DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the application filed on October 30, 2023 and any subsequent filings.
Claims 32-46 are pending.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 38 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 31 of copending Application No. 18557975 (reference application) and claim 31 of copending Application No. 18557979 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 39 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 33 of copending Application No. 18557979 (reference application) and claim 31 of copending Application No. 18557979 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 24 of copending Application No. 18557975 and claim 25 of copending Application No. 18557981. Although the conflicting claim 31 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claims 24 and 25. Regarding copending Application No. 18557975, the conflicting claim of 24 requires a separator suitable for separating solid material including a separator comprising: a chamber with an inlet and an outlet, a sieve structure forming a permeable barrier between the inlet and the outlet to filter the fluid, the sieve structure thus having an inlet side for unfiltered fluid and an outlet side for filtered fluid, the separator further has a filter pressure regeneration apparatus, a nozzle assembly having at least one cleaning element directed towards the outlet side of the sieve structure, the sieve structure a channel is formed between the chamber, which is covered by claim 32.
Regarding copending Application No. 18557981, the conflicting claim of 25 requires a separator suitable for separating solid material including a separator comprising: a chamber with an inlet and an outlet, a sieve structure forming a permeable barrier between the inlet and the outlet to filter the fluid, the sieve structure thus having an inlet side for unfiltered fluid and an outlet side for filtered fluid, the separator further has a filter pressure regeneration apparatus, a nozzle assembly having at least one cleaning element directed towards the outlet side of the sieve structure, the sieve structure a channel is formed between the chamber, which is covered by claim 32.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 24 of copending Application No. 18557975. Although the conflicting claim 33 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claims 24. Regarding copending Application No. 18557975, the conflicting claim of 24 requires a sensor in the separator, which is covered by claim 33.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of copending Application No. 18557976. Although the conflicting claim 35 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claim 18. Regarding copending Application No. 18557976, the conflicting claim of 18 requires a reservoir, chamber, and sensor, which is covered by claim 35.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 36 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 19 of copending Application No. 18557976. Although the conflicting claim 36 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claim 19. Regarding copending Application No. 18557976, the conflicting claim of 19 requires a sensor and float switch, which is covered by claim 36.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 31 of copending Application No. 18557976. Although the conflicting claim 39 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claim 31. Regarding copending Application No. 18557976, the conflicting claim of 31 requires a pump that recirculates the filtered fluid to the conduit of the filter pressure regeneration apparatus, which is covered by claim 39.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 35 of copending Application No. 18557975 and claim 36 of copending Application No. 18557979. Although the conflicting claim 41 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claims 35 and 36. Regarding copending Application No. 18557975, the conflicting claim of 35 requires a washing machine as a separator, which is covered by claim 41. Regarding copending Application No. 18557979, the conflicting claim of 36 requires a washing machine as a separator, which is covered by claim 41.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 38 of copending Application No. 18557975. Although the conflicting claim 45 is not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in view of claim 38. Regarding copending Application No. 18557975, the conflicting claim of 38 requires a recirculation pump to recirculate fluid to the pressure regeneration apparatus, which is covered by claim 45.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim 32, suitable for separating solid material from a fluid is interpreted as suitable for separating solid material from a fluid if all components recited in the body of the claim are taught or rendered obvious by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “suitable for” in claim 32 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “suitable for” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The separator that separates the solid material from a fluid is rendered indefinite by the use of "suitable for."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32, 35, 36, and 38-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Hallman, et al. U.S. Patent No. 7308808 B2 ("Hallman") in view of Jackson, et al. U.S. Patent No. 20040094470 A1 ("Jackson"), and further view of “Influence of regeneration variables during backwashing treatment into gas-phase after liquid filtration.” Morsch, et al ("Morsch").
Regarding Claim 32, Hallman discloses a separator (fluid processing mechanism 4, Hallman, column 4, line 4-6, Figure 2) suitable for separating solid material from a fluid (particulate filter 125, Hallman, column 4, line 64-66, Figure 2), the separator has a chamber with an inlet (inlet valve 101, Hallman, column 10, line 37-41, Figure 2) and an outlet (outlet valve 106, Hallman, column 10, line 37-41, Figure 2), a sieve structure (molecular sieves 135, Hallman, column 5, line 17-27, Figure 2) forming a permeable barrier between the inlet and the outlet to filter the fluid. The separator has a filter pressure regeneration apparatus (fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2) for dislodging filtered material from the sieve structure (fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2), where the filter pressure regeneration apparatus (fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2) has a conduit
where the filter pressure regeneration apparatus fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2) is arranged to be fed from a cleaning fluid source. The separator has a sensor arranged to sense a state of the separator where the cleaning fluid source is arranged to be activated in accordance with the output from the sensor (optical turbidity sensor 140, Hallman, Column 6 line 19-21).
Hallman does not teach a sieve structure having an inlet side for unfiltered fluid and an outlet side for filtered fluid, nozzle assembly having at least one cleaning jet for directing fluid towards the outlet side of the sieve structure. The sieve structure has a circular cross-section where a channel is formed between the chamber where the fluid is guided circumferentially around the sieve structure through the channel.
Jackson discloses a sieve structure (mesh, Jackson, Pr 4) having an inlet side for unfiltered fluid and an outlet side for filtered fluid (outlet pipe, Jackson, Pr 4), a nozzle assembly (nozzle assembly, Jackson, Pr 4) having at least one cleaning jet for directing fluid towards the outlet (outlet, Jackson, Pr 4) side of the sieve structure (mesh, Jackson, Pr 4) where the sieve structure has a circular cross-section (mesh, Jackson, Pr 4), where a channel is formed between the chamber and the sieve structure such that in use the fluid (water, Jackson, Pr 112, Figure 18f) that is guided circumferentially around the sieve structure through the channel (screen filtration unit 228, Jackson, Pr 112, Figure 18f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the separator of Hallman with the separator of Jackson, because the nozzle assembly of Jackson improves filtration system which is compact, space efficient and straight forward to install and maintain (Jackson, Pr 132). The filter pressure regeneration of Jackson to reduces the flow resistance of the filter which is influenced by backwashing pressure as a result of the characteristic surface forces (Morsch, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 34, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a sensor that is located at the outlet (optical turbidity sensor 140, Hallman, Column 6 line 19-21).
Regarding Claim 35, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a reservoir (storage tank 35, Hallman, column 6, line 19-21, Figure 2) that is provided below the chamber (regeneration cartridge 141, Hallman, column 10, line 37-41, Figure 2) and the sensor (float switch, Jackson, Pr 136) located in the reservoir (tank housing, Jackson, Pr 136).
Regarding Claim 36, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a sensor that is a float switch (float switch, Jackson, Pr 136).
Regarding Claim 38, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a nozzle assembly (nozzle assembly, Jackson, Pr 4) that has a plurality of cleaning nozzles that are rotatable around the central axis of the sieve structure (rotor nozzles 23, Jackson, Pr 66).
Regarding Claim 39, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a water pump (regeneration pump 115, Hallman, column 4, line 18-20, Figure 2) arranged to also drain the separator (drain tray 73, Hallman, column 4, line 16-18, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 40, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a separator (filter unit 1, Jackson, Pr 101where the cleaning fluid source is mains water (Water entering the tank must pass through the filtration unit in order to leave the tank 112 through the outlet 118, Jackson, Pr 101) controlled by an electronic valve (valve 134, Jackson, Pr 101).
Regarding Claim 41, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a washing machine (enclosure 230, Hallman, column 9, line26-30) with a separator (Hallman, column 9, line26-30).
Regarding Claim 42, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a separator that filters a fluid through a sieve structure (mesh, Jackson, Pr 4), detecting at least one state of the separator (optical turbidity sensor 140, Hallman, Column 6 line 19-21), and performing an operation in dependence on the detected state of the separator (Hallman, Column 6 line 19-28).
Regarding Claim 43, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a separator (filter unit 1, Jackson, Pr 78) that have pressure differential (pressure gradient between one side of the partition 511, Jackson, Pr 78) between the filtered side and the unfiltered side of the sieve structure (mesh 13, Jackson, Pr 78).
Regarding Claim 44, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses an operation that operates a pressure regeneration apparatus (fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2) that is arranged to spray (nozzle assembly, Jackson, Pr 4) the filtered side of the sieve structure (mesh, Jackson, Pr 4) with cleaning fluid to dislodge debris from the unfiltered side of the sieve structure (Jackson, Pr 4).
Regarding Claim 45, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraph 50 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 44. The combination of references discloses an operation that includes operating a recirculation pump (regeneration pump 115, Hallman, column 4, line 18-20, Figure 2) to recirculate a portion of the filtered fluid to the pressure regeneration apparatus (fluid regeneration absorption media 135, Hallman, column 5, line 1-3, Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 46, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraph 50 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 44. The combination of references discloses an operation that includes bypass system (bypass line 145, Hallman, column 4, line 40-45, Figure 2) and an electronic valve (valve 134, Jackson, Pr 107).
Claims 33 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Hallman, et al. U.S. Patent No. 7308808 B2 ("Hallman") in view of Jackson, et al. U.S. Patent No. 20040094470 A1 ("Jackson"), “Influence of regeneration variables during backwashing treatment into gas-phase after liquid filtration.” Morsch, et al ("Morsch"), Wright, et al. U.S. Patent No. 20130014843 ("Wright"), and further view of “A novel remote measurement and monitoring system for the measurement of critical washing parameters inside a domestic washing machine.” Ward, et al ("Ward").
Regarding Claim 33, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The combination of references discloses a separator and a sensor but the combination of references does not teach a sensor located at the inlet.
Wright discloses a sensor that is located at the inlet (pressure sensor, Wright, Pr 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the separator of Hallman and Jackson with the sensor located at the inlet of Wright, because the pressure sensors in a washing machine can be used to improve the measurement of shear stress and flow velocity through dynamic pressure (Ward, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 37, the separator of Hallman and Jackson and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 36-40 of this office action to achieve the separator of claim 32. The separator of Hallman, Jackson, and Wright and motivation for combining references outlined in paragraphs 53-56 is disclosed in this office action. The combination of references of separator of Hallman, Jackson, and Wright discloses a sensor that is a pressure sensor (pressure sensor, Wright, Pr 47).
Conclusion
/DeMarkus Jerrell Hodge/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779