DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 04/03/2026.
Objection to claims is withdrawn since it has been amended accordingly.
Rejection to claims under 35 USC § 112 is withdrawn since it has been amended accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims filed on 04/03/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments related solely to newly added limitations addressed in the instant Office Action with newly identified prior art, thus rendering applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 24-25, 29-30, 35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240171962, hereinafter ‘Li”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Li unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding Claim 16, Li teaches A user equipment (UE) (Fig. 10 and a UE 8000, see para 0111) for wireless communication, the user equipment comprising:
a processor (Fig. 10, processing component, see para [0113]); and
a wireless transceiver (Fig. 10, a communication component, see para [0119]) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a time associated with a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE and a timer relating to a coverage interruption of a network (para [0046]: Sending the indication to the UE may further include: sending the indication while configuring an eDRX parameter and/or a PSM parameter for the UE (The an eDRX parameter and/or a PSM parameter is interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE”, see para [0073] of Li). For example, the core network device may also send the indication to the UE. The core network device may send the indication to the UE while configuring the eDRX parameter and/or the PSM parameter for the UE. For example, the core network device may send the indication (interpreted as “a timer relating to a coverage interruption of a network”, see para [0075] of Li) to the UE during the process of the UE performing a TAU and/or attaching.) (para [0073]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments and FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 , in order to further save the power, the PSM is introduced. In the PSM state, downlink data are unreachable and the UE is in a dormant state. At this time, there are two ways for waking up the UE. The first is when the UE needs to send uplink data and the second is when a TAU timer expires. When entering the PSM, the UE no longer receives the paging message and the downlink data. T3321 and T3412 are two timers. T3321 and T3412 are configured by the core network device for the UE. Usually, when the UE attaches to the network and performs the TAU, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and/or the eDRX parameter, as well as time duration parameters of T3321 and T3412 to the UE (The TAU timer/T3412 (timer) discussed in Li is interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE”, see Fig. 6 of Li)).
Fig. 6 of Li is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 6 of Li)
(para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter (interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE”) and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4 (interpreted as “a timer relating to a coverage interruption of a network”), and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication (interpreted as “determine a time associated with a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE and a timer relating to a coverage interruption of a network”). Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message. In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.), wherein a start time of the determined time corresponds to a start of the coverage interruption of the network when a coverage interruption window overlaps a time window of the PSM (para [0047]: Sending the indication to the UE may further include: sending the indication while configuring an eDRX parameter and/or a PSM parameter for the UE. …) (para [0048]: In embodiments of the disclosure, when the set time duration (interpreted as “a time window of the PSM”, see Fig. 6 and para [0073], e.g., T3412) or the set timing is determined by the access network device, the UE is indicated by the access network device not to perform the cell search in the set time duration or before the set timing (interpreted as “determine a time associated with a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE and a timer relating to a coverage interruption of a network”). For example, the access network device predicts that a timing when a current network is unable to provide network coverage for the UE is T1 and a next timing when the current network is able to provide network coverage for the UE is T2 and indicates the UE not to perform the cell search during a time duration of T2−T1.) (para [0051]: Step 301, an indication sent by a network device is received.) (para [0056]: The given time condition (interpreted as “determined time”, see para [0036]: …the indication is used for indicating the UE not to perform a cell search under a given time condition.) includes within a set time duration or before a set timing (The ‘set time duration’ is interpreted as “a time window of the PSM”, and the ‘given time condition (‘T2-T1’) includes within a set time duration’ is interpreted as “a start time (‘T1’) of the determined time corresponds to a start of the coverage interruption of the network when a coverage interruption window overlaps a time window of the PSM”): in which the set time duration or the set timing is determined by a core network device and/or an access network device.) (para [0061]: when it is determined that the UE is configured with a PSM, not to monitor the paging message during an operation duration of an activation timer or indicating the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer (interpreted as “a start time of the determined time corresponds to a start of the coverage interruption of the network when a coverage interruption window overlaps a time window of the PSM”).)
enter the power saving mode of the UE at the determined time (para [0072]: Then the indication may include an indication of not performing the cell search, and when the eDRX parameter is configured to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the eDRX, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it does not perform the cell search starting from T4 and it enters a dormant state without monitoring the paging message, that is, the UE does not monitor the paging message within one or more PTWs (interpreted as “enter the power saving mode of the UE at the determined time”).).
Regarding claim 29, it is a method claim corresponding to the user equipment claim 16, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 35, Li teaches A network device (Fig. 1: The base stations 12 are coupled to the network management device 13) for wireless communication, the network device comprising:
a processor (para [0008]: The network device includes a processor), and
a wireless transceiver (para [0008]: The network device includes … a transceiver) coupled to the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine configuration information regarding a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of a user equipment (UE), wherein the timer relating to the PSM includes a timer associated with the coverage interruption of the network (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter (interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of a user equipment (UE)”) and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU . When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4 (interpreted as “a timer associated with the coverage interruption of the network”), and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE.) (para [0073]: the core network device configures the PSM parameter and/or the eDRX parameter, as well as time duration parameters of T3321 and T3412 to the UE (The TAU timer/T3412 (timer) discussed in Li is interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE”, see Fig. 6 of Li)).
Fig. 6 of Li is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 6 of Li)
; and
transmit, via the wireless transceiver, a message to the UE, wherein the message includes the configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM and the timer associated with the coverage interruption of the network (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4, and a next timing for network coverage is T5, and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4, and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication (interpreted as “transmit, via the wireless transceiver, a message to the UE, wherein the message includes the configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM and the timer associated with the coverage interruption of the network”), it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message. In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.), and wherein the network device is at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device and a core network (CN) device (Fig. 1 and para [0030]: The base stations 12 are coupled to the network management device 13 respectively. The network management device 13 may be a core network device in the wireless communication system.).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding Claim 17, Li teaches The UE of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine a second time associated with the timer relating to the PSM; and the coverage interruption of the network (para [0072]: In embodiments of the disclosure, when the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4, and a next timing for network coverage is T5, and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4. Then the indication may include an indication of not performing the cell search, and when the eDRX parameter is configured to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication (interpreted as “determine a second time associated with the timer relating to the PSM; and the coverage interruption of the network” and the T5 is interpreted as “a second time associated with the timer relating to the PSM”). Under the eDRX, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it does not perform the cell search starting from T4 and it enters a dormant state without monitoring the paging message, that is, the UE does not monitor the paging message within one or more PTWs.); and
leave the PSM of the UE at the second time, wherein the second time is an end time of the coverage interruption (para [0033]: a network device may configure a corresponding power saving mode for the UE. For example, when the UE wakes up from a DRX/eDRX, it needs to monitor a paging message or the UE wake up from a PSM, it needs to perform a tracking area update (TAU) (interpreted as “leave the PSM of the UE …”).) (para [0049]: For example, a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4, and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (interpreted as “second time”), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4.) (para [0125]: The network device in the embodiments of the disclosure, based on a cell coverage rule, indicates the UE not to search for a cell and not to monitor a corresponding paging message according to a power saving mode configured for the UE when it is determined that the cell is unable to provide services for the UE. According to current network coverage characteristics and based on a power saving mode supported by the UE, the embodiments of the disclosure may determine a more accurate power saving mode for the UE to indicate the UE to monitor the paging message based on the determined mode. According to the paging message monitor mode determined by the network device, the UE in the embodiments of the disclosure may not monitor the paging message within the indicated time duration, thereby achieving a better power saving effect.).
Regarding Claim 24, Li teaches The UE of claim 16, wherein the timer related to the PSM includes at least one of:
the timer associated with the coverage interruption (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter (interpreted as “a timer relating to a power saving mode (PSM) of the UE”) and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4 (interpreted as “timer associated with the coverage interruption”), and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message. In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.); …
Regarding Claim 25, Li teaches The UE of claim 24, wherein the processor is configured to:
transmit, to at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device and a core network (CN) device in the network, information regarding the timer associated with the coverage interruption (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4 (interpreted as “information regarding the timer associated with the coverage interruption”), and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message. In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.).
Regarding claim 30, Claim 30, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 17, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-23, 28, and 31-33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Kim et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160073338, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches The UE of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: Li does not explicitly teach:
transmit a first message to at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device in the network and a core network (CN) device in the network; and
wherein the first message includes at least one of:
a request for configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM;
a reason for requesting the configuration information;
the start time of the coverage interruption of the network;
an end time of the coverage interruption of the network;
a time duration of a connected state of the UE; and
an indication for indicating that the timer relating to the PSM is immediately started upon the UE receiving the configuration information.
In analogous art, Kim teaches:
transmit a first message to at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device in the network and a core network (CN) device in the network (para [0076] of Kim: … transmitting a first message including a first active time value to a network entity when PSM is required; …); and
wherein the first message includes at least one of:
a request for configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM (para [0076] of Kim: transmitting a first message including a first active time value to a network entity when PSM is required; (The first active time value is interpreted as “configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM”)) (Fig. 8b and para [0155] of Kim: if the MTC device has requests the value of the active time and the network has allocated the value of the active time, the MTC device drives the active timer based on the allocated value of the active time (the active timer is interpreted as “the timer relating to the PSM” ));
a reason for requesting the configuration information (para [0076] of Kim: transmitting a first message including a first active time value to a network entity when PSM is required; (The “when PSM is required” is interpreted as “a reason for requesting the configuration inform”));
the start time of the coverage interruption of the network (Fig. 8b and para [0156] of Kim: as shown in FIGS. 8 b and 8 c, when the active timer expires, the MTC device deactivate its own access stratum (AS) and switches to the PSM state. In the PSM state, the MTC device stops the entire procedure of idle mode due to the deactivation of the access stratum (AS), but drives the timer of the NAS layer, for example, the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312)) (The “drives the timer of the NAS layer, for example, the periodic TAU/RAU timer” is interpreted as “a start time of the coverage interruption of the network”));
an end time of the coverage interruption of the network (Fig. 8b and para [0156]: as shown in FIGS. 8 b and 8 c, when the active timer expires, the MTC device deactivate its own access stratum (AS) and switches to the PSM state. In the PSM state, the MTC device stops the entire procedure of idle mode due to the deactivation of the access stratum (AS), but drives the timer of the NAS layer, for example, the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312)) (The “drives the timer of the NAS layer, for example, the periodic TAU/RAU timer” is interpreted as “an end time of the coverage interruption of the network” because the “drives the timer” includes a start time and an end time of the timer ));
a time duration of a connected state of the UE; and
an indication for indicating that the timer related to the PSM is immediately started upon the UE receiving the configuration information (para [0076]: … receiving, from the network entity a second message including a second active time value, wherein if an application of PSM by the wireless device is accepted by the network entity, the first active time value is used to determine the second active time value; entering a PSM state based on the second active time value (The determined second active time value is interpreted as “an indication for indicating that the timer related to the PSM is immediately started upon the UE receiving the configuration information” because the determined second active time value included in the second message received by the wireless device indicates that the network entity accepts the PSM by the wireless device. Therefore, the wireless device enters PSM mode based on the second active time value.).
Li and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power saving mode (PSM) in a radio device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top-down configuration method of Li by incorporating the UE-initiated request and parameter negotiation signaling framework as taught by Kim. The motivation to combine these references lies in enhancing signaling efficiency and context awareness between the UE and the network. By allowing the UE to actively report its predicted network coverage interruption timeline (start time/end time) and explicitly request the corresponding PSM timer configuration in an uplink message (as suggested by Kim’s negotiation mechanism), the core network or RAN device can allocated the most precise, customize sleep parameters for that specific US. This coordination prevents the network from assigning mismatched timers, thereby maximizing the UE’s battery preservation during predictable network blackouts while maintaining proper network registration.
Regarding claim 19, Li and Kim teach The UE of claim 18, wherein the processor is configured to: Li teaches
receive a second message from at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device in the network and a core network (CN) device in the network (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4, and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication (interpreted as “a second message”), it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message. In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.);
wherein the second message includes configuration information regarding the timer relating to the PSM (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and the indication to the UE in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4 (T4 is `No Coverage start timing Point’), and a next timing for network coverage is T5 (T5 is `Coverage start timing Point’), and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4, and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed.).
Regarding claim 20, Li and Kim teach The UE of claim 19, Kim further teaches wherein at least one of the first message and the second message is associated with at least one of: (para [0076]: …The method may comprise: transmitting a first message including a first active time value to a network entity when PSM is required; receiving, from the network entity a second message including a second active time value, wherein if an application of PSM by the wireless device is accepted by the network entity, the first active time value is used to determine the second active time value)
an attach procedure (para [0147]: If an MTC device wants to use PSM, the MTC device needs to request the value of an active time during each attach and TAU/RAU procedure.);
a periodic tracking area update (TAU) procedure (para [0147]: If an MTC device wants to use PSM, the MTC device needs to request the value of an active time during each attach and TAU/RAU procedure.) (para [0154]: As shown in FIG. 8 a, the MTC device 100 includes the value of its wanted active time (i.e., the value of its wanted active timer) and the value of a periodic TAU/RAU timer ….);
a periodic registration area update (RAU) procedure (para [0147]: If an MTC device wants to use PSM, the MTC device needs to request the value of an active time during each attach and TAU/RAU procedure.)(para [0154]: As shown in FIG. 8 a, the MTC device 100 includes the value of its wanted active time (i.e., the value of its wanted active timer) and the value of a periodic TAU/RAU timer ….); and
a PSM related procedure (para [0147]: If an MTC device wants to use PSM, the MTC device needs to request the value of an active time during each attach and TAU/RAU procedure.).
Regarding claim 21, Li and Kim teach The UE of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to: Li further teaches
immediately start the timer relating to the PSM upon receiving the configuration information included in the second message (para [0075]: In embodiments of the disclosure, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and the indication to the UE (interpreted as “configuration information”) in the process of the UE attaching to the network or the process of the TAU. When the core network device needs to send the indication to the UE, it is determined that a timing when the core network device sends the indication is T3, a stop timing for providing network coverage for the UE is T4, and a next timing for network coverage is T5, and when the core network device indicates the UE to enter the RRC non-connected state before T4, the core network device indicates the UE not to perform the cell search in a time duration of T5−T4, and the indication may include an indication that the cell search may not be performed. While configuring the PSM parameter to the UE, the indication is sent to the UE. After the UE receives the eDRX parameter and the indication, it parses the time duration information T5−T4 from the indication. Under the PSM, when the UE enters the RRC non-connected state before T4, it may not perform the cell search starting from T4, and enter the dormant state without monitoring the paging message (interpreted as “start the timer relating to the PSM upon receiving the configuration information”). In the eDRX mode, it indicates the UE not to monitor the paging message at one or more POs within at least one eDRX cycle during the operation duration of the activation timer.).
Regarding claim 22, Li and Kim teach The UE of claim 19, wherein the configuration information includes one of: Li further teaches
time duration of the timer relating to the PSM (para [0073]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a PSM (interpreted as “time duration of the timer relating to the PSM”, see Fig. 6 of Li) according to some embodiments.). Fig. 6 of Li is reproduced herein below.
(Fig. 6 of Li, Annotated)
and
a sum of a time offset and the time duration of the timer relating to the PSM (para [0073]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments and FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 , in order to further save the power, the PSM is introduced. … T3321 (should be ‘T3324’, see Fig. 6) and T3412 are configured by the core network device for the UE. Usually, when the UE attaches to the network and performs the TAU, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and/or the eDRX parameter, as well as time duration parameters of T3321 (should be ‘T3324’, see Fig. 6) and T3412 (T3412 is interpreted as “a sum of a time offset and the time duration of the timer relating to the PSM”) to the UE.). Fig. 6 of Li is reproduced herein below.).
Regarding claim 23, Li and Kim teach The UE of Claim 22, Li further teaches wherein the configuration information includes the sum of the time off set and the time duration of the timer, and wherein the time offset is equal to time duration of a connected state of the UE (para [0073]: FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments and FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a PSM according to some embodiments. As illustrated in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7 , in order to further save the power, the PSM is introduced. … T3321 (should be ‘T3324’, see Fig. 6) and T3412 are configured by the core network device for the UE. Usually, when the UE attaches to the network and performs the TAU, the core network device configures the PSM parameter and/or the eDRX parameter, as well as time duration parameters of T3321 (should be ‘T3324’, see Fig. 6) and T3412 to the UE.).
(Fig. 6 of Li, Annotated)
Examiner’s note: T3412 is interpreted as “the sum of the time off set and the time duration of the timer, and T3324 is interpreted as “wherein the time offset is equal to time duration of a connected state of the UE”).
Regarding Claim 28, Li teaches The UE of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: Li fails to teach
receive a third message from at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device in the network and a core network (CN) device in the network;
wherein the third message includes a time duration offset associated with the timer relating to the PSM.
In analogous art, Kim teaches:
receive a third message from at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device in the network and a core network (CN) device in the network (Fig. 8a and para [0154]: the MME/SGSN 510 transmits an attach acceptance message or a TAU acceptance message, including the value of the active time (i.e., the value of the active timer) and the value of the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312), to the MTC device 100. In this case, the value of the active time (i.e., the value of the active timer) and the value of the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312) included in the acceptance message may be a value requested by the MME.)(the attach acceptance message or the TAU acceptance message is interpreted as “a third message”));
wherein the third message includes a time duration offset associated with the timer relating to the PSM (Fig. 8a and para [0154]: In this case, the value of the active time (i.e., the value of the active timer) and the value of the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312) included in the acceptance message may be a value requested by the MME.) (the value of the periodic TAU/RAU timer (e.g., Ext T3412 or Ext T3312) included in the acceptance message is interpreted as “a time duration offset associated with the timer relating to the PSM”).
Li and Kim are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of power saving mode (PSM) in a radio device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Kim to include a time duration offset in the downlink message (‘acceptance message’) sent to the UE. The motivation to combine these references lies in providing a highly flexible and dynamically adjustable power-saving mechanism. By sending a specific “a time duration offset” associated with the PSM timer from the network side (RAN/CN), the network can precisely shift or scale the UE’s sleep/wake-up window without requiring a complete re-negotiation of the baseline PSM parameters.
Regarding claim 31, Claim 31, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 18, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 18.
Regarding claim 32, Claim 32, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 20, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 20.
Regarding claim 33, Claim 33, has similar limitation as of Claim(s) 23, therefore it is rejected under the same reasons as Claim(s) 23.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26, 27, and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 26 contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
wherein to determine a first time, the processor is configured to:
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer associated with the coverage interruption, determine the start time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption as the first time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including both the timer associated with the coverage interruption and the timer relating to the active time, determine a later time within the start time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption and expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the active time, determine the expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time; and
in response to the first time being associated with the coverage interruption and in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the active time, determine a later time within an absolute start time of the coverage interruption and the expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time.
Claim 27 contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
wherein determining the second time further comprises one of:
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer associated with the coverage interruption, determine an expiry time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption as the second time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including both the timer associated with the coverage interruption and the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determine a later time within the expiry time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption and expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determine the expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time; and
in response to the second time being associated with the coverage interruption and in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determine later time within an absolute end time of the coverage interruption and the expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time.
Claim 34 contains the following underlined features which, when combined with other features of the claim, prior art of record failed to anticipate or render obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application was filed:
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer associated with the coverage interruption, transmitting, to at least one of a radio access network (RAN) device and a core network (CN) device in the network, information regarding the timer associated with the coverage interruption;
wherein determining the first time further comprises one of:
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer associated with the coverage interruption, determining start time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption as the first time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including both the timer associated with the coverage interruption and the timer relating to the active time, determining later time within the start time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption and expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the active time, determining the expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time; and
in response to the first time being associated with the coverage interruption and in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the active time, determining later time within an absolute start time of the coverage interruption and the expiry time of the timer relating to the active time as the first time; and
wherein determining the second time further comprises one of:
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer associated with the coverage interruption, determining an expiry time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption as the second time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including both the timer associated with the coverage interruption and the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determining a later time within the expiry time of the timer associated with the coverage interruption and expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time;
in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determining the expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time; and
in response to the second time being associated with the coverage interruption and in response to the timer relating to the PSM including the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure, determining a later time within an absolute end time of the coverage interruption and the expiry time of the timer relating to the TAU procedure or the RAU procedure as the second time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411