DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 01/30/2026.
Claims 6-7, and 9 are pending in the application. Claims 6-7, and 9 have been amended, claim 8 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 01/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s)
of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of (US-20230247574-A1).
A) Regarding independent claims 6 and 9, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
B) Regarding dependent claim 7, see the U.S.C. 103 rejection below.
The Claim Rejections section below details the rejections of the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 20200015316 A1) in view of Ghanbarinejad et al. (US-20230247574-A1).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Islam teaches a radio communication node (Figs. 1-2, [0044], describe the architecture of nodes, such as IAB donor nodes, IAB nodes and access nodes, and Figs. 4-5, [0053], the import components of the radio communication node), comprising:
a receiver ([0056], lines 1-9, [0080], the receiving unit (receiver), is a part of the transceiver, “Transceiver 402 may include at least one receiver 406 and at least one transmitter 408. Receiver 406 may include hardware, firmware, and/or software code executable by a processor for receiving data, the code comprising instructions and being stored in a memory (e.g., computer-readable medium). Receiver 406 may be, for example, a radio frequency (RF) receiver) that receives from an upper node of the radio communication node an instruction of a transmission timing to the upper node via a Medium Access Control Control Element (MAC-CE) ([0056], “In an aspect, receiver 406 may receive signals transmitted by an upstream node”, the abstract depicts that the upstream node (upper node [0043], lines 11-12) send the instruction using MAC CE as indicating (instructing) a transmission timing, [0081], lines 1-2, where same MAC CE is used to convey TA values for both DL Tx and UL Tx, [0009]-[0010]); and a processor (Fig. 4, [0055], lines 1-4, [0007], lines 5-10, the control unit which is a processor as states in [0100], lines 10-11, “ the processor may be any conventional processor, controller, microcontroller, or state machine. “) that determines the transmission timing to the upper node based on the instruction ([0007], lines 5-10 and [0011], lines 5-11, describe the upper node (upstream node or the node that closer to a network such as IAB-donor, [0043]) provides instruction such as UL Tx TA to the downstream node, which uses the instruction to decide the transmission timing for communication).
Islam fails to teach wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently.
However, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently ([0233] and [0235] specified a control message that triggers or activates a TX timing alignment mode with a semi-persistent scheduling (“SPS”). [0241]-[244] and [0248] describes the control message (instruction) may be a MAC-CE message for activation of a semi-persistent configuration or triggering an aperiodic configuration. That implies the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Islam to incorporate the teachings of Ghanbarinejad (in analogous art) by determining wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently, which allows service providers to reduce cell planning and spectrum planning efforts while utilizing the wireless backhaul technology. Doing that would increasing deployment flexibility and reducing 5G rollout costs (Ghanbarinejad, [0060]).
Regarding claim 7 (Currently amended), Islam and Ghanbarinejad teach the radio communication node according to claim 6.
Islam further teaches wherein the processor determines, based on the instruction, which one of the following cases is to be applied as the transmission timing to the upper node (Claim 40, lines 3-7, [0070], lines 4-10, the processor (control unit by the TA applying component) uses the TA command, instruction, received via MAC CE to determine the suitable transmission timing for communication with upstream or downstream nodes, [0046] lines 2-5 and Fig. 3 illustrates examples of cases for aligning timing transmission among IAB-nodes and donor nodes, also, [0084], lines 3-8, the controller (processor) can schedule the transmission based at least in part on the UL Tx TA instruction and specified case that applied to the network, [0077], “In one example, TA applying component 142 may determine the time granularity based at least in part on (e.g., as a function of) a tone spacing configured by the upstream node 501, such as based on a minimum, maximum, or other tone spacing, a subcarrier spacing (SCS), etc.” that confirm the determination consider the specific case that applies to the network configuration [0062], lines 15-18): a first case, in which alignment of a DL transmission timing between the radio communication node and the upper node is performed ([0028], lines 12-16, [0046] and Fig.3 Case1, illustrate “ Case 1 300 illustrates supporting DL transmission timing alignment across IAB nodes and donor nodes (e.g., across DU and parent node)” and as described in [0081], lines 13-18, how the control unit or the processor uses the MAC CE which contain TA instructions to perform the alignment “ In a specific example, 4 out of 6 bits of relative TA command in MAC-CE can be used to control UL TX TA (e.g., covers −8 to +7 range), and the remaining 2 bits out of 6 bits of relative TA command in MAC-CE provide DL TX TA (e.g., covers −2 to +1 range)”), a second case, in which the alignment of the first case and alignment of a DL transmission timing and a UL transmission timing within the radio communication node are performed (Fig. 3 Case 2, [0046], lines 21-24, “In another example, Case 2 310 illustrates supporting DL and UL transmission timing aligned within an IAB node (e.g., DU), such that a DU's DL/UL timing can be aligned with an MT's UL Tx timing within an IAB node.”, where the MT's UL Tx (Mobile Terminal’s Uplink Transmission) is a part of the radio communication node [0088], and the processor can manage this alignment using TA value “TA applying component 142, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 412, memory 416, transceiver 402, etc., can schedule, based at least in part on the UL Tx TA, transmission of the uplink communications to the upstream AN-F (or other upstream node(s))”, [0084, lines 4-8) , and a third case, in which the alignment of the first case and alignment of a DL reception timing and a UL reception timing within the radio communication node are performed (Fig. 3 Case 3, [0046], lines 24-27, describe the third case, “In another example, Case 3 320 illustrates supporting DL and UL reception timing aligned within an IAB node (e.g., DU), such that a DU's DL/Rx timing can be aligned with a MT's DL Rx timing within an IAB node” the control unit /processor can use the TA value to ensure the alignment for case 1 [0076], lines 1-4 and the control unit /processor uses the TA value to schedule both DL and UL receptions within the radio communication node, as described in [0084], lines 4-8).
Regarding claim 9 (Currently Amended) Islam teaches a radio communication method performed by a radio communication node (Figs 1-2, 4-7, [0006], a method for wireless communications is provided that includes receiving, by a first node in a wireless network), comprising:
receiving from an upper node of the radio communication node an instruction of a transmission timing to the upper node via a Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) ([0056], “In an aspect, receiver 406 may receive signals transmitted by an upstream node”, the abstract depicts that the upstream node (upper node [0043], lines 11-12) send the instruction using MAC CE as indicating (instructing) a transmission timing, [0081], lines 1-2, where same MAC CE is used to convey TA values for both DL Tx and UL Tx, [0009]-[0010]); and determining the transmission timing to the upper node based on the instruction (([0007], lines 5-10 and [0011], lines 5-11, describe the upper node (upstream node or the node that closer to a network such as IAB-donor, [0043]) provides instruction such as UL Tx TA to the downstream node, which uses the instruction to decide the transmission timing for communication).
Islam fails to teach wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently.
However, Ghanbarinejad teaches wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently ([0233] and [0235] specified a control message that triggers or activates a TX timing alignment mode with a semi-persistent scheduling (“SPS”). [0241]-[244] and [0248] describes the control message (instruction) may be a MAC-CE message for activation of a semi-persistent configuration or triggering an aperiodic configuration. That implies the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Islam to incorporate the teachings of Ghanbarinejad (in analogous art) by determining wherein the instruction of the MAC-CE is configured semi-persistently, which allows service providers to reduce cell planning and spectrum planning efforts while utilizing the wireless backhaul technology. Doing that would increasing deployment flexibility and reducing 5G rollout costs (Ghanbarinejad, [0060]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
LIU et al. (US-20220039038-A1), Harada et al. (US-20210329540-A1), Peele et al. (US-20200064027-A1), Zhou et al. (CN-110311762-A) and Covens et al. (US-20200191745-A1) teach methods relate to communicating timing advance (TA) values in an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network in wireless communication systems.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463