DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 77-82 and 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0319791 (“Giambattista”).
Regarding Claim 77, Giambattista discloses a dual chamber injection system (Note that the phrase “dual chamber injection system” appears ONLY in the preamble and does not set to define or set additional context or limitations to any specific structure found in the body of the claim, to wit, the body of the claim never positively makes reference to any “chamber” of the injection system or set for any specific structure which can be explicitly inferred to require a physical structure of two specific chambers. Statements in the preamble are analyzed on a case-by-case basis as to determine whether or not the confer any particular limitations to the invention or are merely recited as to set forth the broad general intents of the invention without necessarily placing an specific requirements on the invention. Again, since the body of the claim never makes reference toward a “chamber”, let alone dual chambers, it must be understood that the recitation of “dual chamber” in the preamble is not limiting inasmuch as the claimed invention only necessarily includes those elements recited in the body of the claim whereby the device need only be of a type which does not preclude the presence of additional structure which might permit a “dual chamber” function. In Giambattista the “dual chambers” could be inferred to reference the sections of the syringe barrel which are forward or rearward of the piston which separates the syringe into a forward medicament chamber and a rearward chamber for receipt of the piston rod construction or could be made in reference to the ability of the invention of Giambattista to be capable of accommodation of chamber separating inserts within the syringe barrel), the system comprising:
a guiding element (3) arranged along a longitudinal axis and configured to at least partially contain a medicament container,
said guiding element defines an inner surface (see Fig. 6) and at least one first guiding feature (3h) formed thereon;
a plunger rod assembly (5, 7), comprising a plunger outer portion (5) arranged along said longitudinal axis and a plunger inner portion (7) arranged concentrically within said plunger outer portion (see Fig. 8) and having at least one second guiding feature (7d) arranged on an outer surface of said plunger inner portion (Fig. 5b);
said plunger outer portion is disposed externally relative to said guiding element (see Fig. 2a);
said plunger inner portion is at least partially received into said guiding element (see Fig. 2a and 8);
wherein said plunger outer portion and said plunger inner portion are fixedly attached to each other (Par. 42, 53 – re: in the first stage of motion the two components are fixed together by indexation of the engagement arrangement (5b) in the slot (7b) such that they move in unison wherein assumption of the second stage unfixes the components, whereby the existence of a specific configuration where the two components are fixedly attached or coupled to one another is sufficient to satisfy the metes and bounds of the instant claim); and
wherein said plunger rod assembly is displaceable relative to said guiding element (see Figs. 2a-2c in series) and said displacement is guided by engagement of said at least one first guiding feature with said at least second guiding feature (Par. 56).
Regarding Claim 78, Giambattista discloses the first guiding feature is a protrusion extending radially inwardly from the inner surface of the guiding element (see Fig. 6) and the second guiding feature is a guiding groove (see Fig. 5b).
Regarding Claim 80, Giambattista discloses said at least one guiding groove is continuous (see Fig. 5b) and having portions thereof that are disposed in different axial orientations along said outer surface of said plunger inner portion (see Fig. 5b).
Regarding Claim 81, Giambattista discloses said at least one guiding groove is continuous and having portions thereof that are disposed in different angular orientations along said outer surface of said plunger inner portion (see Fig. 5b).
Regarding Claim 82, Giambattista discloses in a locked operative orientation of said dual chamber injection system said plunger rod assembly is prevented from axial displacement relative to said guiding element due to engagement of said at least one protrusion with a locking portion of said at least one guiding groove (i.e. when the protrusion is presented in the proximal-most section of the guiding groove further axial displacement is prevented).
Regarding Claim 84, Giambattista discloses the plunger rod assembly is rotatable relative to said guiding element in some operative orientations when said at least one protrusion of said guiding element engages a certain portion of said at least one guiding groove, and wherein said plunger rod assembly is axially displaceable relative to said guiding element in other operative orientations when said at least one protrusion of said guiding element engages another portion of said at least one guiding groove (see Fig. 5b – note the axial extension of 7e versus the helical extrusion of 7f – see Par. 56 and 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 77-78, 80-82, and 84 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0319791 (“Giambattista”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2018/0333331 (“Kalofolias”).
Regarding Claims 77-78, 80-82, and 84, should Applicant argue that the phrase “dual chamber” as recited in the preamble of the claims is limiting and that the phrase sets forth a dual medicament reservoir configuration (even though particularities of these dual chambers are never recited in the body of the claim), the following is presented. Dual medicament reservoir syringes are notoriously well-known in the art. For example, Kalofolias discloses a syringe barrel having multiple chambers to permit multi-component injectates to be delivered. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the syringe of Giambattista to present two medicament reservoirs, as disclosed by Kalofolias, to allow multi-component injectates to be administered to a patient.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 79 and 83 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presuming suitable satisfaction of any outstanding non-prior art issues under 35 USC 112.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, in the case of Giambattista there exists a configuration (i.e. the configuration of the first movement stage – see Par. 42, 53) in which the inner and outer plunger portions are fixedly attached or coupled together such that their movement is conjoined. The capability of the device to assume a second, unfixed/disengaged configuration wherein the two components are uncoupled to permit relative movement therebetween is immaterial as to the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claim.
In the instant case the phrase “fixedly attached”, as interpreted in view of the instant specification, does not appear to mean “permanently immovable with respect to one another”, but appears to be sufficiently broad so as to encompass temporary fixation. Specifically, while the instant specification does indicate that “the outer plunger portion 132 and the inner plunger portion 134 may be integrally made as a single component” (Par. 106) this is contrasted with the phrase “fixedly attached” which is used to describe a means of assembly the two components to act in operation with one another via snap-fit connecting clips/detents (272, 328; 1444, 1396 – Par. 165, 337). There is no suggestion that “fixedly attached” should encompass only permanent, immovable fixation where the two components, once secured, cannot be separated from one another. Rather, the metes and bounds of the limitation would be understood to encompass arrangements where the two components can be unfastened, if desired, to permit disassembly of the system.
In Giambattista the outer and inner components are assembled for two-stage movement – a “engaged” movement where the two components move axially together and a “disengaged” movement where the two components are rotated relative to one another to permit relative movement between the two components (Par. 15, 42, 46). Examiner submits that this first engaged state can reasonably considered “fixed” attachment because the engagement arrangement tab (5d) is trapped with the circumferential slit (7b) to constrain the movement of the two components together such that they are incapable of moving separately (Par. 54). Once linear movement via tracks (7e) is performed the inner plunger component becomes unfixed from the outer plunger component via rotational camming of track (7d) to permit release of the engaging component (5d) from the circumferential track (7b) thereby allowing unfixed, relative movement between the two components. However, the existence of a second, unfixed configuration does not preclude the existence of a first, fixed configuration.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 10/20/2026