The claims received 11/25/2025 are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Oh et al (US 11,192,425).
Regarding claim 1, Oh et al discloses a connection apparatus, comprising: a base portion (M2), a flow passage portion (M1), and at least one connection part (conduits between components, e.g. valves, heat exchangers, etc.), wherein
the base portion (M2) and the flow passage portion (M1) are fixed to each other (shown in figure 1; 8:57-60);
the flow passage portion (M1) comprises at least three modules separately formed (e.g. 34, 44, W, pumps P1-P4, and valves V1-V7);
the base portion (M2) comprises accommodating portions (portions which receive modules, e.g. 34, 44, W, pumps P1-P4, and valves V1-V7) which are configured to receive and fix at least part of the respective modules (the modules are fixed by at least the refrigerant line connections therebetween) and a notch portion which is at least arranged between two adjacent accommodating portions (shown in annotated figure below; further while figures 3 and 4 may refer to a pump and a valve the notches are understood to apply to all of said modules); and
at least one connection part is connected between the modules located in the two adjacent accommodating portions and is at least partially located in the notch portion (conduit passes through notch portion as shown in annotated figure below).
Further regarding the respective modules being fixed. As discussed above, by the nature of the modules being accommodated within the accommodating portions of the base portion and connected by the refrigerant lines therebetween, said elements are fixed. In other words, the fluid connections therebetween also provided a degree of fixing. Nonetheless, the examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known to fix, or otherwise provide structural support to elements. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have fixed said modules in order to increase system robustness.
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses the two adjacent accommodating portions provided with the notch portions (notch portions are identified in annotated figure above) are defined as a first accommodating portion and a second accommodating portion, the module at least partially located in the first accommodating portion is defined as a first module, and the module at least partially located in the second accommodating portion is defined as a second module (modules can be any of P1-P4, V1-V6, 34, 44, or W), and the connection part (the connection part refers to the conduits which connect the first and second module) of the connection apparatus connects the first module with the second module;
one of the first module and the second module is provided with at least three lateral interface portions (lateral interface portions are regarded as interfaces or connections of said modules, e.g. the inlet/outlet of the respective pumps, valves, or heat exchangers), which are respectively arranged on at least two sides of the first module, and the other one of the first module and the second module is provided with at least two lateral interface portions;
the connection part is provided with a sealing groove at a position where the connection part is fitted with the interface portion, and the connection apparatus further comprises a sealing component, is at least partially located and fitted in the sealing groove to achieve sealing between the connection part and the interface portion of the module (figures 3 and 4 show an O-ring in cross section; the O-ring is a sealing component that is fitted within a sealing groove); and
the connection part is further provided with a convex structure and a concave structure is arranged at a position of the base portion corresponding to the connection part and is configured to be engaged with the convex structure of the connection part (the connection part includes the conduits extending between the plurality of modules and are arranged in a convex manner, the base portion is arranged in a concave manner, in other words the convex connection part projects into the concave base).
Regarding claim 12, Oh discloses an integrated assembly, comprising the connection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the integrated assembly comprises at least three valves (any three of V1-V6), which are arranged to be fixed or limited with the connection apparatus; the integrated assembly comprises at least one of a fluid assembly and a heat exchange portion (W, 34, or 44) which is limited or fixed with the connection apparatus.
Oh is silent concerning snap fittings or threaded connections. The examiner takes official notice that snap fitting, threaded connections and screws are all old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Oh with snap fittings, threaded connections or screws in order to readily couple the components while still enabling disassembly for repair and maintenance.
Regarding claim 13, Oh discloses a heat exchange portion (34, 44, and W), which comprises two flow passages, and the heat exchange portion has four interfaces, wherein at least one interface of the heat exchange portion is connected with one of the modules (V1-V6 or P1-P4), and one interface of the heat exchange portion is connected with another module; and at least two of the modules are connected with each other through the heat exchange portion (connections shown in at least figure 5).
Claim(s) 2-6, 8-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al (US 11,192,425) in view of Wolf et al (US 2020/0353811)
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses the base portion (M2) is provided with a concave structure (concavity allows for components to be located therein) and the connection part is provided with convex structure engaged with the concave structure of the base portions (the connection portions project out, in a convex manner, into the concave area of the base portion); and
the base portion comprises a frame (the perimeter of the base portion M2 is a frame); and the number of the accommodating portions is equal to the number of modules (the accommodating portions as discussed at claim 1 are defined as the portions which receive the modules therefor their number is equal)
Oh lacks the protrusion portions as claimed. Wolf discloses a fluid handling module having a base portion (3 or 5) comprising a frame (perimeter of the base portion) and a protrusion portion (unlabeled rib structures shown in at least figures 1 and 2), wherein the frame is arranged outside of the protrusion portions; and the number of accommodating portions are equal to the number of modules (modules described at [0069] the accommodating portions are defined as the portions which receive the modules thus their number is equal), and part of the protrusion portion is arranged between the accommodating portions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Oh with the protrusion portion of Wolf in order in increase the structural robustness of the assembly.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Oh as modified (as discussed in §112 above, claim 3 is treated as depending from claim 2) discloses the two adjacent accommodating portions provided with notch portions are defined as a first accommodating portion and a second accommodating portion, the module at least partially located in the first accommodating portion is defined as a first module, and the module at least partially located in the second accommodating portion is defined as a second module, and the connection part of the connection apparatus connects the first module with the second module;
the protrusion portion (provided by Wolf) is arranged between the first accommodating portion and the second accommodating portion and protrudes from a bottom plate portion of the base portion; and
a limiting or fixing of the flow passage portion with the base portion is implemented (8:57-63 describes M1 and M2 being coupled).
Oh is silent concerning the means by which the base and flow passage portions are fixed together. The examiner takes official notice that snap fitting, threaded connections and screws are all old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Oh with snap fittings, threaded connections or screws in order to readily couple the base portion and flow passage portion while still enabling disassembly for repair and maintenance.
Regarding claim 5, Oh discloses the connection apparatus further comprises, at least three element connection portions (element connection portions are openings for fluid flow in the respective modules) arranged opposite to the bottom plate portion of the base portion (M2) and configured as interface portions for connection to components; and at least three external interfaces with openings arranged opposite to the bottom plate portion of the base portion (at least figure 6 shows at least 3 external interfaces);
wherein one of the first module and the second module is provided with at least three lateral interface portions (34 and 44), which are respectively arranged on at least two sides of the first module, and the other one of the first module and the second module is provided with at least two lateral interface portions.
Regarding claim 6, Oh discloses the flow passage portion (M1) further comprises a third module, a fourth module and a fifth module (P1, P2, and P3), and the base portion further comprises a third accommodating portion, a fourth accommodating portion and a fifth accommodating portion (accommodating portions which receive P1, P2, and P3); the third module is at least partially located in the third accommodating portion, the fourth module is at least partially located in the fourth accommodating portion, and the fifth module is at least partially located in the fifth accommodating portion; the notch portion is arranged between the second accommodating portion and the third accommodating portion (notches as shown in annotated figure above support connections between said components and thus are similarly between the accommodating portions of said components), and the connection part is provided for a connection between the second module and the third module, and the connection part connecting the second module with the third module is at least partially located in the notch portion between the second accommodating portion and the third accommodating portion.
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses the connection apparatus according to claim 7, but lacks the bottom plate as claimed.
Wolf discloses a connection apparatus having a base portion (3) comprises a bottom plate portion in which a hole is provided (base portion 3 has a plurality of holes for example for receiving screws 139 as shown in figure 12), a main body portion of the base portion is made of plastic ([0024]), and the base portion comprises a snap portion and a threaded-connection portion, wherein the snap portion the threaded-connection portion is integral with or fixed with the main body portion of the base portion (threaded portion for receiving screws 139 or snap connection 161); and the main body portion of the base portion comprises a first convex rib and a second convex rib (ribs shown in figures 12 and 13), wherein the first convex rib and the second convex rib protrude from the bottom plate portion and the first convex rib is intersected or is connected with the second convex rib (ribs as shown in figures 12 and 13 intersect in a grid-like manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Oh with the bottom plate arrangement of Wolf in order to increase structural robustness and allow for connection to or with other elements, such as for mounting the apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, Oh as modified by Wolf discloses the connection apparatus of claim 2. Wolf further discloses a notch portion at the frame of the base portion (161 as shown in figures 13 and 14), and the protrusion portion is provided with guides portions (guide portions are ends of the protrusion portions that abut the modules as shown in figures 1 and 2 the protrusions or ribs abut the modules installed thereon); each accommodating portion corresponds to the at least two guide portions (the accommodating portions which correspond to the modules of figures 1 and 2 include at least two abutments with the protrusions or ribs).
Regarding claims 10-11 and 14-15, Oh discloses the base portion comprises a bottom plate portion (bottom plate of M2), a side of the bottom plate portion of the base portion is defined as a lower part, and an upper part of the accommodating portion is larger than the lower part of the accommodating portion (as discussed at claim 1 the accommodating portion is the portion which receives the respective modules, the lower part of the example modules as shown in figures 3 and 4 is smaller than an upper part), and the accommodating portion is larger than a fitting part of the module corresponding to the accommodating portion (the fitting part of the module is a sub section of the module whereas the accommodating portion refers to all of the module therefor the accommodating portion is larger than the fitting portion).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to interpretation under §112(f), the applicant asserts that the limitations should not be interpreted under §112(f). The limitations are no longer interpreted under §112(f).
At pages 10-12, applicant discusses the rejection in view of Oh et al. Applicant purports that Oh lacks a “module structure”. The examiner notes that “module structure” is not a claim limitation. The examiner further notes the breadth of the term “modules”. Further the claim does not recite divisions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Koberstein et al (US 11,453,267) heat pump bundled module mounting manifold.
Calderone (US 11,440,376) manifold.
Busch et al (US 2023/0141829) holding element for a heating/cooling system.
Gander et al (US 2003/0037828) electro-hydraulic module.
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799