Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 11, 13, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang US 20220312442.
Regarding claim 1, 11, 13, 17-21, teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform communication in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first information related to a plurality of transmission occasions (TOs) including a number of the plurality of TOs (For example, the UE may be configured with a repetition number of 32, In this case, the slots that correspond to RV 0 are slots 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, [0095]).
receiving, from the base station, second information indicating whether to perform communication in at least one specific TO among the plurality of TOs (UE may be configured with a RV sequence of [0,2,3,1]); and
performing communication with the base station in at least one TO among the plurality of TOs based on the second information (In this example, the UE may start its configured grant repetition only from slots 0, 4, 8, 12 (i.e., the first X=4 slots that corresponds to RV0), and not from slots 16, 20, 24, 28. Thus, if data arrives after slot 12, the UE will to wait until the next configured grant period to begin transmission of the repetitions, [0095]).
Regarding claim 3, the second information includes information indicating not to perform communication in the at least one specific TO, and the at least one specific TO is TOs after the second information is received among the plurality of TOs (In this example, the UE may start its configured grant repetition only from slots 0, 4, 8, 12 (i.e., the first X=4 slots that corresponds to RV0), and not from slots 16, 20, 24, 28).
Regarding claim 11, ACKs/NACKs are conventional means for indicating whether a transmission has been properly received. Therefore, this limitation would have been obvious at the time of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, 13, 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20150071263 in view of Zhang US 20220151017.
Regarding claim 1, 13, 17-21, Yang teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform communication in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, first information related to a plurality of transmission occasions (TOs) including a number of the plurality of TOs (the base station allocates multiple time slots to the UE. In one configuration, the base station does not allocate all the time slots to a UE. That is, when multiple UEs share multiple time slots, some time slots may be allocated to one UE and other time slots may be allocated to other UEs, [0047]).
Yang is silent on receiving, from the base station, second information indicating whether to perform communication in at least one specific TO among the plurality of TOs; and
performing communication with the base station in at least one TO among the plurality of TOs based on the second information.
Zhang teaches receiving, from the base station, second information indicating whether to perform communication in at least one specific TO among the plurality of TOs; and
performing communication with the base station in at least one TO among the plurality of TOs based on the second information (A first communications device receives first DCI from a network device in first discontinuous reception active time, where the first DCI is used to indicate new uplink or downlink data transmission; and the first communications
device starts or restarts a discontinuous reception inactivity timer at a start moment of a slot corresponding to a sum of X and a slot number of a slot in which the first DCI is located, [0021]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yang by receiving, from the base station, second information indicating whether to perform communication in at least one specific TO among the plurality of TOs; and performing communication with the base station in at least one TO among the plurality of TOs based on the second information, as shown by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to resume a transmission in a previously allocated slot.
Regarding claim 11, ACKs/NACKs are conventional means for indicating whether a transmission has been properly received. Therefore, this limitation would have been obvious at the time of the instant application.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yang and Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shah US 20220132294.
Regarding claim 2, the second information is included in downlink control information (DCI) or MAC (medium access control)-CE (control element) (Zhang: DCI, [0021]).
The combination is silent on the second information is received from the base station while performing communication with the base station based on the first information.
Note, this limitation is obvious in view of Shah since Shah teaches a UE is capable of performing a plurality of different communications simultaneously ([0099]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the second information is received from the base station while performing communication with the base station based on the first information, as suggested by Shah. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to perform multiple communications simultaneously.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yang and Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bagheri US 20200146034.
Regarding claim 3, the combination is silent on the second information includes information indicating not to perform communication in the at least one specific TO, and the at least one specific TO is TOs after the second information is received among the plurality of TOs.
Bagheri makes obvious the limitation the second information includes information indicating not to perform communication in the at least one specific TO, and the at least one specific TO is TOs after the second information is received among the plurality of TOs given the reference teaches terminating communication in specific slots ([0096]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by the second information includes information indicating not to perform communication in the at least one specific TO, and the at least one specific TO is TOs after the second information is received among the plurality of TOs, as suggested by Bagheri. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for reallocating time slots.
Regarding claim 4, information indicating to resume communication with the base station is received from the base station from a first TO among the TOs after the second information is received (Zhang: [0021]).
Regarding claim 5, the second information includes information indicating not to perform communication in the at least one specific TO, and the at least one specific TO is from a TO after the second information is received to a second TO among the plurality of TO. This limitation is obvious in view of Bagheri ([0096]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476