DETAILED ACTION
The amendment dated 06/18/2026 has been considered and entered. The response has been considered but was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 8 – 13, 15 – 22, 55 – 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Brobey et al. (WO 2019/173605)
In regards to claim 1, Brobey teaches lubricating oil composition comprising natural or synthetic basestock such as polyalphaolefins (PAOs) etc. [0204, 0205]. The composition comprises an ethylene copolymer which comprises ethylene in preferred amounts of from about 40% to about 70% and has a molecular weight Mw(LS) of preferably from about 30,000 g/mol to about 450,000 g/mol [0182, 0184]. It has a polydispersity (Mw/Mn) of preferably greater than 2 and up to about 6, and branching index g’vis of about 0.95 or less, such as from about 0.4 to about 0.6 preferably [0186, 0187]. The copolymer is a long-chain branched polyolefin copolymer [0012, 0013]. The claimed ranges are obviated as they are very close or overlapping the limitations in Brobey. For instance, a limitation of about 0.95 or lower obviates a limitation of 0.96 or higher, as “about 0.95” includes “0.96”. Basestock can have Kv100 of from 4 to 1000 cSt [0206, Table].
In regards to claim 2, Brobey teaches the composition having the copolymer with limitations a) to d) as previously stated. The copolymer has a shear stability index (30 cycles) of less than about 60 or less than about 35 or less than about 15 or less [0189, 0209].
In regards to claim 3, Brobey teaches the composition having one or more of the copolymers and wherein the copolymers have ethylene contents overlapping the claimed ranges as previously stated [0209]. Thus, the ethylene content of one copolymer can vary from that of a second [see 0180, 0200].
In regards to claim 4, Brobey teaches the composition comprising ethylene/propylene copolymers [0180, 0200].
In regards to claim 5, Brobey teaches the composition. While aluminum-based additives such as scavengers may be present, they are optional and the composition does not require the presence of aluminum.
In regards to claims 8, 9, Brobey teaches the composition with the copolymers having kinematic viscosity at 100℃ (Kv100) of from about 0 to about 20 cSt or preferably from 8 cSt to about 14 cSt and base oils having Kv100 such as 4 cSt or 6 cSt or 8cSt in some examples [0191, 0206]. Basestock can have Kv100 of from 4 to 1000 cSt [0206, Table]. Thus, the claimed low viscosity composition is envisaged or obvious.
In regards to claims 10, 11, Brobey teaches the composition with the copolymer having the shear stability index (SSI) of the claims as previously discussed. The composition has SSI of less than about 55 or less than about 15 [0209].
In regards to claim 12, 13, Brobey teaches the composition with the copolymer having thickening efficiency of from about 0.5 to about 6 or preferably from about 2 to about 3 [0189]. The composition comprises TE of from 1.5 to 2.6 [0209].
In regards to claims 15, 16, Brobey teaches the composition comprising from about 0.01 to about 12% of the copolymer [0211].
In regards to claim 17, Brobey teaches the composition having the claimed base oil as previously stated.
In regards to claim 18, Brobey teaches the composition having the claimed additives [0212].
In regards to claim 19, Brobey teaches the composition having HTHS of the claims [0256, Table 3].
In regards to claim 20, Brobey teaches the composition having the claimed composition as previously stated.
In regards to claim 21, Brobey teaches the composition having the claimed copolymer. The process of preparing the copolymer using metallocene catalyst does not carry patentable weight. However, to the extent that the catalyst used carries any weight, Brobey teaches the use of metallocene catalysts in the preparation of the copolymer [0014].
In regards to claim 22, Brobey teaches the composition having SSI of less than about 15 which provides the claimed limitation. For instance, using the expression in the claim, the values range from 0.0003 (30,000)-2.125 = 6.875 and 0.0003 (450,000)-2.125 = 132.87, and thus SSI of 15 or less can be much lower than 132.87 according to the upper limit of the calculated values.
In regards to claim 55 – 58, Brobey teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously discussed. An Mw/Mn of about 6 obviates the limitation of MW/Mn of 6.1 as claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 13, 15 – 22, 55 – 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 25 of copending Application No. 18/557,771. The copending application teaches lubricating oil composition comprising the ethylene copolymer of the claims and having similar properties as claimed. The copending application does not recite the presence of aluminum and thus its absence obviates the claimed limitation. The claimed ranges as also overlapped.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed composition demonstrates unexpected results. The argument is not persuasive.
The inventive examples are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
While the claims allow the presence of ethylene copolymer at any suitable amount in a lubricating oil composition, the inventive examples require specific amounts of the copolymer such as to provide a 15 cSt oil which does not support the breadth of the claims.
The examiner agrees that the inventive examples (F1, F4, F10, F11 and F19) demonstrate unexpected results.
Therefore, applicant failed to provide inventive examples that are commensurate in scope for demonstrating unexpected results sufficient to rebut the case of obviousness.
It is noted that the withdrawn claims do not contain the present amendments made to the claims and are a different subject matter.
Applicant argues that the copending applications required for making obviousness double patenting rejections require the presence of a metal hydrocarbenyl chain transfer agent which is not present in the claimed composition and thus fails to teach the claims. The argument is not persuasive.
The claim language is “comprising” and thus allows for the presence of other ingredients not positively recited.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771