DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/2/23 and 12/11/24 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enbutsu et al. (JP 2019-105796 A), Nishida et al. (JP 2003-140214 A), and Hirakazu et al. (JP 2014-081578 A). See the IDS and corresponding English translations of the documents filed 11/2/23.
Re. Claim 1, Enbutsu et al. discloses a wavelength conversion apparatus comprising:
a wavelength conversion element 517 for converting a wavelength of a signal light; wherein
an excitation light of the wavelength of the signal light (e.g., wavelength of 1.55 µm band) and n1 (n1 being zero and a positive integer) excitation lights (e.g., n1= 1 of the excitation light 502 of the 0.78 µm band) that differ from the wavelength of the signal lights are inputted when one or more m1 (m1 being a positive integer) signal lights are inputted (e.g., m1 = 1 of the signal light 501),
an excitation light of the wavelength of the signal light and n2 (n2 being zero and a positive integer) excitation lights (n2=1 of the excitation light 503 of the 0.78 µm band) that differ from the wavelength of the signal lights are inputted when one or more m2 (m2 being a positive integer) signal lights are outputted (e.g., m2=1 of the signal light 504), and
in a wavelength conversion apparatus that generates a light of differential frequency wavelength, the signal light and the excitation light are inputted from one side of a housing adjacent to and opposite optical input and output of the wavelength conversion element, and the signal light and the excitation light are outputted from the other side of the opposite housing (Fig. 5; [0031], [0038], and [0039]).
However, Enbutsu et al. does not disclose the wavelength conversion element having an optical waveguide core and a substrate having a lower refractive index for the signal light and the excitation light than the optical waveguide core. Enbutsu et al. also fails to disclose a temperature control element for controlling temperature of the wavelength conversion element.
Nishida et al. discloses a wavelength conversion element having a ridge optical waveguide manufactured using thin film substrate obtained by diffusion bonding a crystal substrate onto a lithium niobate substrate with periodic domain inverted structure, and the refractive index of the crystal is smaller than the refractive index of the lithium niobate, thereby creating an optical waveguiding structure ([0041]-[0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an optical waveguide core and a substrate having a lower refractive index for the signal light and the excitation light than the optical waveguide core, for the purpose of providing a structure capable of propagating the optical signal for wavelength conversion.
Hirakazu et al. discloses wavelength conversion element comprising a periodically domain-inverted lithium niobate waveguide, wherein a phase-matching condition of the element is adjusted with a temperature control element for controlling temperature of the wavelength conversion element ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a temperature control element for controlling temperature of the wavelength conversion element for the purpose of providing a tunable conversion element, where the phase matching condition of the conversion element is adjustable.
Re. Claim 2, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above.
However, Enbutsu et al. does not disclose a telescopic mechanism to vary the propagation path distance of light input of the optical input to the wavelength conversion element of at least any one of the respective optical inputs and outputs of the signal light or the excitation light is provided, or at least any one of a polarization separation element and a polarization rotation element is provided on the way of the propagation path of the optical input to at least one of the wavelength conversion elements.
Hirakazu et al. discloses a wavelength conversion element comprising a periodic domain inverted lithium niobate used for phase-sensitive amplification, wherein an optical fiber stretcher is used to synchronize the phase of the signal light with the phase of the excitation light ([0057]-[0060]).
Varying the optical propagation distance with a telescopic mechanism as required by the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of synchronizing the phase of the signal light with the phase of the excitation light.
Re. Claim 3, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses an output that outputs the signal light and the excitation light from the other side of a housing facing the side when the signal light and the excitation light are inputted from one side of a housing that is adjacent to the optical input and output of the wavelength conversion element (Fig. 5). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claim 4, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses the wavelength conversion apparatus includes an input and output unit for the excitation light on a side of the housing other than the side surface (Fig. 3; [0032]-[0035]). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claims 5 and 9, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses the signal light and the excitation light have the same number of optical input and output respectively (Fig. 5). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claims 6 and 10, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses an optical fiber is provided for each of the optical inputs and outputs of the signal light or the excitation light (Fig. 5). The claimed arrangement would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the reasons discussed above.
Re. Claims 7 and 11, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses the optical waveguide core or the substrate contains LiNbO3 (lithium niobate), KNbO3 (potassium niobate), LiTaO3 (lithium tantalate), LiNb(x)Ta(1-x)03 (0 (lithium tantalate with indefinite composition), or KTiOPO4 (potassium titanate phosphate), and at least one selected from Mg (magnesium), Zn (zinc), Sc (scandium), or In (indium) as an additive thereto ([0045]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enbutsu et al. (JP 2019-105796 A), Nishida et al. (JP 2003-140214 A), and Hirakazu et al. (JP 2014-081578 A), in further view of Okamura et al. (US 2015/0378237 A1).
Re. Claim 8, Enbutsu et al., Nishida et al., and Hirakazu et al. render obvious the wavelength conversion apparatus as discussed above. Enbutsu et al. discloses the wavelength conversion apparatus includes one input and output for each of the signal lights and one input and output for each of the excitation lights (Fig. 5).
Enbutsu et al. does not disclose a terminal that is inputted and outputted an electrical signal input from a different side from a side of an opposite housing when the signal light and excitation light are inputted from one side of the opposite housing adjacent to the optical input and output of the wavelength conversion element, and the signal light and excitation light are outputted from the other side of the opposite housing.
Okamura et al. discloses a housing for accommodating optical elements comprising a terminal in which an electric signal input is caused to be inputted and outputted from a surface other than the opposing side surface of the housing at which an optical input and output are provided (Fig. 1; [0034]).
The inclusion of a terminal as required by the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of maintaining the quality of the optical signal (Okamura et al.: [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See the attached PTO-892.
/RHONDA S PEACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 11/17/25