DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 3/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13 are pending in the application.
The 112(b) rejections previously set forth are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As an initial matter, examiner notes that the claim language requires the presence of monomers which comprise the various moieties. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, the use of multiple separate monomers which each include some of the required moieties e.g. the use of PEG-DA to provide polyoxyalkylene and acrylate moieties, and the use of PVA modified with poyvinylamine for the provision of amino moieties (although it may further include modification with MMA and thus further acrylate moieties in at least some embodiments). As such, even if a single monomer is not provided which itself contains all of the necessary moieties alone, the combination of monomers still satisfies the claim requirements, because the claim language is sufficiently broad to be read on such arrangements (“…wherein the hydrophilic monomers comprise…”). If the contention is that certain additives e.g. PVA-PVAm represent polymer additives rather than monomers, they nevertheless are constructed from and contain monomers and are used to modify the membrane. Additionally, at least in the case of claim 1, the claim represents a product-by-process limitation whose scope would be defined by the structure of the final product i.e. the chemical moieties which are modified onto the surface via the electron beam process.
In view of this, the instant claim language is sufficiently broad to be read on the taught membranes absent more specific clarification on the specific species employed for modification or clarification of differences in the required final structure that distinguish over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moore et al (EP 3210664 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Moore teaches membranes which include surface modifications with hydrophilic polymers and further hydrophilic additives, where such polymers and additives are cured using high energy irradiation [Abs] e.g. an electron beam [0006, 0008]. The base membrane may be a fluoropolymer such as PTFE, although alternatives such as polyethylene and polyamide are contemplated [0014]. The base membrane is coated with a coating including modified polyvinyl alcohol, with examples such as polyvinalamine-modified PVA being employed [0030] (comprising at least one amino moiety). The further hydrophilic additives may include diacrylates such as polyethylene glycol diacrylate (PEG-DA) (comprising at least one polyoxyalkylene unit and at least one acrylate moiety) [0031-0032].
As best understood, the membrane taught by Moore anticipates the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 2, as above the membrane may include PEGDA, a polyether.
With respect to claim 3, Moore teaches secondary and/or tertiary amines for the modified PVA, such as PVA-PVAm-MMA, and PVA-PVAm-mal [pg. 6]
With respect to claim 4, as best understood, PVA-PVAm-MMA at least includes three secondary amino moieties [pg. 6].
With respect to claim 5, as best understood, PVA-PVAm-mal includes one tertiary amino moiety [pg. 6].
With respect to claim 6, as above the additive may include a diacrylate i.e. two acrylate moieties. Further moieties may be present on the modified PVA but still within the claimed range e.g. as part of PVA-PVAm-MMA, depending upon the embodiment [pg. 6].
With respect to claim 7, the surface properties would be an inherent result of the coating applied to the membranes which, as discussed above, is anticipated by Moore. The membranes of Moore would necessarily have the appropriate properties.
An alternative grounds of rejection is presented below.
With respect to claim 8, Moore teaches applying a solution containing the relevant monomers to the membrane via standard coating methods and, thereafter, irradiating with an electron beam to cure the coating [0033-0036].
With respect to claim 9, Moore teaches various ranges for irradiation but, in an exemplary teaching, employs 40 kGy [0038].
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Moore teaches washing the membrane for extraction, and then drying [0053].
With respect to claim 13, Moore teaches biomedical applications, water purification, protein purification, and similar applications [0047]. Filtering a liquid i.e. “liquid filtration” is explicitly identified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore et al in view of Charkoudian (US PGPub 2003/0226799 A1).
With respect to claim 7, Moore teaches as above but does not measure IgG adsorption; if the IgG adsorption behavior is not considered an inherent result of the material employed as the membrane and coating, alternatively see Charkoudian, which teaches porous membranes having surface coatings to provide biomolecule resistant properties [Abs] and low extractables. The membrane may be formed from a substrate of polyethylene, PTFE, or similar materials which are then coated with a coating containing hydrophilic monomers [0025] and teaches that, to constitute a biomolecule resistance surface, the IgG should adsorb at a rate of 30 micrograms/cm2 or less [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure that the surface of the membrane taught by Moore has very low IgG adsorption because, as in Charkoudian, this is a way to measure IgG resistance in an hydrophilically-coated membrane, and further because Moore already contemplates biomedical applications, protein purification, dialysis and the like for which protein adsorption would be a potential factor requiring mitigation.
With respect to claim 10, Moore is silent to the specific configuration of the membrane, however configurations such as flat sheets and hollow fibers are well known in the art as standard configurations for membranes, including coated membranes. See e.g. Charkoudian which teaches such configurations [0098] for a similar article which is coated with a hydrophilic coating for protein resistance or the like. Such a configuration would have been obvious to employ as a typical membrane configuration for the membranes taught by Moore.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 17/772,572 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference application recites overlapping requirements for substrate, hydrophilic monomers, and the like.
Instant claim 1 is at minimum obvious over reference claim 2 which teaches the monomers and teaches substrates which may include polyethylene (which would at least render obvious the ultra high molecular weight polyethylene recited by the instant invention); examiner notes that, although the reference application employs “actinic radiation” that is not specifically electron beam radiation, the invention of instant claim 1 and reference claim 2 is a product claim, and so the specific scope of process limitations in a product-by-process interpretation are not sufficient to patentably distinguish.
Instant claim 2 corresponds to reference claim 3. Instant claim 6 corresponds to reference claim 5. Instant claim 7 corresponds to reference claim 9. Regarding instant claims 3-5, the reference application in claim 1 recites specific monomers which satisfy instant claims 3-5, i.e. by including e.g. three secondary amino or three tertiary amino structures. See e.g. reference Formula (VII) or Formula (XIV).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,420,239 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patents recites overlapping subject matter for substrate, hydrophilic monomers, and the like.
Instant claim 1 is at minimum obvious over reference claim 2 which teaches the monomers and teaches substrates which may include polyethylene (which would at least render obvious the ultra high molecular weight polyethylene recited by the instant invention). The reference patent employs electron beam radiation for formation of the product.
Instant claim 2 corresponds to reference claim 3. Instant claim 6 corresponds to reference claim 5. Instant claim 7 corresponds to reference claim 6. Regarding instant claims 3-5, the reference application in claim 1 recites specific monomers which satisfy instant claims 3-5, i.e. by including e.g. three secondary amino or three tertiary amino structures. See e.g. reference Formula (VII) or Formula (XIV).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777