DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection relies on element (58) for the closing lips which is not referenced in Kieras. Reference number 58 was mistakenly placed in the previous rejection of record; however, the rejection does later clarify the closing lips are element (1006) and clearly points out embodiment of fig. 9 is being referenced. Correction has been made below.
In response to Applicant's argument that the device of Kieras is only made for high viscosity fluid, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant argues that Kieras doesn’t teach the claim recitation of a first central cylindrical geometry being operatively coupled, once the dispensing tap is open, with a second central cylindrical geometry with which the elastic button is equipped.” However, Applicant has not distinguished these features from Kieras and merely states in the arguments that Kieras just “fails to disclose” each of these recitations. Further, claims 6 and 9 only recite that the body has a first cylindrical shape/geometry/configuration and a dispensing tap has a second cylindrical shape/geometry/configuration but then goes to attribute said second central cylindrical geometry is also attributed to the elastic button. There is no language in the claims as to the unique features of these geometries, including a lack of language around whether these geometries are different, the same, or any relative language whatsoever. Further, the claim only requires that they are shaped and positioned to engage with each other. Therefore, drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). MPEP 2125 (I). In this case, figures 9-10 clearly depict cylindrical geometries of these respective features engaging with one another for operation. Further delineation is required to adequately describe and delineate what is meant by these geometries. Moreover, Fig. 10 clearly depicts a single controllable opening from the tap, thus it is unclear what is meant by the Applicant stating that Kieras fails to teach said feature as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Kieras et al. (US 2021/0347629 A1).
Re: Claim 9, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a tap for dispensing fluids from containers (embodiment of Fig. 9) comprising:
a support body (910) (Fig. 9-10);
an elastic actuating button (952) designed to allow and stop a fluid delivery, the elastic button being operatively connected to the support body (Depicted in Fig. 9-10); and
a first stem or a second stem (974) designed to allow and interrupt a delivery of fluid, the first stem or the second stem being contained in the support body and being operatively connected and operated by the elastic button (Depicted in Figs. 9-10), the first stem or the second stem having an end placed in operative coupling with a fluid outlet end (932) of the body, the first stem or the second stem being equipped with closing lips (1006) at the fluid outlet end of the support body (Fig. 9-10);
wherein the body is equipped with a first central cylindrical geometry designed to impose a single opening dimension of the dispensing tap, being operatively coupled, once the dispensing tap is open, with a second central cylindrical geometry (938, 940) with which the elastic button is equipped (Depicted in Fig. 9); wherein the first central cylindrical geometry of the body and the second central cylindrical geometry of the elastic button are shaped and positioned to engage with each other to define the single opening dimension that is repeatable when the tap is opened (Fig. 10 depicts single opening); and
the first stem is designed for high viscosity fluids and therefore does not decrease the fluid passage section of the body (Fig. 9, Para 3, clear flow path for high viscosity), the first stem having an end in operative coupling with the fluid outlet end of the body shaped with a substantially bell-shaped cross section (972), with sides (at 976) almost perpendicular to the axis of the second stem and which end in closing lips (1006) of the outlet end of the body which are substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the second stem (Fig. 10).
Re: Claim 10, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including the first central cylindrical geometry consists of a first annular recess (941) projecting inside the body and extending in an opposite direction with respect to an opening direction of the first stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), and the second central cylindrical geometry consists of a second annular recess (930) projecting inside the elastic button and extending in the same direction with respect an opening direction of the firs stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), the first annular recess and the second annular recess coming into mutual contact when the delivering tap is in an opening phase and pouring fluids, obtaining a quantity of poured fluid which is always the same and controlled (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 11, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a liquid delivery channel (916) with a triangular cross-section conformation which allows delivering a maximum quantity of fluid regardless of the viscosity of the fluid, the liquid delivery channel being placed in the body connected to the container from which to deliver a fluid (Depicted in Figs. 11A-11C, Para. 77, channel opening outward in a triangular conformation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kieras et al. (US 20210347629 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Blackbourn (US Patent No. 6,470,910).
Re: Claim 6, Kieras discloses the limitations recited in this claim as recited in the rejection of claim 9 above except for the stem having a triangular shape. However, Blackbourn discloses the art recognized alterative between a triangular stem end (20) (Fig. 2) and a bell-shaped stem end (70) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include either a triangular or bell-shaped stem end as taught by Blackbourn, since Blackbourn shows the equivalence of bell shaped and triangular shape for their use in the dispensing art as dispensing end configurations and the selection of any of these known equivalents to close an opening would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Re: Claim 7, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including the first central cylindrical geometry consists of a first annular recess (941) projecting inside the body and extending in an opposite direction with respect to an opening direction of the first stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), and the second central cylindrical geometry consists of a second annular recess (930) projecting inside the elastic button and extending in the same direction with respect an opening direction of the firs stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), the first annular recess and the second annular recess coming into mutual contact when the delivering tap is in an opening phase and pouring fluids, obtaining a quantity of poured fluid which is always the same and controlled (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 8, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a liquid delivery channel (916) with a triangular cross-section conformation which allows delivering a maximum quantity of fluid regardless of the viscosity of the fluid, the liquid delivery channel being placed in the body connected to the container from which to deliver a fluid (Depicted in Figs. 11A-11C, Para. 77, channel opening outward in a triangular conformation).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754