DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. The instant application claims is a national stage entry of PCT/KR2022/006478, filed May 6, 2022.
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) by application no. KR10-2021-0058701 filed in the Korean Patent Office on May 6, 2021.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are pending and under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
While enabling for a method of treating obesity, diabetes, inflammation, or erectile dysfunction, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing an the aforementioned conditions, as claimed. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement and whether any necessary experimentation is undue. These factors include, but are not limited to: (a) breadth of the claims; (b) nature of the invention; (c) state of the prior art; (d) level of one of ordinary skill in the art; (e) level of predictability in the art; (f) amount of direction provided by the inventor; (g) existence of working examples; and (h) quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. (See Ex parte Forman 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
The above factors, regarding the present invention, are summarized as follows:
(a) Breadth of the claims - The breadth of the claims is drawn to methods for the treatment and prevention of obesity, diabetes, inflammation, or erectile dysfunction.
(b) Nature of the invention - The nature of the invention is therefore drawn to the pharmaceutical art. These claims cover diseases that are known to exist and those that may be discovered in the future, for which there is no enablement provided.
(c,e) State of the prior art and predictability in the art - The state of the prior art is that the pharmacological art involves screening in vitro and in vivo to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activities (i.e. what compounds can treat which specific disease by what mechanism). There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic or preventative regimen on its face.
While a full discussion of each disease which is encompasses by Applicant’s claim language will not be given, the following examples teach that the state of the prior art with respect to the claimed diseases has not advanced to the point of being predictive of the treatment and prevention of the breadth of diseases instantly claimed.
Regarding the prevention of the aforementioned diseases or conditions - prophylaxis and/or prevention means to anticipate or counter in advanced, to keep from happening, etc. and there is no disclosure as to how one skilled in the art can reasonably establish the basis and the type of subject to which the instant compounds and compositions can be administered in order to have the "preventive" effect. How would one show a correlation that the diseases of the instant claims are prevented by the compounds of the invention, or that the subject would not have contracted the disease without administration of the instantly claimed compounds? How is the initial onset of the full scope of the claimed diseases prevented?
There are two main categories of diabetes: mellitus type I and type II. Treatment involves control of hyperglycemia to improve symptoms and prevent complications while minimizing hypoglycemic episodes. Oral antihyperglycemic drugs are the primary treatment for type II diabetes mellitus. However, there are no treatments that definitely prevent the onset or progression of type I diabetes. http://www.merck.com/mmpe/print/sec12/ch158/ch158b.html.
The existence of these obstacles establishes that the contemporary knowledge in the art would prevent one of ordinary skill in the art from accepting any therapeutic regimen on its face.
(d) Level of one of ordinary skill in the art - The artisans using applicant’s method would be a collaborative team of synthetic chemists and/or health practitioners, possessing commensurate degree level and/or skill in the art, as well as several years of professional experience.
The level of skill in the art is high; however, due to the unpredictability in the pharmaceutical art, it is noted that each embodiment of the invention is required to be individually assessed for physiological activity by in vitro or in vivo screening to determine which compounds exhibit the desired pharmacological activity and which diseases would benefit from this activity.
(f-g) Amount of direction provided by the inventor and existence of working examples The only direction or guidance present in the instant specification is the listing of diseases applicant considers as treatable and preventable by the claimed compounds.
There are absolutely no working examples present for the prevention of any disease in the instant application.
Test assays and procedures are not provided in the specification and the disclosure does not provide how the in vitro data correlates to prevention of any disease, as claimed. The specification does not provide adequate correlation for the treatment and prevention of the broad scope of disorders claimed.
Pharmacological activity in general is a very unpredictable area. Note that in cases involving physiological activity such as the instant case, “the scope of enablement obviously varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability of the factors involved.” See In re Fisher, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (CCPA 1970).
Furthermore, there is no evidence of record, which would enable the skilled artisan in the identification of the people who have the potential of becoming afflicted with the numerous diseases/disorders or conditions claimed herein. That a single compound or class of compounds can be used to treat all diseases/disorders and conditions embraced by the claim is an incredible finding for which Applicant has not provided supporting evidence. Applicant has not provided any competent evidence or disclosed tests that are highly predictive for the pharmaceutical use for treating any or all of the diseases/disorders or conditions by administering the instant claimed compounds.
The direction provided is very limited. The applicants have not provided any chemical or biological data and/or testing results of any of the compounds or compositions to treat/prevent the entirety of conditions encompassed by this language. In addition, no definition within the specification to any extent as to what is encompassed by the claim language in the current application. An applicant must clearly identify these things.
The specification does not show any examples where compounds of the claims were used to treat and prevent the full scope of conditions as set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2164.02 (“Compliance with the enablement requirement of 35 USC 112, first paragraph, does not turn on whether an example is disclosed … Lack of a working example, however, is a factor to be considered, especially in a case involving an unpredictable and undeveloped art.”). There is a lack of “reasonable correlation” to the vast numbers of diseases encompassed by the full scope of disorders and the entirety of claimed compounds. See MPEP 2164.02 (“The issue of “correlation” is related to the issue of the presence or absence of working examples. “Correlation” as used herein refers to the relationship between in vitro … assays and a disclosed or a claimed method of use. An in vitro … example, in the specification, in effect, constitutes a “working example” if that example “correlates with a disclosed or claimed method invention. If there is no correlation, then the examples do not constitute “working examples.” … For a claimed genus [e.g., cardiovascular diseases], representative examples together with a statement applicable to the genus as a whole will ordinarily be sufficient if one skilled in the art … would expect the claimed genus could be used in the manner without undue experimentation”). While Applicants do indeed make various statements in the specification that their claimed compounds will effectively treat the genus of diseases associated encompassed by the claims, such is not supported by examples. That is, the limited testing set forth in the specification does not constitute a “working example” within the meaning of MPEP 2164.02 let alone a “representative” set of examples that would be required the describe this enormous genus.
While enabling for a method of treating the aforementioned conditions, the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing said conditions, as claimed.
(h) Quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure - The quantity of experimentation needed is undue experimentation. One of skill in the art would need to determine what diseases, disorders, or conditions out of all diseases, disorders, or conditions would be benefited and would furthermore then have to determine which of the claimed compounds in the instant invention would provide treatment and prevention of the diseases.
A person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would be faced with an undue amount of experimentation to use the pharmaceutical compositions for the full scope of the claimed intended uses.
A conclusion of lack of enablement means that, based on the evidence regarding each of the above factors, the specification, at the time the application was filed, would not have taught one skilled in the art how to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. {In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1562, 27 USPQ2d 1510, 1513 (Fed. Cir. 1993)}.
Genentech Inc. v. Novo Nordisk A/S (CA FC) 42 USPQ2d 1001, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “patent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors and In re Fisher (CCPA 1970) discussed above, to practice the claimed invention herein, a person of skill in the art would have to engage in undue experimentation to test which diseases can be treated by the compounds encompassed in the instant claims, with no assurance of success.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 reads “A crystalline form V of a compound of the following formula 1, wherein the crystalline form V has an X-ray powder diffraction (XRPD) pattern comprising characteristic peaks with diffraction angles …” with a list of 2-theta values and “wherein R1 is C2-C5 alkyl”. The 2-theta values are derived from the XRPD of Fig. 1 which the specification states is of Example 1 (Specification p. 28):
Thus, the 2-theta values only correspond to Example 1 which is not a salt or solvate thereof and only has R1 is isopropyl. As a result, one of skill in the art would find the claim confusing as to how multiple different compounds, salts, and solvates can ALL share the same XRPD peaks as per claim 1. For example, it is known in the art that small changes in structure cause large changes in XRPD 2-theta values as evidenced by Sivaramakrishna et al. (J. Chem. Sci. Vol. 127, No. 9, September 2015, pp. 1627–1635) in Figure 4 and Table 3 (p. 1633) which shows how the XRPD changes with the alkyl chain length “n”. Similarly, one of skill in the art would know that the different claim 1 R1 alkyl chains of varying length would result in different XRPD 2-theta peaks. Therefore, one of skill in the art would be uncertain as to what are the precise metes and bounds of the claims and the claim is indefinite.
As with claim 1, claims 2-7 are to a scope of R1, salts, and solvates such that the scope of the claims are unclear with respect to the 2-theta values. Claims 2-18 and 20-21 which depend from claim 1 are also rejected as indefinite as they incorporate and do not resolve claim 1’s indefiniteness.
Claims 17-18 is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the crystalline form and a carrier where the specification defines carrier as including solvents such as water, alcohols, ethers, oils, etc. which when combined with the crystalline form necessarily dissolves the form and the “composition” would be only the solution. One of skill in the art would find such claim language confusing as to whether the solution is being claims or only compositions where the crystalline form is maintained. Thus, the claims are indefinite. For purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted as where the crystal form is not dissolved in a solution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-7, 17-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US20090298829).
Regarding claims 1-4, Choi teaches compounds that are agonists of melanocortin receptor (Title, Abstract, claim 1). Choi teaches Example A96 (Table 4, Table 18, claim 14):
N-[(3S,5S)-1-{[(3S,4R)-1-tert-butyl-4-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrrolidine-3-yl]carbonyl}-5-(morpholine-4-ylcarbonyl)pyrrolidine-3-yl]-N-(4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl)acetamide
and Example A7 ([0383], Table 18, claim 14):
(4S)-1-{[(3S,4R)-4-(4-chlorophenyl)-1-methylpyrrolidine-3-yl]carbonyl}-4-[(2,2-dimethylpropanoyl)(cis-4-methylcyclohexyl)amino]-L-prolineamide
Choi teaches the compounds are active in the experimental assay reported in Table 18 with EC50 values in the nM range ([0841]-[0848]).
Instant claims formula 1 includes the species of claim 3 having the following structure:
N-[(3S,5S)-1-[(3S,4R)-1-tert-butyl-4-(4-chlorophenyl)pyrrolidine-3-carbonyl]-5-(morpholine-4-carbonyl)pyrrolidin-3-yl]-N-(4-methylcyclohexyl)isobutyramide
Thus, claim 1’s compound differs from Choi’s A96 by a methyl group on the cyclohexyl ring and the alkyl homolog (methyl vs. isopropyl).
One of ordinary skill in the art following the teaching of Choi would have considered other compounds within Choi’s genus (claim 1) including the specific modifications of replacing the 4,4-dimethylcyclohexyl with a 4-methylcyclohexyl in view of the reported success with Choi’s Example A7 having the group. One of ordinary skill in the art would have also recognized that alkyl homologs including methyl and isopropyl could be interchanged and maintain activity in view of A7’s homologous alkyl – MPEP 2144.09. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Choi teaches the genus encompassing the instant claims and because Choi teaches the structurally similar compounds as demonstrating activity.
Regarding the crystalline form language of the instant claims, Choi teaches preparation of the compound in the same manner as in the instant application but does not disclose the XRPD data. However, such properties are inherent in the product and are inseparable as stated in MPEP 2112.01:
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
…
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.
In this case, the structure of the modified product is identical to the instant claims and is produced in a substantially identical process. Thus, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established and the claim rejected.
Regarding claims 5-7, 17-18, and 20-21, Choi teaches A7 as an HCl salt and also claims pharmaceutically acceptable salts together with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier which one of ordinary skill in the art would consider in formulating the pharmaceutical as is routinely done in the art and arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 20-21 to a method of agonizing the function of melanocortin-4 receptor, Choi teaches the same utility (title, abstract, claims 16-19), including for obesity such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the compound in the same manner and arrive at the claimed invention.
11. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US20090298829) in view of Carlson et al. (US20030124028), Gardner et al. (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943–953).
Choi teaches as in the 35 USC 103 rejection supra and incorporated herein. Choi does not specifically teach a crystal form or specific methods of making a crystal form.
Carlson teaches well-known systems for automated high-throughput preparation and screening of salts and polymorphs of drug candidates (emphasis added):
(Carlson Abstract). Carlson’s system specifically screens for polymorphs using a variety of techniques and solvents including water, methanol, acetonitrile, MTBE, ethylene glycol, THF, and DMSO (claim 1, [0019], [0143]-[0144], [0157]-[0177], Fig. 29)
Carlson’s system is similar to commercially available systems such as CRYSTALMAX as discussed by Gardner (Gardner p. 947-949 “6.”, Figs. 4 and 5 describing CRYSTALMAX) including Gardner’s demonstrated success with salt forms of sulfathiazole (p. 950 “6.1.3”, Fig. 10) and polymorphic forms of Ritonavir (Gardner p. 949 “6.1.1”). Given the high level of skill in the art as evidenced by Choi, Carlson and Gardner, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered the application of Carlson’s technique using a commercially available system (such as Gardner’s) on Choi’s compound as “routine optimization” because it was well-known, commercially available, and was a routine part of drug discovery (Gardner p. 944-45, Figs. 2-3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the solid forms of Choi’s modified compound because Carlson and Gardner teach successful application to pharmaceuticals using the well-known and technique (Carlson [0091], [0110], [0124]-[0126]) including particular solvents and conditions (Carlson [0163]-[0165], [0261], Fig. 29), varying temperatures (Carlson [0026], [0138]-[0150], claims 43, 55-56), and seeding (Carlson [0141]). These conditions correspond to the same process as disclosed in in the instant specification.
As in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under §103.”), one of ordinary skill in the art would have known about the need to select the optimal form of the drug identified by Choi, including the specific salt and polymorphic forms which were known to be predictably discoverable by application of Carlson’s technique and was also within one of ordinary skill in the art’s technical grasp as evidenced by the commercially available system taught by Gardner. Thus, it would have been obvious to try and one of ordinary skill in the art would have anticipated success in the endeavor.
At the time of invention, there was an art recognized need to identify the optimal solid form of a pharmaceutical as established by Carlson, and Gardner (Carlson [0004]-[0005], [0010]-[0011]; Gardner Fig. 2, Fig. 5, p. 944-946, “3.1”, “3.2”, “3.3”). The commercially available automated system that identifies “substantially every polymorph” evidenced by Carlson and Gardner provided a predictable solution to the problem of pharmaceutical solid forms. One of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the commercially available system with a reasonable expectation of success because the systems were known to identify “substantially every polymorph” (Carlson Abstract) and Gardner demonstrated success with the commercial system (Gardner p. 947-950 “6.”, “6.1.1”, “6.1.3”, Figs. 4 and 5 describing CRYSTALMAX). Similarly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the known technique of pharmaceutical solid form optimization (Carlson; Gardner) to the known product of Choi that would have yielded the predictable result of the optimal pharmaceutical solid form. Alternatively, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the known technique that successfully identified the optimal solid form of other pharmaceuticals demonstrated by Gardner (sulfathiazole p. 950 “6.1.3”, Fig. 10; Ritonavir p. 949 “6.1.1”) and applied the known optimization technique in the same way to Choi’s compound where the result would have been predictable due to the explicit teaching of Carlson that the techniques was known to identify “substantially every polymorph”.
With each of the claims, the level of skill in the art is very high such that one of ordinary skill in the art would consider routine the combination of elements from the teaching of the art in the same field of endeavor. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination would be predictable due to the well-known nature and optimizations routinely performed in the art. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the invention as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, the claims are rejected as prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
13. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 7879852 in view of Choi et al. (US20090298829), Carlson et al. (US20030124028), Gardner et al. (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943–953). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims the same species as Choi and are obvious for the same reasons provided in the 35 USC 103 rejection supra.
14. Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of the following copending Application Nos. (reference applications) in view of Choi et al. (US20090298829), Carlson et al. (US20030124028), Gardner et al. (Computers and Chemical Engineering 28 (2004) 943–953). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference applications claim the same species as the instant claims and are obvious for the same reasons provided in the 35 USC 103 rejection supra.
Reference applications:
17619893
18251101
18251084
18251129
18251111
18258705
18258711
18258730
18258717
18588142
18558148
18558351
18558812
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623