses long range communications to communicate with a central server as well as Bluetooth for local connections. Burrows failed to specifically disclose
wherein a near-field communication interface is provided in the valve control device, and the control electronics are configured to give priority to a control command coming in through the near-field communication interface for controlling the switching stage.
Matsumoto, in the same field of near field communication to control devices discloses this limitation in that [[0208] Moreover, the switch unit 1311 performs control according to an instruction from the controller 1205 in order to supply power and clock from the terminal unit 1301, when data recorded on the NFC memory 1315 is to be referred to or rewritten according to access from the controller 1205. The switch unit 1311 desirably performs the control to prioritize a first-come access. For example, even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed.] Thus NFC communication is prioritized and controller notified that the NFC instruction is being performed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Burrow’s valve control communication interface to include an NFC interface and to configure the control electronics to give priority to a control command coming in through the near-field communication interface for controlling the switching stage as disclosed by Matsumoto. The motivation for doing so would have been to take advantage of near field communication benefits such as secure access to local machinery, or enabling local automated adjustments to production processes based on real-time data.
Claim 2:
As per claim 2, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose comprising: a selector that transmits control commands that come in through the near-field communication interface to the control electronics with priority over the bus interface. Matsumoto [[0208] Moreover, the switch unit 1311 performs control according to an instruction from the controller 1205 in order to supply power and clock from the terminal unit 1301, when data recorded on the NFC memory 1315 is to be referred to or rewritten according to access from the controller 1205. The switch unit 1311 desirably performs the control to prioritize a first-come access. For example, even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed].
Claim 3:
As per claim 3, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above. Additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the control electronics are configured to block control commands of the system controller, which can be sent through the bus interface, in accordance with a blocking command coming in through the near-field communication interface Matsumoto [[0208] The switch unit 1311 desirably performs the control to prioritize a first-come access. For example, even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed [0235] As shown in FIG. 17B, at S1513, likewise S1502, the switch unit 1311 of the NFC unit 1207 sets the mode for prioritizing access from the terminal unit 1301. At S1514, it is determined whether or not the mode for prioritizing access from the terminal unit 1301 has been set. If it is determined that the mode has been set (yes at S1514), then the main power-supply state information in the NFC memory 1315 is rewritten to "power blocked state"].
Claim 4:
As per claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the switching stage comprises a pilot valve. Burrows [[0031] In systems in accordance with various aspects of the invention, in preferred arrangements the control output of the controller is connected to a pilot valve for the pressure reducing valve].
Claim 5:
As per claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose comprising: a manual control element that can control the pilot valve to correspond with the control electronics. Burrows [0125] Especially in an initial setup phase, an engineer could manually determine the parameters based on DMA size, historical flow rates, distance and height difference to critical point, and use, for example, a PC or SMS interface to load these onto the control unit 8 …[0126] Manual parameter setting may be adjustable by, for example: direct user interface by LCD display menu on the controller; a received mobile text (SMS) message sent from a central control unit; commands sent over a mobile data service such as GPRS; or a PC interface through wired serial (RS232), infrared serial (IrDA) interface or optional short range wireless interface with a user friendly Graphical User Interface (GUI).]
Claim 6:
As per claim 6, which depends on claim 1, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose an arrangement with a valve control device according to claim 1 and an access device, wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40. [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Claim 7:
As per claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the access device has a far-field communication interface. Burrows [[0160] communications between components used in embodiments of the invention can be via wired connections such as a serial (RS232), Universal Serial Bus (USB), Firewire™, LAN or WAN, optical fibre connections and so forth].
Claim 11:
As per claim 11, which depends on claim 2, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the switching stage comprises a pilot valve. Burrows [[0031] In systems in accordance with various aspects of the invention, in preferred arrangements the control output of the controller is connected to a pilot valve for the pressure reducing valve].
Claim 12:
As per claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose comprising: a manual control element that can control the pilot valve to correspond with the control electronics Burrows [0125] Especially in an initial setup phase, an engineer could manually determine the parameters based on DMA size, historical flow rates, distance and height difference to critical point, and use, for example, a PC or SMS interface to load these onto the control unit 8 …[0126] Manual parameter setting may be adjustable by, for example: direct user interface by LCD display menu on the controller; a received mobile text (SMS) message sent from a central control unit; commands sent over a mobile data service such as GPRS; or a PC interface through wired serial (RS232), infrared serial (IrDA) interface or optional short range wireless interface with a user friendly Graphical User Interface (GUI).]
Claim 13:
As per claim 13, which depends on claim 3, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the switching stage comprises a pilot valve. Burrows [[0031] In systems in accordance with various aspects of the invention, in preferred arrangements the control output of the controller is connected to a pilot valve for the pressure reducing valve].
Claim 14:
As per claim 14, which depends on claim 13, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose comprising: a manual control element that can control the pilot valve to correspond with the control electronics. Burrows [0125] Especially in an initial setup phase, an engineer could manually determine the parameters based on DMA size, historical flow rates, distance and height difference to critical point, and use, for example, a PC or SMS interface to load these onto the control unit 8 …[0126] Manual parameter setting may be adjustable by, for example: direct user interface by LCD display menu on the controller; a received mobile text (SMS) message sent from a central control unit; commands sent over a mobile data service such as GPRS; or a PC interface through wired serial (RS232), infrared serial (IrDA) interface or optional short range wireless interface with a user friendly Graphical User Interface (GUI).]
Claim 15:
As per claim 15, which depends on claim 2, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose an arrangement with a valve control device according to claim 2 and an access device, wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40 [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Claim 16:
As per claim 16, which depends on claim 15, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose wherein the access device has a far-field communication interface. Burrows [[0160] communications between components used in embodiments of the invention can be via wired connections such as a serial (RS232), Universal Serial Bus (USB), Firewire™, LAN or WAN, optical fibre connections and so forth].
Claim 17:
As per claim 17, which depends on claim 3, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose an arrangement with a valve control device according to claim 3 and an access device, wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40. [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Claim 18:
As per claim 18, the arrangement according to claim 17, wherein the access device has a far-field communication interface. Burrows [[0160] communications between components used in embodiments of the invention can be via wired connections such as a serial (RS232), Universal Serial Bus (USB), Firewire™, LAN or WAN, optical fibre connections and so forth].
Claim 19:
As per claim 19, which depends on claim 4, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1, additionally, Burrows and Matsumoto disclose an arrangement with a valve control device according to claim 4 and an access device, wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40. [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Claim 20:
As per claim 20, the arrangement according to claim 19, wherein the access device has a far-field communication interface. Burrows [[0160] communications between components used in embodiments of the invention can be via wired connections such as a serial (RS232), Universal Serial Bus (USB), Firewire™, LAN or WAN, optical fibre connections and so forth].
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christophe Ellec et al. (US PG Pub No. 2016/0018829; Published: 01/21/2016)(hereinafter: Ellec) in view of Matsumoto.
Note: Ellec was cited in the IDS filed 10/27/2023.
Claim 8:
As per independent claim 8 Ellec discloses a method for operating an arrangement with a valve control device [[0021] control valve] comprising a first near-field communication interface and a bus interface [For example, in one embodiment, a mass flow controller is modified to include a Near Field Communication (NFC) circuit component 200 such as, but not limited to, the example printed circuit board (PCB) depicted in FIG. 2 [0031] Still, in another embodiment, the disclosed inventions include an MFC that includes one or more Universal Serial Bus (USB) connections 182 that will enable the use of off-the-shelf cables and hubs for manufacturing processes. In one embodiment, the USB connection 182 is positioned at the top of the mass flow controller.], and an access device with a second near-field communication interface [[0028] The disclosed mass flow controller may then communicate with any device having an RFID reader. For example, most modern phones now provide a NFC power source. Also, any RFID wand reader and mouse pad type RFID reader could also be used.] the method comprising:
establishing a near-field connection between the first near-field communication interface and the second near-field communication interface [[0029] Afterwards, the algorithm 300 writes the new value(s) to nonvolatile memory while being powered by the NFC source (step 308). To simply check on the settings, a NFC host device could simply be positioned next to the MFC and the display would light up and show the current MacID. In certain embodiments, the MacID may be displayed on the host device. [0030] In a second embodiment, the host NFC device could also run an application or software that communicates over the NFC protocol to send new baud rate and MacID configuration settings to the mass flow controller. In this embodiment, physically touching the MFC is not necessary. Security can be handled through encryption. In one embodiment, software running on the RFID reader (or an “app” on a smart phone) may be used to set certain parameters inside the MFC including, but not limited to, the MacID]
sending a control command over the near-field connection [[0030] the host NFC device could also run an application or software that communicates over the NFC protocol to send new baud rate and MacID configuration settings to the mass flow controller.]and
Ellec discloses NFC communictations between a first device and a second NFC interface device, however, Ellec failed to specifically disclose prioritizing the control command over a command received by the valve control device through the bus interface.
Matsumoto, in the same field of near field communication to control devices discloses this limitation in that [[0208] Moreover, the switch unit 1311 performs control according to an instruction from the controller 1205 in order to supply power and clock from the terminal unit 1301, when data recorded on the NFC memory 1315 is to be referred to or rewritten according to access from the controller 1205. The switch unit 1311 desirably performs the control to prioritize a first-come access. For example, even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed.] Thus NFC communication is prioritized and controller notified that the NFC instruction is being performed.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ellec’s valve control communication interface prioritize the control command over a command received by the valve control device through the bus interface as disclosed by Matsumoto. The motivation for doing so would have been to take advantage of near field communication benefits such as secure access to local machinery, or enabling local automated adjustments to production processes based on real-time data.
Claim 9:
As per claim 9, which depends on claim 8, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8 above. Additionally, Ellec and Matusmoto disclose comprising:
establishing a mechanical connection between the valve control device and the access device. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40. [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Claim 10:
As per claim 10, which depends on claim 9, it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 9 above. Additionally, Ellec and Matusmoto disclose establishing a near-field connection between the first near-field communication interface and the second near-field communication interface when the mechanical connection exists. Matsumoto [[0060] In the system 1 having the above-described configuration, the reader/writer 20 receives information such as a type or model of the NFC device 10 by using NFC, thereby obtains corresponding information such as a manual of the NFC device 10 from the server 30, and then displays the obtained information. As described above, it is possible to provide a user with information regarding the NFC device 10, via the reader/writer 20. See figure 14, shows mobile device as a reader/writer [0057] Likewise a mobile phone, the reader/writer 20 has an NFC function and a function of connecting the reader/writer 20 to the Internet 40. [0094] First, the reader/writer 20 displays, on a screen, a notice to persuade a user to touch the NFC device 100 by the reader/writer 20, such as "Please touch the device." (S301).] NFC device having reader/writer functionality not limited to a single device. Mobile phone can be connected mechanically to control device via touch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 regarding the 35 USC 112 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “The Office interprets the mechanical connection to be a touch. However, in looking at the specification of the application at paragraph 0018 teaches "For the mechanical connection, a coupling can be provided, which is based, for example, on a magnetic operating principle or designed as a suction cup." A similar teaching in found paragraph 0035. Thus, Applicant believes that one skilled in the art would understand this limitation upon reading the specification with reasonable certainty.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 6 specifically recites: “wherein the access device comprises a second near-field communication interface and can be mechanically connected to the valve control device” the claim language suggests the access device comprises a second NFC communication interface and that the interface can be mechanically connected to the valve control device. The cited paragraphs only make it clear that the access device itself can be mechanically attached to the control valve but that has nothing to do with the communication interface. Therefore, the claim language is still unclear and should be amended to remove any ambiguity and to clearly state that it is the access device that can be mechanically attached to the valve.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 regarding the 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits: “More specifically, the Office has not demonstrated how Matsumoto can teach to "the control electronics are configured to give priority to a control command coming in through the near-field communication interface for controlling the switching stage" when Matsumoto states that "the switching unit 1311 does not accept the access request during the access from the controller 1205." Thus, for at least this reason, Applicant believes that the teachings teach away from the claims and Applicant does not believe that one skilled in the art would look to the teachings of Matsumoto.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The mapping is meant to teach the claimed limitation. The claim requires “a near-field communication interface is provided in the valve control device, and the control electronics are configured to give priority to a control command coming in through the near-field communication interface for controlling the switching stage”. Matsumoto clearly discloses in [0208] the switch unit performs the control to prioritize a first-come access, as an example, Matsumoto discloses even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed. Therefore, it follows that NFC commands are given priority over other control signals.
The Applicant further submits: “Furthermore, Matsumoto is not directed to a same technical problem and is not part of the same type of art as Burrows. For example, Matsumoto does not relate to prioritizing mechanisms for switching such as a process valve, a bus architecture in an automative system, and safety during maintenance. Stated another way, the Office has not demonstrated why one skilled in the art would look to a near field communication circuit to modify the controller and control system for a pressure reducing valve of Burrows”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, Applicant seems to attack references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Additionally, the Applicant seems to be suggesting that the references are not analogous, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both references deal with control devices.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that reads: “Thus, both Burrows and Matsumoto do not include these limitations that address maintenance of a process valve, overriding a system, controller, and a priority mechanism between NFC commands and NFC commands”.The Examiner respectfully disagrees, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding Applicant arguments on claim 3, Applicant submits: “Applicant does not believe that the evidence cited supports the alleged fact finding. Specifically, in reading the cited sections of Matsumoto, Applicant is unable to locate a blocking command arriving via NFC that causes the control electronics to block bus interface commands from the system controller. Thus, Applicant does not believe that a prima facie obviousness rejection has been presented”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out at the Matsumoto mapping that states: “even if an instruction for switching is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit 1311 accesses the NFC memory via NFC, the switch unit 1311 does not perform the instructed switching but notifies the controller of that the NFC is being performed ” it is clear from the mapping that if an instruction is received from the controller 1205 while the switch unit is accessing NFC memory, then the instruction received is not performed, this suggest the command is blocked directly or indirectly in accordance with instructions being read from the NFC memory.
Regarding Applicant arguments on claim 6, Applicant submits: “Applicant does not believe that the Office demonstrates that any art of record teaches a second near-field communication interface. The Office appears to equate a mobile phone to the second NFC; however, Applicant does not believe that the Office demonstrates that a cell phone can be a NFC.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim requires a second NFC interface, Matsumoto clearly discloses a first device 10 and thereafter states that a mobile phone 20 can have an NFC function. Thus Matsumoto discloses the limitation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/HOWARD CORTES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118