DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 18/558,398 filed on 11/01/2023.
Claims 1 – 4, 8, 10 – 18, 20, and 22 – 30 are amended.
Claims 1 – 30 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a 371 national stage filing of International PCT Application No. PCT/CN2021/104208 filed July 2, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/01/2023, 02/19/2025 and 08/13/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 7 – 8, 12, 15 – 17, 19 – 20, 24 – 26 and 28 – 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN et al. (SUN hereinafter referred to SUN) (US 2024/0057071 A1) in view of GO et al. (GO hereinafter referred to GO) (US 2022/0166587 A1).
Regarding claim 1, SUN teaches (Title, PANEL SELECTION FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSION) an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1B and [0057], System 160 is a UE), comprising:
a first interface (Fig.1B and [0057], antenna 175) configured to:
obtain an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.2A, block 204. [0067], UE 110 receives, from base station 120, an indication of one or more SRS resources; This indication identifies SRS resources for PUSCH transmissions. Here, PUSCH transmission is an uplink transmission); and
obtain control signaling ([0007], receiving, at the UE a downlink control information (DCI) message indicating one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources) a first panel of a set of panels of the UE, the first panel indicated in accordance with a respective number of SRS ports associated with each panel of the set of panels and the one or more SRS resource sets (Fig.2A, block 206. [0068], UE 110 identifies a panel including one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources; The SRS resources identified by base station 120 provides an indication of a particular panel to use for PUSCH transmissions at UE 110. The panel selected includes the one or more antenna ports identified corresponding to the one or more SRS resources. Here, the particular/ selected panel is a first panel with a respective number of SRS ports associated with it), wherein different panels of the set of panels are associated with different numbers of SRS ports ([0040], UE includes multiple panels; the panels correspond to different groups of antenna ports on the UE);
a processing system (Fig.1B and [0057], processor 165) configured to:
select, from the set of panels of the UE, the first panel ([0057], Processer 165, upon execution of computer instructions, is configured to perform the functionality described for panel selection; [0059], processor 165 identifies one or more panels to use for PUSCH communications); and
the first interface (Fig.1B and [0057], antenna 175) or a second interface configured to:
output the uplink transmission via the first panel (Fig.2A, block 208. [0069], UE 110 configures PUSCH transmission communications to use the panel including the one or more antenna ports; Abstract and [0002], selecting a panel at UE for SRS and/or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communications; [0059], UE 110 supports SRS and PUSCH transmissions associated with different panels).
SUN does not specifically teach
obtain control signaling indicating a first panel;
select, the first panel in accordance with the control signaling.
However, GO teaches (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND DEVICE THEREFOR)
obtain an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.17, block 1720. [0434], UE receives, from the BS, configuration information related to the transmission of the SRS; [0436], the configuration information includes information on SRS resource setting related to the plurality of panels and the SRS resource setting includes a plurality of SRS resource sets for the plurality of panels); and
obtain control signaling indicating a first panel ([0440], a step of receiving downlink control information (DCI) before step S1730; the UE receives, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS. The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the DCI indicates a panel related to the transmission of the SRS, i.e. a first panel) of a set of panels of the UE ([0010], The number of antennas related to the transmission of the SRS is based on the number of plurality of panels and the number of antennas for each panel. Here, a plurality of panels, i.e. a set of panels is associated with the UE);
select, from the set of panels of the UE, the first panel in accordance with the control signaling ([0440], The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the first panel is selected in accordance with the DCI/ control signaling); and
output the uplink transmission via the first panel ([0443], the SRS is transmitted based on a panel indicated through the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, SUN teaches (Title, PANEL SELECTION FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSION) an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity (Fig.1B and [0057], System 160 is a base station), comprising:
a first interface (Fig.1B and [0057], antenna 175) configured to:
output, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.2B, block 216. [0074], base station 120 transmits to UE 110 an indication of the one or more SRS resources; After UE 110 receives this indication, UE 110 may identify a panel to use for PUSCH communications. Here, PUSCH transmission is an uplink transmission); and
output, to the UE control signaling ([0007], receiving, at the UE a downlink control information (DCI) message indicating one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources) a first panel of a set of panels of the UE, the first panel indicated in accordance with a respective number of SRS ports associated with each panel of the set of panels and the one or more SRS resource sets (Fig.2A, block 206. [0068], UE 110 identifies a panel including one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources; The SRS resources identified by base station 120 provides an indication of a particular panel to use for PUSCH transmissions at UE 110. The panel selected includes the one or more antenna ports identified corresponding to the one or more SRS resources. Here, the particular/ selected panel is a first panel with a respective number of SRS ports associated with it), wherein different panels of the set of panels are associated with different numbers of SRS ports ([0040], UE includes multiple panels; the panels correspond to different groups of antenna ports on the UE); and
the first interface (Fig.1B and [0057], antenna 175) or a second interface configured to:
obtain, from the UE, the uplink transmission via the first panel of the UE (Fig.2B, block 218. [0074], base station 120 receives PUSCH transmission communications from UE 110 via the identified panel; Abstract and [0002], selecting a panel at UE for SRS and/or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communications; [0059], UE 110 supports SRS and PUSCH transmissions associated with different panels).
SUN does not specifically teach
output, to the UE control signaling indicating a first panel.
However, GO teaches (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND DEVICE THEREFOR)
output, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.18, block 1820. [0455], BS transmits, to the UE, configuration information related to the transmission of the SRS; [0436], the configuration information includes information on SRS resource setting related to the plurality of panels and the SRS resource setting includes a plurality of SRS resource sets for the plurality of panels); and
output, to the UE control signaling indicating a first panel ([0461], a step of transmitting downlink control information (DCI) before step S1830; the BS transmits, to the UE, DCI for triggering the SRS. The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the DCI indicates a panel related to the transmission of the SRS, i.e. a first panel) of a set of panels of the UE ([0010], The number of antennas related to the transmission of the SRS is based on the number of plurality of panels and the number of antennas for each panel. Here, a plurality of panels, i.e. a set of panels is associated with the UE); and
obtain, from the UE, the uplink transmission via the first panel (Fig.18, block 1830. [0465], the BS receives, from the UE the SRS; [0443], the SRS is transmitted by the UE based on a panel indicated through the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 24, SUN teaches (Title, PANEL SELECTION FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSION) a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig.1A and [0061], a flowchart 200A for configuring PUSCH communications at a UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.2A, block 204. [0067], UE 110 receives, from base station 120, an indication of one or more SRS resources; This indication identifies SRS resources for PUSCH transmissions. Here, PUSCH transmission is an uplink transmission); and
receiving control signaling ([0007], receiving, at the UE a downlink control information (DCI) message indicating one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources) a first panel of a set of panels of the UE, the first panel indicated in accordance with a respective number of SRS ports associated with each panel of the set of panels and the one or more SRS resource sets (Fig.2A, block 206. [0068], UE 110 identifies a panel including one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources; The SRS resources identified by base station 120 provides an indication of a particular panel to use for PUSCH transmissions at UE 110. The panel selected includes the one or more antenna ports identified corresponding to the one or more SRS resources. Here, the particular/ selected panel is a first panel with a respective number of SRS ports associated with it), wherein different panels of the set of panels are associated with different numbers of SRS ports ([0040], UE includes multiple panels; the panels correspond to different groups of antenna ports on the UE);
selecting from the set of panels of the UE, the first panel ([0057], Processer 165, upon execution of computer instructions, is configured to perform the functionality described for panel selection; [0059], processor 165 identifies one or more panels to use for PUSCH communications); and
performing the uplink transmission via the first panel (Fig.2A, block 208. [0069], UE 110 configures PUSCH transmission communications to use the panel including the one or more antenna ports; Abstract and [0002], selecting a panel at UE for SRS and/or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communications; [0059], UE 110 supports SRS and PUSCH transmissions associated with different panels).
SUN does not specifically teach
receiving control signaling indicating a first panel;
selecting the first panel in accordance with the control signaling.
However, GO teaches a method for wireless communication (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND DEVICE THEREFOR)
receiving an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.17, block 1720. [0434], UE receives, from the BS, configuration information related to the transmission of the SRS; [0436], the configuration information includes information on SRS resource setting related to the plurality of panels and the SRS resource setting includes a plurality of SRS resource sets for the plurality of panels); and
receiving control signaling indicating a first panel ([0440], a step of receiving downlink control information (DCI) before step S1730; the UE receives, from the BS, downlink control information (DCI) for triggering the SRS. The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the DCI indicates a panel related to the transmission of the SRS, i.e. a first panel) of a set of panels of the UE ([0010], The number of antennas related to the transmission of the SRS is based on the number of plurality of panels and the number of antennas for each panel. Here, a plurality of panels, i.e. a set of panels is associated with the UE);
selecting from the set of panels of the UE, the first panel in accordance with the control signaling ([0440], The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the first panel is selected in accordance with the DCI/ control signaling); and
performing the uplink transmission via the first panel ([0443], the SRS is transmitted based on a panel indicated through the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claim 28, SUN teaches (Title, PANEL SELECTION FOR UPLINK TRANSMISSION) a method for wireless communication at a network entity (Fig.1B and [0070], a flowchart 200B for configuring PUSCH communications at a base station), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.2B, block 216. [0074], base station 120 transmits to UE 110 an indication of the one or more SRS resources; After UE 110 receives this indication, UE 110 may identify a panel to use for PUSCH communications. Here, PUSCH transmission is an uplink transmission); and
transmitting, to the UE control signaling ([0007], receiving, at the UE a downlink control information (DCI) message indicating one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources) a first panel of a set of panels of the UE, the first panel indicated in accordance with a respective number of SRS ports associated with each panel of the set of panels and the one or more SRS resource sets (Fig.2A, block 206. [0068], UE 110 identifies a panel including one or more antenna ports corresponding to the one or more SRS resources; The SRS resources identified by base station 120 provides an indication of a particular panel to use for PUSCH transmissions at UE 110. The panel selected includes the one or more antenna ports identified corresponding to the one or more SRS resources. Here, the particular/ selected panel is a first panel with a respective number of SRS ports associated with it), wherein different panels of the set of panels are associated with different numbers of SRS ports ([0040], UE includes multiple panels; the panels correspond to different groups of antenna ports on the UE); and
receiving, from the UE, the uplink transmission via the first panel of the UE (Fig.2B, block 218. [0074], base station 120 receives PUSCH transmission communications from UE 110 via the identified panel; Abstract and [0002], selecting a panel at UE for SRS and/or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communications; [0059], UE 110 supports SRS and PUSCH transmissions associated with different panels).
SUN does not specifically teach
transmitting, to the UE control signaling indicating a first panel.
However, GO teaches (Title, METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SOUNDING REFERENCE SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND DEVICE THEREFOR)
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of one or more sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets associated with an SRS for an uplink transmission (Fig.18, block 1820. [0455], BS transmits, to the UE, configuration information related to the transmission of the SRS; [0436], the configuration information includes information on SRS resource setting related to the plurality of panels and the SRS resource setting includes a plurality of SRS resource sets for the plurality of panels); and
transmitting, to the UE control signaling indicating a first panel ([0461], a step of transmitting downlink control information (DCI) before step S1830; the BS transmits, to the UE, DCI for triggering the SRS. The DCI includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, the DCI indicates a panel related to the transmission of the SRS, i.e. a first panel) of a set of panels of the UE ([0010], The number of antennas related to the transmission of the SRS is based on the number of plurality of panels and the number of antennas for each panel. Here, a plurality of panels, i.e. a set of panels is associated with the UE); and
receiving, from the UE, the uplink transmission via the first panel (Fig.18, block 1830. [0465], the BS receives, from the UE the SRS; [0443], the SRS is transmitted by the UE based on a panel indicated through the DCI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified SUN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claims 2, 16, 25 and 29, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claims 1, 15, 24 and 28, respectively as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
wherein obtaining/ outputting/ receiving/ transmitting the indication of the one or more SRS resource sets associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission ([0073], base station 120 configures one or more SRS resources and/or SRS resource sets to indicate a panel for UE 110 to use for PUSCH transmissions) further comprises:
obtaining/ outputting/ receiving/ transmitting an indication of two SRS resource sets associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission (Fig.5B and [0093], SRS resource sets 530, 540 corresponding to different panels), wherein the two SRS resource sets include a first SRS resource set (Fig.5B, SRS resource set 530) associated with a first number of SRS ports ([0086], base station determines that Panel 0 should be used for SRS and/or PUSCH communications. This determination is based on the number of antenna ports corresponding to Panel 0. This number of antenna ports is capable of supporting SRS and/or PUSCH communications; [0042], The SRI indicates a number of antenna ports to use for PUSCH communications; Fig.5B and [0093], SRI transmission. since the SRI indicates the SRS resource sets 530, 540 and the number of antenna ports to use for PUSCH communications; therefore, it is obvious that the first SRS resource set is associated with a first number of SRS ports) and a second SRS resource set (Fig.5B, SRS resource set 540) associated with a second number of SRS ports ([same as above regarding [0086], [0042], and [0093], the second SRS resource set is associated with a second number of SRS ports), the first SRS resource set associated with the first panel of the set of panels ([0093], SRS resource set 530 includes SRS resources 532, 534. A first SRS resource 532 (SRS 0) and a second SRS resource 534 (SRS 1) correspond to Panel 0. Here, the first SRS resource set associated with the first panel (i.e. Panel 0) of the set of panels 0, 1, 2) and the second SRS resource set associated with a second panel of the set of panels ([0093], SRS resource set 540 includes SRS resources 542, 544. A third SRS resource 542 corresponds to Panel 1).
GO further teaches
wherein the two SRS resource sets include a first SRS resource set associated with a first number of SRS ports and a second SRS resource set associated with a second number of SRS ports ([0266], the SRS ports for respective SRS resources in two given SRS resource sets are configured to be associated with different UE antenna ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SUN and GO as mentioned in claims 1, 15, 24 and 28 and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claims 3, 17, 26 and 30, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claims 2, 16, 25 and 29, respectively as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
wherein the UE is capable of a single active uplink panel and a single valid SRS resource set (Fig.5B and [0094], Base station 120 transmits an SRI to UE 110 identifying SRS resource set 530 for SRS and/or PUSCH communications; [0095] UE 110 then recognizes SRS resource set 550 as valid and corresponding to Panel 0. Here, the panel 0 is a single active uplink panel and the SRS resource set 550 is a single valid SRS resource set), and wherein obtaining/ outputting/ receiving/ transmitting the control signaling indicating the first panel of the set of panels further comprises:
obtaining/ outputting/ receiving/ transmitting signaling indicating the first SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set ([0084], base station transmits an SRI indicating the valid SRS resources; [0094], base station transmits SRIs associated with valid SRS resource sets. Here, SRI is a signaling indicating the first SRS resource set as a valid SRS resource set ), wherein selecting the first panel is a result of the first SRS resource set being the valid SRS resource set ([0095], SRS resource set 550 includes valid SRS resources 552, 554, which correspond to Panel 0. Here, the panel 0 is the first panel).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claims 1 and 15, respectively as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
wherein obtaining/ outputting the indication of the one or more SRS resource sets associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission ([0073], base station 120 configures one or more SRS resources and/or SRS resource sets to indicate a panel for UE 110 to use for PUSCH transmissions) further comprises:
obtaining/ outputting an indication of a single SRS resource set associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission (Fig.5B and [0094], Base station 120 transmits an SRI to UE 110 identifying SRS resource set 530 for SRS and/or PUSCH communications; [0095], UE 110 then recognizes SRS resource set 550 as valid. Here, the SRS resource set 530/ 550 is a single SRS resource set associated with the SRS for the uplink transmission), the single SRS resource set including multiple SRS resources ([0095], SRS resource set 550 includes valid SRS resources 552, 554).
SUN does not specifically teach
wherein the multiple SRS resources in the single SRS resource set are configurable with a dynamic number of SRS ports.
However, GO teaches
wherein the multiple SRS resources in the single SRS resource set are configurable with a dynamic number of SRS ports ([0264], an SRS port for a second SRS resource in the SRS resource set is configured to be associated with a different UE antenna port from an SRS port for a first SRS resource in the same SRS resource set. Here, the first SRS resource and the second SRS resource in the same single SRS resource set are configurable with a different number of SRS ports; i.e. they are dynamic number of SRS ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SUN and GO as mentioned in claims 1 and 15 and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claims 7 and 19, respectively as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
wherein the UE is capable of a single active uplink panel (Fig.5B and [0095], Panel 0):
obtaining signaling ([0094], Base station 120 transmits an SRI to UE 110 identifying SRS resource set 530 for SRS and/or PUSCH communications) indicating a number of SRS ports for the multiple SRS resources ([0084], SRIs identify SRS resources for a panel; valid SRS resources correspond to a panel having a number of antenna ports capable of supporting a quantity of valid SRS resources; a maximum number of antenna ports on a panel is considered. Valid SRS resources are equal to or less than this maximum number) in the single SRS resource set (Fig.5B and [0095], UE 110 then recognizes SRS resource set 550 as valid and corresponding to Panel 0; SRS resource set 550 includes valid SRS resources 552, 554), wherein selecting the first panel is a result of the number of SRS ports being indicated for the multiple SRS resources in the single SRS resource set (As mentioned above, the panel selection is based on valid SRS resources which corresponds to the number of antenna ports on a panel capable of supporting a quantity of valid SRS resources; therefore, the first panel is selected a result of the number of SRS ports being indicated for the multiple SRS resources in the single SRS resource set).
Regarding claim 12, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
obtaining spatial relation information for a reference signal associated with the first panel, wherein selecting the first panel is a result of obtaining the spatial relation information for the reference signal associated with the first panel ([0078], Base station
identifies the particular antenna ports on the list based on their association with a particular panel for SRS and/or PUSCH communications; the panel identification at the base station is based on spatial relation information corresponding to SRS and/or PUSCH communications. In some aspects, base station 120 may provide the list to UE 110 using a transmission configuration indication (TCI) message. Here, the panel identification (i.e. the first panel is selected) is based on spatial relation information corresponding to SRS (i.e. spatial relation information for a reference signal associated with the first panel)).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of GO and further in view of PARK et al. (PARK hereinafter referred to PARK) (US 2022/0166468 A1).
Regarding claim 13, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SUN does not specifically teach
obtaining an identifier associated with the first panel via scheduling information, wherein selecting the first panel is a result of obtaining the identifier associated with the first panel via the scheduling information.
However PARK teaches (Title, APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR REPORTING CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM)
obtaining an identifier associated with the first panel via scheduling information ([0336], a panel identifier (ID) includes identification information of a panel of a UE; [0352], a panel ID is associated in an SRS resource level within an SRS resource set; a panel ID is indicated by DCI (i.e., an UL grant) for PUSCH scheduling. Here, DCI is a scheduling information of the PUSCH transmission; therefore, panel ID is received via scheduling information), wherein selecting the first panel is a result of obtaining the identifier associated with the first panel via the scheduling information ([0336], In the case of panel-specific uplink transmission, panel indication based on a panel ID is performed; the panel-specific uplink transmission means uplink transmission of a panel unit; [0352], a panel ID is indicated by DCI for PUSCH scheduling; a UE needs to transmit a scheduled PUSCH by using the same panel indicated by the panel ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SUN and GO as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of PARK. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide operation based on a configuration of a panel ID for each SRS resource set for specific usage, which provides a flexibility of a configuration related to a UE panel and beam indication can be increased, uplink (UL) transmission performance can be improved, and unintended uplink interference can be reduced (PARK, [0379]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUN in view of GO and further in view of Zhang et al. (Zhang hereinafter referred to Zhang) (US 2023/0155655 A1).
Regarding claim 14, combination of SUN and GO teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
SUN further teaches
output a UE capability report ([0123], When UE is able to support simultaneous transmissions for SRS and/or PUSCH signals for some band combinations, UE reports this capability to base station).
SUN does not specifically teach
output a UE capability report indicating a respective upper limit of SRS ports for each panel of the set of panels of the UE and an upper limit of active panels that the UE is capable of supporting, wherein obtaining the control signaling indicating the first panel of the set of panels is in accordance with the UE capability report.
However, GO teaches
output a UE capability report (Fig.17, block 1710. [0426], UE transmits UE capability information related to transmission of a sound reference signal (SRS)) indicating a respective SRS ports for each panel of the set of panels of the UE and an upper limit of active panels that the UE is capable of supporting ([0430], the UE capability information includes the number of plurality of panels, and the number of antennas related to the transmission of the SRS is based on the number of antennas for each panel. Here, the number of plurality of panels is considered as an upper limit of active panels that the UE is capable of supporting), wherein obtaining the control signaling indicating the first panel of the set of panels is in accordance with the UE capability report (Abstract and Fig.17, UE transmits capability information associated with transmission of a SRS; receives configuration information and transmits the SRS; Fig.17 and [0440], before transmitting the SRS, the UE receives, from the BS, DCI that includes information representing a panel related to the transmission of the SRS. Here, DCI/ control signaling indicates the first panel of the set of panels and it is received after transmitting UE capability related to SRS transmission; therefore, it is obvious that the control signaling indicating the first panel is in accordance with the UE capability report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SUN and GO as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of GO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for transmitting a sounding reference signal (SRS) by a multi-panel UE based on an SRS resource set configured for each panel. The UE transmits the SRS within a range of a capability related to panel switching, thus reliability of SRS transmission for antenna switching is secured (GO, Abstract and [0034], [0035]).
The combination of SUN and GO does not specifically teach
UE capability report indicating a respective upper limit of SRS ports for each panel.
However Zhang teaches (Title, Systems And Methods For User Equipment (UE) Selection From Among Asymmetric Uplink (UL) Antenna Panels)
output a UE capability report indicating a respective upper limit of SRS ports for each panel of the set of panels of the UE ([0125] and [0130], capability report for each of a plurality of antenna panels comprises an indication of at least one of the following properties of the user device: a maximum number of SRS resources available for beam management; ….; a maximum number of ports available per SRS resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of SUN and GO as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of Zhang. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide systems and methods for user equipment (UE) selection from among asymmetric uplink (UL) antenna panels. It is beneficial for antenna panel selection for UL transmissions by the UE to change over time, e.g., based on the capabilities and/or signal conditions that are being reported by the various antenna panels of the UE (Zhang, Title and [0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 6, 9 – 11, 18, 21 – 23 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hakola et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0106168 A1) – “FACILITATING USER EQUIPMENT BEAMFORMING CONTROL” discloses a user equipment configured to include a plurality of antenna panels, capability information to a base station, the capability information including antenna panel information regarding the plurality of antenna panels; and providing, by the user equipment, antenna panel usage information to the base station, the antenna panel usage information indicative of which of the plurality of antenna panels are in at least one of an active transmit state or an active receive state.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474