This office action is in response to application filed on 11/01/2023.
Claims 1-30 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2023, 01/12/2024, 01/31/2024, 05/07/2024, 10/24/2024, 01/17/2025, 02/11/2025, 05/20/2025, 07/14/2025, 09/12/2025, and 11/07/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Hellenic Republic on 07/09/2021 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11-13, 17-18, 20, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernström et al (US20240183928A1) (hereinafter "Ernström") as supported by provisional application 63169553 filed on April 1, 2021, in view of Intel et al (R1-2104905) (hereinafter "Intel") and Hasegawa et al (US20250081142A1) (hereinafter "Hasegawa '142") as supported by provisional application 63249164 filed on September 28, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Ernström discloses a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising:
obtaining a plurality of reference signal measurement values and associated timing error group information from the wireless node ([0009] In NR Rel. 16, the following UE measurements are specified: DL reference signal time different (“RSTD”); multi-cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement; and DL PRS reference signal received power (“RSRP”). [0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). The LMF receives gNB TX TEG indication (including the spatial index and the temporal index) for each gNB DL-PRS transmission from the gNBs over NRPPa.).
Ernström fails to disclose a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: selecting at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Intel discloses a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: selecting at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values; and (Section 2.1 , page 4, Proposal 1 : "For mitigating UE/gNB RX/TX timing errors for the DL+UL positioning, support the following: Support a UE to provide the association information of a pair of (TX TEG ID, RX TEG ID) with a UE RxTx time difference measurement to LMF where TX TEG ID is used to transmit the UL Positioning SRS and RX TEG ID is used to receive the DL PRS. The UE may provide the association information of the UE TX TEG ID with the UL Positioning SRS resources to LMF, if the UE has multiple TX TEGs.)
Ernström and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mitigation of transmission and reception timing errors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Intel to create a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: selecting at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce timing errors and enhance positioning accuracy.
Ernström fails to disclose a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: providing an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: providing an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0122] Based on the first location estimate, the LMF determines a set of satellites from which the UE may receive sPRS. Alternatively, The LMF may determine the set of satellites based on measurements of sPRS made by reference devices located close to (i.e. in proximity of) the UE. [0194] In step S313, the LMF 340 determines a list of observable satellites or valid NTN cells by the reference device which is within predefined distance from the UE.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create a method for providing transmit and receive timing error group pairs to a wireless node, comprising: providing an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 2, Ernström fails to discloses the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of downlink positioning reference signals measured by the wireless node ([0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). … The LMF groups the RSTD measurements received from the UEs in different TEGs.).
Regarding claim 3, Ernström fails to disclose the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points ([0002] As for the downlink (DL) positioning methods, in a network, Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) are sent from a plurality of Transmission-Reception Points (TRPs) to a User Equipment (UE), i.e. mobile device. The UE receives the multiple reference signals and measures a time difference of arrival between a pair of PRSs.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 11, Ernström discloses a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising:
providing a first plurality of reference signal measurement values and associated timing group information to a location server ([0009] In NR Rel. 16, the following UE measurements are specified: DL reference signal time different (“RSTD”); multi-cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement; and DL PRS reference signal received power (“RSRP”). [0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). The LMF receives gNB TX TEG indication (including the spatial index and the temporal index) for each gNB DL-PRS transmission from the gNBs over NRPPa.)
Ernström fails to disclose a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: receiving an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Intel discloses a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: receiving an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values; and (Section 2.1 , page 4, Proposal 1 : "For mitigating UE/gNB RX/TX timing errors for the DL+UL positioning, support the following: Support a UE to provide the association information of a pair of (TX TEG ID, RX TEG ID) with a UE RxTx time difference measurement to LMF where TX TEG ID is used to transmit the UL Positioning SRS and RX TEG ID is used to receive the DL PRS. The UE may provide the association information of the UE TX TEG ID with the UL Positioning SRS resources to LMF, if the UE has multiple TX TEGs.)
Ernström and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mitigation of transmission and reception timing errors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Intel to create a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: receiving an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce timing errors and enhance positioning accuracy.
Ernström fails to disclose a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: obtaining a second plurality of reference signal measurement values associated with the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: obtaining a second plurality of reference signal measurement values associated with the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0207] In step S411, the UE 410 measures PRS transmitted by terrestrial TRPs and sPRS transmitted by the indicated set of satellites (not illustrated). [0208] In step S413, the UE 410 transmits the measurements corresponding to PRS and sPRS to the LMF 440.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create a method for obtaining reference signal measurements, comprising: obtaining a second plurality of reference signal measurement values associated with the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 12, Ernström discloses the method herein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of downlink positioning reference signals ([0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). … The LMF groups the RSTD measurements received from the UEs in different TEGs.).
Regarding claim 13, Ernström fails to disclose the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points ([0002] As for the downlink (DL) positioning methods, in a network, Positioning Reference Signals (PRSs) are sent from a plurality of Transmission-Reception Points (TRPs) to a User Equipment (UE), i.e. mobile device. The UE receives the multiple reference signals and measures a time difference of arrival between a pair of PRSs.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two downlink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two transmission/reception points.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 17, Ernström discloses the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time of arrival of at least one reference signal in a round trip time signal exchange ([0009] In NR Rel. 16, the following UE measurements are specified: DL reference signal time different (“RSTD”); multi-cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement; and DL PRS reference signal received power (“RSRP”). DL RSTD can allow for, for example, DL TDOA positioning. Multi cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement can allow for multi cell RTT measurements.).
Regarding claim 18, Ernström discloses the method wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of at least the first set of transmit timing error groups is received via a long term evolution positioning protocol or a radio resource control message ([0171] In one embodiment the TX TEG is included in a NR multi-RTT measurement report together with a UE RX-TX time difference measurement coupled to the SRS transmission. In another embodiment the TX TEG assigned to the SRS transmission is reported in a separate LPP message.).
Regarding claim 20, Ernström discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory ([0301] In FIG. 26, UE 4200 includes processing circuitry 4201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 4205, radio frequency (RF) interface 4209, network connection interface 4211, memory 4215 including random access memory (RAM) 4217, read-only memory (ROM) 4219, and storage medium 4221 or the like, communication subsystem 4231, power source 4213, and/or any other component, or any combination thereof);
at least one transceiver ([0307] In FIG. 26, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with network 4243b using communication subsystem 4231.);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to ([0307] In FIG. 26, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with network 4243b using communication subsystem 4231.):
obtain a plurality of reference signal measurement values and associated timing error group information from a wireless node ([0009] In NR Rel. 16, the following UE measurements are specified: DL reference signal time different (“RSTD”); multi-cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement; and DL PRS reference signal received power (“RSRP”). [0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). The LMF receives gNB TX TEG indication (including the spatial index and the temporal index) for each gNB DL-PRS transmission from the gNBs over NRPPa.)
Ernström fails to disclose an apparatus, configured to: select at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Intel discloses an apparatus, configured to: select at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values; and (Section 2.1 , page 4, Proposal 1 : "For mitigating UE/gNB RX/TX timing errors for the DL+UL positioning, support the following: Support a UE to provide the association information of a pair of (TX TEG ID, RX TEG ID) with a UE RxTx time difference measurement to LMF where TX TEG ID is used to transmit the UL Positioning SRS and RX TEG ID is used to receive the DL PRS. The UE may provide the association information of the UE TX TEG ID with the UL Positioning SRS resources to LMF, if the UE has multiple TX TEGs.)
Ernström and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mitigation of transmission and reception timing errors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Intel to create an apparatus, configured to: select at least a first receive timing error group and a first set of transmit timing error groups based on the timing error group information associated with the plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce timing errors and enhance positioning accuracy.
Ernström fails to disclose an apparatus, configured to: provide an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication of the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses an apparatus, configured to: provide an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication of the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0122] Based on the first location estimate, the LMF determines a set of satellites from which the UE may receive sPRS. Alternatively, The LMF may determine the set of satellites based on measurements of sPRS made by reference devices located close to (i.e. in proximity of) the UE. [0194] In step S313, the LMF 340 determines a list of observable satellites or valid NTN cells by the reference device which is within predefined distance from the UE.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create an apparatus, configured to: provide an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication of the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 25, Ernström discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a memory ([0301] In FIG. 26, UE 4200 includes processing circuitry 4201 that is operatively coupled to input/output interface 4205, radio frequency (RF) interface 4209, network connection interface 4211, memory 4215 including random access memory (RAM) 4217, read-only memory (ROM) 4219, and storage medium 4221 or the like, communication subsystem 4231, power source 4213, and/or any other component, or any combination thereof);
at least one transceiver ([0307] In FIG. 26, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with network 4243b using communication subsystem 4231.);
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, and configured to ([0307] In FIG. 26, processing circuitry 4201 may be configured to communicate with network 4243b using communication subsystem 4231.):
provide a first plurality of reference signal measurement values and associated timing group information to a location server ([0009] In NR Rel. 16, the following UE measurements are specified: DL reference signal time different (“RSTD”); multi-cell UE Rx-Tx Time Difference measurement; and DL PRS reference signal received power (“RSRP”). [0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). The LMF receives gNB TX TEG indication (including the spatial index and the temporal index) for each gNB DL-PRS transmission from the gNBs over NRPPa.)
Ernström fails to disclose an apparatus, configured to: receive an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Intel discloses an apparatus, configured to: receive an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values; and (Section 2.1 , page 4, Proposal 1 : "For mitigating UE/gNB RX/TX timing errors for the DL+UL positioning, support the following: Support a UE to provide the association information of a pair of (TX TEG ID, RX TEG ID) with a UE RxTx time difference measurement to LMF where TX TEG ID is used to transmit the UL Positioning SRS and RX TEG ID is used to receive the DL PRS. The UE may provide the association information of the UE TX TEG ID with the UL Positioning SRS resources to LMF, if the UE has multiple TX TEGs.)
Ernström and Intel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of mitigation of transmission and reception timing errors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Intel to create an apparatus, configured to: receive an indication of at least a first receive timing error group and an indication of at least a first set of transmit timing error groups from the location server, wherein the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups are based on the first plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce timing errors and enhance positioning accuracy.
Ernström fails to disclose an apparatus, configured to: provide an indication of the first receive timing error group and an indication of the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '142 discloses an apparatus, configured to: obtain a second plurality of reference signal measurement values associated with the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0207] In step S411, the UE 410 measures PRS transmitted by terrestrial TRPs and sPRS transmitted by the indicated set of satellites (not illustrated). [0208] In step S413, the UE 410 transmits the measurements corresponding to PRS and sPRS to the LMF 440.).
Ernström and Hasegawa '142 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to account for timing errors of a User Equipment in positioning measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström with Hasegawa '142 to create an apparatus, configured to: obtain a second plurality of reference signal measurement values associated with the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve the accuracy of positioning in the presence of unknown timing or angle offsets at the transmitters/receivers or by channel conditions (e.g. multipath propagation).
Regarding claim 26, Ernström discloses the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of downlink positioning reference signals ([0140] In some embodiments, the LMF receives timestamped RSTD measurements from the UEs (note that the RSTD measurements have been performed by the UEs based on the reception of DL-PRSs transmitted from the gNB). … The LMF groups the RSTD measurements received from the UEs in different TEGs.).
Claims 4-5, 14-15, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernström in view of Intel and Hasegawa '142, as applied to claims 1, 11, 20, or 25 above, in further view of Cha et al (US20220390546A1) (hereinafter "Cha").
Regarding claim 4, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals measured by the wireless node.
However, Cha discloses the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals measured by the wireless node ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals measured by the wireless node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Regarding claim 5, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
However, Cha discloses the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the method wherein the plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Regarding claim 14, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals.
However, Cha discloses the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Regarding claim 15, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
However, Cha discloses the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the method wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Regarding claim 27, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals.
However, Cha discloses the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values are based on a plurality of sidelink positioning reference signals.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Regarding claim 28, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
However, Cha discloses the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes ([0050] The above-described operations related to performing AoA measurements can include operations related to determining other measurements, such as reference signal received power (RSRP), time of arrival (ToA), Rx-Tx time difference, and/or the like. In addition, although the example signal diagram 200 was described in the context of a location server and the gNB or TRP, certain embodiments may also apply to the case between the UE and the LMF. For example, if NR includes side-link (SL) positioning, it the AoA between UEs may be measured and certain embodiments may apply to that case.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Cha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of improving location estimation accuracy.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Cha to create the apparatus wherein the first plurality of reference signal measurement values include a time difference of arrival value for at least two sidelink positioning reference signals transmitted by at least two neighboring wireless nodes.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve angle of arrival positioning.
Claims 6, 16, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernström in view of Intel and Hasegawa '142, as applied to claims 1, 11, 20, or 25 above, in further view of Choi et al (US20220039052A1) (hereinafter "Choi").
Regarding claim 6, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
However, Choi discloses the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit ([0054] V2X communication involves the wireless exchange of information directly between not only vehicles (e.g., vehicles 202 and 204) themselves, but also directly between vehicles 202/204 and infrastructure 206 (e.g., roadside units (RSUs)), such as streetlights, buildings, traffic cameras, tollbooths or other stationary objects, vehicles 202/204 and pedestrians 208, and vehicles 202/204 and cellular networks (e.g., base station 210). [0063] In order for the V-UE 304 to be able to compute its location based on the TDoA of the first and second PRSs, at 310, the RSU 302 transmits a PRS measurement message including various positioning information to the V-UE 304 over the sidelink channel. For example, the positioning information included in a payload of the PRS measurement message may include the time of departure (t1) of the first PRS and the time of arrival (t4) of the second PRS.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of broadcasting positioning reference signals in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Choi to create the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate with other positioning group members in order to reduce the latency or increase accuracy.
Regarding claim 16, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
However, Choi discloses the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit ([0054] V2X communication involves the wireless exchange of information directly between not only vehicles (e.g., vehicles 202 and 204) themselves, but also directly between vehicles 202/204 and infrastructure 206 (e.g., roadside units (RSUs)), such as streetlights, buildings, traffic cameras, tollbooths or other stationary objects, vehicles 202/204 and pedestrians 208, and vehicles 202/204 and cellular networks (e.g., base station 210). [0063] In order for the V-UE 304 to be able to compute its location based on the TDoA of the first and second PRSs, at 310, the RSU 302 transmits a PRS measurement message including various positioning information to the V-UE 304 over the sidelink channel. For example, the positioning information included in a payload of the PRS measurement message may include the time of departure (t1) of the first PRS and the time of arrival (t4) of the second PRS.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of broadcasting positioning reference signals in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Choi to create the method wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate with other positioning group members in order to reduce the latency or increase accuracy.
Regarding claim 29, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
However, Choi discloses the apparatus wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit ([0054] V2X communication involves the wireless exchange of information directly between not only vehicles (e.g., vehicles 202 and 204) themselves, but also directly between vehicles 202/204 and infrastructure 206 (e.g., roadside units (RSUs)), such as streetlights, buildings, traffic cameras, tollbooths or other stationary objects, vehicles 202/204 and pedestrians 208, and vehicles 202/204 and cellular networks (e.g., base station 210). [0063] In order for the V-UE 304 to be able to compute its location based on the TDoA of the first and second PRSs, at 310, the RSU 302 transmits a PRS measurement message including various positioning information to the V-UE 304 over the sidelink channel. For example, the positioning information included in a payload of the PRS measurement message may include the time of departure (t1) of the first PRS and the time of arrival (t4) of the second PRS.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Choi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of broadcasting positioning reference signals in a wireless communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Choi to create the apparatus wherein one of the at least two neighboring wireless nodes is a roadside unit.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to communicate with other positioning group members in order to reduce the latency or increase accuracy.
Claims 7-9, 19, 21-23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernström in view of Intel and Hasegawa '142, as applied to claims 1, 11, 20, or 25 above, in further view of Hasegawa et al (US20230388959A1) (hereinafter "Hasegawa '959").
Regarding claim 7, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group ([0200] A WTRU may report expected location information and an indication associated with the location information (e.g., the lower and upper bounds of the location information, standard deviation or variance of the location information, etc.) for WTRU-based AoD based positioning to indicate to the network (e.g., to an LMF) the uncertainty in measurements due to multiple paths being observed in the measurements performed on PRS resources that the WTRU receives.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 8, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0200] A WTRU may report expected location information and an indication associated with the location information (e.g., the lower and upper bounds of the location information, standard deviation or variance of the location information, etc.) for WTRU-based AoD based positioning to indicate to the network (e.g., to an LMF) the uncertainty in measurements due to multiple paths being observed in the measurements performed on PRS resources that the WTRU receives.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the method wherein selecting at least the first receive timing error group and the first set of transmit timing error groups includes determining a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 9, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node ([0234] A WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, for example, based on the QoS requirement(s) of a positioning service. The QoS requirements may include, for example, a positioning accuracy requirement. In examples, the WTRU may group one or multiple UL transmissions or DL receptions into a TEG if the timing error between any UL transmission and DL reception in the group is less than a threshold. The threshold may be determined based on one or more QoS requirements of a positioning service (e.g., a positioning accuracy requirement). In examples, the WTRU may be associated with multiple antenna panels for UL-PRS transmission for positioning uses. For a low positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of different antenna panels into a TEG. For a high positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of the same antenna panel into a TEG. For more stringent positioning accuracy requirements, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of one antenna port into a TEG.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 19, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the method wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values ([0234] A WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, for example, based on the QoS requirement(s) of a positioning service. The QoS requirements may include, for example, a positioning accuracy requirement. In examples, the WTRU may group one or multiple UL transmissions or DL receptions into a TEG if the timing error between any UL transmission and DL reception in the group is less than a threshold. The threshold may be determined based on one or more QoS requirements of a positioning service (e.g., a positioning accuracy requirement). In examples, the WTRU may be associated with multiple antenna panels for UL-PRS transmission for positioning uses. For a low positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of different antenna panels into a TEG. For a high positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of the same antenna panel into a TEG. For more stringent positioning accuracy requirements, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of one antenna port into a TEG.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the method wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 21, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group ([0200] A WTRU may report expected location information and an indication associated with the location information (e.g., the lower and upper bounds of the location information, standard deviation or variance of the location information, etc.) for WTRU-based AoD based positioning to indicate to the network (e.g., to an LMF) the uncertainty in measurements due to multiple paths being observed in the measurements performed on PRS resources that the WTRU receives.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values obtained from reference signals received by the wireless node and associated with the first receive timing error group.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 22, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups ([0200] A WTRU may report expected location information and an indication associated with the location information (e.g., the lower and upper bounds of the location information, standard deviation or variance of the location information, etc.) for WTRU-based AoD based positioning to indicate to the network (e.g., to an LMF) the uncertainty in measurements due to multiple paths being observed in the measurements performed on PRS resources that the WTRU receives.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to determine a variance value of a plurality of measurement values based on reference signals transmitted by a transmission/reception point and associated with the first set of transmit timing error groups.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 23, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide an indication of a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide an indication of a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node ([0234] A WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, for example, based on the QoS requirement(s) of a positioning service. The QoS requirements may include, for example, a positioning accuracy requirement. In examples, the WTRU may group one or multiple UL transmissions or DL receptions into a TEG if the timing error between any UL transmission and DL reception in the group is less than a threshold. The threshold may be determined based on one or more QoS requirements of a positioning service (e.g., a positioning accuracy requirement). In examples, the WTRU may be associated with multiple antenna panels for UL-PRS transmission for positioning uses. For a low positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of different antenna panels into a TEG. For a high positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of the same antenna panel into a TEG. For more stringent positioning accuracy requirements, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of one antenna port into a TEG.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide an indication of a timing error group to prioritize in the wireless node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Regarding claim 30, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of the at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values.
However, Hasegawa '959 discloses the apparatus wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of the at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values ([0234] A WTRU may be configured to group different timing errors into a TEG, for example, based on the QoS requirement(s) of a positioning service. The QoS requirements may include, for example, a positioning accuracy requirement. In examples, the WTRU may group one or multiple UL transmissions or DL receptions into a TEG if the timing error between any UL transmission and DL reception in the group is less than a threshold. The threshold may be determined based on one or more QoS requirements of a positioning service (e.g., a positioning accuracy requirement). In examples, the WTRU may be associated with multiple antenna panels for UL-PRS transmission for positioning uses. For a low positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of different antenna panels into a TEG. For a high positioning accuracy requirement, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of the same antenna panel into a TEG. For more stringent positioning accuracy requirements, the WTRU may group UL-PRS transmissions of one antenna port into a TEG.).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Hasegawa '959 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of positioning in wireless systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Hasegawa '959 to create the apparatus wherein the indication of at least the first receive timing error group and the indication of the at least the first set of transmit timing error groups includes a timing error group to prioritize for obtaining the second plurality of reference signal measurement values.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve positioning accuracy.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ernström in view of Intel and Hasegawa '142, as applied to claims 1, 11, 20, or 25 above, in further view of Pan et al (US20240098544A1) (hereinafter "Pan").
Regarding claim 10, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points.
However, Pan discloses the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points ([0073] D. LMF Sends Measurement UE Tx TEG Information to the TRPs).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Pan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of obtaining positioning information in wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Pan to create the method wherein providing the indication of the first receive timing error group and the indication the first set of transmit timing error groups includes providing the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve measuring and reporting timing errors and timing error groups for different positioning methods.
Regarding claim 24, Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, fails to disclose the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points.
However, Pan discloses the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points ([0073] D. LMF Sends Measurement UE Tx TEG Information to the TRPs).
Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, and Pan are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of obtaining positioning information in wireless communication systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Ernström, as modified by Intel and Hasegawa '142, with Pan to create the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to provide the first set of transmit timing error groups to one or more transmission/reception points.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve measuring and reporting timing errors and timing error groups for different positioning methods.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (US20220252690A1) discloses NR positioning enhancements for timing and angle based methods and resource aggregation.
Ko et al (US20220229146A1) discloses PRS transmission-based sidelink positioning of server terminal in NR V2X.
Zhou et al (US20220357420A1) discloses methods for reducing Rx/Tx timing errors in a wireless network for latency of positioning measurements.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469