DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11-2-23, 11-6-23, and 9-7-25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Xu (US20180035087).
Re claim 1, Xu teaches for example in fig. 1-5, a light source apparatus, comprising: a plurality of light source units (110a-d) that respectively emits light in respective colors (para. 0035); a light-combining/splitting unit (120) that combines/splits light emitted from each of the plurality of light source units (para. 0035); at least one light-receiving unit (130) that receives light emitted from the light-combining/splitting unit (para. 0035); and a control unit (180) that switches activation and deactivation of each of the plurality of light source units (para. 0035, 0041), wherein the control unit stops each of the plurality of light source units on a basis of light received by the light-receiving unit (para. 0035, 0041).
Re claim 7, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-combining/splitting unit has wavelength dependency (para. 0035).
Re claim 9, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-combining/splitting unit receives laser light (abstract).
Re claim 11, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-combining/splitting unit has a dichroic mirror (para. 0035).
Re claim 14, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the control unit has a comparator that compares a signal value of an analog signal based on an amount of light of light received by the light-receiving unit with a threshold value (para. 0039, 0050, 0062).
Re claim 15, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the threshold value is lower than a signal value of an analog signal based on an amount of light that is an accessible emission limit (para. 0043).
Re claim 16, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, light on an optical path toward outside of the light source apparatus out of a plurality of optical paths emitted from the light-combining/splitting unit is projected onto a retina of a user (para. 0040).
Re claim 17, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, an image display apparatus, comprising: the light source apparatus; and an objective optical unit (521) that receives light emitted from the light source apparatus (para. 0040, 0069) and emits the light to a retina of a user (para. 0040, 0069).
Re claim 18, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light source apparatus (530) and the objective optical unit (521) are separated from each other (fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20180035087) in view of Arakida et al. (US20050053330).
Re claim 10, supra claim 1. Furthermore, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-combining/splitting unit (120).
But, Xu fails to explicitly teach an optical waveguide.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Arakida et al. teaches for example in fig. 21a, an optical waveguide (83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Xu with Arakida et al. in order to provide a low-cost optical waveguide which has high light entrance efficiency, as taught by Arakida et al. (para. 0018).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20180035087) in view of Muto (JP2010107615, of record).
Re claim 12, supra claim 1. Furthermore, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-combining/splitting unit has a dichroic mirror (para. 0035).
But, Xu fails to explicitly teach a dichroic prism.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Muto teaches for example in fig. 3, a dichroic prism (211, 212, 213). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the light-combining/splitting unit, since dichroic mirrors and dichroic prisms are known equivalents in the art and the selection of any of these known equivalents would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Xu with Muto in order to receive multiple laser beams individually and output an output signal in accordance with the received light quantity, as taught by Muto (abstract).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20180035087).
Re claim 13, supra claim 1. Furthermore, Xu further teaches for example in fig. 1-5, the light-receiving unit (120).
But, Xu fails to explicitly teach a silicon photodiode.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the light receiving unit, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering obvious design choices involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the teachings of Xu in order to detect a power or intensity of laser light, as taught by Xu (abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art taken alone or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims, in such a manner that a rejection would be proper. The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in dependent claims 2 and 8.
Specifically regarding claim 2, Xu (US20180035087) teaches the state of the art of a light source apparatus.
But, Xu fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including a filter unit that is disposed on an optical path of light emitted from the light-combining/splitting unit and has wavelength dependency, as claimed.
Specifically regarding claim 8, Xu (US20180035087) teaches the state of the art of a light source apparatus.
But, Xu fails to explicitly teach a combination of all the claimed features including the light-combining/splitting unit has spectral properties that an amount of light of blue light emitted to the light-receiving unit is larger than an amount of light of each of red light and green light, as claimed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/Joseph P Martinez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2-14-26