DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Naimer et al. nor Gyllensward teaches or suggests using a detail layer as a mask applied to the image signal, and that Gyllensward merely teaches checksum filtering rather than image-layer masking. This argument is not persuasive. Naimer et al. disclose a layered display architecture including an underlay image, an overlay image, and an embedded safety pattern used to detect anomalies or graphical errors in simultaneous display. Gyllensward discloses computing a checksum from a supervised region of a display signal while excluding selected pixel values and/or pixel positions from contributing to the checksum, including by use of a colour filter and/or bitmask filter. Gyllensward’s selective exclusion mechanism corresponds to the claimed functional use of a layer as a mask applied to the image signal. The fact that Gyllensward describes the exclusion in checksum terms does not distinguish it from the claimed masking concept.
Applicant further argues that Naimer relies on an embedded safety pattern and does not transmit a detail layer to a monitoring circuit for use as a mask. This argument is also not persuasive. Naimer et al. disclose a display system having layered image content and a monitoring function for detecting anomalies or graphical errors. Gyllensward supplies the selective verification technique for excluding non-critical content. It would have been obvious to combine these teachings so that the critical display content is verified while non-critical portions are excluded, which corresponds to the claimed use of a transmitted detail layer as a mask.
Applicant’s hindsight argument is likewise not persuasive. The combination is supported by the express teachings of the references. Naimer et al. provide the layered display and anomaly-detection framework, and Gyllensward provides the selective exclusion/filtering verification technique. Combining known layered display verification with known selective exclusion of pixels or pixel positions would have yielded the predictable result of verifying critical display content while ignoring non-critical portions. The rejection does not rely on Applicant’s disclosure as a roadmap. In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant also argues that the monitoring circuit independently synthesizes a second detail layer and applies it as a pixel mask, which is not taught by the prior art. This argument is not persuasive. Naimer et al. disclose a monitoring architecture for display verification, and Gyllensward discloses comparing a computed verification value against an expected value derived from the input signal. In view of the combined teachings, it would have been obvious for the monitoring circuit to derive the expected verification content and compare it to the displayed content.
With respect to the conditional language in claims 12–14, Applicant argues that the “if the result signal corresponds…” clause is a distinct technical limitation. This argument is not persuasive. The recited conditional language merely states the expected result of the comparison performed by the monitoring circuit. Naimer et al. teach detecting anomalies or graphical errors and responding accordingly, and Gyllensward teaches generating an error signal when a computed checksum does not match an expected value. Accordingly, the conditional clause recites an obvious and predictable consequence of the verification operation.
Applicant further argues that the prior art does not teach concealing the other information when the result signal corresponds to the detail layer, or generating an alert when critical information has been altered. This argument is not persuasive. The claimed concealment is a natural consequence of applying a mask or selective exclusion mechanism to the image signal, and the alert feature is an expected result of a failed verification comparison. Naimer et al. disclose detecting anomalies or graphical errors and responding to them, and Gyllensward discloses error indication upon mismatch. Thus, these limitations do not impart patentable weight over the combined teachings.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103. The rejection of claims 1–3 and 9–14 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naimer et al. (US PGPUB No 2004/0046712) in view of Gyllensward (US PGPUB 2015/0277838).
Regarding claim 1, Naimer et al. teach a system (Fig. 3) for displaying critical and non-critical information on a screen (Fig. 3, 128), the system comprising, in one same housing, an output of which is connected to the screen, at least one electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106+110) and one electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 108+112), wherein the electronic computing circuit is programmed to process the critical information to be displayed, construct at least one image from the non-critical information and incorporate the critical information to be displayed in a first detail layer which is intended to form an overprint layer in the image to be displayed in order to form, on an output of the electronic computing circuit, an image signal intended to be transmitted to the screen (paragraphs 26 and 27); wherein the electronic computing circuit transmits the first detail layer to the electronic monitoring circuit with the critical information to be displayed incorporated therein and wherein the electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 112) has an input (Fig. 3. Path 134 connects output of 106 to input of 112) connected to said output of the electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106). Naimer et al. fail to teach use the first detail layer as a mask applied to the image signal to obtain a result signal and verifies whether the result signal corresponds to the first detail layer. However, Gyllensward discloses a visual display module in which a checksum of a supervised region of each image frame is computed based on a display drive signal, while excluding at least one element in the pixel value range from contributing to the checksum. Gyllensward teaches selectively excluding pixel values or pixel positions from checksum verification of a display signal (See Gyllensward, Abstract; paras. [0012]–[0020], [0057]–[0065]). Gyllensward further teaches a colour filter and a bitmask filter that exclude selected pixel values or pixel positions from checksum computation, thereby providing a verification mechanism that focuses on relevant portions of the display while ignoring non-critical portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display anomaly detection system of Naimer et al. using the selective checksum/filtering approach of Gyllensward in order to improve verification of the embedded safety pattern and the corresponding critical display information, while excluding non-critical display portions from the verification process. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a display system capable of verifying critical image content using a masked or filtered integrity check.
Regarding claim 2, Naimer et al. teach a system (Fig. 3) for displaying critical and non-critical information on a screen (Fig. 3, 128), the system comprising, in one same housing, an output of which is connected to the screen, at least one electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106+110) and one electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 108+112), wherein the electronic computing circuit is programmed to process the critical information to be displayed construct at least one image from the non-critical information and incorporate the critical information to be displayed in a first detail layer which is intended to form an overprint layer in the image to be displayed in order to form, on an output of the electronic computing circuit, an image signal intended to be transmitted to the screen (paragraphs 26-27); wherein the electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106) has at least one input connected to a measurement source (Fig. 3, Data Source 1… Data Source N, the connection via path 128) and the electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 108) has an input connected to said measurement source (via 130) wherein the electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 112) has an input connected to said output of the electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106, the connection via path 134), is programmed to develop a second detail layer, incorporates the critical information in the second detail layer. Naimer et al. fails to teach use the second detail layer as a mask applied to the image signal to obtain a result signal, and verifies that the result signal corresponds to the second detail layer. However, Gyllensward discloses a visual display module in which a checksum of a supervised region of each image frame is computed based on a display drive signal, while excluding at least one element in the pixel value range from contributing to the checksum. Gyllensward teaches selectively excluding pixel values or pixel positions from checksum verification of a display signal (See Gyllensward, Abstract; paras. [0012]–[0020], [0057]–[0065]). Gyllensward further teaches a colour filter and a bitmask filter that exclude selected pixel values or pixel positions from checksum computation, thereby providing a verification mechanism that focuses on relevant portions of the display while ignoring non-critical portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display anomaly detection system of Naimer et al. using the selective checksum/filtering approach of Gyllensward in order to improve verification of the embedded safety pattern and the corresponding critical display information, while excluding non-critical display portions from the verification process. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a display system capable of verifying critical image content using a masked or filtered integrity check.
Regarding claim 3, Naimer et al. teach a system (Fig. 3) for displaying critical and non-critical information on a screen (Fig. 3, 128), the system comprising, in one same housing, an output of which is connected to the screen, at least one electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106+110) and one electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 108+112), wherein the electronic computing circuit is programmed to process the critical information to be displayed incorporates the critical information to be displayed in a first detail layer combined with at least one back ground detail layer to form the image to be displayed in order to form, on an output of the electronic computing circuit, an image signal intended to be transmitted to the screen (paragraphs 26 and 27); wherein the electronic computing circuit (Fig. 3, 106)transmits to the electronic monitoring circuit (Fig. 3, 112) the critical information to be displayed; wherein the electronic monitoring circuit has an input connected to said output of the electronic computing circuit (106 connects with 112 via 134), and is programmed to develop a second detail layer, incorporates the critical information in the second detail layer. Naimer et al. fail to teach use the second detail layer as a mask applied to the image signal to obtain a result signal and verifies that the result signal corresponds to the second detail layer. However, Gyllensward discloses a visual display module in which a checksum of a supervised region of each image frame is computed based on a display drive signal, while excluding at least one element in the pixel value range from contributing to the checksum. Gyllensward teaches selectively excluding pixel values or pixel positions from checksum verification of a display signal (See Gyllensward, Abstract; paras. [0012]–[0020], [0057]–[0065]). Gyllensward further teaches a colour filter and a bitmask filter that exclude selected pixel values or pixel positions from checksum computation, thereby providing a verification mechanism that focuses on relevant portions of the display while ignoring non-critical portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display anomaly detection system of Naimer et al. using the selective checksum/filtering approach of Gyllensward in order to improve verification of the embedded safety pattern and the corresponding critical display information, while excluding non-critical display portions from the verification process. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a display system capable of verifying critical image content using a masked or filtered integrity check.
Regarding claims 9-11, Naimer et al. further teach aircraft equipped with at least one screen to which the output of a display system is connected (Abstract).
Regarding claims 12-14, the limitations of the claims are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejections of claims 1-3 above, respectively. Further, the recited conditional clause, “if the result signal corresponds to the first detail layer received through the input, the other information is concealed and, if not, the critical information has been altered, and the electronic monitoring unit emits an alert,” merely recites the expected operational consequence of the comparison performed by the monitoring circuit. Naimer et al. disclose determining whether anomalies or graphical errors are present in a simultaneously displayed underlay/overlay image arrangement and responding accordingly. Gyllensward discloses comparing a computed checksum with an expected value and generating an error signal when the comparison fails. Accordingly, the claimed conditional result of correspondence or non-correspondence would have been an obvious and predictable outcome of the combined teachings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent No. 11,131,987 B2 discloses a safety-critical cockpit display integrity verification system for detecting and preventing hazardously misleading information on aircraft displays. The reference teaches identifying safety-critical graphic objects in a video frame, assigning each object a unique object ID code, generating a monochrome reference ID-code image based on the object IDs, and verifying the rendered display by monitoring object shape, location, color, visibility, and overlay properties using histogram-based and pixel-level comparisons. The system further discloses creating an object verification database, detecting GPU/display failure conditions, categorizing detected failures by severity and duration, and issuing appropriate warnings or corrective actions. The reference also describes redundant cockpit display architectures, verification of sensor inputs and user commands, and techniques for handling false alarms and display anomalies.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/BENNY Q TIEU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682