Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amended claim 23 to recite, “wherein the coordinating is over an established signaling link with the high altitude platform station using at least one of an x2 or xn interface.”
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Within claim 1, the work “cell” is misspelled “ce”. See last line. Appropriate correction is required.
Here, claim 12 has been clarified to disclose Regarding 23, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a network node associated with at least one terrestrial network cell of a communication network (see CTC, [0041]), a coverage area associated with a high altitude platform station (determines the coverage [0041]) of the communication network is impacting the at least one terrestrial network cell (see [0082] discloses breakdown of which signal on which subcarriers are affected wherein “interreference may occur”), wherein the
determining is based at least on an antenna gain pattern and transmit power associated with the high altitude platform (see “determines the coverage” and “an antenna gain and a transmission power between the multi-beams of the satellite BS” [0136]) station identifying a coverage area of the at the high altitude platform station (see satellite BS, [0136]); and
based on the determining (see “confirms”, [0035]), coordinating with the high altitude platform station ((“whether the signal interference occurs” with CTC from the satellite base station [0035]) at least one resource allocation to minimize interference at the impacted at least one terrestrial network cell caused by the coverage area of the high altitude platform station (see [0016], “which efficiently reuses frequencies to minimize interference between signals transmitted to a multi service area and a plurality of users when providing a service through a satellite base station and a CTC”);
Kim does not specifically disclose however Xu discloses wherein the coordinating is over an established signaling link with each of the impacted at least one terrestrial network cell using at least one of an X2 or Xn interface (see X2 and Xn in [0064], where in X2 and Xn interfaces is well-known to carry network traffic here).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2011/0053628 A1) in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0075501 A1)
Regarding 23, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
determining, by a network node associated with at least one terrestrial network cell of a communication network (see CTC, [0041]), a coverage area associated with a high altitude platform station (determines the coverage [0041]) of the communication network is impacting the at least one terrestrial network cell (see [0082] discloses breakdown of which signal on which subcarriers are affected wherein “interreference may occur”), wherein the
determining is based at least on an antenna gain pattern and transmit power associated with the high altitude platform (see “determines the coverage” and “an antenna gain and a transmission power between the multi-beams of the satellite BS” [0136]) station identifying a coverage area of the at the high altitude platform station (see satellite BS, [0136]); and
based on the determining (see “confirms”, [0035]), coordinating with the high altitude platform station ((“whether the signal interference occurs” with CTC from the satellite base station [0035]) at least one resource allocation to minimize interference at the impacted at least one terrestrial network cell caused by the coverage area of the high altitude platform station (see [0016], “which efficiently reuses frequencies to minimize interference between signals transmitted to a multi service area and a plurality of users when providing a service through a satellite base station and a CTC”);
Kim does not specifically disclose however Xu discloses wherein the coordinating is over an established signaling link with each of the impacted at least one terrestrial network cell using at least one of an X2 or Xn interface (see X2 and Xn in [0064], where in X2 and Xn interfaces is well-known to carry network traffic here).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1, 12, 14-22, 34, 37-38 are allowed.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to K. WILFORD SHAHEED whose telephone number is (469) 295-9175. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9 am-6pm; CST; ALT Friday. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. The examiner’s Supervisor, Jinsong Hu, can be reached at (571)272-3965, where attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful.
/KHALID W SHAHEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643