DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “to” is missing from in-between the words “polysaccharide” and “the” in line 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maekawa (WO 2021/085630 A1, hereinafter referring to US 2022/0403168 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maekawa teaches a polyamide resin molded article (Abstract), comprising (A) a polyamide resin, and (B) chemically modified cellulose microfibers (Abstract). The chemically modified cellulose microfibers (B) are preferably acetylated ([0090]), and are included in amounts preferably ranging from 1 to 20 wt% of the composition ([0162]). This compositional amount overlaps with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed range of “0.10 to 8.0 % by weight.”
Regarding claim 2, Maekawa teaches that the composition is typically not completely modified ([0063]). In such circumstances, non-modified cellulose moieties will be present therein, which reads on a cellulose moiety from the claimed list.
Regarding claim 3, Maekawa teaches the preferred use of aliphatic polyamides or aromatic polyamides ([0051]).
Regarding claim 4, Maekawa teaches that the polyamide preferably comprises 60 – 99 mass % of the composition ([0061]), which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “at least 75 % by weight.”
Regarding claim 5, Maekawa teaches the optional incorporation of a heat stabilizer ([0197]).
Regarding claim 6, Maekawa teaches that the preferred heat stabilizers are preferably antioxidants such as hindered phenol-based antioxidants ([0199]), which read on the claimed “organic heat stabilizer.”
Regarding claim 7, Maekawa teaches that the preferred range of antioxidant is 0.1 to 2 parts by mass per 100 parts of polyamide resin ([0203]). Taking into account that the polyamide resin is preferably 60-99 mass % of the composition (0061]), the amount of antioxidant may range from about 0.167 to about 2.02 wt% of the composition, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed range of “from 0.010 % to 8.000% by weight.”
Regarding claim 8, Maekawa teaches the formation of extruded/molded bodies of the inventive resin ([0211]-[0214]).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, as described above, Maekawa teaches a composition containing all of the claimed components, including a polyamide and an acetylated. Furthermore, Maekawa teaches a method of melt-kneading said components ([0205]), which reads on the claimed methods.
Regarding claim 15, as described above, Maekawa teaches that the chemically modified cellulose microfibers (B) are preferably acetylated ([0090]), which reads on the claimed “cellulose acetate.”
Regarding claim 16, as described above, Maekawa teaches the preferred incorporation of a hindered phenol-based antioxidant as a heat stabilizer ([0199]), which meets the limitation of being “different” than the hydroxyalkylated polysaccharide because hindered phenols are not hydroxylated polysaccharides.
Regarding claim 17, as described above, Maekawa teaches the preferred incorporation of a hindered phenol-based antioxidant as a heat stabilizer ([0199]), which reads on the claimed “phenolic antioxidant.”
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Maekawa teaches that the preferred range of antioxidant heat stabilizer is 0.1 to 2 parts by mass per 100 parts of polyamide resin ([0203]). Taking into account that the polyamide resin is preferably 60-99 mass % of the composition (0061]), the amount of antioxidant may range from about 0.167 to about 2.02 wt% of the composition, which falls within and therefore anticipates the claimed ranges of “from 0.050 % to 4.000% by weight” and “from 0.100 to 2.000 % by weight.”
Regarding claims 20-22, Maekawa teaches that the inventive composition is formed into components suitable for use in automobiles, including inter alia, a clutch, engine component gears, and a chassis ([0215]).
Regarding claims 23-24, as described above, Maekawa teaches the incorporation of a heat stabilizer ([0199]).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762