Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) calculating power to be compensated for each phase in a transformer area; S130, determining an adjustment power supply that needs to participate in unbalanced adjustment in the transformer area, wherein adjustment power supplies comprise distributed photovoltaic devices and distributed small energy storage power supplies in the transformer area; S140, calculating unbalanced adjustment power to be output by each split-phase power adjustment module, and determining three-phase compensation reference currents and repeating the steps S120 to S160. The determining and calculating pertain to a mental process since these steps can be performed in the mind using pen and paper and thus falls under the mental process grouping of abstract ideas (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
The claim does not integrate the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The claim includes additional limitations including: detecting a three-phase unbalance degree, obtaining actual compensation currents of converters of phase output modules by tracking the current reference values, detecting whether a change range of the three-phase unbalance degree reaches a set offset value. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and amount to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As noted above, the data gathering steps relate to insignificant extra solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Additionally, the gathering step amounts to receiving or transmitting data over a network and is well understood routine and conventional in the field (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). Thus, this is well-understood, routine and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)). The claim does not include any further additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claim 9 is rejected.
Claim 10 recites when the computer program is executed by a processor, the split-phase output power adjustment method in the low voltage transformer of claim 9 is performed. This limitation are at a high level of generality and amount to field of use and technological environment (2106.05(h)).
Therefore, claim 10 is rejected.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer-readable storage medium is not limited to a non-transitory storage medium. The instant specification discloses that computer-readable storage medium can be a “Computer instructions can be stored in computer-readable storage media or transferred from one computer-readable storage medium to another. For example, computer instructions can be transmitted from a website site, computer, server, or data center to another website site, computer, server or data center for transmission, by a wired way (e.g., coaxial cable, optical fiber, digital subscriber line (DSL)) or a wireless way (e.g., infrared, wireless, microwave, etc.). The computer-readable storage medium may be any available medium that can be stored by a computer, or a data storage device such as a server, a data center, etc. integrated with one or more available media” (0109). A transitory computer readable storage medium corresponds to a transitory storage medium which is understood to not be a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter and thus is not patent eligible.
Therefore, claim 10 is rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying et al (CN112909968, herein Ying) in view of Gao et al (US PUB. 20220271712, herein Gao).
Regarding claim 1, Ying teaches A split-phase output power adjustment system in a low voltage transformer area, comprising adjustment power supplies, split-phase power adjustment modules, [sub-controllers, and a main controller] (abstract “switching a three-phase unbalance treatment line in a low-voltage transformer area, wherein the method comprises the following steps: the method comprises the steps of determining three-phase unbalanced load power adjustment quantity based on acquired power grid data, setting a three-phase unbalanced load change-over optimization model, and performing adjustment optimization on a manual off-line change over three-phase unbalanced line”, page 4 “The embodiment of the invention also provides a computer readable storage medium, and the computer readable storage medium stores computer instructions so as to execute the low-voltage transformer area three-phase unbalance treatment line switching method provided by the embodiment of the invention”);
the adjustment power supplies connected to the split-phase power adjustment modules, and total power P of the adjustment power supplies complying with a relationship as follows: P= Pt=PG1 +PG2 +…PGn wherein Pt is power required to comply with three-phase current unbalance adjustment of a distribution transformer, PG1 , PG2, …PGn is power generated by each of the adjustment power supplies to compensate three-phase current unbalance in a transformer area (page 7-8 “low-voltage transformer area three-phase imbalance management line switching method according to the embodiment of the present invention, the three-phase imbalance load power adjustment amount is determined through the power grid data, the three-phase imbalance load switching optimization model is set to perform adjustment optimization on the manual off-line switching three-phase imbalance line, so as to meet the requirements of the current three-phase imbalance load adjustment timeliness, accuracy and user high-quality service, and the transformer area user switching amount and phase selection are guided through the adjustment optimization model, so that the dynamic balance of the transformer area three-phase load is ensured”);
wherein the split-phase power adjustment modules are connected to lines of three phases A, B, and C [and a neutral line N] in the transformer area (page 8 “representing the mean value of three-phase currents, i Phase current of A phase, i Phase current of B phase, i The phase current of the C A B C phase is shown”);
wherein the sub-controllers are connected to the adjustment power supplies, [and the sub-controllers communicate with the main controller to control power] generated by each of the adjustment power supplies, so as to compensate the unbalanced three-phase current in the transformer area (page 8 “three-phase imbalance load switching optimization model is set to perform adjustment optimization on the manual off-line switching three-phase imbalance line, so as to meet the requirements of the current three-phase imbalance load adjustment timeliness, accuracy and user high-quality service, and the transformer area user switching amount and phase selection are guided through the adjustment optimization model, so that the dynamic balance of the transformer area three-phase load is ensured.”).
The cited prior art do not teach sub-controllers, and a main controller, and a neutral line N, and the sub-controllers communicate with the main controller to control power.
Gao teaches sub-controllers, and a main controller (0081 “the fault detection apparatus 500 may further include a breaking unit 504 connected to the controller 503. The breaking unit 504 may be connected between the output end of the grid-tied inverter and the plurality of filter capacitors and may be disconnected or connected under control of the controller”)
and a neutral line N (0069)
and the sub-controllers communicate with the main controller to control power (0081 “the fault detection apparatus 500 may further include a breaking unit 504 connected to the controller 503. The breaking unit 504 may be connected between the output end of the grid-tied inverter and the plurality of filter capacitors and may be disconnected or connected under control of the controller”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Ying with the fault detection and appropriate control teachings of Gao since Ying teaches a means for dynamic balance of the transformer area three-phase load to be ensured (page 8).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying et al (CN112909968, herein Ying) in view of Gao et al (US PUB. 20220271712, herein Gao) in further view of Ayai (US PUB. 20160336873).
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art teach The system of claim 1.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein, the split-phase power adjustment modules comprise a first filter capacitor, a second filter capacitor, a three-phase reactor, and a three-phase full-bridge inverter; wherein the first filter capacitor and the second filter capacitor are connected to a power grid between the neutral line of the power grid and the three-phase full-bridge inverter, and the three-phase reactor is connected between the three-phase full-bridge inverter and a three-phase line of the power grid; wherein inductance values of the first filter capacitor, the second filter capacitor and the three-phase reactor are determined by capacity and filter effect thereof.
Ayai teaches wherein, the split-phase power adjustment modules comprise a first filter capacitor, a second filter capacitor, a three-phase reactor, and a three-phase full-bridge inverter (0086 “AC reactor 23 is provided on the output side of the full-bridge inverter 21 in the second converter 2, and a voltage sensor 9 for detecting output voltage of the first converter 1 is provided. The other hardware configuration is the same. The AC reactor 23 and the capacitor 22 compose a filter circuit (low-pass filter) for removing a high-frequency component contained in output of the second converter 2. Information about the voltage detected by the voltage sensor 9 is sent to the control unit”, fig. 9);
wherein the first filter capacitor and the second filter capacitor are connected to a power grid between the neutral line of the power grid and the three-phase full-bridge inverter, and the three-phase reactor is connected between the three-phase full-bridge inverter and a three-phase line of the power grid (0108 “the power conversion device 100P may be connected to a single-phase load or a power grid”, 0086 “AC reactor 23 is provided on the output side of the full-bridge inverter 21 in the second converter 2, and a voltage sensor 9 for detecting output voltage of the first converter 1 is provided. The other hardware configuration is the same. The AC reactor 23 and the capacitor 22 compose a filter circuit (low-pass filter) for removing a high-frequency component contained in output of the second converter 2. Information about the voltage detected by the voltage sensor 9 is sent to the control unit”, fig. 9 ;
wherein inductance values of the first filter capacitor, the second filter capacitor and the three-phase reactor are determined by capacity and filter effect thereof (0007 “voltage of the DC bus 204 is 600V, when a switching element in the three-phase inverter circuit 207 is turned off, due to resonance by a floating inductance and the capacitance of the switching element, voltage that greatly exceeds 600V is applied to the switching element”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Gao and Ying with the teachings of Ayai since Ayai teaches a means for reliably prevent insulation breakdown (0007).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ying et al (CN112909968, herein Ying) in view of Gao et al (US PUB. 20220271712, herein Gao) in further view of Ma (US PUB. 20220393642, herein Ma).
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art teach The system of claim 1.
The cited prior art do not teach wherein the sub-controllers communicate with the main controller via wireless or carrier wave, and the sub-controllers are electrically connected to the split-phase power adjustment modules, and are used for collecting power and voltage of each phase of the corresponding split-phase power adjustment modules connected to a grid-point, so as to upload them to the main controller, wherein the sub-controllers send control amount calculated by the main controller to the corresponding split-phase power adjustment modules, so as to control the split-phase power adjustment modules to output adjustment power corresponding to the main controller.
Ma teaches wherein the sub-controllers communicate with the main controller via wireless or carrier wave, and the sub-controllers are electrically connected to the split-phase power adjustment modules, and are used for collecting power and voltage of each phase of the corresponding split-phase power adjustment modules connected to a grid-point, so as to upload them to the main controller, wherein the sub-controllers send control amount calculated by the main controller to the corresponding split-phase power adjustment modules, so as to control the split-phase power adjustment modules to output adjustment power corresponding to the main controller (0022 “power carrier signal transmitted between controllers in different photovoltaic units in a photovoltaic system, where the power carrier signal carries identification information of a controller that sends the power carrier signal, and the attenuation reference factor is used to reflect an attenuation degree of signal attenuation of the power carrier signal in a process of being transmitted, to a controller in a photovoltaic unit, from the controller that is in another photovoltaic unit and that is indicated by the identification information in the power carrier signal; a determining module, configured to determine, based on the attenuation reference factor, an attenuation degree of a power carrier signal obtained by a controller in each photovoltaic unit”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Gao and Ying with the teachings of Ma since Ma teaches a means for “improving operation and maintenance efficiency of the photovoltaic system” (0009).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Black et al (US PUB. 20120074779, herein Black) in view of Varma et al (US PUB. 20160197482, herein Varma) in further view of Zhou et al (US PAT. 7508173, herein Zhou).
Regarding claim 9, Black teaches A split-phase output power adjustment method in a low voltage transformer area, comprising:
S110, detecting a three-phase unbalance degree (0021 “total phase A load on transmission substation 52 includes all the phase A loads on local substations 56, 156, 256. Similarly, total phase B and phase C loads on transmission substation 52 are the sum of respective phase loads on local substations 56, 156, 256. Thus, transmission substation 52 has 170 MVA load on phase A, 152 MVA load on phase B and 174 MVA load on phase C which is unbalanced load distribution on transmission substation” 0001 “In a balanced three-phase power system, the individual phase quantities (voltages/currents) are equal in magnitude and are displaced with respect to each other by 120.degree”, 0022, fig. 5);
S120, [at a condition that the three-phase unbalance degree does not reach a starting value], calculating power to be compensated for each phase in a transformer area (0006 “The method also includes estimating an available demand response on the distribution system for the period of interest and allocating an optimized demand response from available demand response to minimize the voltage unbalance on the distribution system”).
The cited prior art do not teach at a condition that the three-phase unbalance degree does not reach a starting value, S130, determining an adjustment power supply that needs to participate in unbalanced adjustment in the transformer area, wherein adjustment power supplies comprise distributed photovoltaic devices and distributed small energy storage power supplies in the transformer area; S140, calculating unbalanced adjustment power to be output by each split-phase power adjustment module, and determining three-phase compensation reference currents Ia_ref, Ib_ref, Ic_ref of the split-phase power adjustment modules; S150, obtaining actual compensation currents Ioa , Iob, Ioc of converters of phase output modules by tracking the current reference values Ia_ref, Ib_ref, Ic_ref through hysteresis control of converters of the split-phase power adjustment modules; S160, detecting whether a change range of the three-phase unbalance degree reaches a set offset value; S170, if the set offset value has not been reached, repeating the steps S120 to S160.
Varna teaches at a condition that the three-phase unbalance degree does not reach a starting value (0166 “the voltage regulation mode is activated only if the PCC voltage rises/drops below the set reference value of ±1% (1.01 pu or 0.99 pu). The current harmonic compensation loop is activated if the THD in load current is noticed to be more than 5%”)
S140, calculating unbalanced adjustment power to be output by each split-phase power adjustment module, and determining three-phase compensation reference currents Ia_ref, Ib_ref, Ic_ref of the split-phase power adjustment modules (0166 “the voltage regulation mode is activated only if the PCC voltage rises/drops below the set reference value of ±1% (1.01 pu or 0.99 pu). The current harmonic compensation loop is activated if the THD in load current is noticed to be more than 5%”, table 1 instantaneous phase a, b, c reference current for PCC voltage)
S150, obtaining actual compensation currents Ioa , Iob, Ioc of converters of phase output modules by tracking the current reference values Ia_ref, Ib_ref, Ic_ref through hysteresis control of converters of the split-phase power adjustment modules (0164 “all the control loop current components are added together to generate the overall reference current signals (i*.sub.SF,abc) for the solar farm inverter. These reference signals are then compared with actual sensed solar farm inverter output currents (i.sub.SF,abc) and processed using a hysteresis current controller to perform switching of inverter semiconductor devices”, 0165)
S160, detecting whether a change range of the three-phase unbalance degree reaches a set offset value (0166 “the voltage regulation mode is activated only if the PCC voltage rises/drops below the set reference value of ±1% (1.01 pu or 0.99 pu). The current harmonic compensation loop is activated if the THD in load current is noticed to be more than 5%”)
S170, if the set offset value has not been reached, repeating the steps S120 to S160 (0166 “All the reference signals for different functionalities are generated on a continuous basis and the master control unit is used to activate/deactivate different loops based on priorities and control requirements”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Black with the teachings of Varma since Varma teaches a means for “enhance damping and stability, and provide other benefits provided by FACTS devices” (abstract).
The cited prior art do not teach S130, determining an adjustment power supply that needs to participate in unbalanced adjustment in the transformer area, wherein adjustment power supplies comprise distributed photovoltaic devices and distributed small energy storage power supplies in the transformer area.
Zhou teaches S130, determining an adjustment power supply that needs to participate in unbalanced adjustment in the transformer area, wherein adjustment power supplies comprise distributed photovoltaic devices and distributed small energy storage power supplies in the transformer area (1:55-65 “a reactive power compensation system comprises a distributed energy resource situated at a local location configured to also receive power from a remote location by a distribution feeder line. The distributed energy resource comprises an inverter comprising power semiconductor switching devices and an inverter controller configured for controlling the power semiconductor switching devices so as to provide reactive power support to the distribution feeder line”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the teachings of Black and Varma with Zhou since Zhou teaches a means for using photovoltaic systems in order to leverage these assets for desirable reactive power support (1:50-55).
Regarding claim 10, A computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (Black 0007) wherein, when the computer program is executed by a processor, the split-phase output power adjustment method in the low voltage transformer of claim 9 is performed (taught as shown in the rejection of claim 9).
Conclusion
/TAMEEM D SIDDIQUEE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2116