DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 7/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcos, Tascon et al., “High-Throughput Screening and Quantitation of Target Compounds in Biofluids by Coated Blade Spray-Mass Spectrometry”, Analytical Chemistry, vol. 89, no. 16, 17 July 2017, pages 8421-8428, hereinafter Marcos in view of United States Application Publication No. 2011/0018525, hereinafter MacLean
Regarding claim 1, Marcos teaches a Taylor cone emitter device repository (abstract), comprising: a repository plate (figure 2B); a repository wall (the walls holding the plate as shown in figure 2D) extending from the repository plate and peripherally surrounding a substrate chamber (figure 2D); an array of orifices (figure 2c) disposed in the repository plate (figure 2), each configured to receive and retain a substrate and a receptacle mount of one of an array of Taylor cone emitter devices (figure 2); wherein: the substrate chamber is configured to at least partially receive a microtiter array tray and to accept the substrate of each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices with the substrate and a tapering tip extending from the substrate being remote from contact with the repository wall or any adjacent of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices disposed in the Taylor cone emitter device repository (lowering the blades into the microtiter plate labeled extraction in figure 2C); and the array of orifices disposed in the repository plate is distributed in alignment with the microtiter array tray such that each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices, when the microtiter array tray is at least partially received by the substrate chamber, is disposed within a separate well of the microtiter array tray (figure 2).
Marcos fails to teach an array of clocking feature interfaces including at least one sloping surface relative to the repository plate disposed in the repository plate and configured to guide clocking features of each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices into predetermined radial orientations such that the array of clocking feature interfaces radially realigns any of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices which are presented radially off axis with respect to the array of clocking feature interfaces to be radially aligned and fixes each of the array of Taylor cone emitter devices in the predetermined radial orientations.
MacLean teaches an automatic device which has a clocking feature with at least one sloping surface relative to the rest of the device (MacLean, the vertical slot in 8 with the sloped entry surface as shown in figure 7) which interact with a clocking feature of a device to be inserted (MacLean, paragraph [0039]) which enforces rotational compliance to a predefined orientation (MacLean, paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the clocking feature of MacLean to the array of orifices because it would be able to interact with a clocking feature of a Taylor cone emitter which is inserted which would enforce rotational compliance to a predefined orientation (MacLean, paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Marcos teaches wherein the array of orifices includes 96 orifices in an 8x12 matrix (page 8423, column 2, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 4, Marcos teaches wherein the repository wall is configured to fit over the microtiter array tray in peripheral contact with a peripheral surface of the microtiter array tray (figure 2C).
Regarding claim 5, Marcos teaches further including a repository base (the bottom of where the walls holding the plate as shown in figure 2D) having a cavity configured to receive the microtiter array tray (figure 2D), wherein the repository wall is configured to engage with the repository base (figure 2), defining the substrate chamber in conjunction with the repository plate (figure 2), with the microtiter array tray being disposed entirely within the substrate chamber (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Marcos teaches further including a repository cover (the structure holding the array of Taylor cone emitter devices), wherein the repository cover is configured to mount over the repository plate so as to secure the array of Taylor cone emitter devices within the array of orifices (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, the Taylor cone emitter device is not positively claimed and therefore any limitation on the Taylor cone emitter device has minimal patentable weight (MPEP § 2115). The claim is therefore taught by Marcos. Further, this limitation is taught in figure 2A.
Regarding claim 8, Marcos teaches wherein the receptacle mount is a pipette tip receptacle mount (figure 2).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marcos and MacLean as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Patent No. 6,066,848, hereinafter Kassel.
Regarding claim 2, Marcos and MacLean teach all limitations of claim 1; however, they fail to teach the array of orifices includes 48 orifices in a 6x8 matrix.
Kassel teaches a device which utilizes microtiter plates with either 96 wells or 48 wells (6x8 array) (Kassel, column 24, lines 24-33).
Examiner further finds that the prior art contained a device/method/product (i.e., an array with 48 orifices) which differed from the claimed device by the substitution of component(s) (i.e., an array with 96 orifices) with other component(s) (i.e., an array with 48 orifices), and the substituted components and their functions were known in the art as above set forth. An ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention could have substituted one known element with another (i.e., an array with 96 orifices with one of 48 orifices), and the results of the substitution (i.e., holding fluid) would have been predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to substitute an array with 96 orifices of reference Marcos with an array with 48 orifices of reference Kassel, since the result would have been predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 7/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 3-8 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Marcos and MacLean.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796