CTFR 18/558,471 CTFR 84888 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 51, 52, 53, 55 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21, 46 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 21, 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TR 28.815 v17.0.0 (2021-12) Charging management; Study on charging aspects of edge computing (Release 17) . As to claim 21, 46: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions, the one or more processors configure the electronic device to, when the instructions are executed: consume a provisioning management service (MnS) to subscribe to notifications from a MnS producer for edge application server (EAS) lifecycle management (LCM) (section 7.3.4.2 CEF consumes the MnS: The CEF consumes the MnS (see TS 28.622 [16]) and subscribes to notifications for the EAS deployment reporting; section 7.3.1.1 EAS deployment (e.g., EAS instantiation, update, and termination)) ; receive, from the MnS producer, a notification related to the EAS LCM (section 7.3.4.2 EAS deployment notification: The MnS producer sends the EAS deployment notification to the CEF. That means the CEF needs to subscribe to the EAS deployment notification from the MnS producer beforehand) ; generate a charging data request related to the EAS LCM (section 7.3.4.2 Charging Data Request [Event]: The CEF generates charging data related to the EAS deployment notification and sends the charging data request) ; transmit the charging data request to a network function of at least one of a cellular system and a management system (section 7.3.4.2 Charging Data Request [Event]: The CEF generates charging data related to the EAS deployment notification and sends the charging data request; Create CDR: the CHF stores received information and creates a CDR related to the event) ; and receive a charging data response from the network function (section 7.3.4.2 Charging Data Response [Event]: The CHF informs the CEF on the result of the request) . Dependent Claims 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 22, 23, 24, 47, 48, 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TR 28.815 v17.0.0 (2021-12) Charging management; Study on charging aspects of edge computing (Release 17) As to claim 22, 47: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the electronic device is configured to operate as a charging enablement function (CEF) (section 7.3.4.2 EAS deployment charging - with CEF enabling charging for MnS producer) . As to claim 23, 48: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches the electronic device of claim 22, wherein the network function is a charging function (CHF) (section 7.3.4.2 Charging Data Response [Event]: The CHF informs the CEF on the result of the request) . As to claim 24, 49: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the cellular system is a fifth generation (5G) cellular system (section 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-103 AIA The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 27, 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 28.815 in view of TS 28.532 . As to claim 27, 50: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches the electronic device of claim 21. 3GPP TR 28.815 may not explicitly teach wherein the notification is a notifyMOICreation notification, a notifyMOIAttributeValueChanges notification, or a notifyMOIDeletion notification. However, TS 28.532 wherein the notification is a notifyMOICreation notification, a notifyMOIAttributeValueChanges notification, or a notifyMOIDeletion notification (section 11.1.1.11, p.34 The MnS producer decides whether to send notifications of type notifyMOICreation, notifyMOIDeletion or notifyMOIAttributesValueChange, or a single notifyMOIChanges reporting all changes in a single notification) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement notifications, taught by TS 28.532, into the communication management system, taught by 3GPP TR 28.815, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable billing and charging services. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine 3GPP TR 28.815 and TS 28.532 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TR 28.815 in view of 3GPP TS 32.290 v17.4.0 (2021-12-23) Charging management; 5G system; Services, operations, and procedures of charging using Service Based Interface (SBI) As to claim 54: 3GPP TR 28.815 teaches the electronic device of claim 47. 3GPP TR 28.815 may not explicitly teach wherein the charging data response includes a plurality of information elements (IEs) including invocation timestamp and invocation result. However, TS 32.290 teaches wherein the charging data response includes a plurality of information elements (IEs) including invocation timestamp and invocation result (table 7.2 result, timestamp) . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement invocation timestamp and result, taught by TS 32.290, into the communication system, taught by TR 28.815, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and provide and keep records. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 32.290 and TR 28.815 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANDREW CHUNG SUK OH whose telephone number is (571)270-5273. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 12p-8p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached at 5712727969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 2 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 3 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 4 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 5 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 6 Art Unit: 2466 Application/Control Number: 18/558,471 Page 7 Art Unit: 2466