DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of amendment with remarks/arguments, dated February 9, 2026. Claims 1, 12, 13, 19, 23, and 30 have been amended; claims 15 and 25 have been canceled; claims 31 and 32 are new.
Upon entering the amendment, claims 1-14, 16-24, and 26-32 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 31, it recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the conditional handover does not involve the UE transmitting a RACH preamble to the target BS.”
The acronym “RACH” is used in the wherein clause. It is suggested to include what this acronym means, i.e., amending it to “Random Access Channel (RACH).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 31, it recites, “The method of claim 1, wherein the conditional handover does not involve the UE transmitting a RACH preamble to the target BS.”
It recites a negative limitation “does not involve” as indicated in italics in the wherein clause.
The examiner rejects the usage of this term because it tended to define the invention in terms of what it was not, rather than pointing out the invention. In other words, it rendered the claim indefinite because it was an attempt to claim the invention by excluding what the inventors did not invent rather than distinctly and particularly pointing out what they did invent. In re Schechter, 205 F.2d 185, 98 USPQ 144 (CCPA 1953).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3, 6-11, 13, 14, 16-18, 20, 21, 23, 24, 26-28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2022/0240208) in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2024/0040461).
Regarding claim 1, Chien et al. teach the method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: UE1 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE)” in the instant application), comprising:
receiving, from a source base station (BS), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: source base station, e.g., gNB2 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a source base station (BS);”
target base station, e.g., gNB3 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target BS;”
in fact, receiving, from gNB2, a handover message 204 for UE1 to hand over to gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from a source base station (BS), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition.
Da Silva et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition (paragraph [0288] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the handover in a good condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a conditional handover condition;”
in fact, activating the handover in a good condition for the UE 401, as illustrated in FIG. 4, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition” in the instant application),
wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied (paragraph [0288] lines 11-21; Examiner’s Notes: UE 401 detaching from first network node 403a and synchronizing with second network node 403b if the handover in a good/satisfied condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Da Silva et al. in the system of Chien et al.
The motivation for implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition, is to further enhance the mechanism for a UE to handle mobility information, wherein the UE predicts mobility information related to the UE's predicted mobility in the communications network, determines whether one or multiple conditions are fulfilled for one or multiple cells, then the UE transmits a message to a network node when it has been determined that the one or multiple conditions are fulfilled.
Chien et al. further teach obtaining an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the TA value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a timing advance (TA);”
in fact, deriving/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “obtaining an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a first reference signal associated with the source BS and a second reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first reference signal associated with the source BS;”
the reference signal/information of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second reference signal associated with the target BS;”
in fact, calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the TA value of source gNB2 and the time difference between the reference signal of source gNB2 and the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a first reference signal associated with the source BS and a second reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application); and
transmitting, based on the handover command, one or more signals to the target BS using the TA for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: UE1, transmitting, based on the handover message 204, signals to target gNB3 using the TA value of target gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, based on the handover command, one or more signals to the target BS using the TA for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 2, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein: the first reference signal comprises one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSJ-RSs), or positioning reference signals (PRSs) (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal of source gNB2, e.g., SSB, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein: the first reference signal comprises one of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs), channel state information reference signals (CSJ-RSs), or positioning reference signals (PRSs)” in the instant application), and
the second reference signal comprises one of SSBs, CSI-RSs, or PRSs (paragraph [0127] lines 8-16; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal of target gNB3, e.g., SSB, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the second reference signal comprises one of SSBs, CSI-RSs, or PRSs” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 3, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising:
receiving the first reference signal from the source BS at a first receive time (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the time location information regards to receiving the reference signal of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first receive time;”
in fact, receiving the reference signal of source gNB2 at the time of receiving the reference signal of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving the first reference signal from the source BS at a first receive time” in the instant application);
receiving the second reference signal from the target BS at a second receive time (paragraph [0127] lines 8-16; Examiner’s Notes: the time location information regards to receiving the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second receive time;”
in fact, receiving the reference signal of target gNB3 at the time of receiving the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving the second reference signal from the target BS at a second receive time” in the instant application); and
determining the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS based on the first receive time and the second receive time (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: calculating/determining the time difference between the receiving time of reference signal of source gNB2 and the receiving time of reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS based on the first receive time and the second receive time” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising transmitting an indication of the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS to at least one of the source BS or the target BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting the time difference between the reference signal of source gNB2 and the reference signal of target gNB3 to target gNB3 as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting an indication of the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS to at least one of the source BS or the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein obtaining the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises receiving the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS from at least one of the source BS or the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: receiving/obtaining the TA value for communicating with target gNB3 from south gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein obtaining the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises receiving the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS from at least one of the source BS or the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Chien et al. teach the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE (paragraph [0097] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE;”
In fact, determining the TA value for communicating with source gNB2 based on the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the claimed invention, without explicitly teaching the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the distance/ToF. A change in size/distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 8, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein:
the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is received from the source BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: receiving/obtaining the TA value for communicating with target gNB3 from south gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is received from the source BS” in the instant application), and
the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of: an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the first reference signal associated with source BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the source BS, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the first reference signal associated with source BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the source BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the first reference signal associated with source BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the source BS;”
in fact, the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of: an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the first reference signal associated with source BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the source BS, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the first reference signal associated with source BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the source BS” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 9, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein:
the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is received from the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: receiving/obtaining the TA value for communicating with target gNB3 from target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is received from the target BS” in the instant application), and
the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of: an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the second reference signal associated with target BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source BS at the target BS, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the second reference signal associated with target BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source B S at the target BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with target gNB3 and the receive time of the reference signal with source gNB2 at target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the second reference signal associated with target BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source BS at the target BS;”
in fact, the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with target gNB3 and the receive time of the reference signal with source gNB2 at target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of: an indication of a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the second reference signal associated with target BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source BS at the target BS, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and a second time difference between a transmit time associated with the second reference signal associated with target BS and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source B S at the target BS” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 10, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising receiving a message from the source BS including an indication of the second reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraph [0107] lines 1-11; Examiner’s Notes: receiving a message from source gNB2 indicating the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving a message from the source BS including an indication of the second reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 11, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein the message further includes information triggering the UE to determine the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the time location information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “information triggering the UE;”
in fact, determining the time difference between the reference signal associated with source gNB2 and the reference signal associated with target gNB3 according to the time location information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message further includes information triggering the UE to determine the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 13, Chien et al. teach the method for wireless communication by a source base station (BS) (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: source base station, e.g., gNB2 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a source base station (BS)” in the instant application), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: UE1 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE);”
target base station, e.g., gNB3 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target BS;”
in fact, transmitting, to UE1, a handover message 204 for UE1 to hand over to gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition.
Da Silva et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition (paragraph [0288] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the handover in a good condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a conditional handover condition;”
in fact, activating the handover in a good condition for the UE 401, as illustrated in FIG. 4, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition” in the instant application),
wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied (paragraph [0288] lines 11-21; Examiner’s Notes: UE 401 detaching from first network node 403a and synchronizing with second network node 403b if the handover in a good/satisfied condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Da Silva et al. in the system of Chien et al.
The motivation for implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition, is to further enhance the mechanism for a UE to handle mobility information, wherein the UE predicts mobility information related to the UE's predicted mobility in the communications network, determines whether one or multiple conditions are fulfilled for one or multiple cells, then the UE transmits a message to a network node when it has been determined that the one or multiple conditions are fulfilled.
Chien et al. further teach transmitting a first reference signal to the UE (paragraph [0124] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first reference signal;”
in fact, transmitting the reference signal/information of source gNB2 to UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting a first reference signal to the UE” in the instant application);
receiving a second reference signal from the target BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second reference signal from the target BS;”
in fact, receiving the reference signal/information from target gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving a second reference signal from the target BS” in the instant application); and
transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the TA value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a timing advance (TA);”
in fact, transmitting, to UE1, the TA value of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting, to the UE, an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a transmit time of the first reference signal and a receive time of the second reference signal (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the TA value of source gNB2 and the time difference between a transmit time of the reference signal of source gNB2 to UE1 and a receive time of the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a transmit time of the first reference signal and a receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 14, Chien et al. teach the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE (paragraph [0097] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE;”
In fact, determining the TA value for communicating with source gNB2 based on the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the claimed invention, without explicitly teaching the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the distance/ToF. A change in size/distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, an indication of a second time difference between a receive time of the first reference signal at the UE and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the UE (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from UE1, the time difference between the receiving time of reference signal of source gNB2 and the receiving time of reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from the UE, an indication of a second time difference between a receive time of the first reference signal at the UE and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the target BS at the UE” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the second time difference (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the the time difference between the receiving time of reference signal of source gNB2 and the receiving time of reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the second time difference” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 17, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of:
an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal;”
in fact, the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of:
an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 18, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising
transmitting a message to the UE including an indication of a third reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraph [0126] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: transmitting a message to UE1 including the reference signal associated with target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting a message to the UE including an indication of a third reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein the message further includes information configured to cause the UE to determine a second time difference between the first reference and the third reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: the time location information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “information configured to cause the UE;”
in fact, the message including the time location information to cause UE1 to determine the time difference between the reference signal associated with source gNB2 and the reference signal associated with target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the message further includes information configured to cause the UE to determine a second time difference between the first reference and the third reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 20, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising determining the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: determining the time difference between the transmit time of reference signal associated with UE1 and the receive time of the reference signal associated with target gNB3 according to the time location information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 21, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising applying an offset to the first time difference (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the propagation-delay-related value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an offset;”
In fact, including/applying the propagation-delay-related value to the time difference in the prior art teaches the limitation of “applying an offset to the first time difference” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the applied offset (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: determining the TA for communicating with target gNB3 based on the propagation-delay-related value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the applied offset” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 23, Chien et al. teach the method for wireless communication by a target base station (BS) (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: target base station, e.g., gNB3 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target base station (BS)” in the instant application)), comprising:
receiving an indication of a handover of a user equipment (UE) from a source BS to the target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: UE1 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “user equipment (UE);”
source base station, e.g., gNB2 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a source BS;”
in fact, receiving a handover message 204 for UE1 from source gNB2 to target gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving an indication of a handover of a user equipment (UE) from a source BS to the target BS” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition.
Da Silva et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition (paragraph [0288] lines 1-21; Examiner’s Notes: the handover in a good condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a conditional handover condition;”
in fact, activating the handover in a good condition for the UE 401, as illustrated in FIG. 4, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition” in the instant application),
wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied (paragraph [0288] lines 11-21; Examiner’s Notes: UE 401 detaching from first network node 403a and synchronizing with second network node 403b if the handover in a good/satisfied condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the UE detaches from the source BS and synchronizes with a target BS if the conditional handover condition is satisfied” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Da Silva et al. in the system of Chien et al.
The motivation for implementing the handover command activating a conditional handover and configuring the UE with a conditional handover condition, is to further enhance the mechanism for a UE to handle mobility information, wherein the UE predicts mobility information related to the UE's predicted mobility in the communications network, determines whether one or multiple conditions are fulfilled for one or multiple cells, then the UE transmits a message to a network node when it has been determined that the one or multiple conditions are fulfilled.
Chien et al. further teach transmitting a first reference signal to the UE (paragraph [0124] lines 1-6; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first reference signal;”
in fact, transmitting the reference signal/information of source gNB2 to UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting a first reference signal to the UE” in the instant application);
receiving a second reference signal from the source BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second reference signal from the source BS;”
in fact, receiving the reference signal/information from source gNB2, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving a second reference signal from the source BS” in the instant application); and
transmitting an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the TA value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a timing advance (TA);”
in fact, transmitting the TA value for communicating with target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmitting an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a transmit time of the first reference signal and a receive time of the second reference signal (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the TA value of source gNB2 and the time difference between a transmit time of the reference signal of source gNB2 to UE1 and a receive time of the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a transmit time of the first reference signal and a receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 24, Chien et al. teach the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE (paragraph [0097] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE;”
In fact, determining the TA value for communicating with source gNB2 based on the distance between source gNB2 and UE1, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the source BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the UE” in the instant application).
Chien et al. teach the claimed invention, without explicitly teaching the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to implement the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based on a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the distance/ToF. A change in size/distance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 26, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising:
receiving, from the UE, an indication of a second time difference between a receive time of the first reference signal at the UE and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source BS at the UE (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: receiving, from UE1, the time difference between the receiving time of reference signal and the receiving time of reference signal of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, from the UE, an indication of a second time difference between a receive time of the first reference signal at the UE and a receive time of a third reference signal associated with the source BS at the UE” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the second time difference (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the the time difference between the receiving time of reference signal of source gNB2 and the receiving time of reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the second time difference” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 27, Chien et al. further teach the method, wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of:
an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal;”
in fact, the time difference between the transmission time of the reference signal with source gNB2 and the receive time of the reference signal with target gNB3 at source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS comprises one of:
an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal, or
a value representing a difference between: a time of flight (ToF) between the source BS and the target BS, and an indication of the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application as well).
Regarding claim 28, Chien et al. teach the method, further comprising
determining the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: determining the time difference between the transmit time of reference signal associated with UE1 and the receive time of the reference signal associated with target gNB3 according to the time location information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “determining the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal” in the instant application);
applying an offset to the first time difference (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the propagation-delay-related value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an offset;”
In fact, including/applying the propagation-delay-related value to the time difference in the prior art teaches the limitation of “applying an offset to the first time difference” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the applied offset (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: determining the TA for communicating with target gNB3 based on the propagation-delay-related value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based further on the applied offset” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 30, Chien et al. teach the apparatus for wireless communication (paragraph [0054] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: UE10a illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “apparatus” in the instant application), comprising:
a memory comprising executable instructions (paragraph [0054] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: memory 12a in UE10a illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “memory” in the instant application); and
one or more processors (paragraph [0054] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: processor 11a in UE10a illustrated in FIG. 1 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more processors” in the instant application) configured to execute the executable instructions and cause the apparatus to
receive, from a source base station (BS), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS (paragraph [0127] lines 1-16; Examiner’s Notes: source base station, e.g., gNB2 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a source base station (BS);”
target base station, e.g., gNB3 illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a target BS;”
in fact, receiving, from gNB2, a handover message 204 for UE1 to hand over to gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receive, from a source base station (BS), a handover command instructing the UE to hand over to a target BS” in the instant application);
obtain an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0122] lines 1-10; Examiner’s Notes: the TA value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “an indication of a timing advance (TA);”
in fact, deriving/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “obtain an indication of a timing advance (TA) for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application),
wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a first reference signal associated with the source BS and a second reference signal associated with the target BS (paragraphs [0124] lines 1-6 & [0128] lines 1-9]; Examiner’s Notes: the reference signal/information of source gNB2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a first reference signal associated with the source BS;”
the reference signal/information of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second reference signal associated with the target BS;”
in fact, calculating/obtaining the TA value of target gNB3 based on the TA value of source gNB2 and the time difference between the reference signal of source gNB2 and the reference signal of target gNB3 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the indication of the TA for communicating with the target BS is based, at least in part, on a TA used for communicating with the source BS and a first time difference between a first reference signal associated with the source BS and a second reference signal associated with the target BS” in the instant application); and
transmit, based on the handover command, one or more signals to the target BS using the TA for communicating with the target BS (paragraph [0128] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: UE1, transmitting, based on the handover message 204, signals to target gNB3 using the TA value of target gNB3, as illustrated in FIG. 13 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmit, based on the handover command, one or more signals to the target BS using the TA for communicating with the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 31, Da Silva et al. further teach the method, wherein the conditional handover does not involve the UE transmitting a RACH preamble to the target BS (paragraph [0288] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: UE 401, as depicted in FIG. 4, performing measurements to see the handover condition in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the conditional handover does not involve the UE transmitting a RACH preamble to the target BS” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 32, Da Silva et al. further teach the method, wherein the handover command comprises a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message and the method further comprises responding to the RRC reconfiguration message with a RRC reconfiguration message prior to the conditional handover (paragraph [0857] lines 1-7; Examiner’s Notes: the RRCReconfiguration message in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a RRC reconfiguration message;”
in fact, transmitting a RRCReconfiguration message and responding to the reconfiguration with sync before the handover in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the handover command comprises a radio resource control (RRC) reconfiguration message and the method further comprises responding to the RRC reconfiguration message with a RRC reconfiguration message prior to the conditional handover” in the instant application).
8. Claims 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al. (US 2022/0240208) in view of Da Silva et al. (US 2024/0040461), and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0394562).
Regarding claim 12, Chien et al. and Da Silva et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing a group identifier associated with a group of UEs.
Wang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the information triggering the UE to determine the first time difference includes a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier depends on a transmission beam that is near an edge of a cell associated with the source BS (paragraphs [0040] lines 1-18 & [0042] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: the group identifier of the UEs in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group identifier associated with a group of UEs;”
in fact, the information engaging/triggering the UE to determine the time difference includes the group identifier of the UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier correspondence to the transmission beam/signals associated with the source base station in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the information triggering the UE to determine the first time difference includes a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier depends on a transmission beam that is near an edge of a cell associated with the source BS” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wang et al. in the system of Chien et al. and Da Silva et al.
The motivation for implementing a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, is to further enhance the mechanism for group handover, wherein a source base station identifies a plurality of user equipments as a group, sends a group identifier to the group, and determines to initiate a handover/cell reselection for the group, the source base station then negotiates handover parameters with a target base station and sends, to user equipments of the group that are in an engaged mode, a group handover command with directions to connect with the target base station, the source base station also identifies a plurality of candidate target base stations and sends, to user equipments of the group that are in a disengaged mode, a group reselection command with directions to reselect one of the plurality of candidate target base stations.
Regarding claim 19, Chien et al. and Da Silva et al. teach the method without explicitly teaching implementing a group identifier associated with a group of UEs.
Wang et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein the information configured to cause the UE to determine the first time difference includes a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier depends on a transmission beam that is near an edge of a cell associated with the source BS (paragraphs [0040] lines 1-18 & [0042] lines 1-22; Examiner’s Notes: the group identifier of the UEs in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a group identifier associated with a group of UEs;”
in fact, the information engaging/triggering the UE to determine the time difference includes the group identifier of the UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier correspondence to the transmission beam/signals associated with the source base station in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the information configured to cause the UE to determine the first time difference includes a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, including the UE, and the group identifier depends on a transmission beam that is near an edge of a cell associated with the source BS” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Wang et al. in the system of Chien et al. and Da Silva et al.
The motivation for implementing a group identifier associated with a group of UEs, is to further enhance the mechanism for group handover, wherein a source base station identifies a plurality of user equipments as a group, sends a group identifier to the group, and determines to initiate a handover/cell reselection for the group, the source base station then negotiates handover parameters with a target base station and sends, to user equipments of the group that are in an engaged mode, a group handover command with directions to connect with the target base station, the source base station also identifies a plurality of candidate target base stations and sends, to user equipments of the group that are in a disengaged mode, a group reselection command with directions to reselect one of the plurality of candidate target base stations.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4, 5, 22, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, 13 or 23, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim(s).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein determining the first time difference between the first reference signal associated with the source BS and the second reference signal associated with the target BS based on the first receive time and the second receive time comprises determining a number of slots between the first receive time and the second receive time based on a subcarrier spacing associated with at least one of the source BS or the target BS,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 5, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "applying an offset to the first time difference, wherein: the offset accounts for a difference in transmit times between the first reference signal and the second reference signal, the offset is less than a threshold, and the threshold depends on at least one of a speed of the source B S or a speed of the target BS,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Regarding claim 22, the prior art in single or in combination fails to teach "wherein determining the first time difference between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal comprises determining, based on a subcarrier spacing associated with at least one of the source BS or the target BS, a number of slots between the transmit time of the first reference signal and the receive time of the second reference signal,” in combination with other limitation of the claim(s).
Similar limitations are included in claim 29.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
10. Claim 112(b) Rejection: Applicants amended the claim limitations that obviate the basis of the previous rejection. See Section 5 for the new ground rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
11. Claims Art Rejections: Applicants’ amendment with arguments filed February 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479