DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received 10/31/2023. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 15-20 recites “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” are deemed in compliance with the requirement of 35 U.S.C. 101, and are eligible claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2022/0053329), hereinafter “Kim“, in view of Prabhakar et al (US 2021/0259045), hereinafter “Prabhakar“.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a computer-implemented method for subscribing or unsubscribing to mobility event notifications comprising:
determining a mobility event associated with a user equipment (UE) (pars [0068-0069]);
generating a request to subscribe to the mobility event notifications (pars [0092-0093]) or to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications in response to the mobility event;
sending the request (pars [0092-0093]);
Kim does not explicitly teach receiving a response in response to the request; and acknowledging subscribing or unsubscribing to the mobility event notifications based on the response.
Prabhakar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches receiving a response in response to the request; and acknowledging subscribing or unsubscribing to the mobility event notifications based on the response (pars [0120] [0127] [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Prabhakar, in order to provide the authentication for unmanned aerial vehicles in a wireless communication system for improvement in both wireless communications and in wireless communication devices including the new radio communication such as the fifth generation (5G) (as suggested by Prabhakar in paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Kim further teaches comprising: determining an event associated with dissociation from an uncrewed aircraft system (UAS) service supplier (pars [0062] [0222]; and generating a second request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications based on the event (pars [0071] [0084-0085]).
Regarding claims 5 and 19, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the computer-implemented method of claims 4, 15, Kim does not clearly teach wherein the determining the event associated with the dissociation from the UAS service supplier comprises: receiving an authorization revocation request, wherein the generating the second request to unsubscribe is subsequent to the receiving the authorization revocation request.
Prabhakar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the determining the event associated with the dissociation from the UAS service supplier comprises: receiving an authorization revocation request, wherein the generating the second request to unsubscribe is subsequent to the receiving the authorization revocation request (pars [0131-0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Prabhakar, in order to provide the authentication for unmanned aerial vehicles in a wireless communication system for improvement in both wireless communications and in wireless communication devices including the new radio communication such as the fifth generation (5G) (as suggested by Prabhakar in paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the computer-implemented method of claims 1, 9, 15, Kim further teaches wherein the request to subscribe to the mobility event notifications includes a subscription correlation ID for management of a subscription for mobility event notifications and the response includes a first event report corresponding to the subscription (par [0072] teaches create policy information associated with the UAV UE that includes an application level UAV identifier (assigned by the USS device), a network level UAV identifier (assigned by the core network), information associated with the USS device, and/or the like. The MME/AMF may use the policy information when performing an authentication and authorization procedure with the UAV UE, further pars [0092-0093] teach the network level UAV identifier associated with the UAV UE).
Regarding claims 7, 13, and 20, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the computer-implemented method of claims 1, 9, 15, Kim does not clearly teach wherein the request to subscribe to the mobility event notification is a Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe request and the request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications is a Namf_EventExposure_UnSubscribe request.
Prabhakar, in the same field teaches wherein the request to subscribe to the mobility event notification is a Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe request and the request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications is Namf_EventExposure_UnSubscribe request (pars [0101-0103] [0107-0108 teach the commands and the application that controlled the UAV/UAS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Prabhakar, in order to provide the authentication for unmanned aerial vehicles in a wireless communication system for improvement in both wireless communications and in wireless communication devices including the new radio communication such as the fifth generation (5G) (as suggested by Prabhakar in paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the UE is associated with a handover event from a first Access Mobility and Management Function (AMF) to a second AMF (par [0069] teaches the AMF may select another AMF), wherein the request is sent to the second AMF, and wherein the response is received from the second AMF (par [0069]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches a system comprising: at least one processor; and a memory (par [0010] teaches a memory) storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (par [0010] teaches a processor), cause the system to perform:
determining a mobility event associated with a user equipment (UE) (pars [0068-0069]);
generating a first request to subscribe to the mobility event notifications (pars [0092-0093]);
receiving a notification associated with a subscription to the mobility event notifications (pars [0073-0076]);
Kim does not explicitly teach determining a revocation of authorization received from an uncrewed aircraft system (UAS) service supplier; and generating a second request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications based on the revocation of authorization.
Prabhakar, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining a revocation of authorization received from an uncrewed aircraft system (UAS) service supplier (pars [0113-0115]); and generating a second request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications based on the revocation of authorization (pars [0007-0011] [0091] [0124]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Prabhakar, in order to provide the authentication for unmanned aerial vehicles in a wireless communication system for improvement in both wireless communications and in wireless communication devices including the new radio communication such as the fifth generation (5G) (as suggested by Prabhakar in paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kim and Prabhakar teach the system of claim 9, Kim further teaches wherein the UE is an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV) (pars [0091-0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing system, cause the computing system to:
determining a termination of a user equipment (UE) subscription (pars [0079] teach determine if the UAV authentication and authorization procedure is required or already completed, and par [0036] teaches allow unrestricted access by UEs with service subscription);
generating a request to unsubscribe to the mobility event notifications from an Access Mobility and Management Function (AMF) in response to the termination of the UE subscription (pars [0073-0075] [0079-0080]);
Kim does not explicitly teach sending the request to the AMF; and
receiving a response from the AMF in response to the request, wherein the response acknowledges the unsubscribe.
Prabhakar, in the same field teaches sending the request to the AMF; and
receiving a response from the AMF in response to the request, wherein the response acknowledges the unsubscribe (pars [0120] [0127] [0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Kim to Prabhakar, in order to provide the authentication for unmanned aerial vehicles in a wireless communication system for improvement in both wireless communications and in wireless communication devices including the new radio communication such as the fifth generation (5G) (as suggested by Prabhakar in paragraphs [0003-0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 2-3, 10-11, 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 2, 10, 16, the prior art of record fails to disclose initiating an authorization procedure in response to the mobility event; determining the authorization procedure succeeded; and determining the UE is not subscribed to the mobility event notifications, wherein the request to subscribe to the mobility event notifications is generated based on the determination the authorization procedure succeeded and the determination the UE is not subscribed to the mobility event notifications as specified in the claims.
As to claims 3, 11, 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose initiating an authorization procedure in response to the mobility event; determining the authorization procedure failed; and determining the UE is subscribed to the mobility event notifications, wherein the request to unsubscribe from the mobility event notifications is generated based on a determination the authorization procedure failed and the determination the UE is subscribed to the mobility event notifications.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641