DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIU (Publication No.: US 2022/0404563 A1).
Regarding claim 1, LIU teaches An optical module, comprising a housing (reference numeral 201, 202 in Figure 4), and an optical assembly (reference numeral 800 in Figure 6) and a circuit board (reference numeral 602 in Figure 6) which are disposed inside the housing, wherein the optical module further comprises an optical device box (reference numeral 600 in Figure 5) disposed inside the housing, wherein the optical assembly is packaged in the optical device box (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 6); the circuit board is provided with an extension portion (e.g. the leftmost and/or rightmost extension portions of reference numeral 602 as illustrated in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 6024, 6026 in Figure 8) extending to overlap the optical device box, the optical device box is fixed on one surface of the extension portion (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5) ; wherein the extension portion (e.g. the leftmost and/or rightmost extension portions of reference numeral 602 as illustrated in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 6024, 6026 in Figure 8) is part of the circuit board (reference numeral 602 in Figure 6), and is not a flexible circuit board (e.g. “metallized ceramic” as in paragraph [0049]), the optical device box is provided with an optical interface (reference numeral 700 in Figure 5) and an electrical interface (e.g. “Pins” as in paragraph [0049] at the edge of reference numeral 602 in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 6027, 6025 in Figure 8) , the optical assembly comprises a photoelectric chip (reference numeral 805 in Figure 9) and an optical processing unit (reference numeral 802 in Figure 9) , the photoelectric chip is electrically connected to the circuit board outside the optical device box through the electrical interface (e.g. via reference numeral 602, 6027, 6025, 6024, 6026 as illustrated in Figure 8) , the optical processing unit is optically connected to the outside of the optical device box through the optical interface (reference numeral 700 in Figure 5) .
Regarding claim 2, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises an upper housing (reference numeral 201 in Figure 4) , a lower housing (reference numeral 202 in Figure 4) and a movable head (reference numeral 203 in Figure 4) that cooperate with each other, wherein the upper housing and the lower housing are matched to form an internal accommodation cavity (e.g. “enclosed chamber” as in paragraph [0039]) and an end portion space (reference numeral 205 in Figure 3) for accommodating the movable head; one end of the internal accommodation cavity is connected to the end portion space (e.g. via “openings” as in paragraph [0040]), and the other end has an opening (reference numeral 204 in Figure 3) ; the circuit board and the optical device box are located in the internal accommodation cavity (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4) ; the extension portion (e.g. the leftmost and/or rightmost extension portions of reference numeral 602 as illustrated in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 6024, 6026 in Figure 8) of the circuit board is adjacent to the end portion space (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4) , and one end of the circuit board away from the extension portion passes through the opening to be electrically connected to outside of the optical module (e.g. “opening 204 is an electrical port from which the golden fingers of the circuit board protrude and are inserted into a host computer” as in paragraph [0040]).
Regarding claim 3, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the extension portion (e.g. the leftmost and/or rightmost extension portions of reference numeral 602 as illustrated in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 6024, 6026 in Figure 8) has a fixed surface face to the optical device box (e.g. “boss 6024 is provided on the sixth side plate 6022” as in paragraph [0054]) and an expanded surface away from the fixed surface (e.g. the plane on which reference numeral 6025 lies extending in a leftward direction to the end of reference numeral 6024 as illustrated in Figure 8) ; wherein the fixed surface is configured to support and fix the optical device box (e.g. by virtue of attachment between reference numerals 6024, 6022, 6021, 6023 as illustrated in Figure 8) ; a layout space of the circuit board comprises the expanded surface (reference numeral 6024 in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the electrical interface (reference numeral 602 in Figure 8) comprises a radio frequency (RF) signal connection port (reference numeral 6025 in Figure 8) and a direct current (DC) signal connection port (reference numeral 6025 in Figure 8) , the RF signal connection port is electrically connected to the circuit board (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8) , and configured to transmit a RF signal between the circuit board and the optical assembly inside the optical device box (e.g. “I2C signals, data information” as in paragraph [0004] and/or “RF” as in paragraph [0087]); the DC signal connection port is electrically connected to the circuit board (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8), and configured to transmit a DC signal between the circuit board and the optical assembly inside the optical device box (e.g. “power supply” “grounding” as in paragraph [0004] and/or “DC” as in paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 5, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 4, wherein the optical module comprises a conductive substrate (reference numeral 6024, 6025, 6026 in Figure 8) , the conductive substrate is provided on one side wall of the optical device box (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 8), wherein one end of the conductive substrate is electrically connected to the optical assembly in the optical device box (e.g. “light-emitting device 800 can be connected to the pads 6027 via gold wire bondings” as in paragraph [0054]) , and the other end extends through the side wall to the outside of the optical device box (reference numeral 6024 in Figure 8) ; a portion of the conductive substrate located outside the optical device box has two surfaces opposite each other (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5) , and the RF signal connection port and the DC signal connection port are respectively disposed on the two surfaces (e.g. “RF flexible circuit board is connected to an upper side” “DC flexible circuit board is connected to a lower side” as in paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 6, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 5, wherein the RF signal connection port is electrically connected to the circuit board through a RF signal flexible circuit board (e.g. upper flexible circuit board of reference numeral 500 in Figure 5) ; the DC signal connection port is electrically connected to the circuit board through a DC signal flexible circuit board (e.g. lower flexible circuit board of reference numeral 500 in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 6, wherein the optical assembly (reference numeral 800 in Figure 6) comprises a transmission end optical assembly (e.g. rightmost portion of reference numeral 800 in Figure 6) and a receiving end optical assembly (e.g. leftmost portion of reference numeral 800 in Figure 6), the RF signal flexible circuit board (e.g. upper flexible circuit board of reference numeral 500 in Figure 5) comprises a first transmission portion (e.g. leftmost portion of reference numeral 500 as illustrated in Figure 5) and a second transmission portion (e.g. rightmost portion of reference numeral 500 as illustrated in Figure 5), the first transmission portion is provided for the circuit board to transmit the RF signal toward the transmission end optical assembly, and the second transmission portion is provided for the receiving end optical assembly to transmit the RF signal toward the circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 1, wherein the optical device box comprises a bottom plate (reference numeral 603 in Figure 6 and/or reference numeral 801, 603 in Figure 9 ) , side walls arranged around the bottom plate (reference numeral 601 in Figure 6) , and a cover plate (reference numeral 604 in Figure 6) opposite to the bottom plate, wherein the side walls connect the bottom plate and the cover plate; the cover plate is adjacent to the extension portion of the circuit board, and the bottom plate is adjacent to an inner wall of the housing (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 4, 5, 6, and 14) .
Regarding claim 11, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 10, wherein the optical device box is a hermetically sealed box (e.g. “hermetically” as in paragraph [0052] and throughout).
Regarding claim 12, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 10, wherein the bottom plate is a heat-dissipation plate, the photoelectric chip is thermally connected to the heat-dissipation plate (e.g. “refrigerator” as in paragraph [0059]) , and the heat-dissipation plate is thermally connected to the housing (e.g. “heat generated by the optical module is conducted to the cage 106 and then dissipated by the heat sink 107 on the cage” as in paragraph [0037]) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU.
Regarding claim 8, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 7, wherein the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion are arranged in parallel (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 5); the RF signal flexible circuit board further has a ground trace (e.g. “grounding” as in paragraph [0004]; “circuit traces so as to realize electrical functions such as power supply, electrical signal transmission, and grounding, etc” as in paragraph [0045]). LIU Differs from the claim invention in that it fails to specifically teach that ground trace is provided between the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion, wherein the ground trace is provided to isolate the first transmission portion from the second transmission portion. However, utilization of ground traces between transmission portions is well known in the art and Officially Noted as such. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize a ground trace provided between the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion in order to isolate the first transmission portion from the second transmission portion and/or in order to meet design, budget, or performance requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize a ground trace provided between the first transmission portion and the second transmission portion in LIU.
Regarding claim 9, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 6, wherein the RF signal flexible circuit board (e.g. upper flexible circuit board of reference numeral 500 in Figure 5) and the DC signal flexible circuit board (e.g. lower flexible circuit board of reference numeral 500 in Figure 5) are respectively and electrically connected to the RF signal connection port and the DC signal connection port on the two surfaces of the conductive substrate (reference numeral 602 in Figure 6). LIU differs from the claim invention in that it fails to specifically teach that the claimed electrical connections come through an anisotropic conductive film or a solder anisotropic conductive paste. However, utilization of an anisotropic conductive film or a solder anisotropic conductive paste in making electrical connections is well known in the art and Officially Noted as such. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize an anisotropic conductive film or a solder anisotropic conductive paste in order to meet design, budget, or performance requirements. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize an anisotropic conductive film or a solder anisotropic conductive paste in LIU.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU in view of LIN (Publication No.: US 2018/0287705 A1)
Regarding claim 13, LIU teaches The optical module according to claim 10, wherein the photoelectric chip comprises a light-emitting chip (reference numeral 805 in Figure 9), the optical processing unit comprises a transmission end optical processing unit (reference numeral 802 in Figure 9); the optical assembly comprises a transmission end optical assembly (reference numeral 808-811 in Figure 9), wherein the transmission end optical assembly comprises the light-emitting chip and the transmission end optical processing unit (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 9). LIU differs from the claim invention in that it fails to specifically teach that it fails to specifically teach the receiving aspects of the claimed invention, i.e. a light-receiving chip, a receiving end optical processing unit, and a receiving end optical assembly, where the receiving end optical assembly comprises the light-receiving chip and the receiving end optical processing unit; and the optical device box is provided with a partition isolating the transmission end optical assembly from the receiving end optical assembly. However, LIN teaches that these concepts are well known in the art (Figure 3A). Furthermore, LIU discloses a bidirectional optical communication apparatus that suggests the optical receiving components (e.g. as in paragraph [0029]-[0034]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to include a light-receiving chip, a receiving end optical processing unit, and a receiving end optical assembly, where the receiving end optical assembly comprises the light-receiving chip and the receiving end optical processing unit; and the optical device box is provided with a partition isolating the transmission end optical assembly from the receiving end optical assembly in LIU.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of LIU.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635