DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Independent Claim
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.558 Architecture for enabling Edge Applications, September 24, 2021 in view of 3GPP TS 32.291, 5G system, charging service, December 23, 2021.
As to claim 21: TS 23.558 teaches an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising instructions, the one or more processors configure the electronic device to, when the instructions are executed: identify a notification related to an edge application server (EAS) lifecycle management (LCM) entity (8.6.3.2.3 The EES detects the ACR management event of the UE).
TS 23.558 may not explicitly teach generate charging data related to the EAS LCM entity (5.2.2.2; 6.1.6.1 Charging Data Request to the CHF); transmit, based on the charging data, a charging data request to a network function of at least one of a cellular system and a management system (5.2.2.2 NF (CTF) sends a Nchf_ConvergedCharging_Create request to the CHF to create resource for charging; 6.2.5.2.1.1 multipleUnitUsage this field contains parameters for usage reporting); and identify, based on the charging data request, a charging data response received from the network function. However, TS 32.291 teaches generate charging data related to the EAS LCM entity (5.2.2.2; 6.1.6.1 Charging Data Request to the CHF); transmit, based on the charging data, a charging data request to a network function of at least one of a cellular system and a management system (5.2.2.2 NF (CTF) sends a Nchf_ConvergedCharging_Create request to the CHF to create resource for charging; 6.2.5.2.1.1 multipleUnitUsage this field contains parameters for usage reporting); and identify, based on the charging data request, a charging data response received from the network function (6.1.6.1 Charging Data Response from CHF; 6.1.6.2.1.2-1 the same value of the sequence number received in the request should be used in the response).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement charging data, taught by TS 32.291, into the communication management system, taught by TS 23.558, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable billing for activities. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 23.558 and TS 32.291 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Dependent Claims
Claim(s) 22, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.558 Architecture for enabling Edge Applications, September 24, 2021; 3GPP TS 32.291, 5G system, charging service, December 23, 2021 in view of 3GPP TS 32.257 Charging management; Edge Computing domain charging, November, 2021.
As to claim 22: TS 23.558 teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
TS 23.558 may not explicitly teach wherein the logic is electronic device is configured to operate as a charging enablement function (CEF). However, TS 32.257 wherein the logic is electronic device is configured to operate as a charging enablement function (CEF) (section 4.2.2, p.10 The CEF consumes the MnS from the MnS producer for EAS management).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CEF, taught by TS 32.257, into the communication management system, taught by 23.558, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enabling billing services. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 23.558 and TS 32.257 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 25: TS 23.558 teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
TS 23.558 may not explicitly teach wherein the notification related to the EAS LCM entity is received from a management service (MnS) producer. However, TS 32.257 wherein the notification related to the EAS LCM entity is received from a management service (MnS) producer (section 4.2.2, p.10 The CEF consumes the MnS from the MnS producer for EAS management).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement CEF, taught by TS 32.257, into the communication management system, taught by 23.558, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enabling billing services. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 23.558 and TS 32.257 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Claim(s) 23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.558 Architecture for enabling Edge Applications, September 24, 2021 in view of 3GPP TS 32.291, 5G system, charging service, December 23, 2021.
As to claim 23: TS 23.558 teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
TS 23.558 may not explicitly teach wherein the second logic network function is a charging function (CHF). However, TS 32.291 teaches wherein the second logic network function is a charging function (CHF) (5.2.2.2; 6.1.6.1 Charging Data Request to the CHF)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement charging data, taught by TS 32.291, into the communication management system, taught by TS 23.558, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable billing for activities. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 23.558 and TS 32.291 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
As to claim 24. (Previously Presented) The electronic device of claim 21, wherein the cellular system is a fifth generation (5G) cellular system (section 2, p.13).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS 23.558 Architecture for enabling Edge Applications, September 24, 2021; 3GPP TS 32.291, 5G system, charging service, December 23, 2021 in view of 3GPP TS 28.532 Management and orchestration; Generic management services, December 23, 2021.
As to claim 27: TS 23.558 teaches the electronic device of claim 21.
TS 23.558 may not explicitly teach wherein the notification is a notifyMOICreation notification, a notifyMOIAttributeValueChanges notification, or a notifyMOIDeletion notification. However, TS 28.532 wherein the notification is a notifyMOICreation notification, a notifyMOIAttributeValueChanges notification, or a notifyMOIDeletion notification (section 11.1.1.11, p.34 The MnS producer decides whether to send notifications of type notifyMOICreation, notifyMOIDeletion or notifyMOIAttributesValueChange, or a single notifyMOIChanges reporting all changes in a single notification).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement notifications, taught by TS 28.532, into the communication management system, taught by TS 23.558, in order to implement a well-known feature of a pre-defined protocol and enable billing and charging services. In addition, it would have been obvious to combine TS 23.558 and TS 28.532 in a known manner to obtain predictable results as the combination would not change the essence, quiddity, or functionality of the prior art references.
Conclusion
/ANDREW C OH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466