DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/12/2025 and 11/02/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1 and 14-16 recite an information processing system for characterizing the “radio wave conditions” of an environment and planning the movement of a mobile device to maintain transmission of video data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim requires no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because all claims elements, both individually and in combination, are directed to the manipulation of data by a general purpose computer and/or performing by a person. Additionally, the claims and disclosure fail to provide sufficient detail of the disclosed invention to demonstrate a particular solution to the technological problem presented – maintaining a transmission link. Thus, it does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
An invention is patent-eligible if it claims a “new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. However, the Supreme Court has long interpreted 35 U.S.C. § 101 to include implicit exceptions: “[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. E.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 216(2014).
In determining whether a claim falls within an excluded category, we are guided by the Supreme Court’s two-step framework, described in Mayo and Alice. Id. at 217-18 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 75-77 (2012)). In accordance with that framework, we first determine what concept the claim is “directed to.” See Alice, 573 U.S. at 219 (“On their face, the claims before us are drawn to the concept of intermediated settlement, i.e., the use of a third party to mitigate settlement risk.”); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611 (2010) (“Claims 1 and 4 in petitioners’ application explain the basic concept of hedging, or protecting against risk.”).
Concepts determined to be abstract ideas, and thus patent ineligible, include certain methods of organizing human activity, such as fundamental economic practices {Alice, 573 U.S. at 219-20, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 611); mathematical formulas {Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 594-95 (1978)); and mental processes {Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 69 (1972)). Concepts determined to be patent eligible include physical and chemical processes, such as “molding rubber products” {Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 (1981)); “tanning, dyeing, making waterproof cloth, vulcanizing India rubber, smelting ores” {id. at 184 n.7 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267-68 (1854))); and manufacturing flour {Benson, 409 U.S. at 69 (citing Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U.S. 780, 785 (1876))).
In Diehr, the claim at issue recited a mathematical formula, but the Supreme Court held that “[a] claim drawn to subject matter otherwise statutory does not become nonstatutory simply because it uses a mathematical formula.” Diehr, 450 U.S. at 176; see also id. at 192 (“We view respondents’ claims as nothing more than a process for molding rubber products and not as an attempt to patent a mathematical formula.”). Having said that, the Supreme Court also indicated that a claim “seeking patent protection for that formula in the abstract... is not accorded the protection of our patent laws, . . . and this principle cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment.” Id. (citing Benson and Flook); see, e.g., id. at 187 (“It is now commonplace that an application of a law of nature or mathematical formula to a known structure or process may well be deserving of patent protection.”).
If the claim is “directed to” an abstract idea, we turn to the second step of the Alice and Mayo framework, where “we must examine the elements of the claim to determine whether it contains an ‘inventive concept’ sufficient to ‘transform’ the claimed abstract idea into a patent- eligible application.” , 573 U.S. at 221 (quotation marks omitted). “A claim that recites an abstract idea must include ‘additional features’ to ensure ‘that the [claim] is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea].”” Id. ((alteration in the original) quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 77). “[M]erely requiring] generic computer implementation” fail[s] to transform that abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.” Id.
The PTO recently published revised guidance on the application of § 101. USPTO’s January 7, 2019 Memorandum, 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“Memorandum”). Under Step 2A of that guidance, we first look to whether the claim recites:
(1) any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes); and
(2) additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h)).
Only if a claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, do we then look to whether the claim:
(3) adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well- understood, routine, conventional” in the field (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); or
(4) simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Analysis
Step 1 – Statutory Category
Claim 1 recites a system. Thus, the claim is a machine and/or manufacture and falls within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 14 recites an apparatus. Thus, the claim is a machine and/or manufacture and falls within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 15 recites a method. Thus, the claim is to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 16 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Thus, the claim is to an item of manufacture, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One – Recitation of Judicial Exception
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, we evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception. For abstract ideas, Prong One represents a change as compared to prior guidance because we here determine whether the claim recites mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes.
As set forth above, claims 1 and similarly claims 14-16, recite a judicial exception since the claims set forth a plurality of mental process as defined at least by the claimed steps of:
plan a route for the mobile device to maintain video data transmission based on the radio wave conditions and signal strength necessary for transmitting the video data, and
create an operation plan including the planned route of the mobile device.
The step of “plan a route…” may be performed by observing and evaluating the data received (i.e. signal strength, transmitted video quality) and choosing a path accordingly which may be practically performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion.
The step of “create an operation plan…” may be performed by observing and evaluating the data received (i.e. signal strength, transmitted video quality) and deciding upon the movement and orientation of the mobile device which may be practically performed in the human mind using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion.
Since the claims recite an abstract idea, the analysis proceeds to Prong Two to determine whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Practical Application
If a claim recites a judicial exception, in Prong Two, we next determine whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception by: (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application.
If the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, the claim is not directed to the judicial exception. This evaluation requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. If the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, the claim is not directed to the judicial exception.
The additional elements of claim 1 and 14 are “a mobile device including a transmitter for transmitting video data”, “circuitry configured to rotate and move a housing of the mobile device” and “acquire radio wave conditions in an environment in which the mobile device operates”. The first two elements are basic and well known in the art. By themselves and in conjunction with both the recited judicial exceptions and dependent claims, these claim elements do not impose a meaningful limit. The last element is a data gathering operation, but the limitation is not sufficient to integrate into a practical application since it is merely concerned with outputting data. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Further, claim 16 recites the method as being performed by processing circuitry. The processing circuitry is used as a tool to perform the generic computer function of receiving data and perform an abstract idea, as discussed above in Step 2A, Prong One, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept
For Step 2B of the analysis, it is determined whether the claim adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well-understood, routine, conventional” in the field.
As stated above, claims 1 and 14-16 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Since this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim requires no more than data gathering steps that collect necessary data for estimating, analyzing, and evaluating and requires no more than a generic computer to perform operations and generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities.
The courts have considered the following examples to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20200356101).
Regarding claims 1 and 14-16, Wang discloses an information processing system/apparatus ([0214] FIG. 6A provides a schematic view of an example robot system 600) and method/non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions thereon ([0102] The above described embodiments are described from the perspective of a robot and/or a local terminal. It should be apparent to one of skill in the art that the embodiments described above could be implemented as systems, adapted as methods performed by a system, or embodied in a computer-readable medium that could be executed by a system); wherein the system comprises:
a mobile device including a transmitter for transmitting video data ([0219] the robot 100 may acquire… video (e.g., using the camera 320) … transmitting the acquired audio/video to a remote device or cloud service.) and
circuitry configured to:
rotate and move a housing of the mobile device ([0158] In some implementations, the drive system 200 provides omni-directional and/or holonomic motion control of the robot 100. As used herein the term “omni-directional” refers to the ability to move in substantially any planar direction, i.e., side-to-side (lateral), forward/back, and rotational.);
the circuitry of the system is further configured along with the circuitry of the apparatus, the method and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions thereon which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method comprising:
acquire radio wave conditions ([0317] The tag may be created by a user, automatically by a terminal, automatically by a robot, and/or in response to historical data collected by the terminal and/or robot.) in an environment in which the mobile device operates ([0258] The tags 662 may include a wireless local area network (WLAN) warm tag 662a denoting an area having relatively good signal reception and a WLAN cold tag 662b denoting an area having relatively poor signal reception), wherein the mobile device transmits video data (([0219] the robot 100 may acquire… video (e.g., using the camera 320) … transmitting the acquired audio/video to a remote device or cloud service.);
plan a route for the mobile device to maintain video data transmission based on the radio wave conditions and signal strength necessary for transmitting the video data ([0317] As described herein, the tag may include tag information comprising a robot action modifier. The tag may be interpreted by a robot operator, a local terminal, or the remote telepresence robot and cause the robot to execute a predetermined action. For example, the robot action modifier may direct a robot to not enter a specific area, to travel slowly through a certain area, to travel fast through a certain area, to use extra caution, and/or to perform other actions. Tags in general may include any of a wide variety of information, such as an availability of a wireless communication signal), and
create an operation plan ([0255] The user, a remote terminal, the robot, and/or other robots or sensors statically or dynamically occupying the same space, may insert tags 662, actively or passively, onto specific locations of the plan view map 810 and/or robot map 820 to mark map locations with information, such as driving hazards, obstacles, robot aids, etc.) including the planned route of the mobile device ([0326] Referring again to FIG. 8E, the tagging view 660 of the user interface 605 allows the user to place tags 662 on a plan view map 810 to designate locations of interest and/or mark the plan view map 810 with information, such as obstacles, preferred robot travel routes, etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device is a robot ([0214] FIG. 6A provides a schematic view of an example robot system 600 having one or more telepresence robots 100 in communication with a bridge 602, which communicates with a local robot endpoint server 604a and a remote endpoint server 604b (e.g., such as the cloud computing service 720 (FIG. 7)).).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device includes a plurality of mobile devices ([0214] FIG. 6A provides a schematic view of an example robot system 600 having one or more telepresence robots 100 in communication with a bridge 602, which communicates with a local robot endpoint server 604a and a remote endpoint server 604b (e.g., such as the cloud computing service 720 (FIG. 7))), and the circuitry is further configured to create the operation plan for taking over an operation from a first mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices to a second mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices based on the radio wave conditions and the signal strength ([0347] The robot 100 may use a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET), which is a self-configuring infrastructureless network of mobile devices connected by wireless links.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to create the operation plan based further on a risk of movement of the first mobile device ([0317] Tags in general may include any of a wide variety of information, such as an availability of a wireless communication signal, a speed the remote telepresence robot should travel, a location of a point of interest, a location of a person, a location of a docking station, a location of a rest area, a location of a glass wall, a location of a ramp, a location of an object, an optimal route to navigate a tight area, an optimal rout to navigate a congested area, and an action a remote telepresence robot should execute.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to; generate a map visualizing the radio wave conditions; and display the map (Fig. 8E; WLAN warm 662a, WLAN cold 662b).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 5, wherein the circuitry is further configured to create the operation plan based further on an allowable level for the signal strength in the radio wave conditions set for the map ([0317] As described herein, the tag may include tag information comprising a robot action modifier. The tag may be interpreted by a robot operator, a local terminal, or the remote telepresence robot and cause the robot to execute a predetermined action. For example, the robot action modifier may direct a robot to not enter a specific area, to travel slowly through a certain area, to travel fast through a certain area, to use extra caution, and/or to perform other actions. Tags in general may include any of a wide variety of information, such as an availability of a wireless communication signal).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 6, wherein the circuitry is further configured to create the operation plan based on the allowable level set according to a user operation based on the map displayed on the display ([0317] The tag may be created by a user, automatically by a terminal, automatically by a robot, and/or in response to historical data collected by the terminal and/or robot.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 7, wherein the circuitry is further configured to update the map based on the allowable level set according to the user operation ([0258] The tags 662 may include a wireless local area network (WLAN) warm tag 662a denoting an area having relatively good signal reception and a WLAN cold tag 662b denoting an area having relatively poor signal reception. The robot 100 may use this information to navigate from one location to another through an area having relatively good wireless signal reception, while avoiding areas having relatively poor wireless signal reception.).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses information processing system according to claim 3, wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive the video data transmitted from the mobile device and display a video based on the received video data, select a video to be used for distribution from the displayed videos ([0049] In some embodiments, the control system may be configured to transmit a video feed from the imaging system to the remote terminal via the communication system and the control system may be configured to receive an indication of a desired destination on the plan view map from the remote terminal via the communication system.), predict a transition of the radio wave conditions for the mobile device based on the radio wave conditions and the operation plan, and display information indicating the predicted transition of the radio wave conditions (Fig. 8E; WLAN warm 662a, WLAN cold 662b; [0060] In some embodiments, the tag information of each of the plurality of tags comprises information regarding one of: an availability of a wireless communication signal).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 9, wherein the circuitry is further configured to select video data to be used for distribution from the video data transmitted from each mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices ([0267] In other embodiments, the robot 100 and/or remote terminal in communication with the robot 100 densely maps tags associating time-dependence to various environmental and traffic volume conditions. The tags have associated robot action modifiers for execution by the robot 100 in response to those tags at the associated point in time or associated time period. In embodiments, tag icons on a map change in appearance in accordance with their time dependence.) based on the information indicating the transition of the radio wave conditions predicted for each of the mobile devices ([0060] In some embodiments, the tag information of each of the plurality of tags comprises information regarding one of: an availability of a wireless communication signal).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 10, wherein the circuitry is further configured to determine presence or absence of disturbance in a video based on the video data transmitted from the mobile device ([0060] In some embodiments, the tag information of each of the plurality of tags comprises information regarding one of: an availability of a wireless communication signal; Examiner’s note: [0148] of the specification presents signal strength as an example for how the presence or absence of video disturbances can be ascertained.), and select video data to be used for the distribution based further on the presence or absence of the disturbance ([0255] the remote terminal may create time-dependent tags indicative of travel conditions along a route. In embodiments, the remote terminal acts as a nexus for the plurality of robots in communication therewith such that the time-dependent tags are available to the plurality of robots. Each of the plurality of robots thereby benefits from the robot-action modifiers included in the data of the universally shared, time-dependent tags; Examiner’s note: a wireless strength tag can be used for a “robot-action modifier” such that a robot in a poor strength area ends transmission while a robot in a good signal strength area commences transmission.).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 11, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate a map visualizing the radio wave conditions, and display the map, acquire a position of the mobile device when the video data determined to have the disturbance is transmitted, and display information indicating the acquired positions on the map ([0255] The user, a remote terminal, the robot, and/or other robots or sensors statically or dynamically occupying the same space, may insert tags 662, actively or passively, onto specific locations of the plan view map 810 and/or robot map 820 to mark map locations with information, such as driving hazards, obstacles, robot aids, etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the information processing system according to claim 1, wherein the mobile device includes an antenna for transmitting the video data by the transmitter in a part of a periphery of the housing of the mobile device, and the circuitry is further configured to create the operation plan ([0347] The robot 100 may improve its connectivity recovery percentage by reassessing and/or executing path planning to move to the last trusted location using obstacle detection obstacle avoidance (ODOA).) including information for controlling the orientation of the mobile device based on the position of the antenna ([0347] The robot 100 may also move its antennas 490a, 490b (FIGS. 2 and 4C) to possibly gain better communication reception.).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20110125323 discloses a robot having a signal sensor configured to measure a signal, a motion sensor configured to measure a relative change in pose, a local correlation component configured to correlate the signal with the position and/or orientation of the robot in a local region including the robot's current position, and a localization component configured to apply a filter to estimate the position and optionally the orientation of the robot based at least on a location reported by the motion sensor, a signal detected by the signal sensor, and the signal predicted by the local correlation component. The local correlation component and/or the localization component may take into account rotational variability of the signal sensor and other parameters related to time and pose dependent variability in how the signal and motion sensor perform. Each estimated pose may be used to formulate new or updated navigational or operational instructions for the robot.
US 20130196684 discloses a method and system of generating an indoor radio map. In order to reduce the influence of multipath effect on indoor localization and improve the accuracy of indoor localization, a technique of processing data for indoor target locating and a technique of locating an indoor target based on the above technique is proposed. The method for generating an indoor radio map performs a smoothing process on the wireless signal strength measured in at least one position by a mobile node based on wireless signal strengths measured by the mobile node at adjacent positions, so as to reduce the influence of multipath effect.
US 20150197010 discloses methods, systems, and devices for evaluating signal quality metrics at one or more locations on one or more available paths to a target location by a robotic device, and determining a path to a target location and an access point switching plan for the robotic device based, at least in part, on evaluated metrics. In some examples, evaluating signal quality metrics may include comparing signal quality metrics associated with one or more locations to multiple signal quality thresholds, where one or more of these signal quality thresholds may include a minimum bandwidth threshold. In some examples, the access point switching plan comprises one or more switching events between multiple radio access technologies (RATs) at one or more boundaries. In some examples, determining a path or determining an access point switching plan is based, at least in part, on comparing the costs associated with usage of multiple RATs.
US 20200183426 discloses a method and system of measuring a radio wave distribution of a radio signal source and estimating corresponding radio characteristics by using a flying vehicle. The method includes the following steps;. at a number of flight positions during a measurement process, a number of first radio signals transmitted by the radio signal source are measured by the flying vehicle; a position of the radio signal source is estimated according to the first radio signals and a radio channel model; a number of first radio characteristics of the first radio signal are obtained; and a radio wave distribution of the radio signal source is estimated according to the first radio characteristics of the first radio signals and a number of second radio characteristics of a number of second radio signals in the radio wave distribution are estimated according to the first radio characteristics of the first radio signals.
/JBSA/Examiner, Art Unit 3646
/JACK W KEITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3646