DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Griffiths ( US20150018761A1 ) Regarding claim 1, Griffiths teaches syringe for injecting a medicine (Fig.1 - automatic injector assembly 10), the syringe comprising: a barrel having a cylindrical shape (Fig.3A - Vial 150) with a distal end part and a proximal end part (see Fig.3A - the right part of the vial 150) and having an outlet opening in the distal end part for discharging the medicine contained inside the barrel to an outside (see Fig.3A - the left part of the vial 150 with annular groove 153); and a partitioning device (Fig.3A - seal structure 160) for partitioning a space inside the barrel into a proximal side space (Fig.3A - dry space 152) and a distal side space (Fig.3A - wet compartment 151), the partitioning device (ref.160) comprising: a cylindrical housing disposed to come into liquid-tight contact with an inner surface of the barrel (see Fig.6A - outer sealing member 180 of the sealing structure 160); and an inner plug (Fig.6A - movable sealing plug 166) disposed to allow a proximal side space inside the housing and a distal side space inside the housing to be opened (see Fig.6B - movable sealing plug in an open configuration, par. [0042]) and closed (see Fig.6A - movable sealing plug in a closed configuration) so that the proximal side space inside the barrel and the distal side space inside the barrel are brought into (par.[0042]) or out of communication with each other through an inside of the housing (see Fig.6A - movable sealing plug in a closed configuration, hence separating the dry space 152 and the wet compartment 151 ), the housing (ref.180) comprising an engaging part configured to engage with the inner plug when the proximal side space inside the housing and the distal side space inside the housing are not in communication with each other (see Fig.6A - movable sealing plug engaged by circumferential grooves 186), the inner plug (ref.166) comprising an engaged part configured to engage with the engaging part from a proximal side when the proximal side space inside the housing and the distal side space inside the housing are not in communication with each other (see Fig.6A - sidewall of the movable sealing plug 166 engaged by the circumferential grooves, par.[ 0042]), and the partitioning device being configured so that, when a pressing force is applied from the proximal side by a piston inserted from the proximal side into the barrel, one of the engaging part and the engaged part is displaced relative to an other one of the engaging part and the engaged part to cross over or ride over the other one and release engagement between the engaging part and the engaged part, thereby allowing the inner plug to have the proximal side space inside the housing and the distal side space inside the housing communicating with each other to achieve communication between the proximal side space inside the barrel and the distal side space inside the barrel (see Fig.6A-B, par. [0042], [0045]). Regarding claim 2, Griffiths teaches wherein the engaging part comprises a proximal side engaging part and a distal side engaging part disposed respectively on a proximal side and a distal side of the engaged part, or the engaged part comprises a proximal side engaged part and a distal side engaged part disposed respectively on a proximal side and a distal side of the engaging part (see e.g., grooves 168 create a flowpath or flowpaths 167 and movable sealing plug 166 preferably includes a plurality of circumferential grooves 186 to provide for enhanced sealing engagement in figs. 6A-D and the associated pars. ) . Regarding claim 3, Griffiths teaches a filter disposed on a distal side end surface of the housing inside the barrel ( see Fig.6A - filter membrane 164 ) . Regarding claim 4, Griffiths teaches wherein the partitioning device is disposed in the distal end part of the barrel ( see Fig.3A - seal structure 160 disposed distally inside the vial 150 ) . Regarding claim 5, Griffiths teaches further comprising a filter disposed on a distal side end surface of the housing inside the barrel ( see Fig.6A - filter membrane 164 ) . Regarding claim 6, Griffiths teaches wherein the partitioning device is disposed in the distal end part of the barrel ( see Fig.3A - seal structure 160 disposed distally inside the vial 150 ) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SERKAN AKAR whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5338 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 9am-5pm M-F . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Christopher Koharski can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272 7230 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797