DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 03/032026.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 14-24, 26 are pending and rejected. Claims 3, 9-10, 12-13, 25, 27-28 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/01/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14-15, 22-24, 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al (US 20230389000 A1) (hereinafter “Dong”) in view of Shafin et al (US 20220361194 A1) (hereinafter “Shafin”).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a first station (STA) from an access point (AP) (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), restricted target wake time (r-TWT)-related information regarding an original start time and an original duration of an r-TWT service period (SP) (see Fig. 3 (Information associated with r-TW from AP to STA1), Fig 4. (broadcast Information associated with a r-TWT) para. [0042]; [0044] discloses information associated with restricted TWT service period (SP) includes but not restricted to start time or end time of TWT SP or time offset of TWT SP; the STA1 receives information associate with the restricted r-TWT SP from the AP);
Dong fails to disclose but Shafin teaches receiving, by the first STA from the AP, information related to a modified end time of the(see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP), after the original start time of the r-TWT SP and before an original end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1),
wherein the original end time is based on the original start time and the original duration (see Fig. 5 (SP), para [0064] discloses the AP transmits a broadcast TWT element which includes a restricted TWT parameter set), and
wherein the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is provided from the AP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1); and
performing a frame exchange based on the modified end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 6, para. [0068] discloses AP transmits trigger frame to both STAs).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the modification of end time as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation.
Regarding claim 2, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to discloses but Shafin teaches wherein: the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is signaled by the AP without a request of the first STA (see para. [0061] discloses if the scheduling AP detects that all scheduled STAs are transmitting latency-tolerant traffic, then the scheduling AP can terminate the restricted TWT SP for all scheduled STAs), or
based on a request of the first STA (see Fig. 5, para [0063] discloses example process for early termination of a restricted TWT SP when a STA indicates that its latency-sensitive traffic buffer is empty).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the signaling of modification of the information of end time as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation.
Regarding claim 4, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Shafin teaches wherein, based on the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP being signaled by the AP based on the request of the first STA (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP): the request of the first STA is a request for modifying the original end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP), or
a request for scheduling information on at least one TWT SP other than the r-TWT SP (This part is optional).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the modification of the of end time as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation.
Regarding claim 5, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein:
based on the scheduling information, the request for modifying the original end time of the r-TWT SP is transmitted to the AP (see para. [0042]-[0043];[0051] discloses the r-TWT (restricted TWT) information includes start time, end time of the r-TWT SP or a time offset of the r-TWT; the first station (STA 2) and second station (STA 1) perform communication transmissions with the AP; the first station may prevent the communication transmission between the first station and the AP from interfering with the communication transmission withing the TW SP of the second station according to received information associated with TWT SP (information associated with TWT SP includes start time or end time).
Regarding claim 6, Dong discloses a method of (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is signaled to at least one STA including the first STA supporting a r-TWT operation (see para. [0051];[0054] discloses the first station (STA 2) and second station (STA 1) perform communication transmissions with the AP; the first station may prevent the communication transmission between the first station and the AP from interfering with the communication transmission withing the TW SP of the second station according to received information associated with TWT SP; communication transmission between AP and one of the STAs is scheduled according to the r-TWT SP).
Regarding claim 14, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is signaled to a plurality of STAs including the first STA and(see para. [0044] discloses AP may manage and coordinate data transmission between STAs of device that does not support simultaneous transmission and reception, this is information associated with r-TWT SP is received inside the device that do not support simultaneous transmission and reception).
Regarding claim 15, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Shafin teaches wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is included in a trigger frame (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the trigger frame as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation
Regarding claim 22, Dong teaches a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein: the r-TWT-related information is broadcast from the AP (see para. [0048];[0090] discloses the STA receives the information associated with r-TWT SP send by the AP (access point) in a broadcast; the information associated with the r-TWT SP is received from the AP by broadcast).
Regarding claim 23, The method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein: the first STA is a STA supporting a r-TWT operation (see Fig. 2, para. [0007]-[0008];[0036] discloses method includes r-TWT SP, and scheduling ca communication transmission between a first station and access point; method of Fig. 2 implemented by STA).
Regarding claim 24, Dong discloses a station (STA) comprising:
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (see Fig. 12, para [0023]; [0106]-[0107] discloses terminal device includes processor configured to perform the methods, and connected to communication part 1409),,
wherein the at least one processor is configured see Fig. 12, para [0023]; [0106]-[0107] discloses terminal device includes processor configured to perform the methods, and connected to communication part 1409) to:
receive, through the at least one transceiver, from an access point (AP) (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), restricted target wake time (r-TWT)-related information regarding an original start time and an original duration of an r-TWT service period (SP) (see Fig. 3 (Information associated with r-TW from AP to STA1), Fig 4. (broadcast Information associated with a r-TWT) para. [0042]; [0044] discloses information associated with restricted TWT service period (SP) includes but not restricted to start time or end time of TWT SP or time offset of TWT SP; the STA1 receives information associate with the restricted r-TWT SP from the AP);
Dong fails to disclose but Shafin teaches at least one transceiver (see para. [0008]; discloses STA device comprising a transceiver coupled to a processor); and
receive, through the at least one transceiver (see para. [0008]; discloses STA device comprising a transceiver coupled to a processor receive from AP indication of restricted TWT SP), from the AP, information related to a modified end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP), after the original start time of the r-TWT SP and before an original end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1),
wherein the original end time is based on the original start time and the original duration, and wherein the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is provided from the AP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1); and
perform, through the at least one transceiver, a frame exchange based on the modified end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 6, para. [0068] discloses AP transmits trigger frame to both STAs).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the modification of end time as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation.
Regarding claim 26, Dong discloses an access point (AP) (see Fig. 12, para [0023]; [0106]-[0107] discloses access point includes processor configured to perform the methods, and connected to communication part 1409) comprising:
at least one processor connected to the at least one transceiver (see Fig. 12, para [0023]; [0106]-[0107] discloses access point includes processor configured to perform the methods, and connected to communication part 1409),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to perform operations that include (see Fig. 12, para [0023]; [0106]-[0107] discloses access point includes processor configured to perform the methods, and connected to communication part 1409):
transmitting, through the at least one transceiver, to at least one first station (STA), restricted target wake time (r-TWT)-related information regarding an original start time and an original duration of an r-TWT service period (SP) (see Fig. 3 (Information associated with r-TW from AP to STA1), Fig 4. (broadcast Information associated with a r-TWT) para. [0042]; [0044] discloses information associated with restricted TWT service period (SP) includes but not restricted to start time or end time of TWT SP or time offset of TWT SP; the STA1 receives information associate with the restricted r-TWT SP from the AP).
Dong fails to disclose but Shafin teaches
at least one transceiver (see para. [0009]’ [0039] discloses AP device comprising transceiver; AP includes multiple RF transceivers)
transmitting, through the at least one transceiver, to at least one second STA including the at least one first STA (see para. [0009]; discloses AP device comprising transceiver and processor, configured to transmit to a STA indication of restricted TWT SP is terminated) , information related to a modified end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066]-[0067] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1; Fig. 6 example of early termination of a restricted TWT SP by AP), after the original start time of the r-TWT SP and before an original end time of the r-TWT SP see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1),,
wherein the original end time is based on the original start time and the original duration (see Fig. 5 (SP), para [0064] discloses the AP transmits a broadcast TWT element which includes a restricted TWT parameter set), and wherein the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is provided from the AP (see Fig. 5 (510), para. [0062]; [0066] discloses AP can use a CF-End frame to terminate the Quiet interval if the restricted TWT SP terminates earlier that the SP end time; AP transmits individual addressed frame to STA with EOSP (End of Service Period) field set to 1); and
performing, through the at least one transceiver, a frame exchange with the at least one first STA based on the modified end time of the r-TWT SP see Fig. 6, para. [0068] discloses AP transmits trigger frame to both STAs).
Dong and Shafin are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT operation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the modification of end time as described by Shafin.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation.
Claims 7, 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al (US 20230389000 A1) (hereinafter “Dong”) in view of Shafin et al (US 20220361194 A1) (hereinafter “Shafin”) as applied to claim 1 and claim 15 above, and further in view of Asterjadhi et al (US 20160219522 A1) (hereinafter “Asterjadhi”).
Regarding claim 7, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is included in at least one of a TWT information field (see Fig. 2 (Nominal Minimum Wake Duration) para. [0056] discloses the TWT element may include a nominal minimal wake duration field (indicative of the end time)) or a TWT element (see Fig. 2 (Nominal Minimum Wake Duration) para. [0056] discloses the TWT element may include a nominal minimal wake duration field (indicative of the end time)).
Dong and Asterjadhi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT SP operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the information related to end time as described by Asterjadhi.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving r-TWT operation.
Regarding claim 8, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames), wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is indicated based on one of the following:
i)at least one of an all TWT field of the TWT information field, a TWT flow identifier field or a next TWT field (see para. [0057]-[0058] discloses when STA2 continues to send data frames, since the AP has been known the TWT SP negotiated with ST1, the AP may decide whether to receive the data frames according to a first identifier contained in the header, an identifier configured to indicate whether the data frame will continue to be sent. For example, if the more data subdomain is set to”1”, it indicates that the STA2 still has data to be transmitted), or
ii) a TWT extension subfield of the TWT information field (This part is optional), or
iii) the TWT element that is delivered through an unsolicited TWT setup action frame (This part is optional).
Regarding claim 16, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Asterjadhi teaches wherein:
information indicating whether the original end time of the r-TWT SP is modified is included in a common information field of the trigger frame (see para. [0052] discloses trigger frame scheduling. AP and STA negotiate TWT element that provides the necessary signaling between devices to schedule on or more TWT times and their corresponding parameters)., the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is signaled through a user information field of the trigger frame (see Fig. 2, para. [0052] discloses trigger frame scheduling. AP and STA negotiate TWT element that provides the necessary signaling between devices to schedule on or more TWT times and their corresponding parameters. The TWT element may be transmitted in an individual addressed management frame. Another embodiment for a broadcast TWT, the TWT element may be transmitted in a broadcast management frame such as a beacon, with no negotiated schedules).
Dong and Asterjadhi are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT SP operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the information related to end time as described by Asterjadhi.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving r-TWT operation.
Claims 17, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al (US 20230389000 A1) (hereinafter “Dong”) in view of Shafin et al (US 20220361194 A1) (hereinafter “Shafin”).as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kneckt et al (US 20190053155 A1) (hereinafter “Kneckt”).
Regarding claim 17, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Kneckt teaches wherein:
the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is included in at least one of an A(aggregated)-control field or an action frame of an A(aggregated)-MPDU (MAC protocol data unit) (see para. [0098] discloses TWT flow setup where device may transmit one or two TWT setup frames, two setup MAC protocol data units (MPDUs) or MAC management protocol data units (MMPDUs) may be aggregated and transmitted at the same time).
Dong and Kneckt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT SP operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the MPDU as described by Kneckt.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving r-TWT operation.
Regarding claim 18, The method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Kneckt teaches wherein: the information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT SP includes at least one of an indication of whether the original end time of the r-TWT SP is modified (see para. [0062] discloses technique to modify TWT SP schedule may include a change on the TWT SP start time, a change on the duration of the TWT SP or both), a duration of a modified r-TWT SP (see para. [0062] discloses technique to modify TWT SP schedule may include a change on the TWT SP start time, a change on the duration of the TWT SP or both),
a time difference between the original end time and the modified end time (This part is optional), or the modified end time (This part is optional).
Dong and Kneckt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT SP operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the TWT SP information as described by Kneckt.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving r-TWT operation.
Regarding claim 19, Dong discloses a method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Kneckt teaches, wherein: the frame exchange includes a transmission or a reception of downlink (DL) or uplink (UL) low-latency data (see para. [0057]-[0058] discloses the STA and AP includes receiving wireless signals encoding and decoding of a packet or frame and processing the packet or frame to determine information contained in the packet or frame. The communication via WLAN may be characterized by variety of communication performance metrics including latency to estimate maximum number of bytes that can be communicated in the time interval (this communication could be DL or UL)).
Dong and Kneckt are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and TWT SP operation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the sensitive data as described by Kneckt.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving r-TWT operation.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong et al (US 20230389000 A1) (hereinafter “Dong”) in view of Shafin et al (US 20220361194 A1) (hereinafter “Shafin”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim (US 20240040634 A1) (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 20, The method (see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames).
Dong fails to disclose but Kim teaches wherein: the modified end time of the r-TWT SP is an extended time than the original end time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 7 (Trigger on time axis) para. [0113]- [0118] discloses the STA MLD may perform TWT negotiation with AP; T0 may be the start time point of the trigger-enabled TWT; the AP MLD may transmit a trigger frame. The STA3 may receive the trigger frame after the start of the trigger enabled TWT SP, which shifts the end time of the trigger enabled TWT SP).
Dong and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and low power operation techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the modified end period and exchange as described by Kim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation and power saving.
Regarding claim 21, Dong discloses a method see para. [0026]; [0030] discloses multilink communication applied to WLAN; a multi-link device that receives and transmits data frames),
Dong fails to disclose but Kim teaches wherein: the frame exchange starts after a modified start time of the r-TWT SP (see Fig. 7 (Trigger on time axis) para. [0113]- [0118] discloses the frame exchange starting after the start time of the shifted trigger enabled TWT SP).
Dong and Kim are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and low power operation techniques.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dong to include the start of frame exchange as described by Kim.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving TWT operation and power saving.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, see page 10, filed on 03/03/2026 with respect of drawings have been considered by the examiner. The drawings were received on 11/01/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-12, filed on 03/032026 with respect to the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered by examiner. Applicant argues that Kim fails to disclose or suggest “receiving, by the first STA from the AP, information related to a modified end time of the r-TWT SP” and “information related to the modified end time of the r-TWT is provided from the AP”. Examiner disagrees. Kim discloses as applicant indicates that AP trigger frame does not provide any information related to the extended SP because is already determined by the STA, however the trigger frame is implicitly providing the information to the STA. In order to clarify this point, new ground of rejection is made in view of Shafi et al (US 20220361194 A1).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419