DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-20 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, are being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a first action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 10/30/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/09/2023, 03/17/2025, 07/10/2025, 08/27/2025, and 12/17/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation “the terminal” in “an azimuth angle of the terminal…” (underlined emphasis). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests that this sentence be modified as such to overcome this 112(b) rejection: “an azimuth angle of [[the]] a terminal…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-6 depend on parent claim 2, do not cure claim 2 deficiency, and therefore are also being rejected under 112(b).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation “an index of an indexed table”. It is not clear to the Examiner regarding what the “index of the indexed table” is an index of? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-12, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. US Pub 2024/0057005, claiming foreign application priority 2021-04-27 (hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1
Chen discloses an apparatus (“terminal device 1, 2” in Fig. 7 or “the communication apparatus 1200 is applied to a terminal device” in Fig. 12; [0210]) comprising at least one processor (“processor 1210” in Fig. 12; [0210]), and at least one memory including a computer program code (“The memory 1220 stores the computer program, the computer program or instructions, and/or the data that are used for implementing the function of the terminal device” [0210]; Fig. 12), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
obtain settings that define durations of segments (“a quantity of times that a terminal device with a low speed adjusts the timing advance TA value” [0008]) comprised in a transmission period (“In at least one embodiment, the first message includes at least one of uplink data and a random access preamble. In response to the first message including the uplink data, the first information includes first transmission duration. Alternatively, in response to the first message including the random access preamble, the first information includes second transmission duration. Alternatively, in response to the first message including the uplink data and the random access preamble, the first information includes the first transmission duration and the second transmission duration. The first transmission duration is maximum consecutive transmission duration of the uplink data, and the second transmission duration is maximum consecutive transmission duration of the random access preamble.” [0015]), wherein the segments comprise at least one transmission segment (e.g. “time drift” [0006]) and at least one segment for timing advance adjustment (“the quantity of times that the terminal device with a low speed adjusts the timing advance TA value is reduced, and the transmission delay of the uplink signal is reduced.” [0010]);
transmit an uplink transmission (“the first message includes at least one of uplink data and a random access preamble” [0015]) to an access node (i.e. “satellite base station 1, 2” in Fig. 7) comprised in a non-terrestrial network (“In a non-terrestrial network, long-time data transmission due to high mobility of a satellite” [0104]), during the at least one transmission segment (“In at least one embodiment, the first message includes at least one of uplink data and a random access preamble. In response to the first message including the uplink data, the first information includes first transmission duration.” [0015]); and
perform timing advance adjustment after a transmission segment (“a quantity of times that a terminal device with a low speed adjusts the timing advance TA value is reduced, and a transmission delay of the uplink signal is reduced.” [0028]).
Regarding claim 7
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to transmit an indication indicating its location (“The second parameter includes at least one of the following: location information of a serving cell of the terminal device, location information of a serving beam of the terminal device, or location information of the terminal device.” [0023]) to the access node (“network device” [0023]).
Regarding claim 8
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain, from the access node, an indexed table (i.e. “table” [0178]) comprising the settings that define, for an estimated elevation angle of the terminal device (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter. For example, the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on an orbital status or six orbital parameters, and the location information of the terminal device.” [0178]), the durations of the segments comprised in the transmission period (“The terminal device determines the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data by searching a table. Optionally, the terminal device determines the orbital altitude of the satellite based on the ephemeris parameter, and determine the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data based on the orbital altitude and elevation angle of the satellite by searching a table.” [0178]).
Regarding claim 9
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 8,
Chen further discloses wherein the settings further define timing advance values to be applied in each segment (“a relationship between an orbital altitude of a satellite and a quantity of time units is defined based on impact of a minimum elevation angle on timing advance TA. In Example 3, a quantity of time units of a random access preamble sequence and a quantity of time units of uplink data is determined based on the orbital altitude of the satellite and the elevation angle of the satellite.” [0169].
Regarding claim 10
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 8,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain, from the access node (i.e. “network”), an indication of an index of the indexed table (“after the terminal device accesses the network, the satellite sends the system information to the terminal device by using the higher layer signaling, and the terminal device determines, based on the system information, corresponding transmission duration for transmitting the uplink data by searching a table.” [0155]) that corresponds to the settings that define, for the estimated elevation angle of the terminal device (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter. For example, the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on an orbital status or six orbital parameters, and the location information of the terminal device.” [0178]), the durations of the segments comprised in the transmission period (“The terminal device determines the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data by searching a table. Optionally, the terminal device determines the orbital altitude of the satellite based on the ephemeris parameter, and determine the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data based on the orbital altitude and elevation angle of the satellite by searching a table.” [0178]).
Regarding claim 11
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is comprised in the terminal device (“The communication apparatus 1200 provided in this embodiment is applied to the terminal device to complete the method performed by the terminal device” [0212]; Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 12
Chen discloses an apparatus (“the communication apparatus 1200 is applied to a network device. Specifically, the communication apparatus 1200 is a network device, or is an apparatus that supports the network device to implement a function of the network device in any one of the foregoing embodiments.” [0211]; Fig. 12) comprising at least one processor (“processor 1210” in Fig. 12; [0211]), and at least one memory (“memory 1220” in Fig. 12; [0211]) including a computer program code (“the computer program stored in the memory 1220, to complete the method performed by the network device in any one of the foregoing embodiments” [0211]), wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to:
define an indexed table (i.e. “table” [0178]) that defines, for a terminal device (“terminal device 1, 2” in Fig. 7 or “the communication apparatus 1200 is applied to a terminal device” in Fig. 12; [0210]), a setting that defines durations of segments (“a quantity of times that a terminal device with a low speed adjusts the timing advance TA value” [0008]) comprised in a transmission period (“In at least one embodiment, the first message includes at least one of uplink data and a random access preamble. In response to the first message including the uplink data, the first information includes first transmission duration. Alternatively, in response to the first message including the random access preamble, the first information includes second transmission duration. Alternatively, in response to the first message including the uplink data and the random access preamble, the first information includes the first transmission duration and the second transmission duration. The first transmission duration is maximum consecutive transmission duration of the uplink data, and the second transmission duration is maximum consecutive transmission duration of the random access preamble.” [0015]), wherein the segments comprise at least one transmission segment (e.g. “time drift” [0006]) and at least one segment for timing advance adjustment (“the quantity of times that the terminal device with a low speed adjusts the timing advance TA value is reduced, and the transmission delay of the uplink signal is reduced.” [0010]), and wherein the indexed table comprises a plurality of ranges of elevation angles with corresponding settings (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter. For example, the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on an orbital status or six orbital parameters, and the location information of the terminal device.” [0178]);
obtain an indication regarding an index (i.e. “table” [0155]) that defines the setting that is applicable to an elevation angle of the terminal device (“after the terminal device accesses the network, the satellite sends the system information to the terminal device by using the higher layer signaling, and the terminal device determines, based on the system information, corresponding transmission duration for transmitting the uplink data by searching a table.” [0155]);
schedule a transmission, wherein the transmission is an uplink transmission (“the first message includes at least one of uplink data and a random access preamble” [0015]); and
receive the transmission from the terminal device according to the setting that is applicable to the elevation angle of the terminal device (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter. For example, the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on an orbital status or six orbital parameters, and the location information of the terminal device.” [0178]).
Regarding claim 15
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain, from the terminal device, an indication indicating the location of the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 15 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 15 corresponds to apparatus claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the apparatus is comprised in an access node that is comprised in a non-terrestrial network.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 19 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 12. Therefore apparatus claim 19 corresponds to apparatus claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 12 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
A method comprising:
obtaining settings that define, for an estimated elevation angle of a terminal device with a serving satellite, durations of segments comprised in a transmission period, wherein the segments
comprise at least one transmission segment and at least one segment for timing advance adjustment; and
transmitting an uplink transmission to an access node comprised in a non-terrestrial network, during the at least one transmission segment[[ and adjusting timing advance of the uplink transmission during the at least one segment for timing advance adjustment performing timing advance adjustment after a transmission segment.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 20 is drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. US Pub 2024/0057005, claiming foreign application priority 2021-04-27 (hereinafter “Chen”), and in view of Kim et al. US Pub 2020/015350 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 2
Chen previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 1,
Chen further discloses wherein the obtained settings (i.e. timing advance values) are defined for the an estimated elevation angle (“Refer to FIG. 10B. The impact of the elevation angle of the satellite on the timing advance TA.” [0170])
Chen does not specifically teach wherein the obtained settings are defined for an azimuth angle of the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the obtained settings are defined for an azimuth angle of the terminal device (“When the position of the satellite and the terminal (or earth station) is expressed in ECEF coordinates, the azimuth and elevation, which direct the satellite, may be determined.” [0164]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen’s method for performing timing advance adjustment in a satellite communication, to include Kim’s method for timing adjustment and beam management for a mobile base station, in order to perform a handover for a satellite base station (Kim [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Kim’s method for timing adjustment and beam management for a mobile base station into Chen’s method for performing timing advance adjustment in a satellite communication since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 3
Chen, as modified by Kim, previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 2,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to estimate the elevation angle of the terminal device to the a serving satellite of the terminal device (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter. For example, the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on an orbital status or six orbital parameters, and the location information of the terminal device.” [0178]).
Regarding claim 4
Chen, as modified by Kim, previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 3,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to estimate the elevation angle based on a location of the terminal device obtained from a satellite ephemeris (“the terminal device determines the elevation angle of the satellite based on location information of the terminal device and a satellite ephemeris parameter.” [0178]).
Kim further discloses a location of the terminal device obtained from a global navigation satellite system (“a geostationary equatorial orbit (GEO) satellite” [0186]).
Regarding claim 5
Chen, as modified by Kim, previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 3,
Chen further discloses wherein the apparatus is further caused to transmit an indication (i.e. “uplink data”) indicating the estimated elevation angle to the access node (“The terminal transmits uplink data to the satellite base station, or encodes the uplink data by using channel coding, and the encoded uplink data is transmitted to the satellite base station after constellation modulation.” [0113]).
Regarding claim 6
Chen, as modified by Kim, previously discloses the apparatus according to claim 5,
Chen further discloses wherein the indication comprises an index of an indexed table (e.g. “table”) transmitted by the access node (“The terminal device determines the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data by searching a table. Optionally, the terminal device determines the orbital altitude of the satellite based on the ephemeris parameter, and determine the quantity of time units of the random access preamble sequence and the quantity of time units of the uplink data based on the orbital altitude and elevation angle of the satellite by searching a table.” [0178]).
Regarding claim 13
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the setting is defined for the elevation angle and an azimuth angle of the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 13 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 13 corresponds to apparatus claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 14
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the apparatus is further caused to transmit the indexed table to the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 14 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claim 6. Therefore apparatus claim 14 corresponds to apparatus claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 6 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the apparatus is further caused to estimate the elevation angle and an azimuth angle of the terminal device based on the location of the terminal device and satellite ephemeris data.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claims 2 and 4. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to apparatus claims 2 and 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claims 2 and 4 rejections above.
Regarding claim 17
The apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the apparatus is further caused to determine, based on the indexed table, settings corresponding to the estimated elevation angle and the estimated azimuth angle and to transmit information regarding the settings corresponding to the estimated elevation angle to the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claims 2 and 10. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to apparatus claims 2 and 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claims 2 and 10 rejections above.
Regarding claim 18
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the apparatus is further caused to obtain, from the terminal device, an estimation of the elevation angle and an estimation of an azimuth angle, or obtain the indication regarding the index that defines the setting that is applicable to the elevation angle of the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 18 are similar to the scope and subject matter as claimed in apparatus claims 2 and 10. Therefore apparatus claim 18 corresponds to apparatus claims 2 and 10 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claims 2 and 10 rejections above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411