DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US20190229647).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a piezoelectric drive device (Fig. 3), comprising: a frame (200) comprising a deformable part (central portion deforms), the deformable part comprising a first side arm (240), a second side arm (241) opposite to the first side arm, and a bottom arm (portion connecting both arms horizontally) connecting the first side arm and the second side arm, the first side arm and the second side arm being inclined towards each other with respect to the bottom arm (both arms converge into each other close to the bottom arm); a first piezoelectric element (220) and a second piezoelectric element (221), the first piezoelectric element being arranged between the frame and the first side arm of the deformable part, the second piezoelectric element being arranged between the frame and the second side arm of the deformable part, both the first piezoelectric element and the second piezoelectric element being configured to deform the deformable part; and an actuating part (250, 251) arranged on the bottom arm of the deformable part (top side of the figure), and configured to move driven by a deformation of the deformable part.
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 3 of Gao discloses the first piezoelectric element has a first end connected to the frame and a second end connected to the first side arm of the deformable part, and is configured to expand or shrink to deform the deformable part, the second piezoelectric element has a first end connected to the frame and a second end connected to the second side arm of the deformable part, and is configured to expand or shrink to deform the deformable part.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 3 shows the second end of the first piezoelectric element matching with the first side arm of the deformable part in shape and orientation, and the second end of the second piezoelectric element matches with the second side arm of the deformable part in shape and orientation, a direction perpendicular to the first side arm of the deformable part intersects with an extending direction of the bottom arm of the deformable part at a first included angle, and a direction perpendicular to the second side arm of the deformable part intersects with the extending direction of the bottom arm of the deformable part at a second included angle.
Regarding claim 4, in Fig. 3 Gao discloses a body (200); and a first side portion and a second side portion extending from opposite ends of the body respectively, wherein the deformable part extends from middle of the body, and is located between the first side portion and the second side portion, the deformable part forms a first gap and a second gap, respectively, with the first side portion and the second side portion, the first piezoelectric element is arranged in the first gap, the second piezoelectric element is arranged in the second gap, the first end of the first piezoelectric element is connected with the first side portion, and the first end of the second piezoelectric element is connected with the second side portion.
Regarding claim 5, the distance separating the first ends of the arm portions is smaller than the distance between the second ends in a substantially “A” shape.
Regarding claim 6, in Fig. 3 Gao shows grooves formed between the side arms and the body and the side arms and the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 7, two actuating parts (250, 251) are provided and arranged on the bottom arm and adjacent to the second end of the first side arm and the second end of the second side arm.
Regarding claim 8, the actuating parts are symmetrical with respect to a center line of the bottom arm perpendicular to the extending direction of the bottom arm.
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 4 shows only one actuating part arranged on the bottom arm.
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 4 shows the actuating part protrudes from the bottom arm of the deformable and comprising a spherical-segment shape.
Regarding claim 11, the claimed limitation is not considered a structural limitation, and therefore given little patentable weight.
Regarding claim 13, the deformable part is arranged in the middle of the frame and has a symmetrical structure.
Regarding claim 14, Gao shows the deformable part of the frame and the actuating part are integrally formed.
Regarding claim 15, the piezoelectric elements are adhered to the frame and the deformable part.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao.
Regarding claim 12, Gao discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose the angle between the bottom arm of the deformable part and the side arm ranging from 24°-26°. However, it is the examiner's position that determining the angle between the side arm and the bottom arm is an obvious matter of design choice and it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the specific angles because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to choose from the finite number of identified and predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397). In this case, angles between 24°-26°, would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application based on available space, desired profile and/or actuation design.
Claims 16-20 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Hills (US6373170, hereinafter Hills.
Regarding claim 16, Gao discloses the invention as explained above, but fails to explicitly disclose a movable member configured to be fitted with the actuating part of the
piezoelectric drive device and to move under the drive of the actuating part; and
a retaining spring arranged to the piezoelectric drive device and configured to retain
the piezoelectric drive device to press the actuating part against the movable member. Hills discloses a piezoelectric drive device comprising a movable member (14) and a retaining spring structure (54) used as a pre-load mechanism. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the drive mechanism disclosed by Gao in the structure disclosed by Hills to provide a piezoelectric drive with a pre-loading mechanism used to force the head against the driven member.
Regarding claims 17-20, please refer to the explanation above in item 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references disclose piezoelectric drive elements comprising triangular shapes.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837