DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed August 19, 2026 in reply to the First Office Action on the Merits mailed May 19, 2026. Claims 2, 5, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-20, 22, 23, and 26-28 have been amended; and claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, 13, 15, 21, 24, 25, 29, 31-57, 60, and 61 have been canceled. Claims 5, 11, 16, 18, 22, 23, 26-28, 30, 58, and 59 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are under examination in the application.
Withdrawal of Prior Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 9, 10, 14, 17, 19, and 20 have been satisfactorily amended. Therefore, the objections to these claims presented in the First Office Action on the Merits mailed May 19, 2026 are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 9, 14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 14 stipulates that the composition further contains “an oil carrier” and that “the spinosyn active is less soluble in the oil carrier than in the salicylate solvent”, which renders the claim indefinite. In light of the specification, the “salicylate solvent” can be e.g. wintergreen oil, which is an oil. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain what constitutes the salicylate solvent and what constitutes the “oil carrier”, i.e. what oils are thus necessarily excluded from being the “oil carrier”, such as wintergreen oil. This is on top of the indefiniteness issues already discussed with respect to claim 9.
Claim 17, which depends from claim 1, provides in a wherein clause that “the salicylate solvent is provided in at least one of a botanical oil and a hydrophobic extract, in each case comprising an ester”, which renders the claim indefinite for the following reasons:
1. The expression “at least one of a botanical oil and a hydrophobic botanical extract” is awkward and indefinite as a botanical oil is a hydrophobic botanical extract.
2. Claim 1 appears to be limited to a salicylate compound as the solvent, and not merely an undefined solvent that happens to include a salicylate compound as but one constituent element thereof, in some undisclosed amount. Moreover, the present invention appears to make a distinction between the “salicylate solvent” and “an oil carrier”, but if the “salicylate solvent itself is an oil, this distinction is blurred and confusing. One of ordinary skill in the art thus cannot definitively ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed subject matter.
3. One of ordinary skill in the art cannot definitively ascertain whether the salicylate solvent is necessarily an ester (i.e. the ester), or more generally, how the salicylate solvent is related to the required “ester”, if at all.
***Until further clarification, claim 17 is being interpreted at this time as the salicylate solvent is a salicylate compound, e.g. methyl salicylate, and not wintergreen oil. It is further noted that methyl salicylate, and not wintergreen oil, is the elected species of salicylate. Hence, if claim 17 intends for the solvent to be wintergreen oil, the claim will be withdrawn.
Claim 20, which depends from claim 17, stipulates that “the salicylate solvent comprises a salicylate comprising an alkyl group”, which further compounds the indefiniteness as to whether the “ester” of claim 17 is necessarily the salicylate compound.
Claim 20 is (also) indefinite for depending from an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 14, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bessette et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2003/0194454), in view of Liu et al. (Chinese Patent Application Pub. No. CN 111567530 A).
Applicant Claims
Applicant’s elected subject matter is directed to a pesticide composition comprising Spinosad, methyl salicylate, and safflower oil; wherein the Spinosad is present in the amount of 0.01-30 wt%, and wherein the ratio of the Spinosad and the methyl salicylate is 1:1 to 1:10.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Bessette et al. disclose a pesticide composition comprising e.g. a pesticide active, wintergreen oil (i.e. methyl salicylate), and safflower oil; wherein the methyl salicylate is present in the amount of e.g. 22.5 wt% (abstract; paragraphs 0013, 0027, 0029, 0031, 0039, 0041, 0046, 0055, 0056, 0059, 0061, 0069, 0085).
Liu et al. disclose a pesticide composition comprising e.g. 10 wt%, or 5-15 wt% Spinosad and an organic oil solvent; wherein Spinosad is a high-efficiency biological pesticide with very high insecticidal activity but no effect on most major beneficial insects on the target crop and also has a shorter environmental half-life..
Ascertainment of the Difference Between the Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims (MPEP §2141.02)
Bessette et al. do not explicitly disclose that the pesticide active is Spinosad. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Liu et al.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the present application was filed to combine the respective teachings of Bessette et al. and Liu et al., outlined supra, to devise Applicant’s claimed composition.
Bessette et al. disclose a pesticide composition comprising e.g. a pesticide active, methyl salicylate, and safflower oil; wherein the methyl salicylate is present in the amount of e.g. 22.5 wt%. Since Liu et al. disclose that e.g. 10 wt%, or 5-15 wt% Spinosad, when combined with an organic oil solvent, is a high-efficiency biological pesticide with very high insecticidal activity but no effect on most major beneficial insects on the target crop and also has a shorter environmental half-life; one of ordinary skill in the art would thus be motivated to employ Spinosad as the pesticidal active compound in the Bessette et al. composition, with the reasonable expectation that the resulting composition will successfully provide high pesticidal activity but no effect on most major beneficial insects on the target crop and with minimal environmental impact.
In light of the foregoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103(a).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
i) Applicant contends that “Bessette is silent as to any activity or utility of wintergreen oil as a solvent”; that “Liu…is directed to the use of Spinosad…and is concerned with the stability of Spinosad when used in extreme environments”; that “Liu teaches that adding an organic solvent that is an aromatic hydrocarbon…and a fatty alcohol can improve low-temperature stability”; and thus that “there is no teaching or suggestion in Liu to select methyl salicylate as an organic solvent” and “the person skilled in the art following the teachings of Liu would be dissuaded from selecting methyl salicylate, which contains both an ester and an alcohol functional group”.
The Examiner, however, would like to point out the following:
1. Applicant clearly has the cart before the horse. The prior art rejection under 35 USC 103 is over Bessette in view of Liu. Bessette is the primary reference. Therefore, it is Bessette that is being modified in view of Liu, not Liu that is being modified in view of Bessette. Hence, in stark contrast to Applicant’s assertion, Liu is not being modified in view of Bessette to employ methyl salicylate as the hydrocarbon solvent. Specifically, Liu is not being modified by throwing out the aromatic hydrocarbon solvent and replacing it with methyl salicylate. On the contrary, Bessette is being modified in view of Liu to employ Spinosad as the insecticidal agent.
2. Both Bessette and Liu are directed to insecticidal compositions, and there is simply so conflicts whatsoever in combining Bessette and Liu to arrive at an insecticidal composition. Neither the present claims nor Bessette necessarily exclude an aromatic hydrocarbon solvent. On the contrary, Bessette expressly discloses that an aromatic hydrocarbon carrier is suitable for their composition (see e.g. 0068).
3. Bessette discloses a pesticide composition comprising e.g. a pesticide active, wintergreen oil (i.e. methyl salicylate), and safflower oil; wherein the methyl salicylate is present in the amount of e.g. 22.5 wt%. In view of Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would thus arrive at the presently claimed composition, i.e. a pesticide composition comprising Spinosad and methyl salicylate, and this is sufficient to preclude the patentability of the claimed composition. The cited prior art need not expressly teach that methyl salicylate is a solvent for Spinosad, and the reasons why the prior art may have combined the individual constituent elements to arrive at the composition need not be the very same reasons Applicant had for combining these same elements.
For the foregoing reasons, the 35 USC 103 rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/DAVID BROWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617