Claims Status
The amendments filed 07/13/2026 are acknowledged.
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 1-7 and 17-21 are amended.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the claims are linked through the specifically defined anti-Nectin-4 antibody having the recited sequences and the ADC, and that the antibody, the nucleic acid, and the expression materials used to produce the antibody, ADC, compositions containing the ADC, and methods employing the ADC are technically interrelated parts, and that the claimed inventions share a technical relationship involving the antibody and ADC features that define the disclosed contribution over the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the special technical feature of the specifically defined anti-Nectin-4 antibody having the recited sequences and the ADC is not a special technical feature as it is taught in the prior art, which is demonstrated in the rejections below. Further, as stated in the restriction requirement, Group II (claims 8-11) does not require the antibody-drug conjugate targeting Nectin-4 or salt thereof of Group I, the anti-nectin-4 antibody of Group III, or the nucleic acid molecule of Group IV, Group III (claims 14-17) does not require the antibody-drug conjugate targeting Nectin-4 or salt thereof of Group I or the nucleic acid molecule of Group IV, Groups I-III do not require the nucleic acid molecule of Group IV, Group V does not require the anti-Nectin-4 antibody of Group III. Further, there is no similar structure or function between a protein and a nucleic acid. Thus, the Groups do not share a technical relationship and additionally, Group III is the second claimed product, Group IV is the third claimed product, and Group V is the second claimed method, and therefore, these do not fall under one of the permitted categories.
The Examiner notes that claim 18 has been amended to require the ADC of claim 1. However, the claim is directed to a “use of” the ADC which is not a proper claim format. See MPEP 2173.05(q). The “use of” implies a method, which is being held as non-elected.
Applicant’s election with traverse of the following species is acknowledged: SEQ ID NOs: 19, 20, 13 and 14, 15, 16 for the sequences of the CDR-H1-3 and CDR-L1-3, respectively, SEQ ID NO: 5 for the VH, SEQ ID NO: 6 for the VL, Formula Ib, ADC-3, C-3 for the drug-linker, and bladder cancer. The traversal is only regarding the listed cancer species (i.e. Species Group G) and is on the grounds that the action does not identify a different in the claimed ADC mechanism for treating one listed cancer rather than another. This is not found persuasive because this is not the standard for an election of species. The Examiner clearly stated that the different cancers and/or tumors have different modes of operation, effects, and/or etiologies, and therefore, these do not share the same or corresponding technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Therefore, claims 8-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/13/2026.
Therefore, claims 1-7 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/090450 and claims priority to Chinese application CN202110481199.4. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Priority is given with the earliest effective filing date of 04/30/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-7 include the limitation(s) “preferably” and/or “more preferably”, claims 4-6 include the limitation “e.g.”, and claim 5 includes the limitation “in particular”. MPEP 2173.05(d) states, “Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims. If stated in the claims, examples and preferences may lead to confusion over the intended scope of a claim.” The “preferably”, “more preferably”, “e.g.”, and “in particular” make it unclear if the limitations that succeed these terms are required claim limitations or simply preferred/exemplary. Therefore, the scope of these claims is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof is in any form”. It is unclear what is meant by “any form”. The claim lists exemplary language following the “any form”, however, antibody forms in the art generally refers to the different antibody isotypes (i.e. IgG, IgA, IgM, IgE, and IgD) [see Mandal, 2023; instant PTO-892]. Claim 4 also recites “or a chimeric antibody and the like.” It is unclear what the metes and bounds of “and the like” are. Therefore, the scope of this claim is indefinite.
Claim 4 further recites the limitation “a nanobody”. “Nanobody” is trademarked. While not per se indefinite, the term must be analyzed to determine how the mark or name is used in the claim. Here, the trademark is used as a claim limitation to describe a particular material and thus the claim scope is uncertain since the mark or name cannot be used to properly identify any particular material or product but rather only identifies the source of the material. See MPEP 2173.05(U). The compounds should be claimed using the generic term (i.e. a single domain antibody).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 recites the limitation “wherein the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment is in any form, e.g.,… a single domain antibody or a nanobody..”. A single domain antibody, also known as a nanobody, only comprises a single heavy chain variable domain. Therefore, this would not comprise all the limitations of instant claim 1 (i.e. the VH and VL CDRs 1-3), from which claim 4 depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-7 recite the limitations “preferably” and/or “more preferably” and claim 5 recites “in particular”. The Examiner is interpreting everything that succeeds the “preferably”, “more preferably”, and/or “in particular” as optional and not required claim limitations, and as such, these limitations are not necessarily included in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ren; WO2021213434 (instant PTO-892).
Regarding claim 1, Ren teaches an antibody against Nectin-4 (i.e. anti-Nectin-4) [0003] and teaches that the heavy chain variable region can comprise SEQ ID NO: 21 and the heavy chain variable region can comprise SEQ ID NO: 25 [0033, 0260-0261]. Ren further teaches an antibody drug conjugate comprising the antibody of the instant invention [0067].
SEQ ID NO: 21 of Ren comprises CDRs with 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 19, 20, and 13, respectively, of instant claim 1, and SEQ ID NO: 25 of Ren comprises CDRs with 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 14, 15, and 16, respectively, of instant claim 1.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Ren teaches that the anti-Nectin-4 is a monoclonal antibody or a single-chain antibody [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren; WO2021213434 (instant PTO-892), as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and further in view of McCombs et al., 2015 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of Ren are above.
However, Ren does not specifically teach that the ADC has a formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m.
Regarding claim 2, McCombs teaches that the main components of ADCs are the antibody, the linker, and the payload [see Abstract] and that while many drugs are amendable to direct conjugation to an antibody scaffold, linkers often facilitate ADC bioconjugation [page 344, left column, second paragraph]. McCombs further teaches that a majority of ADCs are built on IgG1 scaffolds and that the IgG scaffold has over 20 lysine residues that lead to a wide range of possible drug to antibody ratios at varying conjugation sites [page 339, right column, second-fourth paragraphs] (i.e. Ab-[L-CTD]m).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically structured the ADC of Ren to have the formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m as taught by McCombs. One would have been motivated to have structured the ADC of Ren to have the formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m because McCombs teaches that the main components of ADCs are the antibody, the linker, and the payload and this is the standard structure for ADCs. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in structuring the ADC of Ren to have the formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m because this is a known parameter in the art, as taught by McCombs.
Double Patenting
Copending Application No. 19/124,804 (‘804)
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/124,804 (‘804) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1 and 2 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application teaches a liquid formulation comprising an anti-Nectin-4 antibody-drug conjugate or salt thereof as well as a buffer and an auxiliary material; characterized in that, the anti-Nectin-4 antibody-drug conjugate or salt thereof has a formula: Ab-[L-CTD]m, in which Ab represents an anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof comprising three heavy chain complementarity determining regions, i.e., H-CDR1, H-CDR2, and H-CDR3, and three light chain complementarity determining regions, i.e., L-CDR1, L-CDR2, and L-CDR3, wherein the H-CDR1 comprises the amino acid sequence (DYGVS) shown in SEQ ID NO. 3, the H-CDR2 comprises the amino acid sequence (VIWGGGKIYYNSVLKS) shown in SEQ ID NO. 4, and the H-CDR3 comprises the amino acid sequence (QGGLLFYAMDY) shown in SEQ ID NO. 5; and, the L-CDR1 comprises the amino acid sequence (KSSQSLLNTYSQKNYLA) shown in SEQ ID NO. 8, the L-CDR2 comprises the amino acid sequence (FASTRES) shown in SEQ ID NO. 9, and the L-CDR3 comprises the amino acid sequence (QQHYNTPFT) shown in SEQ ID NO. 10; L represents a linker; CTD represents a drug; and m represents the average number of drug molecules conjugated to one Ab molecule (average DAR) and claim 2 of the reference application teaches that CTD is a cytotoxic drug; preferably, CTD is one or more selected from the group consisting of: microtubule inhibitors MMAE, DM1, DM4, Tublysin, amanitin, cachimycin, Eribulin and derivatives thereof; topoisomerase inhibitors SN38, Exatecan and derivatives thereof; and DNA binding agents PBD, doxorubicin and derivatives thereof; m is 1.0 to 5.0, preferably 3.0 to 4.2, more preferably 3.5 to 4.5, still more preferably 3.8 to 4.2, yet more preferably 3.9 to 4.1, and particularly preferably 4.0.
SEQ ID NOs: 3, 4, 5 and 8, 9, 10 have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: SEQ ID NOs: 19, 20, 13 and 14, 15, 16, respectively, of instant claim 1.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 5 of the reference application teaches that the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain variable region (VH) comprising the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 2 or a variant thereof; and, the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof comprises a light chain variable region (VL) comprising the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 7 or a variant thereof; preferably, the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof comprises a heavy chain (HC) comprising the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 1 or a variant thereof; and the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof comprises a light chain (LC) comprising the amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 6 or a variant thereof.
SEQ ID NOs: 2 and 7 have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 5 and 6 of the instant claim, respectively.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, claim 3 of the reference application teaches that the anti-Nectin-4 antibody-drug conjugate or salt thereof has a structure represented by the formula I as follows:
in which: Ab is the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or fragment thereof;
Ar' is any one selected from the group consisting of: substituted or unsubstituted C6-C 10 arylene and substituted or unsubstituted 5-12 membered heteroarylene, wherein the
substitution refers to the replacement of a hydrogen atom on a group by one or more
substituents selected from the group consisting of: halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), halogenated alkyl (e.g. halogenated C1-C6 alkyl, preferably halogenated C1-C4 alkyl, e.g. trifluoromethyl) and alkoxy (e.g. C1-C6 alkoxy, preferably C1-C4 alkoxy, e.g. methoxy);
L1 is -O(CH2CH2O)n- linked to Ar', in which n is any integer in the range from 1 to 24, preferably from 1 to 10, more preferably from 3 to 5; L2 is an enzyme cleavable fragment, which is selected from the group consisting of a dipeptide or a tripeptide or a tetrapeptide or a combination of the dipeptide or the tripeptide or the tetrapeptide with a self-immolative linker, such as Val-Ala, Val-Ala-PAB, Val-Cit, Val-Cit-PAB, Phe-Lys-PAB, Ala-Ala-Ala, Gly-Gly-Phe-Gly (GGFG), MAC glucuronide phenol; preferably, L2-CTD is VcMMAE, GGFG-Dxd or VC-seco-DUBA; preferably, in the case that Ar' is a substituted or unsubstituted 5-12 membered heteroarylene, the heteroatom is N; preferably, Ar' is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 arylene or a substituted or unsubstituted 6 membered heteroarylene.
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, claim 4 of the reference application teaches that the anti-Nectin-4 antibody-drug conjugate or salt thereof has a structure as follows:
This structure is identical to the structure of Conjugate ADC-3 (as elected).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/124,804 (‘804) (reference application), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6-7 above, in view of Thomas et al., 2019 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of the reference application are above.
However, the reference application does not specifically teach that the antibody is a monoclonal antibody.
Regarding claims 4-5 of the instant application, Thomas teaches that antibody-drug conjugates are monoclonal antibodies conjugated to cytotoxic agents [see Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically structured the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody as taught by Thomas. One would have been motivated to have structured the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody because Thomas teaches that antibody-drug conjugates are monoclonal antibodies conjugated to cytotoxic agents. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in structuring the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody because this is a known parameter in the art, as taught by Thomas.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Copending Application No. 19/503,994 (‘994)
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 19/503,994 (‘994) (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application teaches a pharmaceutical combination comprising (i) an anti-Nectin4 antibody-drug conjugate or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the anti-Nectin4 antibody-drug conjugate or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof has a molecular formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m, wherein Ab represents an anti-Nectin-4 antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof, comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region, wherein the heavy chain variable region comprises HCDR1 shown in SEQ ID NO: 1, HCDR2 shown in SEQ ID NO:2, and HCDR3 shown in SEQ ID NO:3; and the light chain variable region comprises LCDR1 shown in SEQ ID NO:4, LCDR2 shown in SEQ ID NO:5, and LCDR3 shown in SEQ ID NO:6; L represents a linker, CTD represents a drug, and m represents an average number of drugs conjugated per Ab molecule; and (ii) an anti-PD-1 antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof.
SEQ ID NOs: 1, 2, 3 and 4, 5, 6 have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: SEQ ID NOs: 19, 20, 13 and 14, 15, 16, respectively, of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 4 of the reference application teaches the anti-Nectin4 antibody-drug conjugate or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof has a molecular formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m, wherein CTD is a cytotoxic drug; optionally CTD is one or more selected from the group consisting of: microtubule inhibitors MMAE, DMl, DM4, Tublysin, amanitin, calicheamicin, Eribulin and derivatives thereof; topoisomerase inhibitors SN38, Exatecan and derivatives thereof; and DNA binding agents PBD, doxorubicin and derivatives thereof; optionally, m is 1.0 to 5.0, or 3.0 to 4.2, or 3.5 to 4.5, or 3.8 to 4.2, or 3.9 to 4.1, or 4.0.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 5 of the reference application teaches the anti-Nectin4 antibody-drug conjugate or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof has a molecular formula of Ab-[L-CTD]m, wherein Ab represents an anti-Nectin-4 antibody or an antigen-binding fragment thereof, comprising a heavy chain variable region and a light chain variable region, wherein the heavy chain variable region comprises an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 7 or SEQ ID NO: 9, and the light chain variable region comprises an amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 8 or SEQ ID NO: 10; optionally, the Ab comprises (i) a heavy chain variable region amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 7; and a light chain variable region amino acid sequence shown in SEQ ID NO: 8.
SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 8 of the reference application have 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: 5 and 6 of the instant claim, respectively.
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, claim 8 of the reference application teaches that the antibody is an IgG antibody, optionally a human IgG antibody, optionally a human IgG1 or human IgG4 antibody; and wherein the antigen-binding fragment is Fab, Fab', F(ab')2, Fv, single-chain Fv, or single-chain Fab.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, claim 14 of the reference application teaches that the anti-Nectin4 antibody-drug conjugate or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof has a structure shown in Formula Ia and/or lb below:
Wherein: Ab is the anti-Nectin-4 antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof;
Ar' is any one selected from the group consisting of: substituted or unsubstituted C6-C 10 arylene and substituted or unsubstituted 5-12 membered heteroarylene, wherein the substitution refers to the replacement of a hydrogen atom on a group by one or more substituents selected from the group consisting of: halogen (F, Cl, Br or I), halogenated alkyl (or halogenated Cl-C6 alkyl, optionally halogenated Cl-C4 alkyl, or trifluoromethyl) and alkoxy (or Cl-C6 alkoxy, optionally C l-C4 alkoxy, or methoxy);
L1 is -O(CH2CH2O)n- linked to Ar', wherein n is any integer selected from the group consisting of 1 to 24, or any integer from 1 to 10, or any integer from 3 to 5;
L2 is an enzyme cleavable fragment, or, a dipeptide or a tripeptide or a tetrapeptide or a combination thereof with a self-immolating structural fragment (which is a polypeptide fragment consisting of 2-4 amino acids, or a combination of the polypeptide fragment with a self-immolating structural fragment), or Val-Ala, Val-Ala-PAB, Val-Cit, Val-Cit-PAB, Phe-Lys-PAB, Ala-Ala-Ala, Gly-Gly-Phe-Gly (GGFG), MAC glucuronide phenol.
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, claim 15 of the reference application teaches that the L2-CTD is VcMMAE, GGFG-Dxd, or VC-seco-DUBA; optionally, if Ar' is a substituted or unsubstituted 5-12 membered heteroarylene, then the heteroatom is N; optionally, Ar' is a substituted or unsubstituted C6 arylene, or a substituted or unsubstituted 6 membered heteroarylene; optionally, the antibody drug conjugate or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof has the following structure:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 8, 14, and 15 of copending Application No. 19/503,994 (‘994) (reference application), as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-7 above, in view of Thomas et al., 2019 (instant PTO-892).
The teachings of the reference application are above.
However, the reference application does not specifically teach that the antibody is a monoclonal antibody.
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, Thomas teaches that antibody-drug conjugates are monoclonal antibodies conjugated to cytotoxic agents [see Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically structured the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody as taught by Thomas. One would have been motivated to have structured the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody because Thomas teaches that antibody-drug conjugates are monoclonal antibodies conjugated to cytotoxic agents. There would be a reasonable expectation of success in structuring the ADC of the reference application to comprise a monoclonal antibody because this is a known parameter in the art, as taught by Thomas.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/B.E.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1675
/JEFFREY STUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1675