DETAILED ACTION
Applicant cancels claims 4, 7-9, 11-12, 14-22, 24, 26, 29-35, 37, 39-42, 44-46, 49, 51-54, 56-60 and 62-65. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25, 27-28, 36, 38, 43, 47-48, 50, 55, 61 and 66 are currently pending. Claims 36, 38, 43, 47-48, 50, 55, 61 and 66 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28 are currently under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28, drawn to a composition and a reaction mixture, in the reply filed March 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 36, 38, 43, 47-48, 50, 55, 61 and 66 are withdrawn from further consideration to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 30, 2026, and is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed November 10, 2023; February 27, 2026; and May 13, 2026 have been considered.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/patents-application- process/filing-online/legal-framework-efs-web), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - The incorporation by reference paragraph required by 37 CFR 1.834(c)(1),
1.835(a)(2), or 1.835(b)(2) is missing, defective or incomplete.
Required response – Applicant must:
Amend the Sequence Listing Incorporation by Reference paragraph at page 1 of the
specification. It is noted the Sequence Listing Incorporation by Reference paragraph lists the size of the ASCII text file as 56 kilobytes, whereas the ASCII text file itself lists the size as 56,846 bytes.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see Page 23, [0097] and Page 39, [0137], ). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of the term NextSeq™, Triton® X-100, Tween®20, (Page 83, [0260], Page 73, [0219] and Page 74, [0221]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 27 and 28 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 3-4, “a first programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a first binding site”, should read “a first programmable DNA binding unit that specifically binds to a first binding site”.
In claim 1, lines 6-7, “a second programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a second binding site”, should read “a second programmable DNA binding unit that specifically binds to a second binding site”.
In claim 10, lines 3-4, “a first guide RNA (gRNA) capable of specifically binding to the first binding site of the target dsDNA”, should read “a first guide RNA (gRNA) that specifically binds to the first binding site of the target dsDNA”.
In claim 10, lines 5-6, “a second gRNA capable of specifically binding to the second binding site on the target dsDNA”, should read “a second gRNA that specifically binds to the second binding site on the target dsDNA”.
In claim 27, lines 3-4, “a third programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a third binding site on the target dsDNA”, should read “a third programmable DNA binding unit that specifically binds to a third binding site on the target dsDNA”.
In claim 28, lines 5-7, “a first programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a first binding site”, should read “a first programmable DNA binding unit that specifically binds to a first binding site”.
In claim 28, lines 8-10, “a second programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a second binding site”, should read “a second programmable DNA binding unit that specifically binds to a second binding site”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Steemers et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2023/0279385 A1, published September 07, 2023, effectively filed August 18, 2020),
Regarding claim 1, Steemers teaches a composition comprising a first protein complex and a second protein complex (Page 4, [0080], [0082] and [0090] and Page 14, [0336]). Steemers teaches the first protein complex comprises a transposome and a first programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a first binding site on a target double-stranded DNA (dsDNA) and the second protein complex comprises the transposome and a second programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a second binding site on the targeted dsDNA (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0538]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14). Steemers teaches the transposome comprises a transposase and two copies of an adaptor (Page 2, [0014], Page 3, [0033], Page 7, [0169], Page 10, [0282] and [0286], Page 14, [0336] and [0342], Page 22, [0447], Page 24, [0482] and Figs. 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 2, Steemers teaches plurality of protein complex pairs, wherein each of the plurality of protein complex pairs comprises the first protein complex and the second protein complex (Page 4, [0080], [0082] and [0090] and Page 14, [0336]). Steemers teaches the first binding site for each of the plurality of protein complex pairs is different from each other and/or the second binding site for each of the plurality of protein complex pairs is different from each other (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0539]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14). Steemers teaches all of the plurality of protein complex pairs has the same transposome (Page 14, [0336]).
Regarding claim 3, Steemers teaches the target dsDNA for two or more of the plurality of protein complex pairs are different (Page 2, [0012] and [0029], Pages 12-13, [0323]-[0324], Page 28, [0539] and Page 39, [0693]).
Regarding claim 5, Steemers teaches the plurality of protein complex pairs comprises about 5-3,000 protein complex pairs (Page 4, [0080], [0082] and [0090], Page 14, [0336], Pages, 12-13, [0323]-[0325], Page 15, [0346], Pages 20-21, [0427]-[0428], Page 27, [0533] and Page 28, [0539]).
Regarding claim 6, Steemers teaches the adaptor is a dsDNA or a DNA/RNA duplex, and wherein the adaptor is about 5-200 base pairs in length (Page 14, [0342] and Page 17, [0377]-[0379]).
Regarding claim 10, Steemers teaches the first programmable DNA binding unit comprises a nuclease-deficient CRISPR associated protein (dCAS protein) and a first guide RNA (gRNA) capable of specifically binding to the first binding site of the target dsDNA and the second programmable DNA binding unit comprises the dCAS protein and a second gRNA capable of specifically binding to the second binding site on the target dsDNA (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400]-[0404], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0538]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 13, Steemers teaches the transposase is present in a fusion protein with the dCAS protein of the first programmable DNA binding unit, the dCAS protein of the second programmable DNA binding unit, or both (Page 11, [0314] and Fig. 11).
Regarding claim 23, Steemers teaches the second binding site is 1-50000 nucleotides upstream or downstream of the first binding site on the target dsDNA, or wherein the second binding site is 100-500 nucleotides upstream or downstream of the first binding site on the target dsDNA (Page 25, [0495], Page 3, [0039], Page 17, [0377]-[0379], Page 7, [0158]-[0159], Page 28, [0538], Page 46, [0821] and Figs. 6, 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 25, Steemers teaches the distance between the first binding site and the second binding site on each target dsDNA is substantially the same, or wherein the distance between the first binding site and the second binding site on at least two target dsDNAs are different (Page 25, [0495], Page 3, [0039], Page 17, [0377]-[0379], Page 7, [0158]-[0159], Page 28, [0538], Page 46, [0821] and Figs. 6, 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 27, Steemers teaches a third protein complex, wherein the third protein complex comprises the transposome and a third programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a third binding site on the target dsDNA (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 21, [0433], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0538]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 28, Steemers teaches composition comprising a plurality of protein complex pairs, wherein each of the plurality of protein complex pairs comprises a first protein complex and a second protein complex (Page 4, [0080], [0082] and [0090] and Page 14, [0336]). Steemers teaches the first protein complex comprises a transposome and a first programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a first binding site on a target double-stranded DNA (dsDNA), and the second protein complex comprises the transposome and a second programmable DNA binding unit capable of specifically binding to a second binding site on the target dsDNA (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0538]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14). Steemers teaches the transposome comprises a transposase and two copies of an adaptor (Page 2, [0014], Page 3, [0033], Page 7, [0169], Page 10, [0282] and [0286], Page 14, [0336] and [0342], Page 22, [0447], Page 24, [0482] and Figs. 11 and 14). Steemers teaches the first binding site for each of the plurality of protein complex pairs is different from each other and/or the second binding site for each of the plurality of protein complex pairs is different from each other (Page 11, [0314], Page 12, [0317], Page 18, [0400], Page 19, [0418], Pages 20-21, [0426]-[0427], Page 23, [0463], Page 28, [0539]-[0540], Page 45, [0799] and Figs. 11 and 14). Steemers teaches all of the plurality of protein complex pairs has the same transposome (Page 14, [0336]). Steemers teaches sample nucleic acids suspected of comprising the target dsDNA (Page 6, [0149]). Steemers teaches a DNA polymerase and a plurality of dNTPs (Page 20 , [0424] and Page 29, [0552]).
Steemers teaches each and every limitation of claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28 and therefore Steemers anticipates claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13, 23, 25 and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5, 11, 16, 20, 33-34 and 42 of copending Application No. 18/558,035 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles slightly different it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to create a composition comprising a first protein complex and a second protein complex or create a composition comprising a plurality of protein complexes using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JESSICA D PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684