Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 12, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20220312442 in view of ZEWAIL US 20210321448 and Zhang US 20230156847.
Regarding claims 1, 17, 19, teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform communication in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (RRC, [0095]) first information related to a number of the plurality of transmission occasions TOs (For example, the UE may be configured with a repetition number of 32, In this case, the slots that correspond to RV 0 are slots 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, [0095]).
Yang is silent on receiving, by the UE from the base station, second information related to a control of communication with the base station; and
based on the second information being related to skipping of communication with the base station in at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs.
ZEWAIL teaches receiving, by the UE from the base station, information related to a control of communication with the base station; and
based on the information being related to skipping of communication with the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs (base station to transmit a multi-slot grant, for one of uplink communication or downlink communication, for a user equipment (UE); transmit, to the UE, information that provides an indication of one or more time gaps for the multi-slot grant; and communicate with the UE in the multi-slot grant according to the one or more time gaps, claim 13, information indicates one or more slots or symbols of the multi-slot grant that are to be skipped by the UE, claim 17).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yang by receiving, by the UE from the base station, second information related to a control of communication with the base station; and based on the second information being related to skipping of communication with the base station in at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, as suggested by ZEWAIL. This modification would benefit the system by the base station informing the UE if the base station cannot transmit or receive information in a certain time slot.
The combination is silent on based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs.
Zhang teaches based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs fig. 12 step 1221, the UE receives RRCRelease message and stops
data transmission and stays in the INACTIVE state, fig. 12 step 1231, In one embodiment, UE receives RRCResume message and the UE resumes RRC connection and goes to CONNECTED for data transmission, [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs, as shown by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to dynamically stop and restart communication with the base station according to directions from the base station.
Regarding claim 2, the second information is included in downlink control information (DCI) or control element MAC-CE and received from the base station (ZEWAIL: In some aspects, the multi-slot grant may be indicated (e.g., in DCI), [0067])
Regarding claim 11, ACKs/NACKs are conventional means for indicating whether a transmission has been properly received. Therefore, this limitation would have been obvious at the time of the instant application.
Regarding claim 12, artificial intelligence models were well known at the time of the instant application, therefore the limitation the second information is based on data output through an artificial intelligence (AI) model previously learned by the base station or network node would have been obvious at the time of the instant application.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20220312442 in view of Niu US 20220312463, and Zhang.
Regarding claims 1, 17, 19, teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform communication in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling (RRC, [0095]) first information related to a number of the plurality of transmission occasions TOs (For example, the UE may be configured with a repetition number of 32, In this case, the slots that correspond to RV 0 are slots 0, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, [0095]).
Yang is silent on receiving, by the UE from the base station, second information related to a control of communication with the base station; and
based on the second information being related to skipping of communication with the base station in at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs.
Niu teaches receiving, by the UE from the base station, information related to a control of communication with the base station; and
based on the information being related to skipping of communication with the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs (during a first time period 102 there is downlink or uplink traffic. During this period, the UE may receive a DCI. The DCI may indicate to the UE to implement skipping in the monitoring behavior of the UE. The network node (e.g., a gNB) may send notice via the DCI to the UE to implement skipping for a few slots and then return back to monitoring, [0040]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Yang by receiving, by the UE from the base station, second information related to a control of communication with the base station; and based on the second information being related to skipping of communication with the base station in at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station in at least one second TO after the at least one first TO among the plurality of TOs, as suggested by Niu. This modification would benefit the system by the base station informing the UE if the base station cannot transmit or receive information in a certain time slot.
The combination is silent on based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs.
Zhang teaches based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs fig. 12 step 1221, the UE receives RRCRelease message and stops
data transmission and stays in the INACTIVE state, fig. 12 step 1231, In one embodiment, UE receives RRCResume message and the UE resumes RRC connection and goes to CONNECTED for data transmission, [0041]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of the combination by based on the second information being related to stopping of communication with the base station and third information related to resuming communication with the base station being received from the base station, performing, by the UE, communication with the base station from a third TO after the third information is received among the plurality of TOs, as shown by Zhang. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the UE to dynamically stop and restart communication with the base station according to directions from the base station.
Regarding claim 5, while performing communication with the base station based on the first information, the second information is received from the base station (Niu: [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476