Status of the Claims
Claims 5, 8, and 22-28 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to Application Serial No. PCT/US2022/027072, filed 4/29/2022; and further claims priority to PRO application number 63/181,862, filed 04/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received on 02/09/2024 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged. The claims that were in Group II have been cancelled.
Applicant’s election of compound E102 without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 8, and 22-28 will be examined on their merits.
Anticipatory art was not found on the elected species, however the elected species is rejected using an obviousness-type rejection. See 103 analysis below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benedini, F. et al. (WO2010012567A1; “Benedini”) in further view of Sturdivant, J. et al. (WO2018034702A1; “Sturdivant”) and Delong, M. et al. (WO2020047496A1; cited in IDS filed 2/9/2024; “Delong”).
This rejection applies to the elected specie.
Benedini teaches a compound with an overlapping genus structure with instant A (Claim 1). Benedini also teaches structural examples with the instant “A” (aka triamcinolone acetonide) of the elected specie conjugated through the same linker as the instant claims to another compound (Claim 10).
(Benedini, Claim 10)
Benedini teaches the core structure, one of which is triamcinolone acetonide, is known for treating ophthalmic diseases such as macular edema (Description, para. 2) and the compounds as useful in various eye conditions, such as macular degeneration (Description, para. 1).
Benedini fails to teach the corticosteroid conjugated to an isoquinoline compound.
Sturdivant teaches a structural example of instant “B” and its HCl salt (Compound 29).
(Sturdivant, Compound 29)
Sturdivant fails to teach the compounds conjugated to a corticosteroid, such as triamcinolone acetonide. However, Sturdivant teaches the compounds for use as therapeutic agents in a variety of eye diseases and conditions (Abstract), including but not limited to: glaucoma, allergy, cancers of the eye, neurodegenerative diseases of the eye, such as diabetic eye disease, macular degeneration (AMD), inflammation, and dry eye (para. 0041).
Along this line, Delong teaches structural examples with both “A” and “B” of the elected species conjugated together for use in treating eye diseases.
(Delong, Claim 34)
Delong fails to teach an example with the same linker as the instant application.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to modify a pharmaceutical compound known for treating eye diseases and has been modified with additional compounds for improved treatment of eye diseases, such as triamcinolone acetonide as taught by Benedini, and modify it with another known compound for treating eye diseases, such as the compounds taught by Sturdivant. A person would be motivated to do so because it has been done with a different linker, as taught by Delong. However, the combined teachings of Benedini and Sturdivant would result in a compound with the same linker as the elected species.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the pharmaceutical compound known for treating eye diseases and has been modified with additional compounds for improved treatment of eye diseases, such as triamcinolone acetonide, as taught by Benedini, and substitute the “R” or additional compound with another known compound for treating eye diseases, such as the compounds taught by Sturdivant. A person would be motivated to do so because it has been done with a different linker, as taught by Delong. However, the combined teachings of Benedini and Sturdivant would result in a compound with the same linker as the elected species.
Therefore, claims 5, 8, and 22-28 are taught by Benedini, Sturdivant, and Delong.
Conclusion
Claims 5, 8, and 22-28 are rejected.
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621