DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Vallance 2017/0299824US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Butler 2016/0231513US and further in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Zhang 2018/0267265US.
In terms of Claim 1, Vallance teaches an opto-electronic assembly (Figure 1-7) comprising: a substrate (Figure 2a-b: 100) comprising a plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 5a: waveguides 102 or 112 on PIC substrate 100; [0052]); a cradle (Figure 3a: 21 or Figure 7a: 420) bonded to the substrate (Figure 4a: see 20 is bonded to 100 wherein 21 is part of vertical sidewall of 20 as shown Figure 3a-b) and defining a pocket (Figure 2b: open area of 29; Figure 7a: open area in 420) therein having an opening (Figure 2b: opening at 29), the pocket configured to receive an optical ferrule (Figure 3a: 22 contain grooves or channels 23 with circular or semi-circular cross-section as shown in Figure 4b: 23; thus, the examiner considers them to be ferrules) through the opening (Figure 3a: 23 located within the opening of 29) and align the optical ferrule (23) to the plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 4b illustrates the fiber section 31 are aligned with 106 which contains 102 or 112 for optical transmission; [0052]); and a first cover (Figure 2a: 28 or Figure 7a wherein OSA 20 can have the top surface of shell 320 at 321 shown in Figure 7d; Element 321 function as a cover) encapsulating at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 2a: 28 covers the waveguide both on the circuit board and the fibers sections 31; while 321 function in a similar manner) and the cradle (Figure 2a: 21 or Figure 7a: 420), the first cover comprising an aperture (Figure 7a: 320 contains an open window area at 322) exposing the opening of the pocket (Figure 7a: at 321), such that when the optical ferrule (23) is received in the pocket through the opening (Figure 2a: opening of 21 that houses 22) and secured therein and a plurality of second optical waveguides (fibers 31 are considers as waveguide since they can guide light) are attached to the optical ferrule (Figure 2a-b: 31 is attach to 23), the opto-electronic assembly (20) is configured to transfer light between the plurality of first optical waveguides (102/112) and the plurality of second optical waveguides (Figure 2a: 31; Paragraph [0052] discloses light couples from 102/112 to 31); wherein the optical ferrule (23) comprises a reflective light-turning surface (24/25/26) configured to redirect light between the plurality of second optical waveguides and the plurality of first optical waveguides through the aperture (102/112 or 10/31 wherein light is being directed as from one set of waveguides to another set on the sides of the ferrule 23 as shown by Figure 4b and 5a).
Vallance does not teach a first cover that is an overmold formed on the substrate and the cradle and encapsulating at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides and the cradle; and the first cover comprising an aperture exposing aligned with and exposing the opening of the pocket, whereby the optical ferrules is insertable and removable through the aperture while the first cover is in place; and wherein the cradle comprises integral refractive optical lenses disposed in an optical path between the plurality of first optical waveguides and the plurality of second optical waveguides.
Butler does teach a first cover (Figure 16: 162) that is an overmold formed on the substrate (Figure 17a: 162 is formed over the substrate 166) and the cradle (Figure 16: 164) and encapsulating at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides and the cradle (Figure 17a: 162 encapsulate the cradle 164 and the bottom substrate 166)” and the first cover (162) comprising an aperture (Figure 16: see “aperture”) aligned with and exposing the opening of the pocket (open area that house fibers under 162), whereby the optical ferrules (Figure 15: is an multi-channel ferrule housing several fibers tips wherein each channel functions as ferrule) is insertable and removable through the aperture while the first cover is in place (Figure 15: 190 can move or slide along recess area of 188a in and out of the aperture opening);
and wherein the cradle comprises integral refractive optical lenses (Figure 16: 169) disposed in an optical path between the plurality of first optical waveguides and the plurality of second optical waveguides (Figure 15: the lens is in-between 156 and waveguides 146 along the optical path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device cradle Vallance to be similar to cradle design of Butler which includes an aperture opening to include a MT type ferrule. This allows the fibers to be mated with a ferrule connector instead of just bear fibers which overs no protection to internal fibers. Further it allows the fiber cable to easily installed by a sliding movement which reduce the chance of the fiber stub being damage. The modification of the lens allows light to be directed downward wherein lens can perform additional function such as collimating or focusing which further reduces insertion or coupling loss to the 2nd waveguide.
Vallance / Butler do not teach the first cover being a monolithic overmold formed after the cradle is bonded to the substrate and encapsulating the cradle on all sides.
Zhang does teach a first cover (Figure 4: 304) that is an overmold formed on the substrate (Figure 4: 304 and 311) and the cradle (Figure 4: 303 and components within substrate 311) and encapsulating at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides and the cradle (Figures 10a and 10b: wherein waveguides are within connector or MT ferrule which is encapsulated within 304 as shown in Figures 5 and 6); and the first cover (304) comprising an aperture exposing aligned with and exposing the opening of the pocket (Figure 5: see connector registration structure or 502), whereby the optical ferrules (Figure 5: within 502) is insertable and removable through the aperture while the first cover is in place; the first cover (304) being a monolithic overmold formed after the cradle is bonded to the substrate ([0027]) and encapsulating the cradle on all sides (Figure 4: 304 encapsulate the cradle area within the registration structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Vallance / Butler to be encapsulating to cradle waveguides in order to protect the device from dust, provides mechanical alignment and protection to the internal components within the cover recess area (Zhang’s [0056]).
As for Claim 2, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the opening comprises an open top of the pocket (Figure 2a: 21 contains a middle area that’s open on the top).
As for Claim 3, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the opening comprises an open side of the pocket (Figure 2b: 21 contains an open top and sides at 24).
As for Claim 4, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the pocket of the cradle (21) comprises at least one mechanical alignment feature (24 located on the left and right sides or internal vertical side walls of open area 29) configured to align the optical ferrule (23) to at least one of the plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 4b: 31 is aligned with section 106 which contains waveguide 112 as shown by Figure 5a: wherein 31 is located on top of 102 and 106).
As for Claim 5 , Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the first cover (either 28 or 320 top surface) provides a seal for the at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 7a: 320 contains waveguide section within 320; Figure 2a: 28 seals the fiber section 31 and covers up the waveguide on 101) and the cradle (Figure 2a: 28 covers up the cradle 21, Figure 7a: 320 top surface covers up the middle area of 420), except for the opening therein (Figure 2a: 28 leaves expose part of the opening in the middle of 22 while Figure 7a: contain a window area 322 which is expose to the middle portion opening),
As for Claim 6, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, Vallance further teaches an outer cap (Figure 6a:334 functions as an outer cap to 520), the outer cap (334) covering the opening (Figure 6a: 334 partially covers portion of the middle window area of 520 on the top surface) and securing the optical ferrule in the pocket (Figure 6a: 334 functions as clip that secures 520 to shell 333).
As for Claim 7, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 6, wherein Vallance further teaches the outer cap (334) provides strain relief to at least some of the plurality of second optical waveguides (Figure 7a: second waveguides are located in fiber section 31 which is within 520). The clip 334 provides strain relief if pressure was applied to clip via its top surface. The clip slanted structure will absorb some pressure if the pressure was exerted to fiber in a vertical downward manner during installation or removal from the cradle Figure 6a: 334 and 420).
As for Claim 10, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, Vallance further teaches further comprising an adhesive (Paragraph [0055] teaches epoxy is used to secure 100 to 20), the adhesive at least partially filling a space between the first cover and the substrate adhesive (Figure 4b shows 28 is between the middle portion of 20 and the substrate 100; Paragraph [0055] teaches epoxy is used to secure 100 to 20. Thus, adhesive must be located between 100 and 28 in order to secure 100 to 20 as shown in Figure 4b and disclosed by [0055]).
As for Claim 11, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the cradle (21) comprises integral optical lenses disposed between the plurality of first optical waveguides and the plurality of second optical waveguides ([0052] and [0057]
As for Claim 12, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 1, wherein Vallance further teaches the light transferred between the plurality of first optical waveguides (102/112) and the plurality of second optical waveguides (31) is substantially collimated ([0055]) for at least a portion of the optical path between the plurality of first optical waveguides and the plurality of second optical waveguides (Paragraph [0052] teaches light being coupled from 31 to 102/112 via section 106 and Paragraph [0055] teaches element 25 allows the light to be collimated along the way).
As for claim 13, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 12, Vallance further teaches comprising a structure capable of reshaping light ([0053-0055]) between the first optical waveguide (102/112) and the second optical waveguides (31).
Vallance does not mention the act of reshaping the light is expanding the beam connection between the first and second waveguides.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Vallance to reshape light to a level that causes the beam to expand in order to increase coupling efficiency. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
In terms of Claim 14, Vallance teaches an opto-electronic assembly (Figure 2-7) comprising: a substrate (Figure 2b: 100 or Figure 7a: 101) comprising an electrically conductive trace (Figure 2a: 100 or Figure 7a: 101 may contain 130 which contains anode and cathode electrode as shown Figure 5b; electrodes are conductive traces); a cradle (Figure 2a: 21) bonded to the substrate (Figure 2a: 21 to 100 via epoxy [0055]) and defining a pocket therein (Figure 2a: middle portion of 21); and an overmold (Figure 2a: 28 or Figure 7a: top wall of shell 320) covering at least portions of the substrate (Figure 4b: 28 and 100 or Figure 7a: 320 cover 101) and the cradle (Figure 2a: 21 or Figure 7a 420), the overmold (28 or top surface of 320) defining an opening (Figure 7a: 322 is opening window in 320) therein at least partially exposing the pocket for receiving an optical ferrule (the middle contents within 320) therein so that light may be transferred between an optical element (fibers within 320 and the waveguides on 101) disposed on the substrate (100 or 101) and an optical waveguide (Figure 2a: 31) attached to the optical ferrule (Figure 3a: 23), wherein the optical element is at least partially encapsulated by the overmold (Figure 7a: 320 top surface covers the optical element 101; Figure 2a: 28 covers the optical element 102/112 on 100).
Vallance does not teach an overmold formed on and covering at least portions of the substrate, the overmold defining an opening therein at least partially exposing the pocket for receiving an optical ferrule therein while the overmold is in place; and wherein the optical element is at least partially encapsulated by the overmold, and wherein the cradle comprises integral refractive optical lenses disposed between the optical element and the optical waveguide attached to the optical ferrule.
Butler does teach an overmold formed on and covering at least portions of the substrate (Figure 17a: 162 is formed over the substrate 166) and the cradle (Figure 16: 164), the overmold (162) defining an opening therein at least partially exposing the pocket for receiving an optical ferrule therein while the overmold is in place (Figure 17: 162 over 164); and wherein the optical element (Figure 17:162 is covering optical element 146 on the bottom) is at least partially encapsulated by the overmold (Figure 17: 162/164 covers 146), and wherein the cradle (164) comprises integral refractive optical lenses (169) disposed between the optical element and the optical waveguide attached to the optical ferrule (Figure 15: 190/ 164/ 169/ 146).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device cradle Vallance to be similar to cradle design of Butler which includes an aperture opening to include a MT type ferrule. This allows the fibers to be mated with a ferrule connector instead of just bear fibers which overs no protection to internal fibers. Further it allows the fiber cable to easily installed by a sliding movement which reduce the chance of the fiber stub being damage. The modification of the lens allows light to be directed downward wherein lens can perform additional function such as collimating or focusing which further reduces insertion or coupling loss to the optical element.
Vallance / Butler do not teach the first cover being a monolithic overmold formed after the cradle is bonded to the substrate and encapsulating the cradle on all sides.
Zhang does teach a first cover (Figure 4: 304) that is an overmold formed on the substrate (Figure 4: 304 and 311) and the cradle (Figure 4: 303 and components within substrate 311) and encapsulating at least portions of the plurality of first optical waveguides and the cradle (Figures 10a and 10b: wherein waveguides are within connector or MT ferrule which is encapsulated within 304 as shown in Figures 5 and 6); and the first cover (304) comprising an aperture exposing aligned with and exposing the opening of the pocket (Figure 5: see connector registration structure or 502), whereby the optical ferrules (Figure 5: within 502) is insertable and removable through the aperture while the first cover is in place; the first cover (304) being a monolithic overmold formed after the cradle is bonded to the substrate ([0027]) and encapsulating the cradle on all sides (Figure 4: 304 encapsulate the cradle area within the registration structure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Vallance / Butler to be encapsulating to cradle waveguides in order to protect the device from dust, provides mechanical alignment and protection to the internal components within the cover recess area (Zhang’s [0056]).
As for Claim 15, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance further teaches the opening comprises an open top of the pocket (Figure 2a: 21 contains a middle area that’s open on the top).
As for Claim 16, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance further teaches the opening comprises an open side of the pocket (Figure 2b: 21 contains an open top and sides at 24).
As for Claim 17, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance further teaches the pocket of the cradle (21) comprises at least one mechanical alignment feature (24 located on the left and right sides or internal vertical side walls of open area 29) configured to align the optical ferrule (23) to at least one of the plurality of first optical waveguides (Figure 4b: 31 is aligned with section 106 which contains waveguide 112 as shown by Figure 5a: wherein 31 is located on top of 102 and 106).
As for Claim 18, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance further teaches the overmold (Figure 2a: 28) encapsulates at least portions of the electrically conductive trace and (Figure 4b: 130 wherein cathode and anode are connector traces which are located at 104 and 105 [0064] and 28 covers 104/105).
As for Claim 19, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance further teaches the optical ferrule (Figure 3a: 23) is removably received in the pocket (middle area of 21) when the overmold is in place Figure 2a: 28 and Figure 2b: 23).
As for Claim 20, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 14, wherein Vallance teaches the overmold (28) provides a seal for the at least portions of the substrate and the cradle (100 and 21), except for the opening therein (Figure 2a: 28 doesn’t cover a portion of 21 that contains the opening mainly in the area 26/25/34).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallance 2017/0299824US / Butler 2016/0231513US / Zhang 2018/0267265US as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Barwicz 2017/0196097US.
In regards to Claim 8, Vallance / Butler / Zhang teaches the device of Claim 6,
Vallance does not teach a device further comprising a curable adhesive ([0048]) securing the outer cap (Figure 8: outer cap 414) to the first cover overmold (Figure 8: 414 is secured to overmold layer 126) and forming an environmental seal around the aperture (Figure 8: 426 / 428 used to form a seal in openings or aperture taken up by 546).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Vallance / Butler to have an additional cap to protect the overmold layer wherein adhesive is used to provide the mechanical bonding while providing an environmental seal at the adhesion site.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Newly amended limitations to Claims 1 and 14 have been rejected in view of the prior art to Zhang as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Nishimura 2011/0064358US teaches an optical connector coupled to a cradle over a substrate circuit board.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874