DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Blackbourn does not teach a triangular cross section but instead a tipless cone. However, a review of the claim language in light of the specification, reveals the claimed triangular cross section being frustoconical in nature with a tip cut off as clearly depicted in Fig. 4 of the Applicant’s drawings. Under broadest reasonable interpretation Blackbourn clearly teaches these features. It’s unclear what distinction the Applicant is trying to make without crossing into new matter territory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Kieras et al. (US 2021/0347629 A1).
Re: Claim 9, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a tap for dispensing fluids from containers (embodiment of Fig. 9) comprising:
a support body (910) (Fig. 2C);
an elastic actuating button (952) designed to allow and stop a fluid delivery, the elastic button being operatively connected to the support body (Depicted in Fig. 9-10); and
a first stem or a second stem (974) designed to allow and interrupt a delivery of fluid, the first stem or the second stem being contained in the support body and being operatively connected and operated by the elastic button (Depicted in Figs. 9-10), the first stem or the second stem having an end placed in operative coupling with a fluid outlet end (932) of the body, the first stem or the second stem being equipped with closing lips (58) at the fluid outlet end of the support body (Fig. 2B-2C);
wherein the body is equipped with a first central cylindrical geometry designed to impose a single opening dimension of the dispensing tap, being operatively coupled, once the dispensing tap is open, with a second central cylindrical geometry (938, 940) with which the elastic button is equipped (Depicted in Fig. 9); wherein the first central cylindrical geometry of the body and the second central cylindrical geometry of the elastic button are shaped and positioned to engage with each other to define the single opening dimension that is repeatable when the tap is opened (Fig. 10 depicts single opening); and
the first stem is designed for high viscosity fluids and therefore does not decrease the fluid passage section of the body (Fig. 9, Para 3, clear flow path for high viscosity), the first stem having an end in operative coupling with the fluid outlet end of the body shaped with a substantially bell-shaped cross section (972), with sides (at 976) almost perpendicular to the axis of the second stem and which end in closing lips (1006) of the outlet end of the body which are substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the second stem (Fig. 10).
Re: Claim 10, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including the first central cylindrical geometry consists of a first annular recess (941) projecting inside the body and extending in an opposite direction with respect to an opening direction of the first stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), and the second central cylindrical geometry consists of a second annular recess (930) projecting inside the elastic button and extending in the same direction with respect an opening direction of the firs stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), the first annular recess and the second annular recess coming into mutual contact when the delivering tap is in an opening phase and pouring fluids, obtaining a quantity of poured fluid which is always the same and controlled (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 11, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a liquid delivery channel (916) with a triangular cross-section conformation which allows delivering a maximum quantity of fluid regardless of the viscosity of the fluid, the liquid delivery channel being placed in the body connected to the container from which to deliver a fluid except for expressly stating a cross section (Depicted in Figs. 11A-11C, Para. 77, channel opening outward in a triangular conformation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kieras et al. (US 20210347629 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Blackbourn (US Patent No. 6,470,910).
Re: Claim 6, Kieras discloses the limitations recited in this claim as recited in the rejection of claim 9 above except for the stem having a triangular shape. However, Blackbourn discloses the art recognized alterative between a triangular stem end (20) (Fig. 2) and a bell-shaped stem end (70) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include either a triangular or bell-shaped stem end as taught by Blackbourn, since Blackbourn shows the equivalence of bell shaped and triangular shape for their use in the dispensing art as dispensing end configurations and the selection of any of these known equivalents to close an opening would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Re: Claim 7, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including the first central cylindrical geometry consists of a first annular recess (941) projecting inside the body and extending in an opposite direction with respect to an opening direction of the first stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), and the second central cylindrical geometry consists of a second annular recess (930) projecting inside the elastic button and extending in the same direction with respect an opening direction of the firs stem or the second stem (Depicted in Fig. 9), the first annular recess and the second annular recess coming into mutual contact when the delivering tap is in an opening phase and pouring fluids, obtaining a quantity of poured fluid which is always the same and controlled (Depicted in Fig. 9).
Re: Claim 8, Kieras discloses the claimed invention including a liquid delivery channel (916) with a triangular cross-section conformation which allows delivering a maximum quantity of fluid regardless of the viscosity of the fluid, the liquid delivery channel being placed in the body connected to the container from which to deliver a fluid except for expressly stating a cross section (Depicted in Figs. 11A-11C, Para. 77, channel opening outward in a triangular conformation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references are provided on the PTO-892 teaching the claimed features.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754