DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments filed on May 1, 2026 did not alleviate all 35 U.S.C. 112 issues and in some cases these amendments introduced new 35 U.S.C. 112 issues, please see below for current rejections.
Applicant's arguments filed May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Blaimschein does not suggest the claimed method, although it does describe a system that has structural components that can be used in the claimed method…The Examiner incorrectly reads the Blaimschein disclosure as describing the separate forging steps of the method of claim 1.” Examiner respectfully maintains that the claim does not clearly set forth separate forging steps, please see currently 112 rejections below. Additionally, Examiner respectfully maintains that Blaimschein discloses a second, separate forging step in paragraph 11: “when the eccentric drive 3 is topped or has no lifting movement, by applying hydraulic fluid to the hydraulic cushions 9 and thus forging processes with any low allow deformation speeds to be carried out.” It is further noted that Applicant appears to provide a piecemeal analysis of the references, it has been held that one cannot show non-obviously by attacking reference individually where, as here, the rejections are based on combination of the references. In re Keller, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: “initially forming the forging ingot under a heat with the forging dies driven by the eccentric drive with a degree of deformation that is great enough to provide recrystallization and that is low enough to avoid formation of cracks” – it is unclear what the means and bounds of this limitation are since a particular material is not set forth in it unknown at what point recrystallization and/or cracks would occur - one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to duplicate the desired resultant of this method.
Claim 1 also recites: “using the inner die parts driven by the hydraulic cylinders to forge press the ingot with a bite ratio that is greater than 0.5 with the outer die parts are stopped.” It is not clear that a second, separate and subsequent forging/pressing step is occurring.
Claim 2 recites: “subjecting the forging ingot to a finishing operation after forge pressing using the forging dies with the outer die parts driven by the eccentric drive.” The present amendment has removed “fore pressing” from claim 1; therefore it is unclear in claim 2 when the finishing operation is to occur. Furthermore “using the forging die with the outer die parts driven by the eccentric drive” makes it still unclear when the finishing operation occurs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blaimschein et al. (hereafter “Blaimschein”)(EP1093871A2) in view of Kirchhoff (US 2005/0247092), as best understood.
With regards to claim 1, Blaimschein discloses a method for forming of a cast forging ingot using a forging device (forging machine 1) having radially guided forging dies (forging punches 2),
each have having an inner die part (7) and an outer die part (8) that are supported to be radially moved relative to one another and wherein the inner die part (7) supports a forging tool that is drive-connected by a hydraulic cylinder (hydraulic system 11) to the outer die part (8) and wherein the outer die part is supported to be driven by an eccentric drive (eccentric drive 3), the method comprising:
initially forming the forging ingot with the forging dies driven by the eccentric drive [as described in at least paragraph 11],
following said initially forming the forging ingot, stopping the outer die parts [as described in at least paragraph 11]; and
using the inner die parts driven by the hydraulic cylinders to forge press the ingot while the outer die parts are stopped [as described in at least paragraph 11].
Please note that the following limitation was addressed under 112b above and as best understood, Blaimschein is considered to disclose forging with a degree of deformation which is above a critical degree of deformation and which excludes the formation of cracks [as described in at least paragraph 11].
Blaimschein discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the forming is under heat. It is considered to be well-known that forging is classified according to the temperature at which it is performed; that is, cold forging, warm forging or hot forging. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to performing Blaimschein’s forging under heat, since it would have been obvious to try this technique when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions for forging, with a reasonable expectation of success. SR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Blaimschein discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein the ingot has a bite ratio that is greater than 0.5. Kirchhoff is relied upon to teach a forging process producing a workpiece with a bite ratio of at least 0.5 to obtain a suitable consolidation effect [paragraph 0029]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Blaimschein’s forging with the particular bite ratio because combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results require only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)].
With regards to claim 2, the combination of Blaimschein and Kirchhoff discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for further comprising: subjecting the forging ingot to a finishing operation after forge pressing using the outer die parts driven by the eccentric drive. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional forming step with the outer die parts driven by the eccentric drive, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725