Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 12, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by LaMantia et al., (US Pub.20160356889A1), hereinafter LaMantia.
Regarding Claim 1, LaMantia disclose a method (paragraphs [0026]-[0048] and figures 1-2) for executing and/or displaying (Fig. 1, para [0026], "display 104") a measuring process by means of a measuring system, the measuring system comprising at least one computing device (para [0030], where "measurement control unit 202"), at least one display device, and at least one measuring means for metrological sensing of an item, the measuring process being controllable via the display device (see paragraphs [0026]-[0027] and figure 1, where FIG. 1 illustrates a measuring device 100 used by user 102 for measuring distances and angles. Measuring device may be part of a measuring system 101. Measuring device 100 includes a display 104 displaying a user interface 106. Display 104 may be a touchscreen display configured to detect touch data by a user, such as user 102. User 102 may communicate an indication of where the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B are located on the image, using the touchscreen display), comprising the following steps:
- recording measured value data generated with the measuring means; (see paragraph [0028]: " Measuring device 100 may identify corresponding locations in the real world associated with the reference points 108 and adjust the one or more lasers detect laser data associated with each location in the real world");
- generating object entities as entities with respect to the item to be sensed metrologically (see paragraph [0037]: " the laser unit 212 determines distances associated with each of the locations using time of flight,");
- generating combination entities as entities with respect to the item to be sensed metrologically (see paragraph [0037]: " the measurement control unit 202, which determines a distance between any two of the locations based on the laser data"),
- outputting relationships between the generated entities, the relationships being displayed for a specifiable entity (see paragraph [0026]: " User interface 106 also indicates a first reference point 108A and a second reference point 108B and a distance 110 between the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B.").
Regarding Claim 2, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein a combination entity is based on a plurality of entities in such a way that the combination entity uses a plurality of entities as input entities, wherein an input entity is an object entity or a combination entity(see paragraph [0026]: " User interface 106 also indicates a first reference point 108A and a second reference point 108B and a distance 110 between the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B.").
Regarding Claim 3, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1 wherein the combination entities represent evaluation operations, wherein a plurality of entities are combined to determine the evaluation operations (paragraph [0037], " The laser unit 212 detects the laser data (e.g., distances between the measuring device 200 and various locations) and communicates it to the measurement control unit 202, which determines a distance between any two of the locations based on the laser data).
Regarding Claim 5, LaMantia disclose (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein angles, distances and/or sections are Regarding Claim determined as combination entities with respect to the item to be measured (paragraph [0037], " The laser unit 212 detects the laser data (e.g., distances between the measuring device 200 and various locations) and communicates it to the measurement control unit 202, which determines a distance between any two of the locations based on the laser data" ).
Regarding Claim 6, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the object entities are displayed in a first grouping via the display device, and wherein the combination entities are displayed in a second grouping via the display device (two groups are formed by displaying the points and the distance value(between the object and measuring device) in figure 1, # 108A, 108 B reference points on display, and # 110 is distance between two points, see para [008], where first distance between the measuring device and the first location, a second distance between the measuring device and the second location, e.g., the second distance corresponds to the second group, see also para [0010]).
Regarding Claim 7, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein relationships are displayed for a specifiable entity if the specifiable entity is selected(see figure 1, # 108A and B, 110).
Regarding Claim 12, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein entities are selected by mouseover, by clicking, and/or by key navigation, preferably by cursor keys(Fig. 1, the two key navigator for two fingers, Fig. 5A, where arrows left, right, bottoms).
Regarding Claim 15, LaMantia disclose a measuring system for executing and/or displaying a measuring process, for executing a method according to claim 1,
the measuring system comprising at least one computing device(para [0030], where "measurement control unit 202"), at least one display device, and at least one measuring means for metrological sensing of an item, the measuring process being controllable via the display device(see paragraphs [0026]-[0027] and figure 1, where FIG. 1 illustrates a measuring device 100 used by user 102 for measuring distances and angles. Measuring device may be part of a measuring system 101. Measuring device 100 includes a display 104 displaying a user interface 106. Display 104 may be a touchscreen display configured to detect touch data by a user, such as user 102. User 102 may communicate an indication of where the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B are located on the image, using the touchscreen display), wherein the measuring system is designed in such a way that:
that measured value data generated with the measuring means can be recorded(see paragraph [0028]: " Measuring device 100 may identify corresponding locations in the real world associated with the reference points 108 and adjust the one or more lasers detect laser data associated with each location in the real world"),
object entities can be generated as entities with respect to the item to be sensed metrologically, (see paragraph [0037]: " the laser unit 212 determines distances associated with each of the locations using time of flight");
combination entities can be generated as entities with respect to the item to be sensed metrologically(see paragraph [0037]: " the measurement control unit 202, which determines a distance between any two of the locations based on the laser data"), and relationships between the generated entities are output, in particular via the display device (para [0041], where camera 210 and displays the image on the user interface.), it being possible for the relationships for a specifiable entity to be displayed(see paragraph [0026]: " User interface 106 also indicates a first reference point 108A and a second reference point 108B and a distance 110 between the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B.").
Regarding Claim 16, LaMantia disclose a computer program product comprising program code stored on a machine-readable medium and providing and/or executing a method for executing and/or displaying a measuring process by means of a measuring system (para [0090], where System program instructions and/or controller instructions may be loaded onto a tangible, non-transitory, computer-readable medium (also referred to herein as a tangible, non-transitory, memory) having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by a controller, cause the controller to perform various operations…computer-readable media that are not only propagating transitory signals per se. Stated another way, the meaning of the term “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium”) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaMantia, as applied above and further in view of Tadokoro et al., (Us Pub.20180031868A1), hereinafter Tadokoro.
Regarding Claim 4, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein edges, planes, circles, spheres, lines, and/or [centroids] are determined as object entities with respect to the item to be measured (Fig 5A, 5B, 5C, para 0059, where determine distances and measurements, such as an angle between two adjacent walls of a room, a distance between two locations, a radius of a structural arc, or whether the device 500 is located at a midpoint between two locations); (para [0075], where distance between a window and a door, as shown on the user interface, the user may indicate a first reference point at the edge of the window and the user may indicate a second reference point at the edge of the door).
LaMantia does not disclose centroids are determined as object entities with respect to the item to be measured.
Tadokoro disclose centroids are determined as object entities with respect to the item to be measured (Fig. 5A, 6, 7, 9, e.g., disclose the centroids are determined as object entities with respect to the item to be measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide centroids, as taught by Tadokoro into LaMantia in order to more accurately detect the location data for the particular object.
Regarding Claim 8, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 6, but does not disclose wherein relationships for a specifiable entity, upon selection of the specifiable entity, are displayed by means of displayable, graphical pointing elements.
Tadokoro disclose relationships for a specifiable entity, upon selection of the specifiable entity, are displayed by means of displayable, graphical pointing elements (Fig. 4A, FIG. 4B, para [0140], where the display control means 14b first displays a pointer image 83 having a first graphic pattern and pointer images 84 having a second graphic pattern).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide relationships for a specifiable entity, as taught by Tadokoro into LaMantia in order to more accurately determine the entity by the measurement process.
Regarding Claim 9, LaMantia and Tadokoro disclose the method according to claim 8, LaMantia does not disclose wherein the graphical pointing elements comprise lines, pointers, and/or arrows.
Tadokoro disclose the graphical pointing elements comprise lines, pointers, and/or arrows (Fig. 4B, para [0140], where the display control means 14b first displays a pointer image 83 having a first graphic pattern and pointer images 84 having a second graphic pattern; Fig. 5A, 5B, para [0147], where obtained from a tilt of a line connecting two measurement reference points).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide pointer, line, as taught by Tadokoro into LaMantia in order to more accurately detect the location data for the particular object.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaMantia, and Tadokoro, as applied above and further in view of Sheha (ES2355076T3), hereinafter Sheha.
Regarding Claim 10, LaMantia and Tadokoro disclose the method according to claim 8, but do not disclose when an object entity is selected, the graphical pointing elements visualize links to the entities that use the selected object entity.
Sheha disclose an object entity is selected, the graphical pointing elements visualize links to the entities that use the selected object entity (Claim 17, where visualize a graphic representation of a second route that connects between the location of the receiver, the location of the point of interest and the location of the second point of interest, generating said signal of new calculation of user route (user A, 213) that moves the graphic pointer to select and move the second point of interest graphic icon towards the graphic representation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide visualize links to the entities, as taught by Sheha in combination of LaMantia and Tadokoro in order to enhances understanding, accelerates decision-making, and communicates complex information efficiently.
Regarding Claim 11, LaMantia and Tadokoro disclose the method according to claim 8, further LaMantia disclose wherein, when a combination entity is selected, the used as input by the selected combination entity(see paragraph [0026]: " User interface 106 also indicates a first reference point 108A and a second reference point 108B and a distance 110 between the first reference point 108A and the second reference point 108B.").
LaMantia does not disclose graphical pointing elements visualize links to the entities.
Sheha disclose graphical pointing elements visualize links to the entities (Claim 17, where visualize a graphic representation of a second route that connects between the location of the receiver, the location of the point of interest and the location of the second point of interest, generating said signal of new calculation of user route (user A, 213) that moves the graphic pointer to select and move the second point of interest graphic icon towards the graphic representation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide graphical pointing elements visualize links to the entities, as taught by Sheha into input selected entity of LaMantia and further into Tadokoro in order to improve identification of patterns, trends, and hidden relationships and improving efficiency analyze data.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaMantia, as applied above and further in view of Nikol et al., (Us Pub.20110214091A1) , hereinafter Nikol.
Regarding Claim 13, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1 , but does not disclose wherein an associated property field is displayed when an entity is selected.
Nikol disclose associated property field is displayed when an entity is selected (Abstract, where arrangement of property fields related to the selected component, determining property values associated with the property fields based on the selected component, and providing the determined property values in corresponding property fields of the interactive display element ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to associated property field is displayed when an entity is selected, as taught by Nikol into LaMantia in order enhanced visual identification, and improves organization and searchability data.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaMantia, as applied above and further in view of Byrne et al., (CN110494813A) , hereinafter Byrne.
Regarding Claim 14, LaMantia disclose the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the measuring means is designed for measuring distances, positions, geometries, colors, and/or temperatures, and/or wherein the measuring means comprises an optical measuring means, a laser distance sensor, a laser profile sensor, a camera, a distance sensor, a position sensor, a geometry sensor, a color sensor, and/or a temperature sensor.
Byrne disclose the measuring means comprises an optical measuring means, a laser distance sensor, a laser profile sensor, a camera, a distance sensor, a position sensor, a geometry sensor, a color sensor, and/or a temperature sensor (Page 9, para 5(last paragraph) , where measure any sensor relative to the position of the working surface or can capture characteristics of a working surface. of this sensor comprises a force sensor, a proximity sensor, a motion sensor (e.g., a gyroscope and/or an accelerometer), a load sensor, a position sensor, a thermal imaging sensor, a depth sensor (e.g., RGB-D, laser, structured light and/or time-of-flight camera), an ultrasonic distance sensor, an infrared sensor, an optical sensor, a radio frequency identification (RFID) system, a near field communication (NFC) chip, a wireless sensor, a light sensor, a touch sensor (e.g., a capacitive sensor), scanner, camera (e.g., color camera, gray scale camera and/or infrared camera), and others ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide optical measuring, as taught by Byrne into LaMantia in order to measure the entities/objects with higher precision, sensitivity and non-contact detection.
Conclusion
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/MICHAEL J DALBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857